GATHERING OF VICTIM OF NVIDIA 8400M, PLEASE STAY AWAY OF NVIDIA 8400M & 8600M

SUSbabyrabies
post Apr 1 2009, 05:57 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 1 2009, 05:27 PM)
I disagreed if said 100% NVIDIA 8400M got issue. is still depend on the OEM manufacture to determine the final outcome.
but all NVIDIA 8xxx series user still better confirm check the brand company website like hp, dell, etc... for any latest announcement . that's why NVIDIA denied and did not launch recall program 100%ly. like sony battery fire issue...
so no point to advise to 100% stay away from NVIDIA 8400M system, plus try dun use all CAPS post....
dude, a recall on ALL 8 series chip would cause nvidia bankrupt.
I would keep mum too if im them.
It aint the brand, its the gpu. But i believe 8 series gpu manufactured after sept would
have rectified the soldering material.

eclectice
post Apr 1 2009, 06:10 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(babyrabies @ Apr 1 2009, 05:57 PM)
It aint the brand, its the gpu. But i believe 8 series gpu manufactured after sept would
Electromigration on the soldering material... It is quite an issue in any IC design with super-small size...

http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/3...chips-defective
wayfeel
post Apr 1 2009, 06:46 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 1 2009, 05:27 PM)
I disagreed if said 100% NVIDIA 8400M got issue. is still depend on the OEM manufacture to determine the final outcome.
but all NVIDIA 8xxx series user still better confirm check the brand company website like hp, dell, etc... for any latest announcement, that's why NVIDIA denied and did not launch recall program 100%ly. like sony battery fire issue...
so no point to advise to 100% stay away from NVIDIA 8400M system, plus try dun use all CAPS post....
You say that's why NVIDIA denied and did not launch recall program 100%ly
HP manager said HP won't admit the chips are faulty until NVIDIA admits they are faulty and release the full list
I say no point fingering. fingerin only works on girls brows.gif

i think both HP and nvidia have problem. nvidia cards have problm not only in HP brand but others brands as well which is quite prevalent...n obvious

HP notebook with iGPU card (non geforce) oso got problm of lcd not able to on and strings of minor problems which altogether sum up huge defects in HP notebook

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 1 2009, 06:48 PM
astria
post Apr 1 2009, 07:07 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Apr 1 2009, 06:10 PM)
Electromigration on the soldering material... It is quite an issue in any IC design with super-small size...

http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/3...chips-defective
the inquirer??? notorious for being a Nvidia basher... dun trust totally...
chiam dar siang
post Apr 1 2009, 08:59 PM

873 posts

how about nvidia geforce go 6150??
astria
post Apr 1 2009, 09:08 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(chiam dar siang @ Apr 1 2009, 08:59 PM)
how about nvidia geforce go 6150??
nothing to do with this leh... GeForce 6150 is a GeForce 6 integrated graphic...
chiam dar siang
post Apr 1 2009, 09:11 PM

873 posts

but i heard it also got problem for the whole hp tx1XXX series
http://www.mycheaplaptop.net/
cannavaro
post Apr 1 2009, 09:37 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Many of the v3000 series use GeForce 6150. It's also a timebomb, particularly the earlier models. (Before 36xx IIRC) sweat.gif
That's why HP extended the warranty of the affected v3000 as well as some HP Pavilion models.

There was a page on HP's site documenting this problem, listing the affected models, symptoms and whatnot. All of em have NVIDIA inside.

Added on April 1, 2009, 9:39 pmRelated link:

http://www.techspot.com/news/31553-nvidia-...e-response.html

Just google 'nvidia gpu failure', you'll get loads more info.

