12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

M&E Consultant, anyone working in this field?

nyencheong
post Mar 24 2009, 08:56 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 24 2009, 12:16 AM)
so far, i see only clean things la... but i do heard lots dirty things..

as we fight hard for every approval, no matter JKR, BOMBA or what...
we had enough facts to justify our way of doing things are not wrong, they cant just simply ban us right ? if u wan ban, write officially to us with ur reason..

simple example, JKR ask for double sprinkler protection for the entire blocks of 40 storey building, our mechanical design engineer go ahead with having presentation to them, justify to them.. single layer are sufficient, what more with the added smoke detector, and the Dato Pengarah JKR even says its an added value lesson for him, and claps hand to my senior.

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I just got my SYABAS approval last month, but it already ding dong for 4 months since my first submission. They will have one o 2 silly requirements in between the letter, so read carefully n comply, unfortunately, we miss that out, n end up with half a year approval, really thank God i got it, but in between i spent a lot of energy n man power n time to do lo......really afraid of SYABAS, but BOMBA so far they still friendy wit me, nothing much obstacle......m i right?

Added on March 24, 2009, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 23 2009, 10:17 PM)
lol
u tai chi there ppl will taichi back so wat goes around comes around

well at least u enjoy ur work tats the way to go to survive

of cos for contractor changes makes them happy  no change = nuthing to earn
anyway i wont call it value engineering in msia it'll b called cutting ends hahaa
I strongly believe the thing u taichi out, it will come back to u one day........especially C&S, u taichi to them sure they can taichi bck to u one day n even worst.....actually fresh engineer handling few projects, i dun think can learn much design work, for me, i can only learn coordination works, and the fault in the design, beside, the main thing i learn is going to meeting, how to protect myself (I am ready my amor everyday) .......sien
"I will come back to you later." "I will discuss with my boss and come bck to u." "ok ok no problem" "reply to u within this week." ......blar blar blar.....sometimes pretend they are singing also....
Sorry about that, i am really getting bore n bore to my job.......

This post has been edited by nyencheong: Mar 24 2009, 09:04 PM
nicvoo
post Mar 24 2009, 09:56 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Mar 24 2009, 08:53 PM)
For the mega projects, I reckon the engineers employed are international consultants?  A local consultant might hop on board but that's really to provide consultation about local Building Regulations from my past experience. 

Other than international companies like Arup, there isn't much local consultant doing all these engineering? 

Also, are the design really for code compliance, i.e. you do what the code tells you or is it engineering, i.e. start from scratch approach?
not really alot of mega project in msia r local consultants. international consultants cant really penetrate the msian market. tats for m&e u dont really c the presence of arup, ndy, meinhardt, skm etc. reason y they cant work in msia?simple the fees r too low.

not all can jus folo code n get settled wif it. not every building is the same. not every situation is the same.fire engineering is for protection n to avoid/minimize loss of lives n damage. of cos everything start from scratch but u'll need sum guide 2 tell u whether tat u doin is at least acceptable.

u cant design fire protection for a house same as fire protection for a shop. the code tells u wat design is suitable for a house or a shop in a way u dont over desing neither do u under design.

same like u go traveling alone u at least need a guide book to tell u whr to go no?u jus catch the plane there n start walking around?

if folo code = engineering y design?jus tell contractor folo code to do installation will be more then sufficient.

in sg thr r a few local ones. in msia as u say its non existent
babytensai
post Mar 24 2009, 10:17 PM

191 posts

Wat I say is actually quoted by suppliers from a very famous ventilation fan company. Its not a common sight for Fire engineers to come on board in a project in Malaysia, so its like I said, something fishy goin on behind.

As SG is a place where rules n regulations do da talking, thus I reckon such engineers do exist in SG. Words from a staff who worked in da construction line in SG b4 working in my current company is dat they too have 2 submit da basement jet fan thermography chart to da authorities but officials in SG check it throughly where else in Malaysia, its just for da sake of procedure coz no one in BOMBA noes how 2 intepret it.
firecrac
post Mar 24 2009, 10:23 PM

344 posts

1 reason international m&e consultant don't want step in Malaysia, is the way ppl do work. how many design engineers u know really carry values with them ? even got, left are hose old timer, ppl will for sure will not invest in low fees and comes even worst with the NEP thingy grows up lazy bums in authority department, which are only corrupt.

but yet, d&b is the trend now specially in mega project, which really beneficial for contractor.. follow code doesn't mean no design changes and VE, it depends how ur design team of contractor works too, blind contractor which do postman job will definitely be phased out in future.

btw.. fire engineer are the master of trades in m&e services.. and they earn the most in the industry according to some statistic i found in internet, but i think it doesn't apply in Malaysia thou.
nicvoo
post Mar 24 2009, 10:27 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(babytensai @ Mar 24 2009, 10:17 PM)
Wat I say is actually quoted by suppliers from a very famous ventilation fan company. Its not a common sight for Fire engineers to come on board in a project in Malaysia, so its like I said, something fishy goin on behind.

