If weightlifting makes you age quicker, Would you change your mind about it?

myremi
post Apr 22 2009, 12:37 PM

1,846 posts

Sigh. The only reason I stop dealing with you is because you wouldn't give a damn anyway. So what is the point? All I see is a bitter man who takes pleasure in making others feel miserable.

Meh enough.

Mofonyx : GL in your exams.
CoFactor-3
post Apr 22 2009, 01:46 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 22 2009, 12:37 PM)
Sigh. The only reason I stop dealing with you is because you wouldn't give a damn anyway. So what is the point? All I see is a bitter man who takes pleasure in making others feel miserable.

Meh enough.

Obviously a reason strong enough to be claimed as flame baiting and be used as material for the moderator to issue me a good warning. What are you trying to hide so hard? I just requested for a valid study on your purported claims if you seriously give the *damn from the beginning.

Why need to put miseries into everybody else for this? I've covered somebody thought on his father MSG sensitivity with other possible causes. Yet why can't you relief me with the valid study on your claims, if any? Remember, it's you the one who dragged and fueled the matter out of proportion.

Say there are none and we are through with these nonsense or else put them on the table. Simple enough.
myremi
post Apr 22 2009, 03:18 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(CoFactor-3 @ Apr 22 2009, 01:46 PM)
Obviously a reason strong enough to be claimed as flame baiting and be used as material for the moderator to issue me a good warning. What are you trying to hide so hard? I just requested for a valid study on your purported claims if you seriously give the *damn from the beginning.

Why need to put miseries into everybody else for this? I've covered somebody thought on his father MSG sensitivity with other possible causes. Yet why can't you relief me with the valid study on your claims, if any? Remember, it's you the one who dragged and fueled the matter out of proportion.

Say there are none and we are through with these nonsense or else put them on the table. Simple enough.
I wonder if you really know what you're saying when you say that I'm drawing this out of proportions. For I do not take low-blows method that you do. If you feel that my conversation with pizzaboy is one of it, then so be it. Getting victimized is something that I don't relish so why shouldn't I speak to the mods about it?

In any event, my final post on this topic on MSG in terms of food safety.

There are controversial studies at this point of time when it pertains to MSG. Yes, there are, apparently, other food enhancers in the market but the most common would be MSG.

http://www.foodsafety.gov/~lrd/msg.html
http://www.fda.gov/FDAC/features/2003/103_msg.html

These are overview of studies done by the FDA (the latest being the one in 1995) that even though they could not conclude firmly that MSG was detrimental to health, the reaction of an unknown number of people warranted them to instruct food manufacturers to declare for glutamate substances, be it MSG or other types of food enhancers.

Note that Obama has also requested that food labelling system maintained by FDA be reviewed (http://www.truthinlabeling.org/). One area will probably be this.

Some of the different types of food enhancers worldwide :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flavour_enhancer

Another link about MSG is here : http://www.msgtruth.org/

The reaction of MSG lead to the study of Excitotoxicity (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Excitotoxicity) which included reactions to aspartame.

Research links are included at the end of wiki pages and the various links above.

So, have digress enough. You can find whatever reasons to flame bait or blackball me so it's making no sense to further answer your queries.

CoFactor-3
post Apr 22 2009, 04:18 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 22 2009, 03:18 PM)
I wonder if you really know what you're saying when you say that I'm drawing this out of proportions. For I do not take low-blows method that you do. If you feel that my conversation with pizzaboy is one of it, then so be it. Getting victimized is something that I don't relish so why shouldn't I speak to the mods about it?

In any event, my final post on this topic on MSG in terms of food safety.

There are controversial studies at this point of time when it pertains to MSG. Yes, there are, apparently, other food enhancers in the market but the most common would be MSG.

http://www.foodsafety.gov/~lrd/msg.html
http://www.fda.gov/FDAC/features/2003/103_msg.html

These are overview of studies done by the FDA (the latest being the one in 1995) that even though they could not conclude firmly that MSG was detrimental to health, the reaction of an unknown number of people warranted them to instruct food manufacturers to declare for glutamate substances, be it MSG or other types of food enhancers.

Note that Obama has also requested that food labelling system maintained by FDA be reviewed (http://www.truthinlabeling.org/). One area will probably be this.

Some of the different types of food enhancers worldwide :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flavour_enhancer

Another link about MSG is here : http://www.msgtruth.org/

The reaction of MSG lead to the study of Excitotoxicity (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Excitotoxicity) which included reactions to aspartame.

Research links are included at the end of wiki pages and the various links above.

So, have digress enough. You can find whatever reasons to flame bait or blackball me so it's making no sense to further answer your queries.
The study by [8] Geha RS, Beiser A, Ren C, et al (April 2000). "Review of alleged reaction to monosodium glutamate and outcome of a multicenter double-blind placebo-controlled study", is a real contrast to what your asserted claim was, i.e. violent reaction.

