61 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Contact lens information, as requested by members

TSjialat
post Mar 21 2009, 12:46 PM, updated 9 months ago

2,364 posts

I have been involved in contact lens related business & visual health since year 2005. I myself started wearing contact lens since early 2000.

this thread is purely for all members to share or ask information about contact lens & related product, as requested by many of my regular and new customers here in lowyat.net.

please do not flood my pm inbox with questions as i prefer to answer them here in order to prevent repeating myself answering same question from different members. thank you very much for all your consideration and support all this while. thumbup.gif

Here are my recommendations for contact lens user:

Daily lens recommended :
1st : acuvue oasys daily (RM 150 after discount), buy more for extra discount
2nd : alcon total 1 day (RM 140)
3rd : biotrue daily lens (RM 100)

Monthly lens recommendation:
1st : air optix hydraglyde (RM 55)
2nd : miacare clear (RM 50)
3rd : biofinity (RM 60)

Toric monthly lens recommendation:
1st : air optix toric (RM 95 if 4 boxes & above)
2nd: oasys toric (2 weekly lens) (RM 150 each)
3rd : biofinity toric (hard to remove) (RM 170 each if 4 boxes & above)

I personally still very much prefer acuvue oasys (RM 110) lens whether for normal or toric type.

Toric daily lens recommendation:
1st : acuvue moist toric daily lens
2nd : clariti daily toric lens

Color lens recommendation:
Monthly : infiniti color (RM 60) or silkon color
Daily : acuvue define (RM 130)

Multifocal monthly lens recommendation:
Monthly : air optix multifocal
Daily : acuvue moist multifocal or total 1 day multifocal

PRICES ABOVE ARE SUBJECTED TO CHANGES ACCORDING TO SUPPLIER COST

This post has been edited by jialat: Jun 1 2019, 05:20 PM
TSjialat
post Mar 21 2009, 01:36 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(zorange @ Mar 21 2009, 01:24 PM)
i got a few questions about contacts:

i don't know whether it is a myth or fact, but can u explain whether if you wear contact lenses, your vision's short sightedness will increase or stay the same compared to wearing glasses?

2nd, how long does 2 boxes (6 disposable lens) last you ?

my shortsightedness is just 0.75 and 1.00, astigmatism is just 0.75 for both eyes.. thinking of going for contacts since cant see at night properly..
most of the short-sightedness is due to long axial length which means that ur eye ball is long. rigid contact lens which is called RGP can help prevent or reduce progression of refractive error/eye power by flattening ur cornea to certain degree. glasses definitely cant do that as its placed a distance away from ur eyes.

special type of RGP called orthokeratology lens (ortho K) can remove refractive power for most eyes. try google it for more info if interested but it costs a bomb.

2 boxes lens which contain 6 pieces in each box can last u 6 months coz u need to put lens on both eyes, provided they are monthly disposable lens.

if u r going to wear lens and do a lot of driving at night, then toric lens is the best option for u. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 21 2009, 09:11 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 21 2009, 08:51 PM)
My prescription's about -7.00 for both eyes and I have astig (can't remember what cylinder). The clinic I visit prescribes me RGPs (the last ones I got were Menicon-Z) citing  better ocular health. What do you think?
i definitely agree with them, Menicon-Z is 1 of the best RGPs in market, same par with it will be Boston XO. both of them have the highest oxygen permeability thru the lens to cornea, provide superior visual correction and show excellent performance against astigmatism. both contain UV absorber which can help prevent cataract. benefits of long term corneal health, vision, comfort and wettability in order to reduce the burden to the cornea.

just 1 disadvantage, they r more fragile than other type of RGPs.

TSjialat
post Mar 23 2009, 12:08 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 22 2009, 01:02 PM)
What do you mean by fragile? As in, they break more easily, bend out of shape more easily, scratch more easily, or?
they break more easily than the other RGPs. bend of out shape (flexure) is still not prominent as they r quite flexible and usually return to original shape pretty well. scratch resistance wise they r as good or better than the other RGPs.