As SG is a place where rules n regulations do da talking, thus I reckon such engineers do exist in SG. Words from a staff who worked in da construction line in SG b4 working in my current company is dat they too have 2 submit da basement jet fan thermography chart to da authorities but officials in SG check it throughly where else in Malaysia, its just for da sake of procedure coz no one in BOMBA noes how 2 intepret it.
nah.. u cant say like tat. some developments r owned by large oversea developers therefore the design they'll want it to comply with sum sort of code. take seagate for example. american comp their factory fire design all folo american codes.

to get jobs u need to be well connected. sumtimes the local consultant get the job but they do not hav the xp n resources to the fire design therefore they engage a fire consultant.

not everything is fishy. yes in sg. if u r going for the jet fan ventilation design u need to prove it works to the authorities by simulation. its called performance based designs. if u do the conventional ducted mv u dont need to.
firecrac
post Mar 24 2009, 10:27 PM

344 posts

which supplier quoted so? very famous ? nicotra ? kruger?

jetfan? haha... JKR reject it totally without 2nd thought, with this kind of mindset, how to grow?
bare in mind, jetfan only been approved by BOMBA but not JKR, if your job involve JKR in place, just forget it man..

Added on March 24, 2009, 10:36 pm

it happens in Malaysia only if the client insist to, specially in manufacturing and aviation industry as what i know of.

This post has been edited by firecrac: Mar 24 2009, 10:36 PM
nicvoo
post Mar 24 2009, 10:42 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 24 2009, 10:23 PM)
1 reason international m&e consultant don't want step in Malaysia, is the way ppl do work. how many design engineers u know really carry values with them ? even got, left are hose old timer, ppl will for sure will not invest in low fees and comes even worst with the NEP thingy grows up lazy bums in authority department, which are only corrupt.

but yet, d&b is the trend now specially in mega project, which really beneficial for contractor.. follow code doesn't mean no design changes and VE, it depends how ur design team of contractor works too, blind contractor which do postman job will definitely be phased out in future.

btw.. fire engineer are the master of trades in m&e services.. and they earn the most in the industry according to some statistic i found in internet, but i think it doesn't apply in Malaysia thou.
tats 1 reason. most importantly is tat internatinal consultants quote their fees using man hours. in msia lol local consultants spoil the market by quoting lump sum. so those international ones where got wanna waste time n $$ to do msia jobs? lol

d&b have good n bad u cant say its beneficial to the contractor shit still happens the contractor still got to eat it.

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 24 2009, 10:27 PM)

which supplier quoted so?  very famous ? nicotra ? kruger?

jetfan? haha... JKR reject it totally without 2nd thought, with this kind of mindset, how to grow?
bare in mind, jetfan only been approved by BOMBA but not JKR, if your job involve JKR in place, just forget it man..
no jkr hav the right to reject it. jetfan technology has never been put to work in a real life situation b4. therefore alot of places not only msia do not approve it. in sg its approve but u need to do simulations report etc.

Added on March 24, 2009, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 24 2009, 10:27 PM)

which supplier quoted so?  very famous ? nicotra ? kruger?

Added on March 24, 2009, 10:36 pm

it happens in Malaysia only if the client insist to, specially in manufacturing and aviation industry as what i know of.
a few shoppin malls also hav fire consultants, it all really boils down to the developer

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Mar 24 2009, 10:43 PM
firecrac
post Mar 24 2009, 10:56 PM

344 posts

that's really true about the lump sum thing, that's why engineers get peanuts pay!
get peanuts pay, u don't feel rewarding, then u look for backdoors, ppl see u getting good money doing nothing, then everyone also want to share the cake, this goes in round and at last, it spoil the whole culture of construction sector.
Construction sector in Malaysia is just like places for old folks.. ppl stay in there because they are there for times, and looking for so called backdoor, very less ppl can stay in there unless u really really really interested in m&e, i know its sad, but true..