I only read a little of what to favored my argument. Can't find any that support yours. tongue.gif

Overall conclusion from wiki dated 21st April 2009:

These are the works from the credible researchers and well reviewed studies. May be you only came to aware of them after my request for the study support on your claim. Hence, the reluctant and persistent waiting cautionary issued to me. For what???

Like it or not, flame baiting was never my intention. How it came about I also don't know seriously.

...enough Aji no Moto already. The truth served.
myremi
post Apr 22 2009, 04:38 PM

1,846 posts

What you should have done in the beginning was state your case rather than waiting for me to link stuff.

In any event, I've had enough of having to deal with you.
John91
post Apr 22 2009, 04:59 PM

1,193 posts

And if either one of you would stop entertaining each other's bickering, you woudn't have to go on. sweat.gif

You guys are off topic anyway.
darklight79
post Apr 22 2009, 05:19 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Apr 20 2009, 07:33 PM)

@darklight: Well that's just typical of you. I didn't get this from the internet. Search David Gems, Linda Patridge, Cynthia Kenyon for an idea of biogerontology progress. It's just something intriguing that I thought would be a great point of discussion. Of course, you're not up for any discussions.

Added on April 20, 2009, 7:38 pmedit: I overlooked myremi's post! Will reply in due time.

It's typical of me to like shooting down people who come in all smart and act as if they know everything yet we don't know how they look like in terms of progress and size. Then they try desperately to prove how knowledgeable they are in bodybuilding but posting PG level links and discussing things like layman under the veneer of copying and pasting arguments from another website.

Yeah, of course it's typical of me to say things like that to people like you since you like to post a lot of wrong info with regards to training advice for newbies. nod.gif I think if every bodybuilder or strength trainee wannable was like you, the whole board would never progress cos we'd all be too pedantic and caught up in every little itty bitty research. Last thing i remember on bb.com, it was the small guys who get caught up in research like this and argue vigorously till the cows come home. I don't remember big guys like Hola Bola trying to act smart like them. He keeps it simple. Damn, that means.... I have no more reason to post in this thread except to lay the hammer back at you.

I don't really blame CoFactor-3. He doesn't try to pretend to be someone else. At least his flamebaiting has a reason. Lemme simplify things for some of y'all.

Training smart delays aging.

Overtraining accelerates aging.

Simple? No? =)

This post has been edited by darklight79: Apr 22 2009, 05:23 PM
TSmofonyx
post Apr 22 2009, 07:56 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

darklight: You're always bitter. Always pessimistic. Always negative. That's why it's so messed up!

I think if every bodybuilder or strength trainee wannable was like you, the whole board would never progress cos we'd all be too pedantic and caught up in every little itty bitty research.

No, I'm not getting caught up in every little itty bitty research. I thought that sharing some knowledge about what I've learnt would be great to spark some active discussion. Like I said, it's not like this has swayed me away from lifting. I love lifting. I'm not changing my diet either.

But you. You refuse to participate in any discussion. Your replies are always dead ended and with a tone that everyone else is wrong and you are right. That may be so, but why the ego? Admittedly >10 years of experience is a long time but it doesn't call for an egoistic reply.

Lastly, what happened to learning new things? Isn't that part of being a discussion forum?

Yeah, of course it's typical of me to say things like that to people like you since you like to post a lot of wrong info with regards to training advice for newbies.

Right, so I made a few bad posts from reading a few bad advises. You hold a grudge for-fkin-ever. What's up with that? I admit that I do not have as much experience as you do. Hence, the bad posts from bad judgement. I admit to be wrong and I appreciate them being checked and marked by you.

Regardless, this has nothing to do with wrong info. It was just about discussion. Note the big IF on the title thread. Did you also miss the huge first sentence?

There was a time when your replies were less egoistic, angry, pessimistic and cocky. I used to surf the forums and think to myself, heck now this guy has >10 years experience and he isn't stuck up. You were the go to guy because you'd take anything and give it back in the calm acceptable tone.

Certainly this has changed. I don't know why but it sucks for everyone.
JustForFun
post Apr 22 2009, 10:29 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Non-productive .... maybe even counterproductive thread.

Actually it's a good discussion to start with. It will benefit everyone of us and even the forum provided it comes out with an answer.

No offense but I think that darklight is quite against these new researches done ... I mean every research has to go through this unpopular stage right ? If everyone was so against the new researches, the bodybuilding industry will never progress anyway. I do understand his intention to prevent newbies from being confused by these threads though.
malaysianPotato
post Apr 22 2009, 11:34 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

So... Yeah, drama stops or ya'll get warnings or bans. Have a nice evening.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Apr 22 2009, 11:34 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0164sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:25 PM