5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

erry-
post Oct 12 2012, 05:53 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(help me lah @ Oct 12 2012, 04:47 PM)
Hi erry~,

It seems that the cheapest data plan is U Mobile for RM 28, while Digi is close at RM 38 (after minus off rebates or something?) but does coverage also play a part in it too?

I'm planning to get a smartphone but have no idea how the internet coverage is like in areas, let's say PJ, Sunway, Puchong area? What is your recommendation? Thank you!
hi help me lah,

do note that digi rm38 is smartplan 1gb with 12months contract without device (rm5/month) and signup with autodebit (another rm5/month but this for 6 months only).

if in klang valley area, u can still count on umobile ~
outside, prepare to live with 2g network ~
erry-
post Oct 13 2012, 08:41 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Oct 13 2012, 07:48 PM)
yes, I'm talking about phone right now. You didn't knew you can use the home wireless sim inside a smartphone? Am using it on my iphone and samsung note. Got 20gb data, free calls. But cannot sms. I seldom sms so it's ok. But if you ask maxis, they will tell you cannot call on the phone as I already asked them. Maybe scared people change to this plan to get more data at cheap price. Cheers fren!
actually i did knew it.

even normal broadband simcard can also use in smartphone.
now got maxis 1gb rm18, digi 500mb rm15, digi 1gb rm19, etc.
in other word - as long as it is a simcard smile.gif

previously i also using maxis home broadband (big modem with lan cable only) that can make a call too, so i use the simcard inside a pda. now maxis change the modem to wifi and rename it to home wireless broadband laugh.gif

but yes, all cant send sms.
but here usually people want a plan for a phone, and keep current number.

Added on October 13, 2012, 8:44 pmcoz for data-only plan, can find it more @ http://forum.lowyat.net/GettingBroadband

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 13 2012, 08:44 PM
erry-
post Oct 14 2012, 01:57 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(sp103 @ Oct 13 2012, 10:59 PM)
hi , just like to know abit more about talkmore 48 ?

Is it a good plan ? Is there any catch to it ?

How about with a data plan or 1gb ?

Got anyone using this plan ?

Planning on getting it bundled with HTC one S , so would like to know if got any "hidden" terms and condition before I commit to a 2 year contract.
IF:

1. call about 400mins & 200 sms per month, go for talkmore48.

2. call about 200mins only & 100 sms per month, go for talkmore28.

3. call about 600mins & 500 sms per month, go higher at talkmore78.

it is a good plan, if, ur usage is between the free allocated offer thumbup.gif

there is no catch.

for data plan, once u reach the quota, maxis will charge u at 30sen/mb.
so u need to install apps that can monitor ur data usage and alert/disable data after reach the quota.
its good if u have wifi at home/office so the data will be use only on-the-go.

me and my wife both using talkmore48. but we under biz plan. no extra charge after reach quota. but biz plan is another thing, here we talk about personal plan smile.gif

Added on October 14, 2012, 2:00 amoh just noticed htc one s bundle package is currently only for talkmore48 notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 14 2012, 02:00 AM
erry-
post Oct 14 2012, 02:53 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(sp103 @ Oct 14 2012, 12:45 PM)
So no hidden charges what so ever ?

My range falls into the talkmore48 plan. I think the data plan should be ok , since  i dont plan to use that much.

Was actually planning to get HTC one s with the talkmore 48. Was wondering if there is any problem/catch if u get phone bundled with plans from maxis . Will there be any warranty issues ?
the only 'hidden charges' is u'll be charge once reach quota.
but thats not 'hidden' coz already stated in t&c sweat.gif

others 'catch' is:
1. if u not a maxis postpaid customer for than a year, u need to pay advance payment rm1000. will be credited back in ur bill over a 5-month period.
2. terminate plan within contract will get penalty.

htc warranty is 2 years. u can just go to any htc center for warranty claim.

erry-
post Oct 15 2012, 10:18 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(sp103 @ Oct 14 2012, 10:46 PM)
ic . thanks for the info.

just asking your opinion , are the extra charges once u reach your quota expensive compared to other telcos ?

Im new to smartphones so just trying to get as much details before I sign a 2year contract .

cant compare to other telcos coz other telcos didnt charge after exceed quota sweat.gif

digi/celcom/umobile will throttle / lower the speed but no extra charge ~

erry-
post Oct 16 2012, 11:12 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(sp103 @ Oct 16 2012, 12:17 PM)
but i heard some people saying that digi now will cut off your  data once you reach the quota. Same I heard bout celcom.

