Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V23!, The Orange Legion

v1rtual
post Apr 9 2009, 12:00 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 9 2009, 11:52 AM)
why 2470? 70200G mah..lol..heavier.. brows.gif and VG also..haha flex.gif free gym..
how can you call that free gym?
A900 + VG + 70200G + f58
total is > RM20k already la
whole life platinum gym membership only RM4-5k tongue.gif

This post has been edited by v1rtual: Apr 9 2009, 12:00 PM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:02 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

QUOTE(v1rtual @ Apr 9 2009, 12:00 PM)
how can you call that free gym?
A900 + VG + 70200G + f58
total is > RM20k already la
whole life platinum gym membership only RM4-5k tongue.gif
oh ya sad.gif ...lol nvr think of that haha. A portable gym sounds better? laugh.gif
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 12:03 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 9 2009, 11:16 AM)
@alpha_company

IF u r getting sony..i would suggest u get the A300 single kit lens package first. Unless u already know/define your shooting style..else i don see a reason to get the telephoto just becos its slightly cheaper..if u don shoot things from far..the lens would b wasted and incurs more cost to u...for my case im glad i didnt get the twin lenses package bcoz i rather find the need to zoom so far..and y A300 not A200?for this..i think liveview would b suitable for u..since u r newly converted to DSLR so u might find urself shooting from ur LCD at the early stage(altho i recommend to shoot using viewfinder and gesture helps to reduce weight of the camera too)..but as a girl..i believe u wont want to shoot in those awkward positions..so this is when liveview comes really handy..

actually im the only Sony user among my friends..so after 5 months of observation..this is wad i think..

1)sony built in stabilizer is REALLY a godsend...u would not worry about those really exp lenses with built in IS/VR stabilizer..

2)sony has lesser choice of lenses especially for old minolta lenses..if u need one..the only way is to get a 2nd hand..(altho the choice is lesser..but i feel that its enough to cover everything)

3)sony has lousier ISO performance as compared with others(but for me i always shoot in low ISO..so it doesnt affect me at all =p )

4)D60 is lighter than A300..u have to feel it yourself..we cant possibly tell u which weight suits u more..some prefer slightly heavier gear...some find it tiring after prolong shooting(especially with big lenses).

5)i don really like the shutter sound of A300 as compared with D80/450D(haha..this is just a personally pref)
personally..i think its good to go down n test out both set..see which one feels more comfortable to u..afterall u r the one who need to use it..
brand wise is usually not a big issue...all brands hav their own pros n cons..if u comparing camera at similar league..they usually hav similar spec n performance..and im sure there r helpful ppl from all the brands when u need it...so at the end of the day..its ur skill and shooting style that determine the quality of ur photo..camera is jsut a tool...
thanks for the opinions man biggrin.gif

D60 uses lens with AF-S (stabilizer) to autofocus which costs more,. Does A300 have a tech similar to that? what is it? is it in the lens or in the body?
signither
post Apr 9 2009, 12:06 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 9 2009, 11:51 AM)
sig, u dont have talent? we go together? brows.gif
got a fren that would be interested, but need to ask first la.. u got quotation dy ka?? pm me details la bout prices n everything brows.gif
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:09 PM

2,955 posts

AF-S is a type of lens which has built-in autofocus motor...not for stabilizing ur shot. Nikon stabilizer is called Vibration Reduction(VR). D60 need AF-S to focus because the camera itself does not have motor to autofocus.

All Sony uses built-in image stabilizer which is in the body rather than the lens..it is called 'Super Steady Shot'.

