10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

IPTA VS IPTS, which one has higher oppurtunity to work

Bepeon
post Apr 16 2009, 04:15 PM

Tennis Lover
3,768 posts

Well, i would assume people who study in private university get degree cert issued by oversea university (those 3+0 programs in private uni such as Monash University, Sheffield University, University of South Australia), while people who study in public universities in Malaysia are awarded with certs issued by UM, UTM, USM blah blah blah.

So maybe people outside of this country will actually recognize certs issued by oversea universities rather than names like UM, UTM, USM, UTAR... lolz

This post has been edited by Bepeon: Apr 16 2009, 04:15 PM
lordblood
post Apr 16 2009, 04:55 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Apr 16 2009, 04:10 PM)
Hey everyone, is it really true that, if we have a degree from a private university, we have more opportunities to go international, compared to if we own a degree from a public university?
I disagree with that. When the first unis came up in Malaysia, somewhere in 1970, everyone was fighting to enter in correct? As it was the only uni back then.. Slowly more and more unis come up, be it IPTA or IPTS.. There's no guarantee having a IPTS degree will guarantee u a place in overseas, heck it doesn't even guarantee u a job here in Malaysia.. And I know so many people who are local graduates and are now in overseas, either working for big international companies or migrated there.. To me it comes down to what u study and how u perform in your working life. You maybe a graduate from a top prestigious uni but if you can't even work to save yourself, what good is the degree? No difference whether u come out from IPTA or IPTS.

Added on April 16, 2009, 4:57 pm
QUOTE(Bepeon @ Apr 16 2009, 04:15 PM)
Well, i would assume people who study in private university get degree cert issued by oversea university (those 3+0 programs in private uni such as Monash University, Sheffield University, University of South Australia), while people who study in public universities in Malaysia are awarded with certs issued by UM, UTM, USM blah blah blah.

So maybe people outside of this country will actually recognize certs issued by oversea universities rather than names like UM, UTM, USM, UTAR... lolz
True. People who do the 3+0 program get degrees issued from overseas uni. However job interviewers of a major company do not care where u come from, may it be Malaysia, UK, US, Indonesia.. Most importantly is your personality, your work ethics.. Brings back to my point above, you can come from the best but it doesn't guarantee you to be the best in the working field..

Added on April 16, 2009, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(eriko9 @ Apr 16 2009, 04:36 PM)
it depends on ur interview dudes
agreed.. interview plays an important role when you're applying for a job. the first impression is always important no matter where u go

This post has been edited by lordblood: Apr 16 2009, 04:58 PM
joe_89
post Apr 16 2009, 08:28 PM

288 posts

I mean local private university degree versus local public uni to be exact.
destroyer
post Apr 16 2009, 08:40 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Apr 1 2009, 04:06 PM)
bro, even JPA scholars go to IPTS, these people are top scorers so please do your research before posting tq...
and i dont think that 1 interviewer can resemble all the interviewer in the job market, so it varies bro...

IPTS fees are high because they didnt get support from govt. but sometimes if you give peanuts you get monkeys bro...
because there is contract with gov to send student to prepare there. this can also help the IPTS financially.

but some IPTS are good like KYUEM, UTP.

people always said IPTA student no quality thus many grads are jobless when compare to IPTS.

but mind this fact. for example, 1st year mechanical engineering student in UTM(i use this as example) are around 400. and after graduation, 200 got employed and 200 not employed.

but in another ipts have 150 1st year student in mechanical engineering. out of 150, 40 got employed after graduate. another 110 not employed.

when compared, it will look like that IPTS are better since less people jobless. but when we look at the number of students. actually IPTS got more jobless in term of student ratio.

but I also accept the fact that there are also some not so good IPTA. for example UiTM. keep opening new branches. macam cendawan tumbuh selepas hujan. quality also not very good.

don't be biased. I would like to say that our IPTA is actually among the best in terms of facilities, lecturer, study... but the prob is that our IPTA is politically influenced and the younger generation behaviour.

