Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V23!, The Orange Legion

akay877
post Mar 26 2009, 07:41 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Mar 26 2009, 06:06 PM)
what do you guys think of the 18-250 ?
Soft at tele end (250mm), sweet spot at f8-f11.. Super distortion at wide end(quite noticeable).. But damn convenience i would say!
Go from panorama to sniping chick in just a twist..

IMHO the bokeh is not that attractive...look kinda..um..fuzzy.. and performance for backlit subject is quite good..

250mm at f8..coz f6.3 is just too soft..

flare sample

Hope it helps a bit.. U will love the convenience if u can overlook the cons of this lens..

akay877
post Apr 2 2009, 08:02 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 2 2009, 07:57 PM)
now what is autobot? Lol.
Now that's when the ordinary tripod and flash(es) transform... LoL

Sorry to interrupt, can raynox 250 works with sony 18-250... hmm.gif
akay877
post Apr 4 2009, 12:06 AM

187 posts

hum..I wonder if this is available in Malaysia...

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/1200mm-2000mm-Teles...emZ220340464830

Sniping chicks...yummy..
akay877
post Apr 5 2009, 07:03 PM

187 posts

50mm 1.8. U guys heard about this?

Thiz is nice..
akay877
post Apr 5 2009, 07:44 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 5 2009, 07:19 PM)
2875?den the range is very similar to the cz one...
Maybe the price will differ...Attract people who don wanna spend a lot for the CZ.. *trasa*

Looking foward to 50mm 1.8.. the minolta 50 1.7 is a bit pricey isn't it..?

Added on April 5, 2009, 7:46 pm
QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Apr 5 2009, 07:42 PM)
i just sold off my a200 and bought a better cam.
now i'm using this:

Niiiiieeeeooo.....!! Dengki la camni... COngRat Bro..I think I saw u somewhere in Shah Alam b4..

Post la some pic.! drool.gif

This post has been edited by akay877: Apr 5 2009, 09:19 PM
akay877
post Apr 5 2009, 07:58 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(lehtung @ Apr 5 2009, 07:48 PM)
my panning shot .. rclxm9.gif

The subject is a bit blurry to me.. Walking bird isn't a nice panning subject I think since their head and body didn't move at the same speed and direction and its better to follow their head in that case. smile.gif
akay877
post Apr 5 2009, 09:14 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 5 2009, 08:45 PM)
Aiyo panning hard la. Anymore tips? (:
Hum, try in S mode..put around 1/60, sit by a bus stop and start panning some cars or motorcycles.. (Do it in bright daylight would be great!).

Try fiddling around with the shutter speed and increase the ISO if underexposed.

Keep panning the subject even after u heard the shutter sound. Don't stop suddenly. Using tele end would help plus having a steady hand.. lol

If u hate doing that, tumpang your friend motorcycle and just take the shot of anything that move about the same speed as u..

akay877
post Apr 5 2009, 11:01 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Apr 5 2009, 10:01 PM)
wah, wondering the price compare to 2470CZ SSM brows.gif
CZ ftw man  rclxm9.gif
LoL.. This 28-75 lens look suspiciously based on the tamron design..(Same case as for Sony 18-250) I would say the street price is gonna be around RM1500-RM1800.. A cheap alt to 24-70CZ.. smile.gif

Kul | Mo0: Ahak..slowly or quickly depends on the subjects.. Rules of thumb: Try as best as you can to follow the subject even after u click the shutter...

For me, I'll try to keep the side mirror of the car inside the "center focusing box" <<(donno what they called it).
akay877
post Apr 5 2009, 11:54 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 5 2009, 11:38 PM)
Ok thanks buddies. Gonna try it out tmr. 1st day of college tmr. Sleeping early. HA!
Its fun! try it..

Nah... This is just like Achew said, but visual form.

akay877
post Apr 7 2009, 08:29 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Apr 7 2009, 08:14 PM)

CC pls ..
Cun! Although that branches at the upper part are quite distracting..

Guys...when la thiz 50mm 1.8 gonna be out in the street...... Haihh..

This post has been edited by akay877: Apr 7 2009, 08:29 PM
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 10:31 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 09:58 AM)
thanks for the info man.. very informative..and tq to the others as well notworthy.gif yes the other im considering is D60.. not actually looking into 1000D yet..

1. A300 smaller viewfinder and live view (can take pic while on lcd?)

2. A300 and A200 how many focus points?

3. Okay, maybe i would like a live view, if so a300 is the option here. but what if a300 compared to d60 and 1000D?
Yeah, stay away from 1000D..Felt like a toy..no offense..their higher end model is much better in term of ergonomic wise.

D60 is better i think but you might want to look at the features first :

1) You're female right, then weight might be an issue for you (sorry if not laa..lol) and D60 is much2 lighter than a300.
2) The menu is very informative and this will help new user a lot.
3) The AF-assist will help u a lot. (before u own the flash gun..lol)
4) The sound of shutter itself I consider to be very pleasing compared to SNAPPY sound of sony.
5) The focusing of the 18-55 VR kitlens is somewhat much more silent than sony 18-70 kitlens. Maybe because they use in-lens motor (the SWM i think they called it)
6) Finally, as for other Nikon camera, the choices and availability of lenses and other accessories will be abundant in Malaysia. But choices may be limited since they doesn't have the built in focusing motor. So, the earlier AF lens cannot autofocus and you'll need the newer AF-S lens. (But rarely i seen this as a problem for D60 user)

Sony a300.