QUOTE(kenn723 @ Mar 22 2009, 02:10 PM)
2 boxes can last 6 months??

or do u mean 6 pairs or 3 months?
if 1 box has 6 pieces, then 2 boxes u will have 12 pieces, as u got 2 eyes that wear lens, so with the 12 pieces u will be able to use them for 6 months then. thanks

TSjialat
post Mar 23 2009, 04:36 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(santana @ Mar 23 2009, 11:24 AM)
1)I would like to ask about the new Bausch & Lomb ReNu Multiplus Solution. Is it suitable?

2) How if i have sensitive eyes? How long it takes for eyes to get use to contact lense. Will my eye turn red o sumtin after using it during the beginning?
if u are using bausch & lomb contact lens, then its good coz all their lens store using renu multiplus in the plastic seal. but it doesnt really matter coz nowadays contact lens solution are pretty much very similar. if u using silicone hydrogel lens, then better use optifree or solo care aqua.

what is ur eye sensitive to? silicone hydrogel lens is suitable for all sensitive, even allergic eyes. u will have foreign body sensation when u 1st wear the lens, mild redness but should not last for more than an hour.

QUOTE(soon90 @ Mar 23 2009, 12:06 PM)
Jialat is really a good seller. I forgot to tell him that i have received the contact lens and after a few days, he sms to check if I have received it.

Highly recommend to all of you! wink.gif
hi soon, thanks for the feedback. keep in touch.

QUOTE(meme8 @ Mar 23 2009, 02:48 PM)
If using yearly lens how to take care it?
for yearly softlens, u should use protein removal tablet at least once a week. daily cleaner solution will be great too.

if yearly RGP lens, u can send it to optical shop for 'recycling' once a few months. thanks

TSjialat
post Mar 23 2009, 06:05 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 23 2009, 05:32 PM)
Thanks for the responses so far. Another one, when would you recommend a patient RGPs over soft lenses?
i strongly recommend RGP rather than softlens especially for those with corneal astigmatism.

also for teenagers in order to slow the progression of myopia (nearsightedness).

patients with corneal disease, warpage, or irregularity can benefit only from GP contact lenses to smooth out the front surface of the eye for appropriate refraction of light. Examples include: keratoconus, corneal transplants, refractive surgery, corneal trauma, and warpage. Visual quality can be improved dramatically with GP contact lenses, compared with soft lenses or spectacles, and many patients depend on them to function visually.

hope the above helps. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 23 2009, 11:14 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 23 2009, 08:18 PM)
Thanks. I don't think I have any of those other conditions, but I do have corneal astig (tested with a corneal topo).
RGP correct corneal astigmatism easily by masking the oblong cornea and providing a surface that optically performs like a spherical cornea. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 24 2009, 06:41 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 24 2009, 01:42 AM)
I'll pin this topic. Mucho good info here. Keep at it TS. biggrin.gif
thanks for encouragement. will try my best to answer all questions here. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kittenscar @ Mar 24 2009, 02:00 PM)
Just wondering, I know it's not a healthy practice. I tend to wear my contacts when I feel like it, as in when I'm going somewhere that's nice. Technically I wear my contacts only like one or twice a week. The rest I just use my glasses. And I find it a waste to throw it after one month opening it. So I tend to still use it even after a month considering I rarely use it. I know you would say that it is not advisable, but what can happen if say I continue using it for at least 3 months? Thanks!
as long as u still can see clear n feel comfortable with the lens, then its ok. monthly disposable lens means u can use it on daily basic for 30 days, if u only use it once or twice a week n take good care of it, u can keep using it. after 30 days of usage then u must discard it.

QUOTE(meme8 @ Mar 24 2009, 04:57 PM)
thank you.. smile.gif
welcome, glad that i can help. icon_idea.gif
TSjialat
post Mar 25 2009, 01:23 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 25 2009, 12:33 PM)
I'd really rather have you guys inquiring about Jialat's contacts lenses via PM. This is actually touching the borders of breaking the rules in H&F. We're very anti-sales.

