Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V2, Turion X2 2.2Ghz, HD 3450 512MB, RM2k!!!
hsienhsien
May 30 2009, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 29 2009, 10:33 PM) I bought mine at SG, the salesman told me, the warranty will extend after 3 months i bought the laptop. But i nt sure abt msia, u can try to call the shop keeper that u purchase ur laptop. 1 more thing is, u sure ur 2nd n 3rd yrs warranty is under HP Compaq or the shop warranty 1?  no, i bought HP CARE PACK, 3years from hp one, rm188 Added on May 30, 2009, 12:31 pmQUOTE(nothingz @ May 30 2009, 10:41 AM) The dark webcam issue can be simply fix by clicking into the Microsoft Movie Maker application. Then, find the configuration for the webcam and adjust the brightness, saturation & hue as your wish. Exit Microsoft Movie Maker. Finally your're done! not 3 months, i think is few weeks time. if yours is still not updated, better call HP to check. Now the customer service of Malaysia and Singapore are joint, you can just call the local toll free number to check it out(weekdays) microsoft movie maker where can dl? i think i have to call them next week, luckily my resit and the document still at me, if not my rm188 flies away, lol This post has been edited by hsienhsien: May 30 2009, 12:31 PM
nothingz
May 30 2009, 01:56 PM
microsoft movie maker is in your laptop, if i'm not mistaken.
try to search at your Start Menu or just download from websites. my CQ40 is formatted to Windows 7 RC, therefore not available anymore. Anyway, i think you can download it from the microsoft website. just use google to search
hsienhsien
May 30 2009, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(nothingz @ May 30 2009, 01:56 PM) microsoft movie maker is in your laptop, if i'm not mistaken. try to search at your Start Menu or just download from websites. my CQ40 is formatted to Windows 7 RC, therefore not available anymore. Anyway, i think you can download it from the microsoft website. just use google to search windows 7? better than vista? where to get window7?
fcuk90
May 30 2009, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(Abid @ May 29 2009, 05:26 PM) Question for Cq40-401AU :- Theres no OS .. but does it comes with all the drivers & other compaq software? but usually add some money then the shop keeper will help u install the driver and windows it doest not come with driver as the driver can be downloaded from the website Added on May 30, 2009, 3:40 pmQUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 29 2009, 09:13 PM) i can check the warranty ady, but there showed until next year may, tat means my warranty is one year only! It supposed to be 3 years warranty! i bought the hp care pack but now don have 3 years warranty,  how? wat shud i do? u got fax the form to the hp ? This post has been edited by fcuk90: May 30 2009, 03:40 PM
nothingz
May 30 2009, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 30 2009, 02:02 PM) windows 7? better than vista? where to get window7? windows 7 seems to be better, if you want to download then just google for it
hsienhsien
May 30 2009, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 30 2009, 03:38 PM) but usually add some money then the shop keeper will help u install the driver and windows it doest not come with driver as the driver can be downloaded from the website Added on May 30, 2009, 3:40 pmu got fax the form to the hp ? the reseller send it for me, i dono they send ady onot coz i bought at kl lowyat plaza, ATOZ, after buying this laptop then back to seremban ady, now only realized the warranty only one year. z.
Bad Cyborg
May 30 2009, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 30 2009, 02:02 PM) windows 7? better than vista? where to get window7? Windows 7 expires on July 1st 2009. But good for you there is a hack that gets rid of that.
astria
May 30 2009, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ May 30 2009, 04:33 PM) Windows 7 expires on July 1st 2009. But good for you there is a hack that gets rid of that. but the problem is, Win7 RC will shut down every 2 hrs after 1 Mar 2010... This post has been edited by astria: May 30 2009, 04:35 PM
hsienhsien
May 30 2009, 05:15 PM
how to downgrade bios? mine is 401ax, clock speed for gpu is 250mhz only@_@ but there stated shud b 500, if downgrade can turn my clock speed to higher level?
igmroey
May 30 2009, 06:36 PM

Umm.. does d Compaq CQ-40 126 AX overheat frequently ?
I've been using mine for 5 months.... I think total number of times it shut down due to overheated is.... like 6 times... Is it normal ? I have a cooler pad... and i sometimes jz use it to Dota Fever for 4-5 games den suddenly overheat den off...