let me tell you a story. one of my fren use to study in university(IPTA) before he enter my place of study. he always skip class. lecturer notice that he is missing and go to his room to wake him up and ask him to go to class. then the lecturer also make tuition class for a few weak performance student. the lecturer do the best. but the student make prob and make whole university get bad name.

do you get this kind of lecturer in IPTS? in IPTS, there are lecturer who good in teaching. but never think of student. they are more glad to fail students bacause when they repeat, more money will come.
joe_89
post Apr 16 2009, 09:22 PM

288 posts

Okay. My concern is, if I get a degree by a local private university (which doesn't twin with any other oversea degree), will it possibly hinder me from getting opportunities of venturing into other countries because let's say, they don't recognize my degree?
Bepeon
post Apr 16 2009, 09:39 PM

Tennis Lover
3,768 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Apr 16 2009, 09:22 PM)
Okay. My concern is, if I get a degree by a local private university (which doesn't twin with any other oversea degree), will it possibly hinder me from getting opportunities of venturing into other countries because let's say, they don't recognize my degree?
It depends which university you would be studying in... Well, Monash University in Sunway is also considered as a local private uni isn't it? tongue.gif tongue.gif No offense to those who study in the local Monash, but there are distinct differences in terms of qualities between the real Monash and the local Monash. tongue.gif tongue.gif
destroyer
post Apr 16 2009, 09:42 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Apr 16 2009, 09:22 PM)
not many people who graduate from 100% local university(ipta n ipts) get to work str8 abroad. most of them either work 1st to gain experience before working abroad, or work in malaysian based companies, then get transferred to foreign branch, or just apply for job oversea when continuing study to master or phd oversea.

mostly those who work str8 oversea they get the job when study there. other common method is by working in MNC in malaysia then get transferred oversea.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 16 2009, 09:43 PM
joe_89
post Apr 16 2009, 09:59 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Apr 16 2009, 09:39 PM)
It depends which university you would be studying in... Well, Monash University in Sunway is also considered as a local private uni isn't it?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  No offense to those who study in the local Monash, but there are distinct differences in terms of qualities between the real Monash and the local Monash.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
erm... i mean local degree. say, uniten, utar....

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 16 2009, 09:42 PM)
not many people who graduate from 100% local university(ipta n ipts) get to work str8 abroad. most of them either work 1st to gain experience before working abroad, or work in malaysian based companies, then get transferred to foreign branch, or just apply for job oversea when continuing study to master or phd oversea.

mostly those who work str8 oversea they get the job when study there. other common method is by working in MNC in malaysia then get transferred oversea.
not necessarily have to straight go oversea. i mean a few years of working after graduation.
lordblood
post Apr 16 2009, 10:36 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Apr 16 2009, 09:59 PM)
erm... i mean local degree. say, uniten, utar....
not necessarily have to straight go oversea. i mean a few years of working after graduation.
like i said, getting degree from IPTA or IPTS doesn't really matter.. and also depends on which overseas country ur looking at.. for example, EU countries don't recognise any MBBS degree outside the EU.. And if u were to go to UK or australia to practise, either with IPTA or IPTS medicine degree, u still have to sit for their professional exam, cause every country thinks their standard is better than others..

and yes, u must work first.. u can't say i got IPTS degree i can go overseas work.. nobody will employ u.. u see all the top post or post require u go overseas, all have minimum working exp, so to me, get a degree, don't care from where as long it suits the job market and it's something u like.. then work and gain experience, be good in your field and the world will be yours.. biggrin.gif
Hyperalle
post Apr 17 2009, 01:18 AM

Hi, I wanna ask: Programs such as degree that is issued by college itself, how to know if it is recognised? Wats the Malaysia degree verification agency that approve the degree that is issued by college itself? A foreign-degree or a local degree more job-promising?