Is it true ?
ya that issue also being posted here in LYN.

digi smart plan 48 and celcom first data 48.

in my house have digi smart plan 68 (x2), digi supersim15, and celcom broadband basic + voice 48 (also celcom 68).
but both digi and celcom didnt cut off data once reach the quota.
maybe, maybe, bcoz its an 'old' plan (registered in 2011, eventhough i just replace celcom sicmard due to chip faulty and they give me smartcard and booklet with "celcom first data" words).

need to ask for the real owner for 'affected' plans.

QUOTE(jep @ Oct 16 2012, 01:56 PM)
Me and my wife is currently using iValue1 and was thinking on moving to a cheaper platform..my main focus would be on data..1gb is normaly enough for me..i hardly makes call and nor do i sms as I mostly use WhatsApp..which plan from which telco is advisable?
if u live in klang valley, u can port to umobile28 postpaid. rm28 with 1gb and free 200sms notworthy.gif

erry-
post Oct 17 2012, 10:34 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gi Joe @ Oct 17 2012, 09:42 AM)
Data plan for smartphone...

Which is the best plan?
Out of KL area....

TQ
go check which network signal is the best at ur place 1st notworthy.gif

celcom: http://coverage.celcom.com.my/CelcomCovera...comCoverage.jsp
(look at Search Result, if HSDPA: Yes then its the best. if HSDPA: No but 3G: Yes then can consider)

digi: http://coverage.digi.com.my/broadband
(choose 3G instead of broadband)

maxis: http://58.71.131.131/mimsgoogle/gmapform.aspx
(untick EDGE and tick DC HSPA+ to see if got higher speed than HSDPA/3G)

Added on October 17, 2012, 10:36 amumobile: http://www.u.com.my/map/coverageV2/index-m...hp?text=3671775
(untick Mobile Internet Good Coverage to see Mobile Internet Excellent Coverage result only)

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 17 2012, 10:36 AM
erry-
post Oct 18 2012, 12:13 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gi Joe @ Oct 17 2012, 12:13 PM)
what package is the best for Celcom and Maxis?
voice - 100 minutes - monthly
1GB MB - monthly
24 hours online
want 2 numbers...

QUOTE(stalielim712 @ Oct 17 2012, 02:56 PM)
Hi people,

I want to get a Note 2 in near future, that's why I'll be needing a data plan. But I'm not sure which one to sign for. For the signal, I've checked before. Celcom, Maxis and UMobile work best at my place.

Since it's my first time purchasing data plan, I also don't know how much volume quota will I actually need. Mostly, I'll be browsing facebook, play video, download apps, owh well, briefly, it's just stay connected.

But I need to call and sms very frequent as well. Roughly 200 min back to Maxis number ( family number ) and 50 min to other operators and 100 SMS to all operators.

Can you guys suggest me a plan to subscribe to?

Thanks. =)
do note maxis will charge u after exceed the quota. u need to install app or set the limit (android 4 & above) to cut off data once reach quota.

for 100-200 mins voice, seems maxis talkmore28 is the best. 50 mins to other network will be charge extra rm7.50
but 1gb data is rm48. so min rm76/month. for Gi Joe, 2 numbers is rm152.

Gi Joe, for celcom with less call and sms, get the first data lite + voice. this plan need to sign up with android tablet.
u can refer here - http://www.celcom.com.my/devices/tablets/a...xy-tab-7.7.html
rm48/month for 1.5gb, call rm0.15/min, and rm0.10/sms
100 mins will be rm15 so monthly is rm63

stalielim712, since ur usage is 250 mins + 100 sms, u can go for celcom first voice prime rm40/month.
ur usage will cost u rm52.50 then u can add 1gb data for rm38 so monthly is rm90.50

umobile, u can go for u58. rm58/month with 2gb and free 200 mins.
extra 50 mins is rm10 & 100 sms will cost u rm12. so monthly is rm80.
or u can add-on pack voice plus rm8 for 80mins and add-on pack sms plus rm8 for 80sms. balance 20 sms is rm2.40. so extra rm18.40 only (compare to rm22 a-la-carte) and monthly will be rm76.40 - the cheapest

if u guys dont mind have contract, wait till celcom/maxis/umobile come out with their bundle package so u can get the device with subsidy (cheaper price) ~

all above is postpaid plan and excluding stamp duty and 6% govt tax notworthy.gif

erry-
post Oct 18 2012, 12:14 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gi Joe @ Oct 17 2012, 07:32 PM)
The Cun Plan

