Apr 20 2009, 09:19 AM
225 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Hmm... think i'll put him in a shoe box also.. Easier to find.. Hehehehe..
But now he seem to afraid of me oredi since i catch him to bath last Sat... But will come out from his house when i feed him... Also is it normal that GP like to pee poo in his hay? As i bought him a new hay container for him.. He like to go inside there pee poo oh... Then eat the hay wor... He still dun wanna use the toilet.. |
Apr 20 2009, 09:56 AM
1,434 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Subang Havoc! |
QUOTE(jaswwp @ Apr 20 2009, 12:09 AM) I use cat carrier to transport my GPs to vet. Overgrown tooth is something that can be avoided by grazing activities Sometimes teeth trimming is needed if they are overgrown ma, don't blame yourself further for what happened. Complications with surgery happen now and then, sometimes also hard to say if its the vets fault. Keep us updated on how your GP is doing QUOTE(hitz @ Apr 20 2009, 09:19 AM) Hmm... think i'll put him in a shoe box also.. Easier to find.. Hehehehe.. Sometimes they will pee or poo there.. There are some that treat hay as sort of their bedding ><; GP eating their poo is also normal. The toilet you can try putting some hay inside there too, and at the same time pick all his poo that is not inside the litter box and put it inside there.. See if he wants to utilize it. It takes time to actually toilet train them.. Took me many months too But now he seem to afraid of me oredi since i catch him to bath last Sat... But will come out from his house when i feed him... Also is it normal that GP like to pee poo in his hay? As i bought him a new hay container for him.. He like to go inside there pee poo oh... Then eat the hay wor... He still dun wanna use the toilet.. |
Apr 20 2009, 10:49 AM
543 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
[quote=meiixiin,Apr 19 2009, 11:32 PM]
Thanks~ Hehe, Latte really a cute guy... I am newbie in Guinea Pig, Latte is my first guinea pig~ Now is searching for a female gp as a companion for him. how much u buy it? |
Apr 20 2009, 10:57 AM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Thanks foR eveRything ..sugaR & jas...
I do undeRstand theRe R Risks invoLved in suRgeRies.. I just feeL hoRRibLe b'coz i just found out i didn't have to put him thRough the neuteRing suRgery in the 1st pLace & now theRe R compLications... Hope eveRything wiLL be aLL right... ^^~ JUst have to be PATiENT... *takes deep breath* Keeping GP's reaLLy tests uR patience... LOLs.... right hitz? |
Apr 20 2009, 11:17 AM
Take it easy Jacklene, lets just hope for the best ^^
Apr 20 2009, 12:04 PM
10 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Jacklene ..Hope ur Rex will be fine.Last satursday i went to see Dr.Jenny..she looked exhausted..coz recently she has many surgery to follow up..in ur case i really hope and pray that Rex will soon recovery from surgery.
i remembered the first time i went to Dr.J she told me wat kinda of disease will be faced by GP.one of the common disease is the overgrown teeth.she said for in this case, Malaysia has insufficient technology facilities for teeth trimming treatment.so she told to give somethin that is hard for GP to trim their..for eg cube hay, harden pallet..etc Seem like Dr.J misindentify the sex.oh..i've been thinking would it be possible my Cucci is a sow.coz recently Cucci gained his weight so rapidly in one week..i think she gained around 500gm...haha..he so fat now Added on April 20, 2009, 12:34 pm[quote=lengcaiboy,Apr 20 2009, 10:49 AM] [quote=meiixiin,Apr 19 2009, 11:32 PM] Thanks~ Hehe, Latte really a cute guy... I am newbie in Guinea Pig, Latte is my first guinea pig~ Now is searching for a female gp as a companion for him. how much u buy it? [/quote] meixin..Welcome..u may post ur GP picture let us see what is ur GP breed and where u bought ur GP This post has been edited by scorpgal: Apr 20 2009, 12:37 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM
16 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
its been weeks since my last visit.
