193 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

sonerin
post Nov 25 2013, 11:08 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 25 2013, 12:35 AM)
my current stereo setup:

Speaker: Xls-Encore from (www.curveacoustics.com)
Pre/pros: Emotiva UMC-200
Bluray player: Playstation 3
Amplifier: Topping TP-60 (Emerald physics 100.2SE is on the way icon_idea.gif)
DAC: Centrance DAC port LX
Speaker stand: Custom made from (www.atsrack.com)
Screen: Dell 23"

[attachmentid=3738611]
How is is the UMC 200 ? Any HDMI handshake issue ?
vivakarna
post Nov 25 2013, 11:11 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 25 2013, 11:08 AM)
How is is the UMC 200 ? Any HDMI handshake issue ?
so far no problem. What is the handshake issue?
ActSessory
post Nov 25 2013, 11:13 AM

17 posts

wow.. fun thread!
Learnt so much here indeed from everybody's 2cents and experiences.
Aerspace
post Nov 25 2013, 01:54 PM

Hi guys, does anyone know where i can buy DAC( Digital "Toshlink" to Analogue Converter) in KL. And how much will it cost me?
Went to a few electronic shop including radio shack.. they dont have any.

Saw a few on lelong's website. But its too expensive IMO.

I only need an affordable one like this

This post has been edited by Aerspace: Nov 25 2013, 02:18 PM

Attached image(s)
klimal
post Nov 25 2013, 04:20 PM

1,136 posts

I have a 15m HDMI run for my projector and never had issues.
The Darblet is at the receiver end and also no issues with the image.
If one is having long runs, make sure one uses a bigger gauge cable.
Thanks to advice from htkaki, the HT sifu, I bought this cable from Monoprice.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&...&seq=1&format=2

Thick and stiff but does the job right from day one.
skeelee
post Nov 25 2013, 04:50 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Nov 25 2013, 04:20 PM)

I have a 15m HDMI run for my projector and never had issues.
The Darblet is at the receiver end and also no issues with the image.
If one is having long runs, make sure one uses a bigger gauge cable.

I got the HDMI cable from another forummer, before I met htkaki. Now I know where to get my next HDMI cable.

SUSchokia
post Nov 25 2013, 10:15 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Nov 25 2013, 04:20 PM)

How come the cable you bought only support 720p/1080i Resolution ?

sonerin
post Nov 25 2013, 11:33 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 25 2013, 11:11 AM)
so far no problem. What is the handshake issue?
Sometimes when you change source the audio will be loss. Sometimes when you skip scenes on a movie the audio will be loss.
vivakarna
post Nov 25 2013, 11:42 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 25 2013, 11:33 PM)
Sometimes when you change source the audio will be loss. Sometimes when you skip scenes on a movie the audio will be loss.
Oh ok, so far no problem, but the remote feels cheap sweat.gif need a lot time to understand its features as this is my first processor and the manual didn't show much.
sonerin
post Nov 25 2013, 11:48 PM

8,739 posts

Nothing much about the remote that is of daily use. How long have you been using it ? If there is no problem, will consider to get one to replace my UMC 1
vivakarna
post Nov 25 2013, 11:56 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 25 2013, 11:48 PM)
Nothing much about the remote that is of daily use. How long have you been using it ? If there is no problem, will consider to get one to replace my UMC 1
about 2 weeks. Better upgrade bro, currently it is on sale.
sonerin
post Nov 26 2013, 12:00 AM

8,739 posts

I want to see if there is similar problem, if not is not worth it. Return buyer automatically get 30% discount. Also was considering other AV processor as well.
I had check out the site, the promotion is expensive compare to when I buy 2 years back. The XPA-5 is selling at 899 currently. I bought it at 699 2 years back.

This post has been edited by sonerin: Nov 26 2013, 12:03 AM
klimal
post Nov 26 2013, 10:06 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 25 2013, 10:15 PM)
How come the cable you bought only support 720p/1080i Resolution ?
When I bought it 2 years ago, those specs were not listed then.
Still, no problems with transmission.
My Dune set to output 1080p and the Denon AVR's HDMI signal info when in operation, also shows 1080p.

SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2013, 10:58 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Nov 26 2013, 10:06 AM)
When I bought it 2 years ago, those specs were not listed then.
Still, no problems with transmission.
My Dune set to output 1080p and the Denon AVR's HDMI signal info when in operation, also shows 1080p.
that monoprice has ton of HDMI cables and make people confuse. Some even monodirection (redmere) and some has equalizer, high speed, ethernet and without etc, when i thought all HDMI version 1.4 can do all these including 3D.

I can even transmit 4K signal upscaled from my computer to the TV with existing HDMI cable.

click for original reso - cropped 3840 × 2160 to 3840 x 1884 for posting purpose

So im saying do we even need redmere or even HDMI 2.0 to be future proof? (for a cable?)

ben3003
post Nov 26 2013, 11:08 AM

10,859 posts

can anyone help me in choose a decent setup for entry lvl HT around 3k? Local hifi shop quoted me onkyo HT528 5.1 set+denon 1612+ speaker cables for 3.1k.. Lazada selling boston acoustic + denon 1513 for 2.5k.

dont know which set to go with..
klimal
post Nov 26 2013, 11:43 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 26 2013, 10:58 AM)
that monoprice has ton of HDMI cables and make people confuse. Some even monodirection (redmere) and some has equalizer, high speed, ethernet and without etc, when i thought all HDMI version 1.4 can do all these including 3D.

I can even transmit 4K signal upscaled from my computer to the TV with existing HDMI cable.

click for original reso - cropped 3840 × 2160 to 3840 x 1884 for posting purpose

So im saying do we even need redmere or even HDMI 2.0 to be future proof? (for a cable?)
If I remember correctly, a member here also was doing 3D on his old v1.3 HDMI cables too.
The specs are there as a minimum point for data transmission.
So that any higher bandwidth is a bonus if it goes thro'.

This post has been edited by klimal: Nov 26 2013, 11:46 AM
klimal
post Nov 26 2013, 11:49 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 26 2013, 11:08 AM)
can anyone help me in choose a decent setup for entry lvl HT around 3k? Local hifi shop quoted me onkyo HT528 5.1 set+denon 1612+ speaker cables for 3.1k.. Lazada selling boston acoustic + denon 1513 for 2.5k.

dont know which set to go with..
When I first started, I went for pre-owned avr and speakers.
For the same amount of money, you will get a much better system that will blow away any HTIB.
Just take your time and check out places like mudah and hifi4sale.
As for HTIB, for that price, most will sound the same.
ben3003
post Nov 26 2013, 12:01 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Nov 26 2013, 11:49 AM)
When I first started, I went for pre-owned avr and speakers.
For the same amount of money, you will get a much better system that will blow away any HTIB.
Just take your time and check out places like mudah and hifi4sale.
As for HTIB, for that price, most will sound the same.
problem is i stay in east msia, shipping those used set (mostly are in the west) are expensive, and most of them doesnt ship.. that's why i am limited to those option.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Nov 26 2013, 12:02 PM
SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2013, 02:18 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 26 2013, 12:01 PM)
problem is i stay in east msia, shipping those used set (mostly are in the west) are expensive, and most of them doesnt ship.. that's why i am limited to those option.
What's wrong with ebay? youll get cheaper and new product right on your doorstep. All you have to do is find the model you like, read all review and forum concerning the unit, go to ebay, search and sort the lowest price + shipping and pay. Easy.

I used to think that separate AVR and speaker are better too, only to find out that certain HITB is using similar receiver rebranded with different name and sold separately.

Case-in-point: my old HITB Onkyo HTS5300 is using SR508 receiver that people buy separately rebranded to HT580.

So if they're the same why the former is better?
ben3003
post Nov 26 2013, 02:34 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 26 2013, 02:18 PM)
What's wrong with ebay? youll get cheaper and new product right on your doorstep. All you have to do is find the model you like, read all review and forum concerning the unit, go to ebay, search and sort the lowest price + shipping and pay. Easy.

I used to think that separate AVR and speaker are better too, only to find out that certain HITB is using similar receiver rebranded with different name and sold separately.

Case-in-point: my old HITB Onkyo HTS5300 is using SR508 receiver that people buy separately rebranded to HT580.

So if they're the same why the former is better?
So u mean ship all the way from outside malaysia, with all the taxes and shipping fee, i dont think it is cheaper. well normally HTiB are like those philips, samsung, panasonic, sony etc etc.. onkyo will pair their receiver with their branded speaker.

193 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:29 AM