Any comment?...
my comment is still cant beat umobile u28 prepaid plan sweat.gif

erry-
post Oct 18 2012, 01:15 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Oct 18 2012, 12:57 AM)
Does that mean DC HSPA+ is better than HSDPA?
yes smile.gif

DC: Dual-cell, allowing a user to connect to two cells at once, thereby theoretically doubling the connection speeds for the user. An HSPA+ network can theoretically support up to 28Mbps and 42Mbps with a single cell although real life speeds are far lower.

So DC HSPA+: theoretically connect to two cells of 21Mbps at once, so can get 42Mbps ~

Added on October 18, 2012, 1:21 amHSDPA max speed is 14.4Mbps (malaysia at this speed).
HSPA+ max speed is 84Mbps (malaysia so far is 42Mbps).

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 18 2012, 01:21 AM
erry-
post Oct 18 2012, 04:41 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Oct 18 2012, 08:50 AM)
Ok..if i wan to sign up a data plan which 1 is more worth it? Maxis or Celcom because Digi and UMobile don't have coverage in my place, I rarely use my phone to call or sms, mostly use it for internet only..and which plan is the best between Celcom and Maxis? Celcom doesn't seems to have DC HSPA+ in my place..only Maxis has it..
if mostly use for internet, better celcom than maxis, coz maxis will have additional charges after u reach quota.

QUOTE(silversuave @ Oct 18 2012, 10:31 AM)
If i take maxis talkmore 28 or textmore 28 plan, can i subscribe to value extras plan (RM8 for 500 sms or RM 8 for 10 friends & family)? It is not clearly stated on the website.
yes u can smile.gif

http://www.maxis.com.my/talk28/pdf/M-Talk%...Q%20Website.pdf - refer #12

Added on October 18, 2012, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(Gi Joe @ Oct 18 2012, 12:56 PM)
1gb...
Good coverage...
Free 60 min..
umobile prepaid UMI28 is rm28 with 500mb and 100 mins. no additional charges after quota.

umobile can add booster plan rm10 for another 1gb, so for rm38, umobile can get 1.5gb with 100 mins.

tunetalk doesn’t seem to have a USSD activation option (e.g. *133#) and each SMS request to 2222 including check of status is charged at 10 sen per SMS.

even umobile postpaid 1gb rm28 (1gb and 200 sms) and 60mins call (rm12) will just cost u rm40. extra rm2 for 200sms, thats 1sen/sms smile.gif

but if tunetalk coverage is better than umobile at ur place, then go for tunetalk lah ~

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 18 2012, 04:45 PM
erry-
post Oct 18 2012, 07:32 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Oct 18 2012, 07:18 PM)
Which plan of Celcom? mAdvance Plus?
seems u not rarely make call or sms, then yes, thats the best plan for u ~

erry-
post Oct 19 2012, 12:17 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Oct 18 2012, 07:57 PM)
I am using Hotlink Prepaid now..If i use the Maxis Hotlink Prepaid you mentioned do i need to get another SIM card or just upgrade my current Maxis Hotlink SIM card?

considering Maxis Hotlink Prepaid that december88 mentioned or Celcom mAdvance Plus..hmm~~

QUOTE(december88 @ Oct 18 2012, 09:24 PM)
Hey if you're happy with maxis hotlink connection at your present location then I suggest you go with Maxis.
It is flexible since it is prepaid and you can pay as you go and if you're overseas you can unsubscribe.
Regarding SIM card I am not too sure about that, hope you can switch it since you want to keep your number, just call the maxis help line.
i also not sure either can upgrade current hotlink simcard to hotlink broadband or not.

try call 1300820120 and ask them. sorry me lazy to call brows.gif

but current/previous maxis prepaid boradband will automatically upgrade to this hotlink broadband.

the setback is, u are not allowed to browse once your quota volume has met the pass volume.
u will be directed to portal to purchase a new pass.

or u can also try celcom first data + voice.
but this plan only available if purchased together with android tablet and have contract.

erry-
post Oct 19 2012, 12:22 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 18 2012, 08:47 PM)
Hi, can I know which telco provides better sms plan rate? Thanks
i recommend u maxis postpaid TEXTmore28.
rm28/month and u get 200 sms to all network. thats rm0.14/sms (and u also get free 100 mins to all network).
besides u can add value sms rm8 to send 500 sms to maxis.
so rm36/month for 500 sms to maxis and 200 sms to others, plus free 100 mins to all network ~

Added on October 19, 2012, 12:28 amor if with data plan, its umobile postpaid U28.
same rm28/month and 200 sms to all network.
no free calls but free 100 sms within umobile network, and free 1gb data.