Thank you.
yes, i agree. for those who would like to order lens, pls contact me thru pm or email as shown on my signature.

mod, pls feel free to remove those post that ask about sales of lens. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 25 2009, 02:40 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Mar 25 2009, 02:17 PM)
well does the contact lenses have specific power just like glasses?
yes, power range from plus to minus, suitable for short-sightedness, long-sightedness and astigmatism.

there are contact lens for old ppl with presbyopia too, ie. bifocal & mulitfocal contact lens which have a combination of power. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 25 2009, 03:50 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Mar 25 2009, 03:27 PM)
do i have to check our eyes first before purchasing contact lenses?ouh btw the contact lenses prices vary from power?
yes, u must at least have ur spectacle power so that i can convert it to ur contact lens power.

price is the same not matter what power, but those contact lens that correct short or long sightedness with astigmatism (toric lens) cost more for sure.

thanks biggrin.gif
TSjialat
post Mar 30 2009, 09:57 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Gamatatsu0207 @ Mar 30 2009, 04:42 PM)
Hi TS,

I'm using contact lenses for quite some times already (6-7yrs already), recently I got problem with the bright light (on day light) or high beam of light esp during driving at night. Not tht really serious (I think), but from time to time if the light so bright....I will definitely get a headache....izzit means tht I got a astigm? Wht brand of contact lense shall I use next time?
hi, yes its likely that u have developed astigmatism which ur normal contact lens can no longer cover. its best to get ur eyes check by optometrist to make sure the 'light' problem is due to astigmatism.

if u have -0.75 astigmatism or above, then u will need toric lens, most commonly used will be softlens toric by Bausch & Lomb. if u have dry eye problem, then purevision toric would be ur best choice. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 30 2009, 10:52 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 30 2009, 10:07 PM)
It's all about hygiene if you wear contact lens ? Like if you wanna take it off , You gotta wash your hand with soaps and stuff. I wanted to try one but it is quite a hassle to me . How do you think of it ? TS
no doubt, hygiene is the most important requirement before start using lens. if u r those ppl who always out n ard, then u can try daily lens which can be replaced everyday without much hygiene hassle. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 31 2009, 12:03 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 31 2009, 11:22 AM)
What is the difference for the price then ? For monthly and daily ... But maximum hour of usage is still 8 hours right ?
daily lens is definitely more expensive than monthly lens on long term, but it offers great hygiene as u only used it once and throw it at end of the day. daily lens price is ard rm 80 to 90 a box which has 30 pieces, while monthly lens range from 50 to 60 a box, which has 3 or 6 pieces depending on brand & type.

daily lens i would recommend acuvue moist, it allows u to wear them for long hours, up to 12 max but i dont recommend that long hour wear for the sake of ur ocular health. thanks
TSjialat
post Mar 31 2009, 12:27 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ariel83 @ Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM)
Halo..i used to wear monthly disposable CL, and currently m using the daily disposable lense (Ie.focus dailies toric daily lens) as i hav astigmatism problem)...but the thing is...i do not know y it's really difficult for me to take out the lenses at night...too dry?but thenĀ  i use eye drops wor.....i have been experiencing this problem ever time i put on this lense...

I feel like throwing away them but they are a bit costly lur...aiks..
focus lens is well known for its slippery characteristic due to its material & coating, but its good for ur eyes as it smoothens the blinking process to encourage better tears coverage on lens surface, thus clearer vision. some monthly toric lens has the same problem too, but practice makes perfect.

when eyes too wet, lens sticks better on cornea. lens drop off when eyes too dry. thanks

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM)
Hmm...I think I will look around and ask the optometrist first because I'm gonna get my eyes recheck anyway. Thank you for your explanation as it helps me a lot .
yes, u should ask ur optometrist for advice 1st before decide to get lens. i'm glad i could help. u r welcome. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jialat: Mar 31 2009, 12:37 PM
TSjialat
post Mar 31 2009, 12:39 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ariel83 @ Mar 31 2009, 12:31 PM)
hmm.gif  sweat.gif

Just wanna ask 1 more Q: Is there any toric lense (daily disposable) currently sell in the market?

I feel like changing coz everytime my eyes would suffer when trying to take out the lenses cry.gif

TQVM.. smile.gif
so far only focus toric daily lens available. other brands havent bring in from europe market.

u r welcome. nod.gif
TSjialat
post Apr 5 2009, 02:01 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Bugsy @ Apr 4 2009, 12:25 PM)
Ok guys, and girls. I have a question... and this is probably the most asked question about contact lenses.

