12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

M&E Consultant, anyone working in this field?

firecrac
post Mar 23 2009, 09:36 PM

344 posts

doesnt know so much ppl in m&e sector..
haha..
for me, its exciting doing d&b project, u learn something once every changes, i am electrical engineer, but i learn almost all in electrical and mechanical, c&s and even archi, ID..
value engineering is our key to get earnings, specially in high rise, 1 small changes on 1 floor, changes applied thru all typical floors up.. says 20 floors... 1 floor save rm1, 20 floors = rm20.
as long as m&e earns, u taichi all things to c&s, plaster masonary shaft, core riser, playing with walls and glasses for OTTV, etc etc.. really makes u pockets of dollars ^^
kingway
post Mar 23 2009, 09:39 PM

169 posts

PM me for internship trainee position, but be prepared to work till 8pm ya.
nicvoo
post Mar 23 2009, 10:17 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 23 2009, 09:36 PM)
doesnt know so much ppl in m&e sector..
haha..
for me, its exciting doing d&b project, u learn something once every changes, i am electrical engineer, but i learn almost all in electrical and mechanical, c&s and even archi, ID..
value engineering is our key to get earnings, specially in high rise, 1 small changes on 1 floor, changes applied thru all typical floors up.. says 20 floors... 1 floor save rm1, 20 floors = rm20.
as long as m&e earns, u taichi all things to c&s, plaster masonary shaft, core riser, playing with walls and glasses for OTTV, etc etc.. really makes u pockets of dollars ^^
lol
u tai chi there ppl will taichi back so wat goes around comes around

well at least u enjoy ur work tats the way to go to survive

of cos for contractor changes makes them happy no change = nuthing to earn
anyway i wont call it value engineering in msia it'll b called cutting ends hahaa
firecrac
post Mar 23 2009, 10:24 PM

344 posts

enjoy ? maybe... yes and maybe no..
construction best fit for workaholic, sadly i am not.. i work for satisfaction on work only.. might consider switching field once i finish my post-graduate program, as i dun feel like conning ppl and runs around corners to earn money in future... or maybe go on PMT side of work.. not in design nor operation..
nicvoo
post Mar 23 2009, 10:27 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 23 2009, 10:24 PM)
enjoy ? maybe... yes and maybe no..
construction best fit for workaholic, sadly i am not.. i work for satisfaction on work only.. might consider switching field once i finish my post-graduate program, as i dun feel like conning ppl and runs around corners to earn money in future... or maybe go on PMT side of work.. not in design nor operation..
hahathen i should say u r satisfied wif ur work smile.gif

still got energy to take post grad studies i no energy at all
babytensai
post Mar 23 2009, 10:40 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 23 2009, 10:17 PM)
lol
u tai chi there ppl will taichi back so wat goes around comes around

well at least u enjoy ur work tats the way to go to survive

of cos for contractor changes makes them happy  no change = nuthing to earn
anyway i wont call it value engineering in msia it'll b called cutting ends hahaa
Well I tot tai chi is a common practice in SG. Heard from my friends dat every SG fella is a tai chi master, who pushes responsibility to others rather than taking it up on ur own fault.

Depends on wat changes la, if get negative VO means da contractor can eat grass adi la for dat job.

Added on March 23, 2009, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 23 2009, 10:27 PM)
hahathen i should say u r satisfied wif ur work smile.gif

still got energy to take post grad studies i no energy at all
On a regular basis, I work till 7 - 8 everyday, after reaching home, shower, dinner n settle down, it would be roughly 9 or 10, 11pm have 2 go 2 bed. Where got time 2 study other courses summore???

This post has been edited by babytensai: Mar 23 2009, 10:42 PM
firecrac
post Mar 23 2009, 10:43 PM

344 posts

haha..
u see me good, i see u good only..

pity le... everyday check on client consultant dwg/calculation, totally fade up... our design team screw them, but yet no changes, still comes out with lousy work!IR title with no basic design principle.

revert to them, takes thousand years to comes back!
dulan.. come out with drawings and calculation ownself.. just get them to endorsed..
fade up with lousy consultant, but what to do...
company find cheap consultant for big job, seems like they learn from us more than we learn from them... fade up!!
that's why ppl always said "pay peanuts, get monkeys!"

