if only low maintenance plants ie fern, bolbitis, moss, they will survive nicely...
btw, i got 1 2L/kg (not sure d) spare CO2 tank for sale, if wan, do contact me...
Planted Aquarium V2, unveal the secret underwater world
May 5 2009, 08:24 AM
1,710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: A|0r $t@r |
if only low maintenance plants ie fern, bolbitis, moss, they will survive nicely...
btw, i got 1 2L/kg (not sure d) spare CO2 tank for sale, if wan, do contact me... |
May 5 2009, 09:10 AM
630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(pinchboyz @ May 5 2009, 08:24 AM) if only low maintenance plants ie fern, bolbitis, moss, they will survive nicely... btw, i got 1 2L/kg (not sure d) spare CO2 tank for sale, if wan, do contact me... but how much u selling it??pm me pm me This post has been edited by playerseeker: May 5 2009, 09:11 AM |
May 5 2009, 11:38 AM
949 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
Guys, I have a problem with my fern. Why are my fern leaves having bleached out patches? It's like the chlorophyll has been pinched out of the leaf tips. Hope can solve this problem. TIA!!
May 5 2009, 01:56 PM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 7th Floor |
QUOTE(funkychips @ May 5 2009, 11:38 AM) Guys, I have a problem with my fern. Why are my fern leaves having bleached out patches? It's like the chlorophyll has been pinched out of the leaf tips. Hope can solve this problem. TIA!! im no expert bro with this kind of thing... it's just my assumption.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « but as i said, im not an expert in this kind of thing. those are just my assumptions and my input might be wrong from the fact. maybe you want to wait for a more accurate advice from the pros. it'll be better if you can give your tank specs and list of plants in there also so the pro should know better about ur situation and might give you a more accurate symptom and advice to cure it. heh but for me personally, if ONLY one or two leaves affected and if it;s quite serious, i'll just cut the leaf off and let it grows a new one. if it's just minor, i leave it like it be in hope nature will do its job but if getting worse or no sign of cured, i'll just cut the thing off again |
May 5 2009, 02:38 PM
66 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Hi all,
A newbie question which I hope you guys can help. I have a 13L aquarium which i house about 15 guppies with pump. What kind of plants can I put in that can grow without oxygen pump? Have put in some before but looks as though they can survive. Some feedback would be appreciated. |
May 5 2009, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(rivers @ May 5 2009, 02:38 PM) Hi all, erm... from my limited experience and knowledge, without airpump (which providing more o2 (oxygen) when a tank have more fish than it should hold) also almost all plant can live. but co2 (carbon dioxide) is the main thing.A newbie question which I hope you guys can help. I have a 13L aquarium which i house about 15 guppies with pump. What kind of plants can I put in that can grow without oxygen pump? Have put in some before but looks as though they can survive. Some feedback would be appreciated. maybe from you meant is co2. without co2, there'll be limited plant choice but still there's plant that can live. The most hardy plant IME is Java Moss. no matter what tank i put them (except a goldfish tank), they'll survive. with co2, no co2, pail... you can give this a try. 2nd one u can try Java Fern too. As long u didnt bury them in the soil and let the root in the water column, with a very low light they can survive. some other low-light plant are anubias family, certain more type of moss (for me myself, 90% type of moss can..LOL~!), and few more types of fern like bolbitis (i think without co2 also still can live...never tried). just, dun bury their roots in the soil and give them some low lights when u have no co2. QUOTE("pinchboyz") if only low maintenance plants ie fern, bolbitis, moss, they will survive nicely... just like what yu jin said.btw, i got 1 2L/kg (not sure d) spare CO2 tank for sale, if wan, do contact me... anyway, you mentioned your tank got pump, what pump? well, as long your water surface is moving, then your tank already cycling and oxygen in the water. i assume u are mentioneng waterpump to pump tank water to overhead filter (or sump tank), then throw the water back into ur tank. the water splash already cycling an oxygen for ur tank FYI. |
May 5 2009, 03:05 PM
66 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
sounds good..will try it out...thanks man.
