125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

hadoupening
post Jan 4 2011, 08:10 PM

476 posts

Okay, I'm in! So, for accommodations, I'm thinking Sun-U Apartments, four sharing, anyone with any experience with the four-sharing rooms? Will it get too crowded/noisy?
Gii
post Jan 4 2011, 09:16 PM

Validating
47 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Jan 4 2011, 06:04 PM)
Very nice, rarely see people doing BCS nowadays. Although I believe the intakes are significantly higher now. smile.gif

So which major/minor have you picked? You're lucky because when I started my course, we didn't have any major/minors. However, I have to say the course structure is a lot more compacted/less syllabus included now. Not too sure if its a good or bad thing..
Are you doing BCS? I have not decided which to pick yet. But if I am not mistaken the minors are very similar to BIT's right? By the way what do you mean by the course is a lot more compact/ less syllabus included?

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 4 2011, 06:29 PM)
BCS is computer science right?

nobody doing pharm a?><
Yes smile.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 4 2011, 11:42 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jan 4 2011, 08:10 PM)
Okay, I'm in! So, for accommodations, I'm thinking Sun-U Apartments, four sharing, anyone with any experience with the four-sharing rooms? Will it get too crowded/noisy?
4 ppl in 1 room shocking.gif studying or bangla worker?
LoNeLy-Zhai
post Jan 5 2011, 12:26 AM

21 posts

Any advices upon Bachelor of arts majoring in psychology? Planning to pursue psychology degree, just finished AUSMAT.
hadoupening
post Jan 5 2011, 12:43 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 4 2011, 11:42 PM)
4 ppl in 1 room  shocking.gif  studying or bangla worker?
Yeah, I guess so...

Other Feb students, where will you guys be staying? Sun-U or outside?

Also, any seniors here can share their experiences with the dorms? Thanks!
Cottoncandyclouds
post Jan 5 2011, 01:02 AM

374 posts

Blek. They lost my appeal I think. They ask me to give them again
noonian
post Jan 5 2011, 01:07 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Dec 29 2010, 03:58 PM)

So I went and met one of their officers there, and upon reviewing my results she said I was eligible for the course (Business and Commerce if you're interested to know). However they school would need my actual A lvls results and not the forecast but in the mean time, I can submit a scholarship application and then submit my actual results when it came out later. My forecast said I was expected to get 3As. I took 3 subjects only, namely Business Studies, Economics and English Literature.

hrrrmm....since when Business Commerce course require Add Maths as pre-req?
Hikari0307
post Jan 5 2011, 01:27 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(noonian @ Jan 5 2011, 01:07 AM)
hrrrmm....since when Business Commerce course require Add Maths as pre-req?
Monash's Bachelor of Business and Commerce has always has year 11 Math and year 12 English as a pre-requisite in which SPM's add math is Malaysia's equivalent to year 11 math.
Their Bachelor of Business or Bachelor of Commerce in Aussie would need year 12 Math.
noonian
post Jan 5 2011, 01:50 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jan 5 2011, 01:27 AM)
Monash's Bachelor of Business and Commerce has always has year 11 Math and year 12 English as a pre-requisite in which SPM's add math is Malaysia's equivalent to year 11 math.
Their Bachelor of Business or Bachelor of Commerce in Aussie would need year 12 Math.
looks like the criterias has changed over the years (was frm a very old old batch sweat.gif )

in a way, it makes sense too considering how crappy the SPM Matematik is anyways...
entryman
post Jan 5 2011, 09:14 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 4 2011, 11:42 PM)
4 ppl in 1 room  shocking.gif  studying or bangla worker?
Crowded definitely. But you'll need to learn how to manage and coordinate the resource, i.e. space, and time.

Happens frequently if you're on budget. I know for a fact many tertiary students in Hong Kong do this.. highly expensive + super crammed.
zstan
post Jan 5 2011, 09:48 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jan 5 2011, 12:43 AM)
Yeah, I guess so...

Other Feb students, where will you guys be staying? Sun-U or outside?