Added on March 24, 2009, 11:01 pm

very sad but true, project engineer are likely from shaolin clan, they learnt to withstand hits, while project manager are from taichi clan, they push balls around. remember this, u will feel better when u attend CCM meeting.

This post has been edited by firecrac: Mar 24 2009, 11:01 PM
babytensai
post Mar 25 2009, 12:53 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 24 2009, 10:56 PM)

that's really true about the lump sum thing, that's why engineers get peanuts pay!
get peanuts pay, u don't feel rewarding, then u look for backdoors, ppl see u getting good money doing nothing, then everyone also want to share the cake, this goes in round and at last, it spoil the whole culture of construction sector.
Construction sector in Malaysia is just like places for old folks.. ppl stay in there because they are there for times, and looking for so called backdoor, very less ppl can stay in there unless u really really really interested in m&e, i know its sad, but true..

Added on March 24, 2009, 11:01 pm

very sad but true, project engineer are likely from shaolin clan, they learnt to withstand hits, while project manager are from taichi clan, they push balls around. remember this, u will feel better when u attend CCM meeting.
Nicvoo : Of course if they follow American standards they will need fire engineer's certification, but its not a norm 2 do so in Malaysia. Usually we let da smiling agong heads on purple papers do da talking. Da new shopping mall along LDP at da end of SS2 used 20k for its approval.

Firecrac : I agree with wat u say. Dats actually wats bringing down da quality of consultants. Da new generation use bribery ignoring da standards, solo consultants who does shitty job tenders projects with dirt low prices, dats y consultants r paid peanuts, coz most ppl think they r monkeys. I should say many of da consultants in asian developing countries r so. I'm sure if u have seniors n bosses, u would have heard them say dis : Last time long long time ago bout 20 - 30 years ago, consultants have a glowing ring on their heads. Now, consultants r so dirt cheap dat everyone can bully them, even contractors. If u have friends in Japan, US or other develop countries, u will notice dat consultants in those countries r much more well paid than Malaysia, because of da various reasons dat u've mentioned b4. Consultants now have no value, not respected, treated like dirt. Imagine Architects fuking we consultants up n down. In overseas, its da other way round.

CCM is a very good experience n clear cut of wat is happening in a project where all da project politics come up. Like u say, taichi, followers, n all. If u've been 2 Sunway CCM den u understand their way of doing things. If 1 of da project team member is absent be it landscape, M& E or C & S, everyone will start pushing problems n blaming him. Contractors will be like : Dis is not in my contract. If u wan me 2 do, issue EI lo, (they can use VO 2 claim money ma), some contractors even bypass consultants n bring up da problem 2 da client or achitect.

Sad sad case for consultants in Malaysia. If I were 2 stay in dis line for long, its not advisable 2 stay in Malaysia n be a consultant. It takes time for dis negative trend 2 correct back, n I dun quite have da time for dat. sad case. Nicvoo, I'm coming 2 SG soon. lol.
firecrac
post Mar 25 2009, 01:26 AM

344 posts

20k ? bomba test?

i would say different ppl which take different part in the whole project, they looks for different benefit, contractor's consultant looks for fees, the faster the part of job done, the faster they cuci tangan, they just rush and donkey do it, client's consultant must find loophole for back-charge contractor, so they drag time for approval, and show client they are actually doing works, while contractor like ding dong for longer period, get more cash, claim more VOs, while architect suppose to lead the whole project team, if that architect is kind of passive guy, then whole project sure fuk-up, i do found many architect company in Malaysia are more passive unless those international ones.

Be patient.. u haven't finish even 1 job yet, why rushy ?

babytensai
post Mar 25 2009, 08:21 PM

191 posts

I'm no longer young u noe. If I were 2 ding dong here n there without making any decisions soon, I would end up with nothing in da end. Soon, I'll be having kids, a family, n so on. Once these burdens set in, da spirit fire will be douse of a certain percentage. There is no more urge n motivation 2 venture into another field anymore. Dis is wat I'm afraid of.
nyencheong
post Mar 25 2009, 08:30 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 24 2009, 10:42 PM)
tats 1 reason. most importantly is tat internatinal consultants quote their fees using man hours. in msia lol local consultants spoil the market by quoting lump sum. so those international ones where got wanna waste time n $$ to do msia jobs? lol

d&b have good n bad u cant say its beneficial to the contractor shit still happens the contractor still got to eat it.
no jkr hav the right to reject it. jetfan technology has never been put to work in a real life situation b4. therefore alot of places not only msia do not approve it. in sg its approve but u need to do simulations report etc.