Added on March 23, 2009, 10:46 pm

haha.. with so called time management, impossible is nothing

brows.gif

This post has been edited by firecrac: Mar 23 2009, 10:46 PM
babytensai
post Mar 23 2009, 11:02 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 23 2009, 02:47 AM)
none taken as i said it varied between the countries till where the cut off is. in sg the work is only the distribution on whether its drip/sprinkler or watever to water the plants is decided by the landscape guy. drainage will b the work of c&s n archi.
compartmentation will b the prob of the archi they'll do the fire compartments n decide wat type of ventilation needed. theres no such thing as always oversize. oversizing doesnt cause u to consume more elec? by oveesizing how much oversizing d u mean?chillers n ct have night n day load which differs. oversizing equipment means more $$ to get them n also bigger space, bigger equipment loads bigger ducts less headroom, etc. its not as simple as to say jus oversize them lol
dream on hahaha still in asia if u go aus or eu mayb theres better pay. u missed out on the great sg rush hahaha now recession they prefer to get ppl wif xp n they can choose not not like b4 employee market anyone also they take.
SG clients as i say sg hav codes of practice to folo unlike msia its free for all its not fussy its becos ppl hav standard where as msia no standard
i was getting 1.8kpay in kl too. my project is behind hotel istana. so u getting 2.4k as freshie i would say its high
all consultants r like tat. even if u r looking after 1 service. 3 o 4 big ones? o small one?
well i've a nice illustration of archi,consultant.contractor,qs n client in my office pc will upload it tomolo anyway in msia consultants r usualy known as"kam sau koon" in canto. the c&s are customer service while the architects gives us heart attacks
the knowledge u gain being an consultant,contractor,sales,project r all different. u've only been here for 8 months already say no future lol havent even completed 1 project hahaha. havent seen the world yet in 8 months. ppl who join this field mus generally be interested in this field. else like u work 8m run liao
haha i need to do presentation to clients chk shop drawings chase ppl haizzz.. sienzz.....
Yea, diff country diff practice standards, I would say depends more on contract.

In Malaysia, its da M & E consultant's responsibility for da MV at basement coz we need dat 2 get da BOMBA approval n if dat delays, we will get screwed up n down. Oversizing a bit sure got 1 la, not 2 much la, just call it safety factor, pandai pandai la. lol. Slight oversizing can really save u at times when u miss out something or miss out some factors, it simply means dat ur design is more prone 2 changes or have more feasibility. Nothing is perfect though, as it is in every design.

If Consultancy is as bad in SG, y do ppl still put their heads in dis field? Base on a 2k salary for M & E consultants, sales engineers r getting 3k per month plus allowances, service engineers 2.6 inclusive OT n allowances, Oil & Gas line is earning 5 - 6k per month offshore with plenty more benifits. Sad 2 say I do have many friends who work in SG but none of them r in construction, mostly Oil & Gas where they dig black gold.

So far C & S is still ok with us M & E. Da headache is architects n clients. In some cases, landscape architects. For instance, I have a hot spring resort project in Ipoh which had dis lanscape architect who is constantly changing layout till da architect couldn't catch up with him. M & E places da hose reel where it is visible 2 public where else da landscape architect wants it to be out of public sight coz it is red huge n ugly.

Yea I've been in dis line for 8 months n i say it has no future not base on my 8 months experience, but rather by looking at my seniors n bosses' achievements. Quite saddening. If da interest does not come in line with da money, den it does not really work out u noe. After all, we still need 2 survive, eat n feed a family rite, not at da moment but soon enough 2 be.

Shop drawing if no time just find faults n reject onli la, we r da kings in shop drawing. lol.
nicvoo
post Mar 23 2009, 11:30 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 23 2009, 10:43 PM)
haha..
u see me good, i see u good only..

pity le... everyday check on client consultant dwg/calculation, totally fade up... our design team screw them, but yet no changes, still comes out with lousy work!IR title with no basic design principle.

revert to them, takes thousand years to comes back!
dulan.. come out with drawings and calculation ownself.. just get them to endorsed..
fade up with lousy consultant, but what to do...
company find cheap consultant for big job, seems like they learn from us more than we learn from them... fade up!!
that's why ppl always said "pay peanuts, get monkeys!"