Also, any seniors here can share their experiences with the dorms? Thanks!
local student. will be driving. buying a 2nd hand car seems much more cheaper than paying the exorbitant rental for the next 4 years. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Jan 5 2011, 01:02 AM)
i told you so didn't I? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
hadoupening
post Jan 5 2011, 11:47 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Jan 5 2011, 01:02 AM)
I had some Monash/JPA red tape complications too, just got sorted out about 2 days ago. rclxub.gif

Hopefully you can get yours done in time too.
ostangel
post Jan 5 2011, 12:05 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Jan 4 2011, 09:16 PM)
Are you doing BCS? I have not decided which to pick yet. But if I am not mistaken the minors are very similar to BIT's right? By the way what do you mean by the course is a lot more compact/ less syllabus included?
Yes smile.gif
Yes, I'll be in my 3rd year now smile.gif

Well, if you have a look at the old course structure, you will see that a couple of units have been combined or taken out of the syllabus to (I guess) make way for the units you will have to do for your major/minor. For example, you will no longer have FIT2022 on you syllabus, instead it is replace by another unit called Operating Systems, if I'm not mistaken. You now do 2 math units over a span of 2 years, instead of 1 per sem the first year as it was for me.

I'm not too familiar with the majoring they offer, but I would think that it would be quite similar to the degree they offer for BITS.
cckkpr
post Jan 5 2011, 03:18 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jan 5 2011, 11:47 AM)
I had some Monash/JPA red tape complications too, just got sorted out about 2 days ago.  rclxub.gif

Hopefully you can get yours done in time too.
You were from UPM? What happen?
Cottoncandyclouds
post Jan 5 2011, 04:39 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 5 2011, 09:48 AM)
local student. will be driving. buying a 2nd hand car seems much more cheaper than paying the exorbitant rental for the next 4 years.  tongue.gif
i told you so didn't I?  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
I feel there is something inherently evil with their campus T.T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! vmad.gif
hadoupening
post Jan 5 2011, 04:41 PM

476 posts

Yeah, about that... I started my 2nd sem as a BSci Physics student at UPM a few days ago. Before that I applied for JPA BEng scholarship for Monash. Thought I didn't get that, but then they informed me late December that I got the scholarship, so now currently studying in UPM till Orientation Day.

TL;DR - I got JPA for Monash halfway through my first year at UPM, so i went for it.

Added on January 5, 2011, 4:44 pmOh, and btw, can anyone recommend a cheap place near Monash, as in within walking distance? Or else I'll have to stay at the dorms, and the cost is almost half my JPA allowance...

This post has been edited by hadoupening: Jan 5 2011, 05:41 PM
zstan
post Jan 5 2011, 05:12 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Jan 5 2011, 04:39 PM)
I feel there is something inherently evil with their campus T.T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! vmad.gif
hahahaha. happens everywhere la dear. smile.gif send them again lor. you have about 1.5 months left. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jan 5 2011, 04:41 PM)
Oh, and btw, can anyone recommend a cheap place near Monash, as in within walking distance? Or else I'll have to stay at the dorms, and the cost is almost half my JPA allowance...
hard to get..my cousin once got a room..a REALLY small room in fact.. can fit one mattress and one table and one table fan...

20-30 minutes walk away from monash....
Cottoncandyclouds
post Jan 5 2011, 05:20 PM

374 posts

I've got a lot of unique documents inside. Like referrals from lecturers. And certified original copies of certain things which took me a lot of begging and going in between kl an d PJ.
bluespot
post Jan 5 2011, 05:35 PM

24 posts

I just got my ausmat result and wanted to pursue engineering course in Monash but my ATAR didnt reach the requirement, so how???! :'(

i really wan to enter into Monash as my sis is studying phd there n she also encourage me too..but i got 82.95 and i check tat Monash need 87,can i appeal or any other way?
zstan
post Jan 5 2011, 05:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Jan 5 2011, 05:20 PM)
I've got a lot of unique documents inside. Like referrals from lecturers. And certified original copies of certain things which took me a lot of begging and going in between kl an d PJ.
er? you can photostat all those original documents and then go to a commissioner of oath to get them certified ma.

don't tell me you submitted the ORIGINAL documents for your appeal?! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:10 PM