kk, my gp girl's name is ming~~ in chinese writing is -冥- our relationship has not improve, everytime i wanted to pad her, she will avoid my hand, running around the cage, playing hide n seek with my hand~~ sigh that is i can't bring her out for flooring time, she will struggle if i try to lift her~ but she will wheek me for food if she sees me guys,any advice on bonding? juztiny~ i am not a very good owner~swt |
Apr 20 2009, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(JackLene @ Apr 20 2009, 10:57 AM) Thanks foR eveRything ..sugaR & jas... Yalo.. but they are so adorable sometimes... I do undeRstand theRe R Risks invoLved in suRgeRies.. I just feeL hoRRibLe b'coz i just found out i didn't have to put him thRough the neuteRing suRgery in the 1st pLace & now theRe R compLications... Hope eveRything wiLL be aLL right... ^^~ JUst have to be PATiENT... *takes deep breath* Keeping GP's reaLLy tests uR patience... LOLs.... right hitz? Sometimes so notti... But we all must be patience and take care of them lor... Hopefully mu blackie will be more friendlier toward me... He doesn't like me to pat him also sometimes... Doesn't allow me to catch him.. bath him.. But now i worried bout his nail... Added on April 20, 2009, 2:06 pm QUOTE(nzx10 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM) its been weeks since my last visit. Hahaha.. seem like you are having the same problem like me..kk, my gp girl's name is ming~~ in chinese writing is -冥- our relationship has not improve, everytime i wanted to pad her, she will avoid my hand, running around the cage, playing hide n seek with my hand~~ sigh that is i can't bring her out for flooring time, she will struggle if i try to lift her~ but she will wheek me for food if she sees me guys,any advice on bonding? juztiny~ i am not a very good owner~swt But don't worry.. after a while she will learn to snif hand... Then let's you pat her for a while... all this take time... Like my blackie also... after 2 week only bond little with me only... Be patience.. This post has been edited by hitz: Apr 20 2009, 02:06 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(nzx10 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM) its been weeks since my last visit. You will have to take her out.. bonding takes a lot of time, if she keeps running and struggling when you wanna pick her up, you can try luring her with her favorite veges and then slowly patting her... and then gently cup from her tummy and carry her out of the cage. And during floor time, you can lay still and let her explore you. If you have a soft baby brush, you can put her on your lap and then brush her.. my 2 girls loveeeee when it comes to brushing.. they will purrr and purrrr... like nobody's business.. But saphira the small one is still stubborn at times when i wanna take her out kk, my gp girl's name is ming~~ in chinese writing is -冥- our relationship has not improve, everytime i wanted to pad her, she will avoid my hand, running around the cage, playing hide n seek with my hand~~ sigh that is i can't bring her out for flooring time, she will struggle if i try to lift her~ but she will wheek me for food if she sees me guys,any advice on bonding? juztiny~ i am not a very good owner~swt |
Apr 20 2009, 02:21 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(nzx10 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM) its been weeks since my last visit. Sugar has given you some tips already, so I would just add in my style a bit...once you catch her out, still hold her tight (to avoid accidentally drop her when she struggle), one hand hold her armpit area, and another hand support her bud and hind legs area. Put her face directly face to face with you at very close distance, let her look at you closely, you look into her eyes and and talk to her too, gently comb with your finger on her nose and between eyes area. Hold her like that whenever you took her out several times. After some times she won't be scared of you so much.kk, my gp girl's name is ming~~ in chinese writing is -冥- our relationship has not improve, everytime i wanted to pad her, she will avoid my hand, running around the cage, playing hide n seek with my hand~~ sigh that is i can't bring her out for flooring time, she will struggle if i try to lift her~ but she will wheek me for food if she sees me guys,any advice on bonding? juztiny~ i am not a very good owner~swt |
Apr 20 2009, 02:34 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Thanks...Tomorrow's the suRgeRy day...
LOLs..ActuaLLy...Rex isn't the one I neuteRed.. it's Rex's Son. But Rex is the one who accidentaLLy swaLLowed his own tooth >_<~ I think.. MOST GP's wiLL runaway when u tRy to catch them... Even mine... Some of them R not afRaid of me i think... can do tricks aLso.. but whenever i wanna catch them.. they wiLL stiLL tRy to run... It's theiR instincts.... But I found 1 effective way to caLm them down ... As soon as u pick them up.. hoLd them cLose to uR chest/Body... when i cuddLe them that way.. they wiLL be moRe comfy... ^^~ My GP"s R reaLLy teaching me how to be PATiENT man.... LOLs it's veRy chaLLenging... This post has been edited by JackLene: Apr 20 2009, 02:36 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 02:43 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Cheras |
My Sheltie Gucci is very funny..till todate she will still scream whenever I hold her...she screams very loud as if being slaughtered by me...actually she would not struggle when I hold her, but she just like to scream non-stop. I'm sure my neighbours will think that I keep GPs and slaughter them to eat every day.
