35 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Panasonic TH-P42X10K & TH-P50X10K Thread, New 2009 X-Series Plasma from Panasonic

lanzanie
post Apr 27 2009, 11:26 AM

Just bought the plasma 42X10K last saturday from HTkaki.
Really impress with ASTRO quality and the best thing best price from Htkaki.

But i noticed, this plasma tv quite hot. Or should i used ECO mode?.
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 11:34 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(lanzanie @ Apr 27 2009, 11:26 AM)
Just bought the plasma 42X10K last saturday from HTkaki.
Really impress with ASTRO quality and the best thing best price from Htkaki.

But i noticed, this plasma tv quite hot. Or should i used ECO mode?.
Plasma generated more heat, that's normal. No AC at your hall? sweat.gif
fourzee
post Apr 27 2009, 11:45 AM

388 posts

maybe not enough coolant or ventilation plasma can over heat .. smoke will come out!
ape
post Apr 27 2009, 02:24 PM

849 posts

I just bought my 42x10k at lxxxxx shop at RM3450 includes free gift. can check the setting to access the service menu still the same as PV80? Just to make sure this is not the display set.
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 02:40 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Apr 27 2009, 02:24 PM)
I just bought my 42x10k at lxxxxx shop at RM3450 includes free gift. can check the setting to access the service menu still the same as PV80? Just to make sure this is not the display set.
Yup same. Mine's from lxxxxx too, brand new set with 0 counter thumbup.gif
neb
post Apr 27 2009, 02:52 PM

2,234 posts

you guys got any dead pixel on the plasma panel?

is this how you access the serviceman menu: hold down "volume -" on the plasma, then press "info" button 3 times on the remote?

This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 02:57 PM
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 03:03 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 27 2009, 02:52 PM)
you guys got any dead pixel on the plasma panel?

is this how you access the serviceman menu: hold down "volume -" on the plasma, then press "info" button 3 times on the remote?
I think dead/stuck pixels is pretty rare on a plasma, even though there's possibility.

Mine's ok.
jchong
post Apr 27 2009, 03:22 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 27 2009, 02:40 PM)
Yup same. Mine's from lxxxxx too, brand new set with 0 counter thumbup.gif
What is "lxxxxx"? Is it Legend in SS2?
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 03:38 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 27 2009, 03:22 PM)
What is "lxxxxx"? Is it Legend in SS2?
Legend. There are 4 branches IIRC.
anfieldude
post Apr 27 2009, 07:22 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 26 2009, 11:57 PM)
dig up some charts done by D-nice@avsforum, showing before and after calibration done on X1(not x10 plasma though sweat.gif ) panasonic plasma, target is D65 CIE Illuminant standard:
user posted imageuser posted image

another set of charts showing colour accuracy with respect to rec. 709 HDTV standard:
user posted imageuser posted image
inside bullseye circle, must be pretty much accurate!
The bullseye circle is not the correct way to see the accuracy. Look at the Delta E numbers. For colours, it should be Delta E 1994, best to be below 1, better below 1.5, below 3 should be good. The bullseye circle is for the calibrator when he is calibrating.

For grayscale, 1976 Delta E should be below 2. Anything below 1 is very good. The X10 is better in terms of colour and grayscale compared to the PV80 and much better black levels.
neb
post Apr 27 2009, 07:47 PM

2,234 posts

great! we have lowyat member who can read the chart. rclxms.gif

however the charts are for x1, wonder anyone in malaysia has the equipment to do the calibration and publish the result for x10 and the settings for diy calibration.
the calibrator is using PR-655 spectroradiometer, the price of one unit can buy you 15x P42x10
anfieldude
post Apr 27 2009, 08:00 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 27 2009, 07:47 PM)
great! we have lowyat member who can read the chart.  rclxms.gif

however the charts are for x1, wonder anyone in malaysia has the equipment to do the calibration and publish the result for x10 and the settings for diy calibration.
the calibrator is using PR-655 spectroradiometer, the price of one unit can buy you 15x P42x10
I shd be getting round to calibrating one soon. I have done the PV80 before. The PR-655 is an excellent meter. It is more for professional calibration. An EyeOne pro that is also a spectroradiometer, is more than acceptable. Most pro calibrators use it in conjuction with a more expensive meter. A Chroma 5 is also a very decent meter. There are a lot of comparisons between these 2 meters and the more expensive PR-655 and the results are almost similar. There is a company in Malaysia who uses the Konica Minolta CS200 that is also a fairly expensive meter. D-Nice is a great guy and his knowledge of plasmas is extremely deep.
neb
post Apr 27 2009, 08:23 PM

2,234 posts

delta E 1994 for green and cyan is over 3 so no good? so how will these manifest in the plasma display?

This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 08:29 PM
termite9
post Apr 27 2009, 08:58 PM

91 posts

all sifu/taikor,

do u all feel that P42X10 PQ abit dark? not yet try the expert's setting. anyone try it? how's the PQ?

cheeers
anfieldude
post Apr 27 2009, 09:17 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 27 2009, 08:23 PM)
delta E 1994 for green and cyan is over 3 so no good? so how will these manifest in the plasma display?
It just means that these 2 colours are not too accurate. Still its pretty acceptable. The eye is pretty sensitive to variations in blue (skies) and red (skin tones). The eye is also very sensitive to luminance errors in these 2 colours. The X10 fixes one issue that the PV80 had. If you look at the colour luminance charts, post calibration the luminance of red is pretty accurate. If the black bar beside the red is way higher than the red bar, you would see it in skin tones (tanned skins). Since the Pannys do not have a CMS there is nothing you can do about it. The error in cyan is there mainly because of the error in green. Once you are used to calibrated colours, you will notice errors, if you are not, you might not even feel it (green and cyan). Inaccurate reds and blues you would see quickly.

This is one area where the Samsungs do very well. They have a fantastic CMS and the colour errors are almost below 0.5!
neb
post Apr 27 2009, 10:32 PM

2,234 posts

so samsung LCD TV has full 3D CMS(Colour Management System) and manual colour temperature controls? panasonic should add those in their future plasma.

This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 10:58 PM
SiFeiZai
post Apr 28 2009, 12:11 AM

27 posts

Cant wait for my TH-P50X10K to reach my doorstep 2morrow afternoon...
I ordered n made full payment at the nearest panasonic retailer near my house which is in LUKUT,PORT DICKSON...
It cost me RM5999 + free 2m HDMI cable + free SDR-S26 video camera... Quite worthy...

g88
post Apr 28 2009, 12:16 AM

1,631 posts

Just curious can this 2 model beat Kuro HD ready or not ? biggrin.gif
kianwee
post Apr 28 2009, 12:25 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 28 2009, 12:16 AM)
Just curious can this 2 model beat Kuro HD ready or not ? biggrin.gif
No, I don't think so.