Added on March 23, 2009, 10:46 pm

haha.. with so called time management, impossible is nothing

brows.gif
of coz u pay ppl peanut ppl will produce peanuts for ya. sumtimes bcos of the low fee they dont even bother

QUOTE(babytensai @ Mar 23 2009, 11:02 PM)
Yea, diff country diff practice standards, I would say depends more on contract.

In Malaysia, its da M & E consultant's responsibility for da MV at basement coz we need dat 2 get da BOMBA approval n if dat delays, we will get screwed up n down. Oversizing a bit sure got 1 la, not 2 much la, just call it safety factor, pandai pandai la. lol. Slight oversizing can really save u at times when u miss out something or miss out some factors, it simply means dat ur design is more prone 2 changes or have more feasibility. Nothing is perfect though, as it is in every design.

If Consultancy is as bad in SG, y do ppl still put their heads in dis field? Base on a 2k salary for M & E consultants, sales engineers r getting 3k per month plus allowances, service engineers 2.6 inclusive OT n allowances, Oil & Gas line is earning 5 - 6k per month offshore with plenty more benifits. Sad 2 say I do have many friends who work in SG but none of them r in construction, mostly Oil & Gas where they dig black gold.

So far C & S is still ok with us M & E. Da headache is architects n clients. In some cases, landscape architects. For instance, I have a hot spring resort project in Ipoh which had dis lanscape architect who is constantly changing layout till da architect couldn't catch up with him. M & E places da hose reel where it is visible 2 public where else da landscape architect wants it to be out of public sight coz it is red huge n ugly.

Yea I've been in dis line for 8 months n i say it has no future not base on my 8 months experience, but rather by looking at my seniors n bosses' achievements. Quite saddening. If da interest does not come in line with da money, den it does not really work out u noe. After all, we still need 2 survive, eat n feed a family rite, not at da moment but soon enough 2 be.

Shop drawing if no time just find faults n reject onli la, we r da kings in shop drawing. lol.
i never say tat mv is not m&e's responsibility i meant compartmentation n zoning is by the archi. oversizing again well implicates alot of things how much over sizing is safe?dependson the consultant;s xp tis one no book can teach u.

bomba its always about the $$ u show the $ ur plan approve faster.

its rewarding if u r able to prove tat u r worth the salt. u work as a consultant doesnt mean u'll b 1 for the rest of your life. if u r good u can open your own, else ppl will get u to join them. if u work like shit no need to say ppl c u also run. i know ppl who do i bcos of the passion for the job. the price of being an engineer. these r old skool ppl. never see tis in our generation.

yeah tell the landscape archi to talk to bomba.bomba say ok u can d wat ever u like

contractor also human its the responsibility. irresponsible ppl do tat. if theres no fault y find fault?after all contractors r also only lookin at the $ .sum simply jus dont wanna let the contractor go same like firecrac's case jus imagine u r on the other end how would u feel?i've been a contractor b4 i know.

many consultants in msia r not only running a consultant job they hav other "side income" too

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Mar 23 2009, 11:34 PM
firecrac
post Mar 23 2009, 11:56 PM

344 posts

Quite agreed with that achievements thingy, unless you can get profit sharing, else gtfo..
this is what i see also..
and to add, i do think engineer in construction sector are underpaid as they involve risk and responsible also.