Im not sure whether sony lenses have built-in auto focus motor or not...need other sifu to explain..i want to know too.
achew
post Apr 9 2009, 12:15 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 9 2009, 11:52 AM)
why 2470? 70200G mah..lol..heavier.. brows.gif and VG also..haha flex.gif free gym..
haha..bcoz like i said..i don really use tele photo..so when i change to ff in the future..i probably get 2470 or 1635...VG..err...stil hvn use it b4..but i don feel the lack of it tongue.gif

for the AF-S...if i not wrong...these 3 lenses of Sony r using the Ultrasonic AutoFocus motor inherited from minolta..SAL 70-200mm f/2.8G, SAL35mm f/1.4G and SAL 300mm f/2.8G..correct me if im wrong =)
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 12:15 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Apr 9 2009, 11:54 AM)
oh yes.... body + vg + tele + cobra = yummy~~
dunno how many kilo is that all..
OMG...It should be close to 2kg.. Bleh la..Badan cam Arnold. XD..kerink like me a200 pun da xlarat..lol

Anyway, i think I found on the net some kind of strap that well, strap around the wrist like those digital video one. Must try la this thing.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 11:51 AM)
wow.. a clear non biased explaination indeed. biggrin.gif thanks..  notworthy.gif

So now i'm narrowing it down to D60 and A300. Bye2 toy like 1000D canon
lol..Its personal la i think about the 1000D..some may like it and some don't...

4got to add something..

D60=SD card
A300=CF card

and built in flash for D60 pop up higher than a300 does.

Happy hunting! biggrin.gif
vandechrome
post Apr 9 2009, 12:16 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 9 2009, 12:09 PM)
AF-S is a type of lens which has built-in autofocus motor...not for stabilizing ur shot. Nikon stabilizer is called Vibration Reduction(VR). D60 need AF-S to focus because the camera itself does not have motor to autofocus.

All Sony uses built-in image stabilizer which is in the body rather than the lens..it is called 'Super Steady Shot'.

Im not sure whether sony lenses have built-in auto focus motor or not...need other sifu to explain..i want to know too.
sony does have built-in auto focus motor lenses like sony 70200 G f2.8, sony 70300 G , sony 2470 etc...but still the SSS is in body which Nikon and Canon using VR and IS in lenses
albnok
post Apr 9 2009, 12:17 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

AlphaBeta, some Sony lenses have a built-in auto focus motor - they have Super Sonic Motor (SSM) in their name.

Sony/Zeiss lenses with SSM:
CZ 16-35mm F2.8 SSM
CZ 24-70mm F2.8 SSM
Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM
Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G SSM
Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6G SSM
Sony 300mm F2.8G SSM

Some Sigma lenses also have a built-in auto focus motor for Sony mount - they have Hyper Sonic Motor (HSM) in their name.

Sigma lenses with HSM in A-mount (already exist and can be bought):
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM
Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG HSM
Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 EX DC HSM
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG HSM Macro

achew, the Sony 35mm F1.4G does not have SSM.

This post has been edited by albnok: Apr 9 2009, 12:18 PM
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 12:18 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 9 2009, 11:55 AM)
actually wat tripod u use?
super cheap one.. blush.gif ..but already put a weight under it.. maybe it is not enuf to "counter balance" the "cheapness".. lol
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 12:21 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 9 2009, 12:09 PM)

Okay sorry for the wrong info..got a bit confused back there..hehe

D60
1. Af-S is for autofocus. Not built in D60
2. D60 kit has a VR lens included, reduces effects of vibration/shaking hands while taking pics.

A300
1. Does it have AF-S kind of tech on the lens AND/OR on the camera body???
2. Is super steady shot equivalent to VR on d60?

Compare 133X CF Card to 8gb transend class 6 sdhc card for nikon d60kit which is better in terms of performance?

D60 flash pop up higher = better?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 9 2009, 12:24 PM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:24 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 9 2009, 12:17 PM)
AlphaBeta, some Sony lenses have a built-in auto focus motor - they have Super Sonic Motor (SSM) in their name.
oh i see...thx albnok..something new to me today biggrin.gif

Added on April 9, 2009, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 12:21 PM)

D60
2. D60 kit has a VR lens included, reduces effects of vibration/shaking hands while taking pics.
A300
Compare 133X CF Card to 8gb transend class 6 sdhc card for nikon d60kit which is better in terms of performance?

because d60 doesnt have 1..blame nikon for not putting 1 into it. and yes AF-S so that u can auto focus. This is why u r limited to some lenses only, you cant use AF-D lens..if u do..u need to manual focus.

juz mentioned on top..yes it does..its called SSM and yes Super steady shot is is the same thing(theoretically but not technically) as nikon's VR.