1) 9 focus point VS the basic 3 focus point of that of D60 might help u a lot. (but I rarely use other focus point except for the center one..lol).
2) Yeah..live view and its fast too! (some specifically bought this model because of this quick live view)
3) Built-in anti-shake facility. So no matter what lens attached, there will always gonna be anti-shake. (nikon called it VR while Canon called it IS)
4) As for sony system, the higher end model of flash gun is cheaper compared to Nikon and Canon one. You may want to take this into account.
5) Oh yeah, it is cheaper! So u r paying for more bang for your bucks!

Pegi kedai rasa2 la.. Molest skit the camera and see what model you like. You will take GREAT picture with any brand of DSLR anyway. smile.gif

p/s: As for the focus point, IMHO, sooner or later you will find out that using the center one give you a better control.
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 10:34 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 9 2009, 10:04 AM)
1. No u cant
2. 9 focus point
3. very subjective, its like choosing brand now. they are all equally good.
1) eh? can la alphabeta.. biggrin.gif U misunderstood the question kot. biggrin.gif
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 10:42 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 9 2009, 10:39 AM)
1. are u referring to shooting with LCD? that is live view smile.gif...yes u can shoot like a normal p&s digicam with A300...
2. 9
3. go try both D60 and 1000D smile.gif...i would love to recommend D60 but the price and the focus point turned me off..hence i went for A200..I dont think D60 comes with live-view (someone corrent me if i`m wrong)
Yup..no liveview...

Wah..same reason la here.. lol
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 10:48 AM

187 posts

Sp00kY: the humble a200! XD tongue.gif

v1rtual:
Not that far bro...0.5km je.. XD

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=3.1621074&lon=10...=18&l=0&m=h&v=2

This post has been edited by akay877: Apr 9 2009, 10:48 AM
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 11:39 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 9 2009, 11:29 AM)
talking about camera weight...im feeling the pain with a200+f42:(haha
OMG! u r using f42 too?! LoL

Need to finger exercise more la like this..

achew: Ahak..yeah..the shutter sound of alpha is always like "hey look! bird! *took a single picture* *SNAP!*...ah..dun fly away", or " Hey, nice crowds, *SNAP!*... *all looking with that "xpuas ati faces"* " ala..no stealth la like this..lol
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 11:40 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Apr 9 2009, 11:35 AM)
last time on the hot air baloon fiesta.. i use a300 + siggy tele + f58... daym~~
my neck merah merah edi... furthermore.. the strap is not that good..
just if i haf that moo's crumpler industry disgrace..  whistling.gif
LoL.. Put on the vertical grip? Super pain la like that..
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 11:52 AM

187 posts

Just wanna share something.

I rarely take pictures at night so there I was on some moderately tall building (22 floors + another floor (water tank)) at around 9pm. I was overlooking Shah Alam skyline and set up my tripod and stuff. I zoom in to 250mm and shoot The Masjid Negeri. Set the aperture to f8 and 20 seconds shutter speed. Oh, like everybody said before, always turn off the sss on tripod. So I did.

Snap! 20 seconds+another few seconds of noise reduction the picture came out.. Blur liao....Took another one..Blur again..

So I step up to f6.3 and 10 seconds shutter. The blur reduce a bit.

It's definitely movement kinda blur. So I turn on the SSS and heck.. the blur reduce a lot. Damn swaying tall building.. I never had thought it would sway that much... LoL..
Nah...just wanna share the experiences. smile.gif
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 12:15 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Apr 9 2009, 11:54 AM)
oh yes.... body + vg + tele + cobra = yummy~~
dunno how many kilo is that all..
OMG...It should be close to 2kg.. Bleh la..Badan cam Arnold. XD..kerink like me a200 pun da xlarat..lol

Anyway, i think I found on the net some kind of strap that well, strap around the wrist like those digital video one. Must try la this thing.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 11:51 AM)
wow.. a clear non biased explaination indeed. biggrin.gif thanks..  notworthy.gif

So now i'm narrowing it down to D60 and A300. Bye2 toy like 1000D canon
lol..Its personal la i think about the 1000D..some may like it and some don't...

4got to add something..

D60=SD card
A300=CF card

and built in flash for D60 pop up higher than a300 does.

Happy hunting! biggrin.gif
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 12:18 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 9 2009, 11:55 AM)
actually wat tripod u use?
super cheap one.. blush.gif ..but already put a weight under it.. maybe it is not enuf to "counter balance" the "cheapness".. lol
akay877
post Apr 9 2009, 01:26 PM

187 posts

LoL...the first poison ever for new DSLR user....THE EXTERNAL FLASH GUN....

0.0421sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:40 AM