Contact lens information, as requested by members

simonlws
post Dec 26 2017, 02:37 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 26 2017, 12:10 PM)
Look for those individual outlet run by optometrist, dont go chain stores which mostly hire optician who dont perform over refraction on contact lens.
Noted with thanks!
roy595
post Jan 14 2018, 09:01 PM

38 posts

Well, I'm new to this, and I'm planning to get contacts. It seems that I should opt for monthly contacts, as it's cheaper? Just normal use.
Also, how much is the cost, per year? Including the price of the contacts, maintenance and all.

This post has been edited by roy595: Jan 14 2018, 09:02 PM
TSjialat
post Jan 14 2018, 11:24 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 14 2018, 09:01 PM)
Well, I'm new to this, and I'm planning to get contacts. It seems that I should opt for monthly contacts, as it's cheaper? Just normal use.
Also, how much is the cost, per year? Including the price of the contacts, maintenance and all.
Whats your eye power?
roy595
post Jan 15 2018, 03:30 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 14 2018, 11:24 PM)
Whats your eye power?
With specs, it's 275 on the left and 325 on the right. Dunno how it works for contacts la

Btw, I'm a student, use it for normal daily activities, maybe some jogging on most days.

And if a box has 6pcs, that means 3 pairs? For 3 months?

This post has been edited by roy595: Jan 15 2018, 05:34 AM
TSjialat
post Jan 15 2018, 09:52 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 15 2018, 03:30 AM)
With specs, it's 275 on the left and 325 on the right. Dunno how it works for contacts la

Btw, I'm a student, use it for normal daily activities, maybe some jogging on most days.

And if a box has 6pcs, that means 3 pairs? For 3 months?
If u just plan to get one box then u need -2.75, a box of 6 pieces will give u 3 months supply. its best to get your eyes check again before you buy the contact lens.
roy595
post Jan 15 2018, 07:23 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 15 2018, 09:52 AM)
If u just plan to get one box then u need -2.75, a box of 6 pieces will give u 3 months supply. its best to get your eyes check again before you buy the contact lens.
Whats the price? Then I must two boxes la? one 275 6pcs another one 325 6pcs?

This post has been edited by roy595: Jan 15 2018, 08:20 PM
TSjialat
post Jan 15 2018, 10:14 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 15 2018, 07:23 PM)
Whats the price? Then I must two boxes la? one 275 6pcs another one 325 6pcs?
U can go for 3 pieces per box type, high oxygen lens
RM 50 each box
roy595
post Jan 16 2018, 05:38 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 15 2018, 10:14 PM)
U can go for 3 pieces per box type, high oxygen lens
RM 50 each box
rm400 per year then? thats pretty high..
TSjialat
post Jan 16 2018, 09:50 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 16 2018, 05:38 AM)
rm400 per year then? thats pretty high..
There are many cheaper lens in market but u might end up paying more for eye treatment when complications happen.
prashantcoupons
post Jan 16 2018, 01:54 PM

25 posts

proper eye exercise and good diet may help to increase your eye-sight.
roy595
post Jan 16 2018, 04:37 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 16 2018, 09:50 AM)
There are many cheaper lens in market but u might end up paying more for eye treatment when complications happen.
Which lens you recommend? Brand and name?
TSjialat
post Jan 16 2018, 07:46 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 16 2018, 04:37 PM)
Which lens you recommend? Brand and name?
i recommend miacare or biofinity for monthly lens.

I prefer oasys but its 2 weekly lens.
sivanathan04
post Jan 26 2018, 07:39 AM

701 posts

Hi jialat bro.im a keratakonus patient done cornea transplant in both eyes few years back..now using sclreal leans..having severe dry eye too.currently using Boston simplus for cleaning and soaking..goverment hospital they recommend me to use separate Boston advance cleaner and conditioning for better cleaning..any other better cleaner or Boston is good enough..thank you
TSjialat
post Jan 26 2018, 12:04 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Jan 26 2018, 07:39 AM)
Hi jialat bro.im a keratakonus patient done cornea transplant in both eyes few years back..now using sclreal leans..having severe dry eye too.currently using Boston simplus for cleaning and soaking..goverment hospital they recommend me to use separate Boston advance cleaner and conditioning for better cleaning..any other better cleaner or Boston is good enough..thank you
hi Siva, yes boston cleaner and conditioning are good enough. Scleral lens is filled with artificial eyedrop, it should not caused dry eyes because your cornea is soaked with eyedrop all time when wearing the lens.
roy595
post Jan 28 2018, 08:00 PM

38 posts

So I've just been to a store nearby. Is Bausch & Lomb a good brand for contact lenses?It's Soflens 38 apparently? Or should I just avoid?
Also, soflens 38 can wear for how long max? can wear for 12 hours like that? and compared to biofinity? which is the best for 12hours+/- wear?

This post has been edited by roy595: Jan 29 2018, 12:12 AM
TSjialat
post Jan 29 2018, 11:49 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 28 2018, 08:00 PM)
So I've just been to a store nearby. Is Bausch & Lomb a good brand for contact lenses?It's Soflens 38 apparently? Or should I just avoid?
Also, soflens 38 can wear for how long max? can wear for 12 hours like that? and compared to biofinity? which is the best for 12hours+/- wear?
Soflens 38 are very very basic lens. Max 8 hours per day.

Biofinity has much more oxygen than soflens 38. More than 12 hours also no problem.
roy595
post Feb 1 2018, 03:17 AM

38 posts

Has anyone sleep in softlens 38? I take the bus and sometimes take a nap for 20-30 min. If Im wearing softlens then is it a problem?

First time user (going to), I'll probably get the cheap softlens, and if I'm ok with contacts over glasses, I guess I'll make a move for the more expensive ones.

This post has been edited by roy595: Feb 2 2018, 09:03 AM
TSjialat
post Feb 1 2018, 10:03 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 1 2018, 03:17 AM)
Has anyone sleep in softlens 38? I take the commuter to work and sometimes take a nap for 20-30 min. If Im wearing softlens then is it a problem?

First time user (going to), I'll probably get the cheap softlens, and if I'm ok with contacts over glasses, I guess I'll make a move for the more expensive ones.
You only have one pair of eyes. Dont take risk with low oxygen permeability lens.
roy595
post Feb 1 2018, 11:39 PM

38 posts

Yeah, quite true. Why risk eyesight for a couple bucks. There seems to be a few other options for silicon hydrogel lens too in the shop I went... altho i feel its better i double check here to see if its actually good.

What about Clariti Elite by Coopervision? How good/shitty is 86 Dk/t ? 12hrs +/- with nap boleh?

This post has been edited by roy595: Feb 2 2018, 09:02 AM
TSjialat
post Feb 2 2018, 12:31 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 1 2018, 11:39 PM)
Yeah, quite true. Why risk eyesight for a couple bucks. There seems to be a few other options for silicon hydrogel lens too in the shop I went... altho i feel its better i double check here to see if its actually good.

What about Clariti Elite by Coopervision? How good/shitty is 86 Dk/t ? 12hrs +/- with nap boleh?
best to look for DK/t of 100 & above if u plan to nap with lens on.

clariti elite not so comfortable, i tried it once for a month long.

141 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:14 PM