Apr 20 2009, 03:01 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: kl |
QUOTE(Juztiny @ Apr 20 2009, 03:43 PM) My Sheltie Gucci is very funny..till todate she will still scream whenever I hold her...she screams very loud as if being slaughtered by me...actually she would not struggle when I hold her, but she just like to scream non-stop. I'm sure my neighbours will think that I keep GPs and slaughter them to eat every day. wow that's extream...lol ermm for nubby...before i get close to his cage..i would call his name then walk slowly to him he wont run lol just that he likes to play..i think he's ticklish...coz before i can hold his tummy he popcorned and try to nib my hand...but not that painful til he leaves a mark la..just like cubit me with his teeth only..then he run around...then come back to my hand...=_=" |
Apr 20 2009, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(JackLene @ Apr 20 2009, 02:34 PM) Thanks...Tomorrow's the suRgeRy day... Wish the best for tomolo operation.. LOLs..ActuaLLy...Rex isn't the one I neuteRed.. it's Rex's Son. But Rex is the one who accidentaLLy swaLLowed his own tooth >_<~ I think.. MOST GP's wiLL runaway when u tRy to catch them... Even mine... Some of them R not afRaid of me i think... can do tricks aLso.. but whenever i wanna catch them.. they wiLL stiLL tRy to run... It's theiR instincts.... But I found 1 effective way to caLm them down ... As soon as u pick them up.. hoLd them cLose to uR chest/Body... when i cuddLe them that way.. they wiLL be moRe comfy... ^^~ My GP"s R reaLLy teaching me how to be PATiENT man.... LOLs it's veRy chaLLenging... Hope all ur GP will be fine.. Added on April 20, 2009, 3:05 pm QUOTE(Juztiny @ Apr 20 2009, 02:21 PM) Sugar has given you some tips already, so I would just add in my style a bit...once you catch her out, still hold her tight (to avoid accidentally drop her when she struggle), one hand hold her armpit area, and another hand support her bud and hind legs area. Put her face directly face to face with you at very close distance, let her look at you closely, you look into her eyes and and talk to her too, gently comb with your finger on her nose and between eyes area. Hold her like that whenever you took her out several times. After some times she won't be scared of you so much. I tried to catch him... but scare he sratch my hand oh when i try to put him near my chest... then put him down liao.. Hehehee This post has been edited by hitz: Apr 20 2009, 03:05 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 03:43 PM
3,782 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(nzx10 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM) its been weeks since my last visit. You can try to pick out the GP and put her on your lap and pet her. After she settle down on your lap, give her a few small size treats like bits of carrot or rolled oats. Talk to her, pet her, feed her... sooner or later she will get used to you. I owned my GPs more than 1 year already but sometimes they still run away when I try to pat them in their cage but sometimes they are just fine with it. See mood I guess.... mostly I think they are ruled by their appetites kk, my gp girl's name is ming~~ in chinese writing is -冥- our relationship has not improve, everytime i wanted to pad her, she will avoid my hand, running around the cage, playing hide n seek with my hand~~ sigh that is i can't bring her out for flooring time, she will struggle if i try to lift her~ but she will wheek me for food if she sees me guys,any advice on bonding? juztiny~ i am not a very good owner~swt Added on April 20, 2009, 3:48 pm QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Apr 20 2009, 09:56 AM) Overgrown tooth is something that can be avoided by grazing activities In some cases they might break their top or bottom teeth due to chewing to hard on cage bars if they have that habit. Then the leftover teeth gets overgrown because of lack of grinding with the broken teeth. If like that then no choice but to trim the teeth until the broken teeth grow back. I have had cases where my pets teeth never grew back after being broken though Sometimes they will pee or poo there.. There are some that treat hay as sort of their bedding ><; GP eating their poo is also normal. The toilet you can try putting some hay inside there too, and at the same time pick all his poo that is not inside the litter box and put it inside there.. See if he wants to utilize it. It takes time to actually toilet train them.. Took me many months too This post has been edited by jaswwp: Apr 20 2009, 03:48 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(jaswwp @ Apr 20 2009, 03:43 PM) You can try to pick out the GP and put her on your lap and pet her. After she settle down on your lap, give her a few small size treats like bits of carrot or rolled oats. Talk to her, pet her, feed her... sooner or later she will get used to you. I owned my GPs more than 1 year already but sometimes they still run away when I try to pat them in their cage but sometimes they are just fine with it. See mood I guess.... mostly I think they are ruled by their appetites yes only extreme cases ><.. but jacklene's rex im not sure if it was actually an extreme case that she had to trim it down Added on April 20, 2009, 3:48 pm In some cases they might break their top or bottom teeth due to chewing to hard on cage bars if they have that habit. Then the leftover teeth gets overgrown because of lack of grinding with the broken teeth. If like that then no choice but to trim the teeth until the broken teeth grow back. I have had cases where my pets teeth never grew back after being broken though |
Apr 20 2009, 03:59 PM
3,782 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Cheras |
Not sure... but with my pets, I found out the hard way that its better to trim it early... one of my pets, the teeth was extremely overgrown coz I was hoping she could grind them down herself after the 1st few trimmings. Ends up when I finally tried to trim it, she accidently bit herself with those long teeth when she struggle and her mouth was bleeding all over.
Its probably for the vet to decide how long is too long I guess. |
Apr 20 2009, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(jaswwp @ Apr 20 2009, 03:59 PM) Not sure... but with my pets, I found out the hard way that its better to trim it early... one of my pets, the teeth was extremely overgrown coz I was hoping she could grind them down herself after the 1st few trimmings. Ends up when I finally tried to trim it, she accidently bit herself with those long teeth when she struggle and her mouth was bleeding all over. I see.. how old was she when she had the overgrown tooth? Its probably for the vet to decide how long is too long I guess. |
Apr 20 2009, 04:37 PM
33 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(scorpgal @ Apr 20 2009, 01:04 PM) Added on April 20, 2009, 12:34 pm meixin..Welcome..u may post ur GP picture let us see what is ur GP breed and where u bought ur GP Price: RM 40 at Ikano Power Center Pet Safari I buy one pair abby with my friend at Pet Safari 3 week ago, but now both of them also suffering of fungus infection. When buying we had noticed it, but we thought we can clean it by antifungus cream. And now become like this... Added on April 20, 2009, 4:49 pmWhat problem of my guinea pig? Is it fungus infection or lack of vitamin C? Already 3 days of treatment after come back from vet, his problem still same... Headache... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by meiixiin: Apr 20 2009, 04:54 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0294sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:38 AM |