This post has been edited by rivers: May 5 2009, 03:06 PM |
May 5 2009, 03:35 PM
1,710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: A|0r $t@r |
hi there rivers..
from what i read, i believe that u now have a tank, with pump (but what pump? airpump? or Hang On Back Filter?) you can always put java fern!!!! my first choice... |
May 5 2009, 09:02 PM
949 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(usermode @ May 5 2009, 01:56 PM) im no expert bro with this kind of thing... it's just my assumption. Thanks for the info bro, appreciate it lots!! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « but as i said, im not an expert in this kind of thing. those are just my assumptions and my input might be wrong from the fact. maybe you want to wait for a more accurate advice from the pros. it'll be better if you can give your tank specs and list of plants in there also so the pro should know better about ur situation and might give you a more accurate symptom and advice to cure it. heh but for me personally, if ONLY one or two leaves affected and if it;s quite serious, i'll just cut the leaf off and let it grows a new one. if it's just minor, i leave it like it be in hope nature will do its job but if getting worse or no sign of cured, i'll just cut the thing off again Actually my tank is a low tech tank, 2ft x 1.5 ft, doesn't run on any CO2 and only has a 15 watt 45cm florescent tube and overhang filter. As an update, even the unfurling leaf tips of the new leaf are now getting bleached out dark. The light is about 1 feet away from the water surface, so I don't know if the exposure is just about right. I will take pics and post when I have the time. |
May 5 2009, 09:07 PM
235 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(funkychips @ May 5 2009, 10:02 PM) Thanks for the info bro, appreciate it lots!! har??now u into planted aquarium?Actually my tank is a low tech tank, 2ft x 1.5 ft, doesn't run on any CO2 and only has a 15 watt 45cm florescent tube and overhang filter. As an update, even the unfurling leaf tips of the new leaf are now getting bleached out dark. The light is about 1 feet away from the water surface, so I don't know if the exposure is just about right. I will take pics and post when I have the time. hmm..im starting too |
May 5 2009, 09:23 PM
123 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: K.Lumpur |
wow now alot ppl join this hoby nice nice
May 5 2009, 10:44 PM
yea yea...the more the merrier..
May 5 2009, 11:20 PM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
15watts for a 2x1.5?? I don't think it's sufficient though..
Drew |
May 6 2009, 07:57 AM
maybe sufficient for moss.....
moss tank!!!!! |
May 6 2009, 09:24 AM
36 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
lately im also suffering on lighting....
cant get myself a whole set lighting with 36W PPL == might opt for another types of layout/plant currently im thinking of replacing glosso with hc... please do share with me the specification needed for hc This post has been edited by meowmeow520: May 6 2009, 09:30 AM |
May 6 2009, 09:41 AM
No.1 factor to hc .. Proper temperature..
May 6 2009, 09:47 AM
May 6 2009, 10:50 AM
36 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
May 6 2009, 11:01 AM
25c would be perrrfect.. Why can't you find 36 w ?? I thought I offered you lots of choices already .. They may not be great eye candy but it's most idealogic and practical for your tank size and budget.. If you're really keen on cosmetic views for such a small tank.. It'll be my nano light.. But that itself is already your overall budget LOL .. Try surveying more..
May 6 2009, 11:04 AM
I think HC prefer temperature from 25C - 27C. but they still can survive at 27-29 (experiencing this atm). The lower temperature the better and "fresh" they'll looks. 22C...erm.. never tried. hahaha XD i never can get that temp.
my HC initially starts on 26C-27C and they're doing quite okay until recently the weather getting warmer and my fans cant get me lower than 27C anymore now even at night. average around 27C-28.5C and still my HC manage to pearls and grows. only thing is, they didnt looks as nice as before... those old leaf looks like getting burnt or something..the color is darker. bleh~! i just wish they survive until our country getting colder a lil bit. p/s: i dun have aircond nor chiller. |
| Change to: | 0.0283sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:30 PM |