Contact lens information, as requested by members

ngmx88
post Dec 15 2017, 11:46 PM

59 posts

Hi Jialat,

Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”. “Off power” lenses cause distortion or blurriness for the consumer. I just know that off power can happen. So the recall only in Singapore?

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 27 2010, 09:51 PM)
hi, i really wonder what test they did on ur eyes to conclude that ur eyes are prone to irritation. are these people optometrist? or just optician?

the 3 days trial lens thingy is either acuvue moist or trueye, they are daily lens and those 2 are not for sensitive eyes. i seriously doubt their intention to find u a suitable lens, they are just trying to sell u the most expensive lens in market so they can rip more profit from u.

trueye is silicone hydrogel daily lens but these lens have been causing a lot of problem in oversea, johnson & johnson has recalled many of this lens, pls google for more information, just type trueye recall.

acuvue moist is 1 of the best daily lens in market but its not designed for sensitive eyes.

u should use acuvue oasys if u really have sensitive eyes, its 2-weekly lens and 1 of the most comfortable silicone hydrogel lens.
ngmx88
post Dec 19 2017, 07:33 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 18 2017, 02:27 AM)
Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”.

This batch of lenses as according to J&J was sold in year 2014 in Malaysia.
Wow. It has been three years! So those who used sure already kena lo.

How about 30,000 boxes of contact lenses that found to be contaminated with foreign substance. So far only Japan, Taiwan and Singapore take action? I only saw a post by online news, called the coverage.

It mentioned those products that are affected were reportedly manufactured between March 2013 and June 2017. Not sure how serious it was, but seem like J&J have poor products control.
ngmx88
post Dec 19 2017, 07:56 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 18 2017, 02:27 AM)
Acuvue Oasys for Astigmatism lot numbers B00GW4Z and B00HRMG, which contained lenses being “off power”.
Hi Jialat,

How do we know or realized the contact lens are off power? Does it means that we can't see clearly and will feel dizzy?

Thanks in advance for answering my questions.

Do you see the below brand sell in Malaysia? I found out that this brand is new and own by Malaysian. So, I wonder will it be cheaper and good in quality.

This post has been edited by ngmx88: Dec 19 2017, 07:57 PM

ngmx88
post Dec 21 2017, 07:01 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 19 2017, 09:25 PM)
I am not sure how to check for off power contact lens.

That brand u shared looks like OEM product to me and i dont usually use all these lenses.
Thanks for your answer.
I am not sure whether the brand is OEM product or not.
Any reason you don't use all these lens?
Lower quality control?
ngmx88
post Dec 21 2017, 06:27 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 21 2017, 12:35 PM)
They are not listed in malaysian medical device act products. Not sure about the quality.
Ok, understood.
Nice chatting with you.

0.0189sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:04 AM