Added on March 24, 2009, 10:43 pm

a few shoppin malls also hav fire consultants, it all really boils down to the developer
Totally agreed......and that why in foreign country, the client will respect consultant, and they are really doing the things they should do.......while in Malaysia, the client ask consultant to change, n i am 100% sure the consultant will change it, without considering the original design is good o not!!!!

Added on March 25, 2009, 8:34 pm
QUOTE(babytensai @ Mar 25 2009, 12:53 AM)
Nicvoo : Of course if they follow American standards they will need fire engineer's certification, but its not a norm 2 do so in Malaysia. Usually we let da smiling agong heads on purple papers do da talking. Da new shopping mall along LDP at da end of SS2 used 20k for its approval.

Firecrac : I agree with wat u say. Dats actually wats bringing down da quality of consultants. Da new generation use bribery ignoring da standards, solo consultants who does shitty job tenders projects with dirt low prices, dats y consultants r paid peanuts, coz most ppl think they r monkeys. I should say many of da consultants in asian developing countries r so. I'm sure if u have seniors n bosses, u would have heard them say dis : Last time long long time ago bout 20 - 30 years ago, consultants have a glowing ring on their heads. Now, consultants r so dirt cheap dat  everyone can bully them, even contractors. If u have friends in Japan, US or other develop countries, u will notice dat consultants in those countries r much more well paid than Malaysia, because of da various reasons dat u've mentioned b4. Consultants now have no value, not respected, treated like dirt. Imagine Architects fuking we consultants up n down. In overseas, its da other way round.

CCM is a very good experience n clear cut of wat is happening in a project where all da project politics come up. Like u say, taichi, followers, n all. If u've been 2 Sunway CCM den u understand their way of doing things. If 1 of da project team member is absent be it landscape, M& E or C & S, everyone will start pushing problems n blaming him. Contractors will be like : Dis is not in my contract. If u wan me 2 do, issue EI lo, (they can use VO 2 claim money ma), some contractors even bypass consultants n bring up da problem 2 da client or achitect.

Sad sad case for consultants in Malaysia. If I were 2 stay in dis line for long, its not advisable 2 stay in Malaysia n be a consultant. It takes time for dis negative trend 2 correct back, n I dun quite have da time for dat. sad case. Nicvoo, I'm coming 2 SG soon. lol.
Agreed with the CCM issues as well, people will push all the responsibility to the person who absent........n contractor will say its not their scope, n they are not interested......nothing consultant can do at this moment....just take the responsibility, end up with big canon, M16, rifle pointing us.....haih

This post has been edited by nyencheong: Mar 25 2009, 08:34 PM
Geminist
post Mar 25 2009, 08:40 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(nyencheong @ Mar 25 2009, 12:30 PM)
Totally agreed......and that why in foreign country, the client will respect consultant, and they are really doing the things they should do.......while in Malaysia, the client ask consultant to change, n i am 100% sure the consultant will change it, without considering the original design is good o not!!!!
That's not entirely true though. If a client (i.e. who's paying you) wants something changed, you will need to change it. Or else they will just find another consultant.

nicvoo
post Mar 25 2009, 10:31 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(babytensai @ Mar 25 2009, 12:53 AM)

Firecrac : I agree with wat u say. Dats actually wats bringing down da quality of consultants. Da new generation use bribery ignoring da standards, solo consultants who does shitty job tenders projects with dirt low prices, dats y consultants r paid peanuts, coz most ppl think they r monkeys. I should say many of da consultants in asian developing countries r so. I'm sure if u have seniors n bosses, u would have heard them say dis : Last time long long time ago bout 20 - 30 years ago, consultants have a glowing ring on their heads. Now, consultants r so dirt cheap dat  everyone can bully them, even contractors. If u have friends in Japan, US or other develop countries, u will notice dat consultants in those countries r much more well paid than Malaysia, because of da various reasons dat u've mentioned b4. Consultants now have no value, not respected, treated like dirt. Imagine Architects fuking we consultants up n down. In overseas, its da other way round.

its not a bed of roses here either bro i jus counted i hav 7 projets on going not to mention the ones which stopped.even in sg if the contractor is in good terms wif the client they can jus by pass u. tats life everywhere also same.

come sg?at is time?lol unless u r joining health care i dont c any industry which looks stableenuf to ensure they dont kick u out b4 ur probation is over

QUOTE(Geminist @ Mar 25 2009, 08:40 PM)
That's not entirely true though.  If a client (i.e. who's paying you) wants something changed, you will need to change it.  Or else they will just find another consultant.
yeah Geminist is right. the client employs u to help does wat he want else employ u for wat? same like u employ a servant at home. u tell her to wash ur clothes next min u change ur mind n wan her to iron them so the servant should do wat?

