8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

Juztiny
post May 31 2009, 12:49 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ May 30 2009, 10:08 PM)
OMG....Juztiny tht is so sad......I'm terribly sorry for the lost....you house how many sows in the same cage? is this baby the only baby, no siblings? Maybe the mom is not experienced yet....

May baby RIP...hope he found my other GP babies who already cross the rainbow bridge early this month....they can be good friends up there...hang in there ya Juztiny~!
This Peruvian sow is really inexperienced. And she has only one baby. I put her with another sow which just newly delivered 3 babies yesterday. I suspect it could be the other sow bitten this Peruvian's baby.

Sigh..anyway hope the baby rest in peace. Already buried it in my own garden. Really pity its fate....
Juztiny
post Jun 2 2009, 10:48 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Jun 1 2009, 10:34 PM)
#1 Rule for Breeding Guinea Pigs: DON'T  laugh.gif
If I don't breed, then LYN forumers will not have a chance to own a healthy and affordable GP from my nice GP collection. icon_rolleyes.gif

Well...definitely breeding is not as easy as everyone thinks. It required a lot of knowledge and skill....like how to help in delivering the babies, how to help to revive the weak babies etc. Before I decided to breed my pets, I purposely bought a book on breeding from US to learn more first. I also invested a book on how to take care of Guinea Pig too. So, my advice is to those wanted to breed, please do your homework first.

Added on June 2, 2009, 10:54 am
QUOTE(JackLene @ Jun 2 2009, 10:40 AM)
OMG kill me.... DR J mis-sex my guinea a 2nd time!!!!!!!!!!!
1st she said it is female..
SO...i neutered my otheR male GP..
then after the suRgery she said she was wRong..it's a maLe so i had given my guinea pig away...
NOW it turned out to be a FEMALE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
& might have been inpRegnant 2 young coz was put togetheR with anotheR maLe...
someone kiLL me pLease.... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i didn't know vets can't even tell difference between a femaLe and a maLe GP...

i'm so soRRy hitz.. u can retuRn the GP if u want..
Well...please forgive Dr. J, in reality not everyone is expert in all animals. At least she is quite well verse in other area in treating GP. Human does make mistake.

The one you given away is neutered male or un-neutered?

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 2 2009, 10:59 AM
Juztiny
post Jun 2 2009, 11:05 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(JackLene @ Jun 2 2009, 11:00 AM)
it is haRd to forGive after what i have been through....

1st Ly.. she got the sex of the BABY GP wrongLy so i neuteRed my OLDER maLe GP so that i can put him together with this SO-CALLED femaLE baby...even then.. the neuteRing went wRong.. & i had to put him thrOugh 2nd time suRgeRy &  was chaRged additionaL $$$$$$ foR the 2nd time...
then after that was done.. she toLd me the the BABY GP is a MALE!
so sigh.. OK FINE... so i put HIM up for adoption coz maLes GP don't get aLong very weLL with each other....
and hitz ADOPTED it.. and put it together with his MALE GP... who has been humping and chasing my baby GP endLessLy so he took it to anotheR vet and found out it is a FEMALE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and don't make me mention otheR mistakes Dr. J has made ...
(read oLder posts to find them)
i don't wanna ruin heR reputation any fuRtheR...

eveRything is so screwed up!!!!!!!!
Oh..ya..I forgot about the other surgery ordeal your GP went through. Gosh..this is really too much to bear for you. doh.gif
Juztiny
post Jun 2 2009, 11:21 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(JackLene @ Jun 2 2009, 11:12 AM)
i know how to sex them after they have matuRe....
this one was stiLL young ...and it's no LongeR with me so...
i can't check anymoRe...

in fact -__ i took it back to Hands N Paws foR a 3RD check up befoRe giving to hitz LoR!!!!!!!!!

sigh don't mind me..
i'm just so upset i feeL Like cRying...
i cRied and Cried so much when the suRgeRy didn't go weLL...
now this...

sigh.. it's ok... hitz... pm me when u R onLine...
soRRy..
Based on my experience, I encountered 2 baby GPs, their genital parts sign keep changing every week, one week I see is female, next week I see is male. So I have to wait till they are 4-5 weeks old to confirm their sexes.