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Apr 1 2009, 09:39 PM
kazasho
post Apr 1 2009, 10:39 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

going desktop for me after my laptop dies. no more laptop, except as a alternative like vaio p.<-- I love this cutie
amduser
post Apr 1 2009, 11:04 PM

5,542 posts

that's the old news, all 8 series card including my 7150M/630M also have the overheat problem, no choice but to live with it, i also dont know u warranty over already or not, gonna extend it if it is over
astria
post Apr 1 2009, 11:35 PM

22,158 posts

7150M is considered part of GeForce 8M family as according to Nvidia...
crazeetechcrew
post Apr 2 2009, 12:47 AM

132 posts

im also nvdia victim huhu.. my lapply doesnt want to boot up.. i need to push again n again start button until window screen appear.. this is bullshit ...
chiam dar siang
post Apr 2 2009, 07:54 AM

873 posts

emmm do nvidia 9100g, 9200gs, 9300gs as well as 9600gt have such problem? i heard that nvidia repackage some of the 8k series gpu to be 9k series gpu, is it true? im kinda worry.
djlah
post Apr 2 2009, 08:13 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(babyrabies @ Apr 1 2009, 05:57 PM)
yes, if recall will bankrupt I guess...
personally i also think that is not hp or oem fault, chipset itself already have design issue.
if the oem manufacture have very good on final design how to prolong it, it might still can cover, usually on standard size of system. for those small small compact system or certain design on system still unable to save the nvidia chipset issue.
when I said not 100% must have issue, but perhaps it already very high failure rate already happen. 97%?
we dunno, I'm sure nvidia must keep this number highly confidential. so, generally comment on chipset might not helpful for those want to buy new system, unless stated more specify details on model number.....
rubinho14
post Apr 2 2009, 08:45 AM

98 posts

Question is.. Is there clear evidence that G84M chipsets produced after October 2008 are using the new Hitachi underfill stated by NVIDIA, supposedly fixing the problem. We'd only know that for sure in January 2010, where most of the newest buyers of the current chips would reach the 1 year period.

I pray they fixed it. Cuz I just purchased my XPS.. And my order was delayed 1 month cuz not enough stock.. Hopefully they made new chips for it tongue.gif Hehehe..
astria
post Apr 2 2009, 09:07 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(chiam dar siang @ Apr 2 2009, 07:54 AM)
emmm do nvidia 9100g, 9200gs, 9300gs as well as 9600gt have such problem? i heard that nvidia repackage some of the 8k series gpu to be 9k series gpu, is it true? im kinda worry.
9500M GS, 9300M G are renamed 8600M GT and 8400M GS respectively...
DanWicked
post Apr 4 2009, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(astria @ Apr 2 2009, 10:37 AM)
9500M GS, 9300M G are renamed 8600M GT and 8400M GS respectively...
hi All,

I'm my laptop recently cannot detect signal when i try to project on the projector. Over 1 year now i never face this problem. I'm suspectin this relating to this issue as my Dell Vostro 1400 had been advice by dell to change the motherboard to get this problem solved. Anyone facing same issue or is changing chipset and motherboard the solution?

D
TSwiranoob
post Apr 10 2009, 01:56 PM

35 posts

I've been searching thru alot of forums lately...also found out alot of complain of user worldwide on the Nvidia 9000 Series Mobile GPU.... So therefore, please be careful when u r going to buy a new laptop nowadays especially those with Nvidia GPU... It is already well known to have overheating and abnormally higher rate of premature failure... which most likely happen between 1st n 2nd year...Therefore, try choose other alternative like ATI or those Intel intregrated GPU. If you really like the Nvidia, I STRONGLY recommend you guys out there to buy or request for 3 yrs extented if possible. Do trust me... me and few of my friends are victims of the STUPID NVIDIA and the POOR HP Quality & After Sales Service.... HAPPY SHOPPING smile.gif
FrostLance
post Apr 10 2009, 08:36 PM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

i avoided nVidia in my newest laptop purchase n went with ATi instead for the time being. The trouble i had with my S41 really made me hate nVidia. I saved my schholar money, eating instant noodles almost everyday and some hard work to earn for that S41, and less than a year later the GC broke down, luckily it was under warranty period at the time, then it broke down 1 more time. the third time the gc died on me, i took the S41 n smashed it on the ground lol... so damn frustated.

now damn happy with 3670 on my dell studio xps 16. Peace of mind for now. Will take some years b4 i get the confidence to buy nVidia product again
djhenry91
post Apr 10 2009, 09:13 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

all manufather kena..
all becoz Geforce 8400

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:45 AM