Contact lens information, as requested by members
eggtart02
Nov 25 2017, 11:28 PM

Hi everyone, I've tried many different brands of contact lens some with higher water content & silicone hydro-gel type. Yet i still feel my eyes dry quite fast. Is it normal or I naturally have dry eyes.
TSjialat
Nov 25 2017, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(eggtart02 @ Nov 25 2017, 11:28 PM) Hi everyone, I've tried many different brands of contact lens some with higher water content & silicone hydro-gel type. Yet i still feel my eyes dry quite fast. Is it normal or I naturally have dry eyes. Can u list out all those that u have tried? So i know what suits u better
eggtart02
Nov 28 2017, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 25 2017, 11:42 PM) Can u list out all those that u have tried? So i know what suits u better I'm currently using Biofinity Toric Monthly Contact Lens (6 lenses/box) Have tried Bausch & Lomb Soflens 66 Toric Acuvue Daily Moist and 1/2 more I cannot remember the name.
TSjialat
Nov 28 2017, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(eggtart02 @ Nov 28 2017, 09:36 AM) I'm currently using Biofinity Toric Monthly Contact Lens (6 lenses/box) Have tried Bausch & Lomb Soflens 66 Toric Acuvue Daily Moist and 1/2 more I cannot remember the name.  you should try oasys toric, its much better than all those u listed. u can pm me to purchase if u interested. thanks
eggtart02
Nov 29 2017, 09:12 AM

QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 28 2017, 07:13 PM) you should try oasys toric, its much better than all those u listed. u can pm me to purchase if u interested. thanks okay will try! let me use finish the balance first thanks!
ngmx88
Dec 15 2017, 11:46 PM

Hi Jialat, Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”. “Off power” lenses cause distortion or blurriness for the consumer. I just know that off power can happen. So the recall only in Singapore? QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 27 2010, 09:51 PM) hi, i really wonder what test they did on ur eyes to conclude that ur eyes are prone to irritation. are these people optometrist? or just optician? the 3 days trial lens thingy is either acuvue moist or trueye, they are daily lens and those 2 are not for sensitive eyes. i seriously doubt their intention to find u a suitable lens, they are just trying to sell u the most expensive lens in market so they can rip more profit from u. trueye is silicone hydrogel daily lens but these lens have been causing a lot of problem in oversea, johnson & johnson has recalled many of this lens, pls google for more information, just type trueye recall. acuvue moist is 1 of the best daily lens in market but its not designed for sensitive eyes. u should use acuvue oasys if u really have sensitive eyes, its 2-weekly lens and 1 of the most comfortable silicone hydrogel lens.
TSjialat
Dec 18 2017, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(ngmx88 @ Dec 15 2017, 11:46 PM) Hi Jialat, Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”. “Off power” lenses cause distortion or blurriness for the consumer. I just know that off power can happen. So the recall only in Singapore? Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”. This batch of lenses as according to J&J was sold in year 2014 in Malaysia.
ngmx88
Dec 19 2017, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 18 2017, 02:27 AM) Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”. This batch of lenses as according to J&J was sold in year 2014 in Malaysia. Wow. It has been three years! So those who used sure already kena lo. How about 30,000 boxes of contact lenses that found to be contaminated with foreign substance. So far only Japan, Taiwan and Singapore take action? I only saw a post by online news, called the coverage. It mentioned those products that are affected were reportedly manufactured between March 2013 and June 2017. Not sure how serious it was, but seem like J&J have poor products control.
ngmx88
Dec 19 2017, 07:56 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 18 2017, 02:27 AM) Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”.
Hi Jialat, How do we know or realized the contact lens are off power? Does it means that we can't see clearly and will feel dizzy? Thanks in advance for answering my questions. Do you see the below brand sell in Malaysia? I found out that this brand is new and own by Malaysian. So, I wonder will it be cheaper and good in quality. This post has been edited by ngmx88: Dec 19 2017, 07:57 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
TSjialat
Dec 19 2017, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(ngmx88 @ Dec 19 2017, 07:33 PM) Wow. It has been three years! So those who used sure already kena lo. How about 30,000 boxes of contact lenses that found to be contaminated with foreign substance. So far only Japan, Taiwan and Singapore take action? I only saw a post by online news, called the coverage. It mentioned those products that are affected were reportedly manufactured between March 2013 and June 2017. Not sure how serious it was, but seem like J&J have poor products control. Those affected stocks were recalled long time ago. The most recent recall stocks are not distributed to Malaysia, thats why we dont get any info from local j&j.
TSjialat
Dec 19 2017, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(ngmx88 @ Dec 19 2017, 07:56 PM) Hi Jialat, How do we know or realized the contact lens are off power? Does it means that we can't see clearly and will feel dizzy? Thanks in advance for answering my questions. Do you see the below brand sell in Malaysia? I found out that this brand is new and own by Malaysian. So, I wonder will it be cheaper and good in quality. I am not sure how to check for off power contact lens. That brand u shared looks like OEM product to me and i dont usually use all these lenses.
simonlws
Dec 20 2017, 12:06 PM

Any latest news for presbyopia users? Any improvement from the current lenses for a sharper vision?
TSjialat
Dec 20 2017, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(simonlws @ Dec 20 2017, 12:06 PM) Any latest news for presbyopia users? Any improvement from the current lenses for a sharper vision? Thanks nope, still the same old products since last year till now. last launched was acuvue moist multifocal daily lens.
ngmx88
Dec 21 2017, 07:01 AM

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 19 2017, 09:25 PM) I am not sure how to check for off power contact lens. That brand u shared looks like OEM product to me and i dont usually use all these lenses. Thanks for your answer. I am not sure whether the brand is OEM product or not. Any reason you don't use all these lens? Lower quality control?
TSjialat
Dec 21 2017, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(ngmx88 @ Dec 21 2017, 07:01 AM) Thanks for your answer. I am not sure whether the brand is OEM product or not. Any reason you don't use all these lens? Lower quality control? They are not listed in malaysian medical device act products. Not sure about the quality.
ngmx88
Dec 21 2017, 06:27 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 21 2017, 12:35 PM) They are not listed in malaysian medical device act products. Not sure about the quality. Ok, understood. Nice chatting with you.
simonlws
Dec 26 2017, 08:42 AM

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 20 2017, 05:18 PM) nope, still the same old products since last year till now. last launched was acuvue moist multifocal daily lens. Thank you very much. Still looking for a clearer and sharper vision for presbyopia. So far tested most still can't find one that is suitable. Further to that, now a days, most optical shops don't carry out proper test for you as I guess not much profit to make after they prescribed you, you can actual buy from else where.
TSjialat
Dec 26 2017, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(simonlws @ Dec 26 2017, 08:42 AM) Thank you very much. Still looking for a clearer and sharper vision for presbyopia. So far tested most still can't find one that is suitable. Further to that, now a days, most optical shops don't carry out proper test for you as I guess not much profit to make after they prescribed you, you can actual buy from else where.  contact lens prices are terrible nowadays but they still should do over refraction on top of lenses to find the best prescription.
simonlws
Dec 26 2017, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 26 2017, 10:59 AM) contact lens prices are terrible nowadays but they still should do over refraction on top of lenses to find the best prescription. Any recommendations?
TSjialat
Dec 26 2017, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(simonlws @ Dec 26 2017, 12:51 PM) Look for those individual outlet run by optometrist, dont go chain stores which mostly hire optician who dont perform over refraction on contact lens.