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 19 2012, 12:28 AM
erry-
post Oct 19 2012, 02:47 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 19 2012, 01:46 AM)
Is there any prepaid plan for the sms?
prepaid plan, mostly cheap sms only within same network sweat.gif

so 1st u need to check which network u sms most.

celcom xpax same network 1sen, others 5sen.
maxis hotlink same network 5sen (activ10 is 1sen), others 10sen.
digi easy prepaid 8sen to all. or free to 3 digi numbers of buddy.
digi best prepaid 10sen to all, but got super10 (1sen to digi after rm1/day) and super10+ (same as super10 plus 5sen to others after rm1/day).
umobile same network 3sen (free 20 after sent 6 or in other word 18sen for 26 sms), others 8sen.
tunetalk 5sen to all.

~

Added on October 19, 2012, 2:52 amothers:
yes 9sen to all.
xox (xinxun) same network 7sen, others 12sen (fnf 1sen & 6sen).
tron 10sen to all.
salamfon ummah 9sen to all. salamfon ilmiah same network 3sen, others 8sen.

This post has been edited by erry-: Oct 19 2012, 02:52 AM
erry-
post Oct 19 2012, 02:54 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 19 2012, 02:53 AM)
Hmm...like this ahh...

Actually I wanted to use once only. For example, I purchase the prepaid card then I send sms to other people then I won't use the card anymore.
ur motif? spammer? LOL laugh.gif

erry-
post Oct 19 2012, 03:16 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 19 2012, 03:05 AM)
No la. For my business purpose brows.gif
it still under category of spammer.

u should purchase bulk sms-pack instead of using normal prepaid plan ~

business but lazy to research about sms rate doh.gif

erry-
post Oct 20 2012, 01:04 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gi Joe @ Oct 19 2012, 04:55 PM)
Android data plan + voice + sms

What is the best prepaid plan for :-

Maxis? and

Celcom?
both dont have 'best' prepaid plan for what u want sweat.gif

maxis hotlink, only new hotlink broadband plan wont charge u after exceed quota, also not slower speed, coz u are not allowed to browse at all! unless u top up the broadband value laugh.gif

call rate is not cheap (36sen/min) and sms is normal 10sen to all.

while celcom prepaid is rm18/week so thats rm72/month - for data only! sweat.gif

erry-
post Oct 22 2012, 06:28 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 22 2012, 01:22 PM)
looking for telco plans as well.

at the moment i am using digi prepaid. monthly usually topup rm50. 50-50 usage on call and sms. usually the rm50 topup will finish on month end.

internet for checking emails, downloading document, and facebook. at home i got wifi so i hope i will download heavy things while at home only.

seriously looking at maxis and umobile. but not sure which one better.

coverage is important since i will go to kelantan, miri, bintulu and kemaman for site visits and etc
i went to all places u stated with maxis. all ok.

except, at tubau, bintulu (after bakun damn, going deeper inside, need to take a boat to cross river), digi seems better than maxis ~

erry-
post Oct 23 2012, 10:44 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Oct 23 2012, 09:54 PM)
I also wondering why celcom can't offer a decent price monthly internet plan for ALL prepaid users.
However if you're a light user you can subscribe to BB internet plan for rm25/month for 250mb of bandwidth.
Speed is stable at 1.5Mbps however 2g internet is damn slow compare to digi 2g internet, I use 2g because of battery life.
And regardless if you have a BB phone or not this plan works out of the box (not tweaking needed) for android and for every other phone as well.

http://www.xpax.com.my/blackberry_rates.php
no need to wondering, celcom just want to gain money from their prepaid cust whistling.gif

yes the bb plan can work as well on other smartphone, but rm25 for 250mb?
better get another telco sweat.gif

even celcom postpaid can get rm38 for 1gb doh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0208sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:54 PM