as a good consultant u'll need to advise the client whether the changes r implementable o not and the cost will it cost triple or will the system crash n burn after installed. as the client of cos they hav lots of ideas to implement its all money leh they will wan the best. but in saying so if the client makes a bad decision u need to advise them. if they dont wanna listen then write in b&w i've advise u any out come i'm not responsible.

same for the servant case if the clothes r smelly n dirty u her to iron them a good servant will tell u its smelly need to be washed b4 iron. or u wan her o blindly jus iron them??consultants cannot blindly folo else anything happen will come after your head.
firecrac
post Mar 25 2009, 11:25 PM

344 posts

if that is a "GOOD" consultant, then there is the things, but sadly... some consultant can't even justify things with logic and analytic practices, no choice contractor have to ask them to change, i do feel many unqualified engineer are too proud of themselves, u are king on papers, but not when comes to site work, u cant even imagine the pipe work, duct work, busduct run in a simple schematic drawings, how u going to justify to me u are so called professional engineer? blind design will just get laughter from ppl, worst still, all these ppl i mentioned here is come from the top consultant company which nicvoo mentioned previously. hoho.. watever... dont push balls around.. we are in this game from the start, we just can follow it, client > checker > contractor > client's consultant > rclxm9.gif

babytensai : wah... so serious.. haha... don't think this industry guarantee much future if u are so rushy smile.gif but job hop only when economic stable la, now what industry also not looking good..

p/s : we should arrange some beer session to release the stress, man! hoho

This post has been edited by firecrac: Mar 25 2009, 11:26 PM
nicvoo
post Mar 26 2009, 12:02 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 25 2009, 11:25 PM)

if that is a "GOOD" consultant, then there is the things, but sadly... some consultant can't even justify things with logic and analytic practices, no choice contractor have to ask them to change, i do feel many unqualified engineer are too proud of themselves, u are king on papers, but not when comes to site work, u cant even imagine the pipe work, duct work, busduct run in a simple schematic drawings, how u going to justify to me u are so called professional engineer? blind design will just get laughter from ppl, worst still, all these ppl i mentioned here is come from the top consultant company which nicvoo mentioned previously. hoho.. watever... dont push balls around.. we are in this game from the start, we just can follow it, client > checker > contractor > client's consultant >  rclxm9.gif 

babytensai : wah... so serious.. haha... don't think this industry guarantee much future if u are so rushy smile.gif but job hop only when economic stable la, now what industry also not looking good..

p/s : we should arrange some beer session to release the stress, man! hoho
lol some r jus plain lz get a PE in name only no xp at all. in msia too easy to get a pe. sume jus sign blindly. sg its harder to get a pe but still sum younger pe in sg know nuthing.

dont so fast go judging tat they dunno their stuff. there r many ways to play the game. one f it is to let u run till when u hit a wall they'll jus gif u an xtra kick. same contractor also always act blur everything consultant tell only do there r good ones thr r bad ones

one of the important criteria of being a contractor need to hav is the ability to drink hahahah. i remember when i was a contractor almost everyday also drnk sigh those were the happy days hahaha
babytensai
post Mar 26 2009, 11:11 PM

191 posts

I've just gotten my BEM certificate last month, n there is a clause dat bout da PE exam. It states dat to qualify for da exam, u will need to have 1 years experience under a PE and 2 years engineering service. Thus, I would have 2 be in a consultant firm for 1 year n for da rest of da 2 years, I can hop around in da construction line to get my PE. I'm not sure though but if its true, its good news.

Da bottom line is dat if anyone in da project team dat is weak technically, he or she will definitely get bullied left n right, be it architect, client, consultant or contractor. I've bullied an architect b4, she was a 30+ year old architect, but still if she does not noe anything other than her scope of work, she will get bullied.

Drinking? Not so much for consultant la. Everyday work till so late where got time 2 go for drinking session?
nicvoo
post Mar 26 2009, 11:41 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

lol tats y anyone is a pe in msia regardless whether they know anything o not
GaGiGuGaGi
post Mar 27 2009, 11:38 AM

40 posts

What are the differents working with consultant n contractor as M&E engineer huh...in term of what u can learnt n job scope?
chrishung
post Mar 27 2009, 12:15 PM

67 posts

Consultants do designing work. Contactor is more oriented towards project management. I think.

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0229sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:13 AM