This post has been edited by Hyperalle: Apr 17 2009, 09:48 AM
TSadix4
post Apr 20 2009, 09:15 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

kita nk masuk U sekarang kena fikir short and long term brah..sekarang ni , macam kat satu company KL ni , dia nak graduan dari UTM,UTP and UM je , yang lain dia reject.sekarang camni cara diorang pilih orang berkualiti...

most likely kalau U yang suka tendang orang adalah U yang berkualiti LOL.
azarimy
post Apr 20 2009, 09:53 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:15 PM)
kita nk masuk U sekarang kena fikir short and long term brah..sekarang ni , macam kat satu company KL ni , dia nak graduan dari UTM,UTP and UM je , yang lain dia reject.sekarang camni cara diorang pilih orang berkualiti...

most likely kalau U yang suka tendang orang adalah U yang berkualiti LOL.
maka pilihlah UTM, kerana ia adalah

Universiti
Tendang
Menendang

thumbup.gif
TSadix4
post Apr 20 2009, 11:23 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 20 2009, 09:53 PM)
maka pilihlah UTM, kerana ia adalah

Universiti
Tendang
Menendang

thumbup.gif
masuk ramai2 jom , tapi tu selalunya apa yang aku dengar la , and based on true story haha
bigboy
post May 6 2009, 08:45 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(Hyperalle @ Apr 17 2009, 01:18 AM)
Hi, I wanna ask: Programs such as degree that is issued by college itself, how to know if it is recognised? Wats the Malaysia degree verification agency that approve the degree that is issued by college itself? A foreign-degree or a local degree more job-promising?
i think LAN (LEMBAGA AKREDITASI NEGARA) and also can check at JPA (if not mistaken)

HW-12
post May 10 2009, 05:14 PM

191 posts

Haiz, it seems like this topic has turn to a place for arguing using English and BM as teaching language....lol.

So i have a question.
I want to study in computer science (bachelor degree) or network engineering (bachelor degree)...

Some people said local uni programs r outdated.

Is our country private uni program outdated?
Is our country gov uni program outdated?

Private uni computer science or gov uni program better?

I hardly find a uni that offer network engineering?
Recommendations?

One more. Wat is the teaching language of our gov local uni (USM) offer computer science course (degree)?

This post has been edited by HW-12: May 19 2009, 10:14 PM
Sarbath
post May 13 2009, 06:47 PM

.:The Power Of Love:.
1,241 posts

Im going to UNISEL this 23rd May.. Got offered Pengajian Tahun Asas Pengurusan Maklumat.. So, UNISEL IPTS rite?? good or bad?? in term of quality.. help me decide it
epalbee3
post Dec 12 2009, 09:08 AM

1,345 posts

In conclusion, if you don't have much money and you get IPTA, go for it.

If you cannot get IPTA but you can get some loan/sponsorship, go for IPTS.

If you have a lot of money and have very good results, go for top IPTA or top IPTS, up to you.

Not all IPTS are good, some good IPTS are MMU, UTAR, IMU, Nottingham, Swineburg, Monash (all are backed by reputable organisations). These IPTS are definitely having good system like IPTA. The graduates from these IPTS sometimes get better comments from industry during their practical training. In IPTS, mostly they are trained to be independent, instead of just have to follow the IPTA strict rules.

I guess for communication skills/teaching skill wise, IPTS won IPTA a lot.
IPTA won't in term of facility and cost of enrolment.

Up to you to decide, but I always see students from IPTS are happier.
If you don't believe, go visit one IPTA and one IPTS and you will realize that.
OMG!
post Dec 12 2009, 10:45 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

As far as i am concerned, IPTA students are more concerned about their study while those from IPTS, they just like to flaunt around and always extravagant in their spending.See their clothing and hairstylesand u will know.

No offence to IPTS students, but i just feel like most of them are not deserve the place in IPTS just because they have the ' don't care' attitudes.
resit and resit in order to barely pass their exam and gain a certs,satisfy their parents' expectations and that is all for them.

of course i am speaking of my own observations. it may have just applied to some of them.
mrfarhatadib89
post Dec 12 2009, 11:02 AM

2,414 posts

to me,it's all about the course that u r taking
if u tke critical courses,the chnce of getting hired is much more high.regardless whthr u studied in ipts or ipta.
if u taking less critical course,it means less job.
thken
post Dec 12 2009, 11:02 AM

keep walking
938 posts

few years ago, employer will pick IPTA grad because they survived in stpm.

somehow, things had changed during the past decade, many top student in spm do not sit for stpm anymore, especially chinese

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:37 AM