Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
xjukie
Aug 30 2009, 12:32 PM
Model Name: MacBook Pro 15" Model Identifier: MacBookPro2,2 Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor Speed: 2.16 GHz Number Of Processors: 1 Total Number Of Cores: 2 L2 Cache: 4 MB Memory: 2 GB Bus Speed: 667 MHz Boot ROM Version: MBP22.00A5.B07 SMC Version (system): 1.12f5 Serial Number (system): W87101QAW0G
Currently running 2GB, i have done some googling max up to 2gb or 3gb. A bit confusing me. Actually ?
This post has been edited by xjukie: Aug 30 2009, 12:38 PM
xjukie
Aug 30 2009, 02:42 PM
so the conclusion is in our case its support only 3gb not 4gb and better running 2gb instead of 2gb+1gb which make it 'slower'? what i nice discussion
xjukie
Dec 8 2009, 10:53 AM
Before i open up the casing upgrading the RAM, everything is ok. I can login into Tiger as usual. But after that no more, when start machine then it stuck at the Apple Icon with the rounding circle (boot up) Dun have idea what to troubleshoot, is it hard disk failure?
This post has been edited by xjukie: Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM
xjukie
Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(chewlf @ Dec 8 2009, 10:59 AM) Is it due to the new RAM not compatible? Try to take out the RAM and put back the original RAM to see whether it can boot or not. if the ram problem and not compatible i found it will prompt the folder icon look alike, when i take out and put it back the icon disappear. So nothing to do with the RAM i think, correct me if im wrong.
xjukie
Dec 8 2009, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(air @ Dec 8 2009, 11:01 AM) Check the RAM compatibility before you upgrade dude. now im using STOCK RAM, still the same Wonder i touch something that might cause booting problem, hardisk maybe?
xjukie
Dec 8 2009, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(air @ Dec 8 2009, 11:05 AM) Your description are too vague, you not even specify the size, specs, steps etc. step at the first post, to make it clear .. i put everything as before i upgraded the RAM but the situation still the same, after turn on machine with the chime sound .. it stuck at the boot up with the Apple icon and rounding circle below Got what im saying?
xjukie
Dec 8 2009, 11:36 AM
just curious if the system troubleshooting depends on the which generation. Not sure which version, the default ram DDR400. I never dealing with PowerPc machine before.
Again i state, i take out the upgraded RAM 512MB and put it back the old ram 256MB wonder if the 512MB not compatible, but after restore back the boot up still problem with the Apple logo and rounding below.
This post has been edited by xjukie: Dec 8 2009, 11:39 AM