Mindset of bribery is totally wrong, man!
i dont believe in all these side income thingy,
be more professional, it's your responsible and ethic to show ppl u are an graduate/professional engineer,
i know its quite corrupted in Malaysia, but everyone do, doesn't mean you must do..
but yet, it is depends on individual.. if the bribe is exceed the professional ethics in you, i am sure everyone will just take it.
btw, anyone know Hamdan the BOMBA officer?
see how our dear BOMBA officer Mr Hamdan now serving in jail / under investigate, is that the reflection of u?
think hard wink.gif

This post has been edited by firecrac: Mar 24 2009, 12:03 AM
nicvoo
post Mar 24 2009, 12:06 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 23 2009, 11:56 PM)

Quite agreed with that achievements thingy, unless you can get profit sharing, else gtfo..

be more professional, it's your responsible and ethic to show ppl u are an graduate/professional engineer,
i know its quite corrupted in Malaysia, but everyone do, doesn't mean you must do..
but yet, it is depends on individual.. if the bribe is exceed the professional ethics in you, i am sure everyone will just take it.
see how our dear BOMBA officer Mr Hamdan now serving in jail / under investigate, is that the reflection of u?
think hard  wink.gif
by side income i dont mean the only the illegal type lol

i know a few eng who hav their own business. sum r property investors, a few hav a hand in sum contractor comps

hahaha too bad the prob is in msia if u dont do it ur project is screwed hahahaha.... if u r not comforable in bribing get ur boss o senior to do it smile.gif

ur project still in constuction haha wait when tnb come install meter time u'll c the true colours hahaha
firecrac
post Mar 24 2009, 12:16 AM

344 posts

so far, i see only clean things la... but i do heard lots dirty things..

as we fight hard for every approval, no matter JKR, BOMBA or what...
we had enough facts to justify our way of doing things are not wrong, they cant just simply ban us right ? if u wan ban, write officially to us with ur reason..

simple example, JKR ask for double sprinkler protection for the entire blocks of 40 storey building, our mechanical design engineer go ahead with having presentation to them, justify to them.. single layer are sufficient, what more with the added smoke detector, and the Dato Pengarah JKR even says its an added value lesson for him, and claps hand to my senior.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
babytensai
post Mar 24 2009, 12:20 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 23 2009, 11:56 PM)

and to add, i do think engineer in construction sector are underpaid as they involve risk and responsible also.

think hard  wink.gif
Achievement varies from person 2 person. Some say 10k is enough for da rest of my life some say no. I did ask my ex boss something, I asked him did he ever think of being a contractor or developer someday as either one earns more than a consultant. His reply was : Y be a developer or contractor? I'm not a greedy person, I run a small business earn a sum enough for my retirement den enough adi la. In da end, I left him. A little contributed 2 dat reply.

In Malaysia cash is king la, with cash, u can do everything. U can even get a murderer out of prison just like dat. Blast a fella with C4 n walk away like nothing has happened b4. Theres a reason y consultant engineers have low pay. Part n parcel is because of da bribery trend going on. Its sort of a sure thing for bribery 2 become consultant's side income. Luckily my company is famous in da market for being clean. But 2 many, when money comes, to hell da ethics of an engineer goes.

Our HAMDAN chiu yan (salted egg) hoseh liao la, but since he is malay, I bet da shit dat he got outta his bribery career is more than enough to get him out. After a few months later, he would be out as a free man n live a peaceful life in overseas with his bribery left overs never to be heard again.

Well, they pawned da cat dat guards over da fish for good, but yet, they replace its position with an equally hungry cat. Wats da difference? Latest news is dat certified fire protection engineers r paying a sum 2 him for a reason. Thus now if u submit a basement mechanical ventilation thermography chart to BOMBa, they will reject u n ask u 2 get it certified by a fire engineer. In town, they r not many fire engineers, so probably u can guess wat is goin on out there rite.

Added on March 24, 2009, 12:45 am
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 24 2009, 12:06 AM)
by side income i dont mean the only the illegal type lol

i know a few eng who hav their own business. sum r property investors, a few hav a hand in sum contractor comps

hahaha too bad the prob is in msia if u dont do it ur project is screwed hahahaha.... if u r not comforable in bribing get ur boss o senior to do it smile.gif

ur project still in constuction haha wait when tnb come install meter time u'll c the true colours hahaha
Dose investing stuff can be done by many other professions not onli engineers ma.

In Malaysia its a norm 2 bribe. Everytime client will ask u wat is ur budget for authority contribution fees. Its actually more apart from da usual processing fees.

Next time when TNB installs meter, I'll make sure I be there 2 attend.