So that is quite possible for the different vets to identify wrongly too.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 2 2009, 11:22 AM
Juztiny
post Jun 2 2009, 07:35 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Jun 2 2009, 05:57 PM)
ya ya its very hard to identify the sex at early age...now i'm abit confuse with 1 of my baby GP MiMI....now mimi's genital part looks like male, when last week its female....now takut mimi is male coz Mr.Hikano will take mimi n brownie, both is sibling, n brownie is female.... rclxub.gif
izzit possible that its the nature of GPs, when they are born their sex anre not determine yet, and the genital parts will only develop to become either one (male or female) only after a few weeks time? which means there is no 100% guarantee tht the newborns that look like female became male after 2 weeks? oh no scary..... blink.gif

Jacklene cheer up ya, its proven to be a little tricky to sex GPs....
No lah..only a few will have such problem....some genital part is very clear even on day 1 when they are born. So far so good the sexes I identify are 100% accurate. If you are not sure about its sex then don't let it go at the age of 3 weeks old yet, wait till it is 5 weeks old.
Juztiny
post Jun 4 2009, 12:47 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(ValerieYan @ Jun 3 2009, 10:14 PM)
[attachmentid=1002905]

This is my Gal, she will automatic poo and pee in the mangkok , this is when she is poo-ing  tongue.gif
How Cute is she!!!  wub.gif
Very sweet looking girl.... nod.gif The owner and the pet.
Juztiny
post Jun 8 2009, 06:42 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Jun 8 2009, 05:05 PM)
btw here is a funny newspaper clip i found hahahaha~ this is from an overseas newspaper smile.gif

This article is quite funny. This Himalayan GP is so cutey. I'm drooling for such breed long time already. Unfortunately we can't find such breed in Malaysia.
Juztiny
post Jun 10 2009, 10:04 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Jun 10 2009, 07:10 PM)
aihhhh....i just bought a nice shebby from a breeder. i'm a newbie but already done my research. 
i bought her last saturday. this 3 days, she like normal. very active and always do that purring sounds.
i feed her sluis GP cuisine and oxbow hay. using zoo zone cage and sumtimes normal hamster cage if i want to bring her up into my room.
i place her at the back of my house. very quiet at nite and not very loud at day light. then...this day come, i dont why, suddenly she looks like very tired and sad.
doesnt move around a lot and sumtimes doesnt move at all  cry.gif  aihhh... i check her feet if got any injuries, nothing. her eyes look very sad.
but no tears la. so anyone can tell me if this kinda normal or i need to bring her rite away to a vet ?
These days weather is super hot, if you are placing her outside, she may get heatstroke. So better make sure no direct sunlight shine on her too. Make sure she drinks enough water. Keep feeding her water with vitamin C.
Juztiny
post Jun 11 2009, 10:45 PM

1,276 posts

I'm back from outstation trip. The weather is so hot these days, my 3 young abby gp died, as the mom did not drink enough water to produce milk for the babies. Luckily the male Shebby I have still in good health. It is now 5 weeks old, its fur is starting to grow long. I strongly believe it will look like a Peruvian when it is 6-8 months old. Hahaha..that is why I specially breed my Sheltie with medium long fur Abby to create a Peruvian look alike "Shebby". Tomorrow it will go to a new owner's home, so take his picture now to share with you all. Hopefully its new owner will come in here to share with us on his future photos.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 11 2009, 10:53 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Juztiny
post Jun 13 2009, 09:20 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Jun 13 2009, 11:19 AM)
Sorry for the loss of your babies Juztiny. Hope the Sheby continue to grow well. Pity you were outstation during when the mum wasnt providing o well for babies, else can handfeed them.
Ya...my maid inexperience to handle the GPs.
Juztiny
post Jun 18 2009, 10:52 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(katannaz @ Jun 18 2009, 04:33 AM)
hi....to all gps owner rclxms.gif

thanks to GOD my loly already delivered safely
3 babies but only 2 survive cry.gif

newborn of gp...still wet biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=1029145]

Died baby cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
[attachmentid=1029146]
[attachmentid=1029147]
[attachmentid=1029148]
Wohoho! You have quite a lot of GPs too! Congrates on new babies.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 18 2009, 10:53 AM
Juztiny
post Jun 19 2009, 12:17 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Jun 18 2009, 10:45 PM)
some pictures of my Cody boy~~

[attachmentid=1030784]
before trimming his hair~~

[attachmentid=1030791]
close up~~

[attachmentid=1030794]
punk hair style  thumbup.gif

[attachmentid=1030796]
big head  laugh.gif
Very nice looking with its fur getting longer.....I told you so when it was younger that it was not a 100% Abby. I'm quite expert in identifying the breed liao. Mostly like your Cody is also a "Shebby".