I bought contact lenses 2 months ago, and I can't seem to wear them. Well, the cause is... I am afraid of putting something on top of my eye. How do I overcome this fear?
hi, u can try putting the lens on the white part of ur eye 1st, stretch ur eyelids apart as far as possible then look up or down and put the lens on. once its in, then release pulling ur lids, and look straight ahead. the soft lens will sit on ur cornea automatically. even if u push too hard, ur eye will just feel abit of pressure and ur cornea wont be scratch unless u got long fingernail. the contact lens actually protect ur eye from getting scratch by nail. thanks

QUOTE(vivi79 @ Apr 4 2009, 12:34 PM)
Same here but my problem is the opposite.
I have no problem putting the contact lens on but it is rather difficult to remove them at the end of the day
Can anyone help?
thanks smile.gif
hi, make sure u blink ur eyes a few times 1st before attempting to remove the lens. then open wide and use the pulp of ur index finger to move/slide the lens to a side, towards the white part of ur eye. then only pinch it using index finger and thumb. thanks

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Apr 4 2009, 12:40 PM)
hey there , i've been a contact lens wearer . i wore semi hard lens . thou all my friends are wearing soft lens . and it seems so much easier .

should i change to soft lens ? though my optometrist told me , hard lens are way better than soft . is this true ?
its better to use semi hard lens than soft lens unless u can no longer tolerate it. RGP help slow the progression of ur refractive error, more benefit than harm.

Added on April 5, 2009, 2:26 am
QUOTE(felicious @ Apr 4 2009, 02:21 PM)
Jialat, good work for answering our questions here.

So, I have a question for you. How to check whether the lens is approved or not. As we can see, there are too many Korean lens, and I need a confirmation that those lens will not create any harm to our eyes.

What organization is responsible to approve the contact lens?

For example, if the lens is approved by FDA, means it will not harm our eyes?

Thank you smile.gif
hi, i m glad if my answer help.

FDA & sirim are examples for recognizing the quality of the product.

the only way to make sure the lens is safe to be used is by sending the lens to health ministry for a check.

u need to email FDA to make sure the product is checked and approved to be safe. many korean lens put FDA approval but i m not so sure about that, thanks

This post has been edited by jialat: Apr 5 2009, 02:26 AM
TSjialat
post Apr 14 2009, 11:32 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(BlueKM @ Apr 14 2009, 01:02 PM)
yesterday as my first time wearing contacts for about 8 hours, and about 3 hours, the eye starts to feel heat around o.o should i take it out and put it back inside? or am i the person who is not the contact lens person ): i look better without spects T_T
hi, u should remove the lens immediately if ur eyes feel intense discomfort or pain. u can give the lens another trial the next day and if u still face the same problem then its best to stop wearing them & consult ur optometrist. thanks
TSjialat
post Apr 16 2009, 05:25 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(BlueKM @ Apr 16 2009, 11:55 AM)
its not painful or not comfortable, its just like heat around the eyes, but the next day was better, todays is 4th day, the heat is less now, when its your first time wearing contacts, do you feel the same too?
i cant remember how i felt when 1st started wearing lens but its good that u actually practice building up ur wearing time slowly. 1st day 4 hours, then increase further 2 hours the subsequent day, till reach 8 hours a day max. try not to wear more than 10 hours unless u r using extended wear lens. i have seen too many cases ended up with irreversible ghost vessels on cornea nowadays.

pls stop wearing the lens if the heat sensation persist and its always good to consult ur optom. thanks
TSjialat
post Apr 24 2009, 11:54 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(StrawberryGirL @ Apr 21 2009, 11:05 AM)
hi jialat, i got some question wanna ask u.. i've been wearing contact lens since 3 years ago but everytime i wear my eyes sure feel dry as i was using softlen brand.I donno weather is bcoz of the dry eyes or what.. but everytime i put in to my eyes its seems like very dry not more then 20 min when i wear.everytime in the morning or afternoon when im driving i sure need to wear a sunglasses to prevent of my eyes pain.itzzit bcoz of the brand im using are not good ? or my eyes sensitive with it ? pls advise smile.gif thanks~
hi, may i know the name of the contact lens u are using nowadays?

do u have eye pain too when driving at night?

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 23 2009, 12:54 AM)
What are the differences between Freshkon 38 and 58?
the number indicates the water content. dry eyes need lower water content lens, so freshkon 38 is a better choice for them. thanks

61 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:32 AM