This post has been edited by babytensai: Mar 24 2009, 12:45 AM
Geminist
post Mar 24 2009, 03:48 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(babytensai @ Mar 23 2009, 04:20 PM)
-snip-
I don't think you would call them fire engineers. At most you would call them code consultants. The career of a fire safety engineer is practically none existent in Southeast Asia due to the lack of technical knowledege and in cases like Malaysia, corruption.
nicvoo
post Mar 24 2009, 01:35 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Mar 24 2009, 03:48 AM)
I don't think you would call them fire engineers.  At most you would call them code consultants.  The career of a fire safety engineer is practically none existent in Southeast Asia due to the lack of technical knowledege and in cases like Malaysia, corruption.
its very much alive in sg smile.gif
Geminist
post Mar 24 2009, 03:56 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 24 2009, 05:35 AM)
its very much alive in sg smile.gif
That's news to me. What companies are doing it and what is their role in a project?
MCDC
post Mar 24 2009, 04:24 PM

66 posts

any1 work in JRP? the environment, salary, culture n etc.......thanks.

This post has been edited by MCDC: Mar 24 2009, 04:25 PM
nicvoo
post Mar 24 2009, 05:22 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Mar 24 2009, 03:56 PM)
That's news to me.  What companies are doing it and what is their role in a project?
there r many in sg. 1 of the more well know internationally is ARUP. they r doing the fire engineering for alot of jobs. iirc the more well known ones r the marina sands casino, they provide fire consultantcy. in sg the fire code is very stirngent. they do simulation, design, reports etc to get the authority to approve the fire design.

even in msia there r many mega project by oversea dev who employ them to do these stuff but whether in the end they folo o not is another story

QUOTE(MCDC @ Mar 24 2009, 04:24 PM)
any1 work in JRP? the environment, salary, culture n etc.......thanks.
i hav a lot of x-jrp consultant even secretary frens ahaha so u figure y they r x smile.gif
nyencheong
post Mar 24 2009, 08:46 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Mar 22 2009, 11:32 PM)
nyencheong,
also consultant huh ?

nicvoo,
bout the corruption, its fuking damn true, everyone in industry no matter tom,d*** and harry finding loophole to get kopi o.. specially checker consultant..
yeah...  this thread getting more n more informative, i am quite new with 1 yr plus of experience, need learn more from sifu here ^^

UAE case, according to feedback given by my manager, there are too many authority to go thru, each services need go thru each authority and they have more stringent standard to follows..

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:37 pmu called CONtractor not for nothing..
they carry cultural of conning ppl -.-
Yes I am consultant.

nicvoo, i knew this industry is small, therefore i didn't post my company name....because in the same building, there got at least 2 engineering consultant firm...lol, so i won't afraid, some more to share my things, so that other people won't join as well....haha

Added on March 24, 2009, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(kingway @ Mar 23 2009, 12:06 AM)
i also in this field for almost 1 year since grad from uni. taking care of 7 projects , without any guide from senior engineer, coz my company dun have senior engineer.. only two director which is mechanical and electrical. full of stress for such workload.. btw, my company is the 1 located at bandar tasik selatan..
Guy, mind to share how much ur salary?

This post has been edited by nyencheong: Mar 24 2009, 08:48 PM
Geminist
post Mar 24 2009, 08:53 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Mar 24 2009, 09:22 AM)
there r many in sg. 1 of the more well know internationally is ARUP. they r doing the fire engineering for alot of jobs. iirc the more well known ones r the marina sands casino, they provide fire consultantcy. in sg the fire code is very stirngent. they do simulation, design, reports etc to get the authority to approve the fire design.

even in msia there r many mega project by oversea dev who employ them to do these stuff but whether in the end they folo o not is another story
i hav a lot of x-jrp consultant even secretary frens ahaha so u figure y they r x smile.gif
For the mega projects, I reckon the engineers employed are international consultants? A local consultant might hop on board but that's really to provide consultation about local Building Regulations from my past experience.

Other than international companies like Arup, there isn't much local consultant doing all these engineering?

Also, are the design really for code compliance, i.e. you do what the code tells you or is it engineering, i.e. start from scratch approach?

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:36 AM