Added on June 19, 2009, 12:21 am
QUOTE(inexsis @ Jun 18 2009, 11:18 PM)
Thanks for the help. but the things is...she only like to pee in one corner at the same time sleep there. laugh.gif
i dont know if my gp automatically toilet trained tongue.gif because the seller said she is not toilet trained.
i try to put her bed there mayb she pee'd somewhre else, still cannot. mayb she like to sleep in her own pe laugh.gif

i think i going to get new cage like those rabbit cage where the pee will fell down on the tray and kept her clean.
its safe ka to use that cage ? can her escape ?
sorry for the mumbling  rclxm9.gif
Yes, GP definitely can use a rabbit cage, but you need to put a layer of rubber bath mat on the wired base to prevent its feet got stuck in there. You could refer the 1st page for reference in preparing a suitable home for your GP.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 19 2009, 12:21 AM
Juztiny
post Jun 21 2009, 11:13 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 20 2009, 11:01 PM)
check out tis....Grooming - guinea pig
Nice cut! Just wonder how do you handle it with one hand scissor and one hand holding the GP? Or do you need someone to hold the GP, so that you could cut it much easier?
Juztiny
post Jun 25 2009, 01:05 PM

1,276 posts

My GPs like to week when hear plastic bag sound (even their food bowl is full). They will week when they smell of fresh veg, fruits or grass smell, they week as if communicating to us that they want those food.
Juztiny
post Jun 28 2009, 01:06 PM

1,276 posts

Yesterday evening I adopted an adult Peruvian GP from a kind family. Here is her picture....very nice and healthy GP...I could see that her former owner took very good care of her.

Juztiny
post Jul 1 2009, 12:14 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Kien @ Jul 1 2009, 10:04 AM)
Ooo... what did you do with Blackie?

I just heard from a friend that if I give her the house, she'll get used to it and keep hiding. Is that true or can I make her come out?
If you want to bond with her, don't put the hiding place first. Let her see you and the new environment more, then she won't freak out easily too once she has familiar with you and her new environment.

Normally I don't put in the hiding place for my pigges, unless it is a pregnant sow. My piggies are very brave and familiar with human, anybody goes near their cage, they would come close to check him/her out.
Juztiny
post Jul 2 2009, 12:27 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Kien @ Jul 1 2009, 10:51 PM)
Hmm.... I can see how food makes a difference. This afternoon I fed her some treats (carrots and cucumber). Tonight when I came back from outing, she was out from her hidey house and wheeking at me. She got louder when I spoke and came nearer. Now she's staring at me through the hidey house hole. Once in a while, she'll come out and wheek and then go back in.

She keeps scratching. Is that normal? Or should I go buy a special shampoo?

Oh yeah and one more thing, since she's new, is it safe to let her have floor time? I am afraid that when I try to carry her, she'll run away and distrust me. How do I go from shy GP to picking up and cuddling to floor time?

You can start picking it up and cuddle, and talk to your piggy..but don't introduce free floor time yet. Keep scratching means got mites or lice problem.
Juztiny
post Jul 7 2009, 01:43 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Jul 6 2009, 06:24 PM)
limie-san still looking for male GP? why dont buy 1? male GP in my opinion will not have many problems if mixed with older female at early age...

I'm very frustrated this morning. I woke up around 6am to clean my GPs cage (i usually clean them on sunday but this week so busy...) right now my male shiki is in his personal cage, female yui in another personal cage and another 2 female cyndy n nao share a big cage. i separate yui from the other 2 female after all of them pregnant at the same time, as yui has major fur loss and need special attention...

Since all their babies are sold, i wish to put yui back with the other 2 females to save space. but as i tried to move her (this is the 3rd attempt) yui starting to become very aggresive, she do those "mating" dance-like, purring wildly and try to conquer the food bowl. any gp try to get close her will be chased away. then she will try to chase them and bite them until some strings of hair on her mouth....i was so worried and checked the other GP that has been bitten, lucky there is no bleeding...if this things happen, can they eventually make up with each other should i separate them forever? Yui was the most friendly gp before her pregnancy, she live with the other 2 very happily before...i'm so sad that she act this way...T_T now have to buy another cage for her coz i plan to move shiki to her old cage as the one shiki lives in is a temporary one.... :sigh:
Try to put it in and observe them. If there is no wound bleeding, after a while (may be take 3-5 days), they would be settled and get along well again.

My GPs sometimes for no reason will chase another one for no reason even they are opposite sex. As long as no bleeding, they will settle down after establishing their status. But of course, if you observed the weaker one is too stressed being bully all the time, then have to separate.
Juztiny
post Jul 7 2009, 04:28 PM

1,276 posts

Best approach is to wash your existing cages clean with vinegar to kill the smell, then reintroduce them back into a different cage (not the original one). If you have 5 cages, then swap cages for them. So none of them could claim territory.
Juztiny
post Aug 5 2009, 11:15 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Xiawa @ Aug 5 2009, 12:32 AM)
have 1 question, do lady gp got period ??

this morning i found some blood stain at a corner of their cage, i do check their body properly, no wound and their private part clean too  shocking.gif
any1 experienced this b4?? shocking.gif
Female GP does not have period ...the blood stain must be due to some other reasons.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0588sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:25 PM