Is my cooler pad not functioning well ? If i use d USB Cooler pad does it increase d temp of my laptop? since nid 2 use laptop power 2 make d fan spin.
nothingz
May 30 2009, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(astria @ May 30 2009, 04:34 PM) but the problem is, Win7 RC will shut down every 2 hrs after 1 Mar 2010... still got 8 months of use. final version would be out before that. better than vista
ic3rock
May 30 2009, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(nothingz @ May 30 2009, 10:41 AM) The dark webcam issue can be simply fix by clicking into the Microsoft Movie Maker application. Then, find the configuration for the webcam and adjust the brightness, saturation & hue as your wish. Exit Microsoft Movie Maker. Finally your're done! not 3 months, i think is few weeks time. if yours is still not updated, better call HP to check. Now the customer service of Malaysia and Singapore are joint, you can just call the local toll free number to check it out(weekdays) Hmm, this i nt sure le. I asked few shop oso told me same thing, when i free will go check, thanks for remind,
fcuk90
May 31 2009, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(igmroey @ May 30 2009, 06:36 PM) Umm.. does d Compaq CQ-40 126 AX overheat frequently ? I've been using mine for 5 months.... I think total number of times it shut down due to overheated is.... like 6 times... Is it normal ? I have a cooler pad... and i sometimes jz use it to Dota Fever for 4-5 games den suddenly overheat den off... Is my cooler pad not functioning well ? If i use d USB Cooler pad does it increase d temp of my laptop? since nid 2 use laptop power 2 make d fan spin. something wrong with your lappie?since i didnt face the problem with my 401ax
ic3rock
May 31 2009, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(igmroey @ May 30 2009, 06:36 PM) Umm.. does d Compaq CQ-40 126 AX overheat frequently ? I've been using mine for 5 months.... I think total number of times it shut down due to overheated is.... like 6 times... Is it normal ? I have a cooler pad... and i sometimes jz use it to Dota Fever for 4-5 games den suddenly overheat den off... Is my cooler pad not functioning well ? If i use d USB Cooler pad does it increase d temp of my laptop? since nid 2 use laptop power 2 make d fan spin. When u play over 4-5 hours, ur laptop will feel v hot? But so far mine nvr auto turn off itself, i played dota omos halfday oso no problem at all.
jsnkok
May 31 2009, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 30 2009, 04:24 PM) the reseller send it for me, i dono they send ady onot coz i bought at kl lowyat plaza, ATOZ, after buying this laptop then back to seremban ady, now only realized the warranty only one year. z. you can check your warranty here : http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechS...rantyLookup.jsp
nothingz
May 31 2009, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(jsnkok @ May 31 2009, 09:34 AM) yes, this is the page which i used to check my warranty status and it can be quite detailed
nebousuke
May 31 2009, 10:06 AM
I find it hard to believe that the temperature rise is due to Turion X2. I am using both Benq S41 & Acer 4530.
The acer is running cool and just fine.. no extereme temperature.. but i didn't play any game either of course for some time now
The benq is running hot like hot cakes, even though i am just surfing the web and so on..
I think the temperature is more towards the graphic cards than the processor. The acer is running turion and benq is running C2D.
My benq died btw for the second time. Bloody nvidia, hate them to the guts for not being responsible.
igmroey
May 31 2009, 10:39 AM

So... whats the maximum temperature for my compaq cq40 ? I downloaded speedfan and after watching 1 replay of dota ( approx 1 hour ) den when i went out and check d temp... its always around 105 degree celcius for the core.
Im living in a no-aircond room. And the temperature here is quite hot. Does this affect anything at all ?
nebousuke
May 31 2009, 10:42 AM
what's the pricing for compaq cq 40 - 401.. and what's really the difference between lets say 125? I am confused by compaq's model and their websites are rubbish, don't have any info at all.
Also what's the difference between HP supercare 1 and and super care 2...
Bloody confusing...
TSshady
May 31 2009, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(igmroey @ May 31 2009, 10:39 AM) So... whats the maximum temperature for my compaq cq40 ? I downloaded speedfan and after watching 1 replay of dota ( approx 1 hour ) den when i went out and check d temp... its always around 105 degree celcius for the core. Im living in a no-aircond room. And the temperature here is quite hot. Does this affect anything at all ? That is quite hot. I wouldnt want my temp to go past 100C. What software you use for checking temp? Core temp will be higher than CPU temp. QUOTE(nebousuke @ May 31 2009, 10:42 AM) what's the pricing for compaq cq 40 - 401.. and what's really the difference between lets say 125? I am confused by compaq's model and their websites are rubbish, don't have any info at all. Also what's the difference between HP supercare 1 and and super care 2... Bloody confusing... Official retail price should be 2099 if im not mistaken but should be lower in retailers. 125 is the first model for this series. 401 have better processor(2.2Ghz vs 2.0Ghz on 125), 320GB HDD and 512MB HD3450(250GB and 256MB HD3450 on 125). I think 125 is already EOL, so get 401.