SDHC class 6 Extreme version or normal? if it comes together with the camera..then i assume it is normal SDHC class 6. So Sony 133x is faster. But nvm the card dude...A300 fps isnt that quick that you need a fast speed card. Unless u r bursting using RAW rclxub.gif

pop-up flash sits higher so that you wont get shadow of ur lens when u r shoting a close subject.

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 9 2009, 12:32 PM
achew
post Apr 9 2009, 12:32 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 12:21 PM)

D60
A300

D60
1)VR is included in the D60 kitlens...but think furture..wad if u need to upgrade lens in the future...VR or non VR?the price is alot diff...
a300
1)yes..on the lenses as what albnok said
2)yes..in someway..VR = IS = SSS

im not sure about the pop up flash with one is better...but most of the time..u either don use the built-in flash..or u use a external flash smile.gif
Imo..built-in flash creates redeyes more often..and when u using long lens..ur lens would block the light from built-in flash and creates a semi circular shadow at the bottom of ur photo...most imptly..built-in flash is only 1 directional..which i don really like...so no point comparing the built-in flash imo...

ok guys..im off to market to get some 'inspirations' =.= actually im working night shift tonite..but heck..don think im slping now =p
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 12:34 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

I got a quote for these two. I didnt know that there is an Extreme version of class 6.

8gb transend class 6 sdhc card for nikon d60kit

Sony Alpha A300 Single Lens Kit + Sony 4GB 133X CF Card
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:38 PM

2,955 posts

if it is tht brand...i found on the internet..it is 150x..so transcend is faster..

hey wait..why r u deciding which camera to go for by looking at the memory cards? this is so wrong.
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 12:39 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 9 2009, 12:17 PM)

Sony/Zeiss lenses with SSM:
CZ 16-35mm F2.8 SSM
CZ 24-70mm F2.8 SSM
Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM
Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G SSM
Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6G SSM
Sony 300mm F2.8G SSM

Some Sigma lenses also have a built-in auto focus motor for Sony mount - they have Hyper Sonic Motor (HSM) in their name.

Sigma lenses with HSM in A-mount (already exist and can be bought):
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM
Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG HSM
Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 EX DC HSM
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG HSM Macro

achew, the Sony 35mm F1.4G does not have SSM.
1. The SAL1870 18-70mm f3.5-5.6 standard zoom lens that is included in A300 has built in auto focus or not?

2. If i get D60, buying an AF-S lens would be more expensive.

3. If i get a A300 and i want to buy a 2nd lens, do I need SSM for AUTOFOCUS in my camera?
vandechrome
post Apr 9 2009, 12:41 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

alpha_company where are you from?
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 12:42 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

kedah..y?
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:45 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 12:39 PM)
1. The SAL1870  18-70mm f3.5-5.6 standard zoom lens that is included in A300 has built in auto focus or not?

2. If i get D60, buying an AF-S lens would be more expensive.

3. If i get a A300 and i want to buy a 2nd lens, do I need SSM for AUTOFOCUS in my camera?
1. every sony camera has built-in auto focus motor...don worry..it works on every lens.
2. Yes..more expensive..but i think now most of the lenses nikon comes out with are AF-S lenses..
3. no u dont need to...like i said..it has built-in autofocus motor in the camera body. You cant choose to get lens with built-in or without it..sometimes they are with the motor and without.. you cant opt for a lens without it.

vandechrome
post Apr 9 2009, 12:46 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 12:42 PM)
kedah..y?
owh, i tot u in KL, if that so, we can meet up at the TT tonite..then u can ask anything u like..a lot easier..

1 of photographer from Kedah, using A200 and Canon 30d(if im not mistaken)

http://toshaphotography.fotopages.com/

This post has been edited by vandechrome: Apr 9 2009, 12:51 PM

126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:30 AM