youngkies
post Jul 9 2009, 10:38 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Jul 9 2009, 10:14 PM)
But my friend enquired local IMU BPharm, and being acknowledged that BPharm and MPharm are the same.

Or it's differs according to countries?

BPharm and MPharm are the same if you are in Malaysia. MPharm is treated as BPharm.

But what you'll learn during the course is what differentiate you between a bachelor degree holder and a master degree holder. After all, in UK, MPharm is treated no different from any Master degree, as you are taught in Master level in your final year.

youngkies
post Jul 10 2009, 07:24 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Jul 10 2009, 08:51 AM)
So, in UK, it's accredited as a Master's degree anywhere except malaysia?

How about a graduate from Australia Universities?
Or, in short, only Malaysia doesnt apply the Master qualification?

not really.

in malaysia, it is still a master degree.

but people assume they are the same as BPharm because of the duration of study. and it is treated no different from BPharm in term of starting a job. you still have to go through 4 years of civil service.

like i said many times, the main difference would be the experiences being taught in Master level or just Degree level.
youngkies
post Jul 11 2009, 11:19 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(goodfella_rocka @ Jul 11 2009, 11:07 AM)
@cynthia_tss and jerk - Okies thanks lots for the direction! biggrin.gif In the library there is currently only 3 copies of the Pharmacists/Pharmaceutical Journal.. doh.gif  You'd think that with such a huge batch of pharmacy students every intake they'd take the pains to order more copies. But yeah I'll refer to the librarians about it... thanks!

@youngkies - I'm interested in the research stuff... but I hate it when the articles read: so-and-so drug MAY help to combat so-and-so disease. I say if it's just MAY, then don't put it up la... buat suspense only tongue.gif but then I think it's not in my place to judge... as a working and qualified pharmacist what do you think?
it is simple, you wouldn't want to promise someone that this MIRACLE drug will cure him/her for sure, but ended up killing the patient because of it side-effects/narrow therapeutic index or whatsoever that the patient die because of something else/natural cause, and their family comes back to you with all the blame and legal actions.

medicines / healthcare professional, you are dealing with people life. in the end of the day, just make sure your back is covered. despite what benefits you have tried for the patient, they MAY come back and back-fire at you if something goes wrong.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jul 11 2009, 11:22 AM
youngkies
post Jul 11 2009, 12:36 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(goodfella_rocka @ Jul 11 2009, 11:30 AM)
@youngkies - I understand that. But what I'm saying is that if the drug is not proven to be 100% effective in curing a symptom or a disease, then I say don't put it up. They may be laymen like me who read it and think that oh maybe I should give it a shot. But then I understand that they publish it as 'MAY' to let people know that so-and-so research is going on...
there is no 100% effective drug in this world. and all of it come with side-effects too.

research give us hopes, and hope keep us going. if no one put the possibility up, no one will know about it, no one will take note of it, no one will carry on doing research on it, no one will discover something else that can be beneficial, and hence nothing is made.

give it a shot, it is not always up to the patient to decide. it is up to the professionals known as doctor. doctor is the one that weigh between risk and benefits.
youngkies
post Jul 30 2009, 02:39 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

if it was me, i won't sell it either. in UK, pharmacist can only prescribe trimethoprim for UTI and azithromycin for chlamydia, under specific specification as pharmacy services.

it is up to the doctor to diagnose and prescribe treatment for most bacterial infections, including ear infections. pharmacist in UK are allowed to sell acetic acid ear drops for outer ear infection, but anything beyond that (inner/middle ear canal infection), hearing loss, pain etc, referral to doctor is necessary for full assessment/diagnosis. i believe, none of the pharmacy do have an otoscope anyway.

in regards to selling medicines she used before, it is not appropriate either. if anyone can self medicate themselves, what is the point for doctor to go the uni for 5 years and numerous years of gaining experience. everyone can just google up their symptoms and buy the medicine from the grocery. i'm afraid we are not in that golden age yet.

who get the blame if self medicate went wrong? who will held responsibility if resistant to antibiotic developed due to misuse, if everyone can just go and buy antibiotic of their own choice.

also, pill? lol, he doesn't even have an idea what is the difference between pill and tablet. i have never seen any antibiotic comes in pill form anymore.

and his talk about studying 4 years vs. doctor 5 years? it doesnt matter. it is the content of study that matters. engineering take 4 years in malaysia too, does that means engineering can do architecture works too?

so as owning a pharmacy doesnt means they are entrepreneur either. it is about how you bringing the business forward. i have seen owners of pharmacies that are not happy work in their own pharmacy for full time, just because they cant deal with the stress of managing the pharmacy, but also being money-minded for every seconds.

Added on July 30, 2009, 3:09 amno.. cardiff + taylor. its better be good then. else it is so going to drag down cardiff reputation. btw, cardiff, it is a really good place to study.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jul 30 2009, 03:09 AM
youngkies
post Jul 31 2009, 07:15 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Jul 30 2009, 02:51 PM)
@youngkies

yeah.. i believe cardiff is a good place for pharmacy but i am quite worried that the stiff competition among private Uni in malaysia trying to lure the limited number of students interested in taking up pharmacy would eventually cause the minimum requirement to be lowered.

nah.. about the 4 vs 5 years i know it is just a rant. after you analysis, i change my mind of selling the medication as well. we as pharmacists wanted to help but we have to abide by a lot of legal laws. that kind of put me off.
well it is not always about legality in sales of medicine. I will not sell/give out any medicines if I am not happy with the transaction. I wont sell anything just because the customer/patient wanted it. I do it only when I am convinced that the thing I sold will bring benefit than something bad, used within the medicines licensed indication and intention.

e.g. some patient can come in and say they want co-codamol. upon some questioning, if I have doubt that he/she might not need it or probably abuse it or probably misuse it, I won't sell it, despite it is a so common stuff over the counter. Because if anything bad happened, next thing you know is, you will be questioned by plenty of authorities or get sued for negligence.

sales of medicines over the counter / dispensing, customer has no right for whatever they want, it is the pharmacist's right and judgement to hand out the medicine. the only thing to balance their right of obtaining a medicine, is pharmacist owes patient duty of care.

you wont learn this kind of ethical dilemma until you have really work as a pharmacist.

the same as dispensing, if you are not happy to dispense something according to doctor direction/prescription (inappropriate dose, interactions, S/E etc), you have the right to not dispense it too. if there is something wrong, and you failed to notice it or just dispense it because you thought doctor is always right, in the end, you share 50-50 liability with the prescribing doctor for negligence too.
youngkies
post Aug 31 2009, 04:37 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(valens @ Aug 31 2009, 03:44 AM)
saw an advert yesterday in theStar education section, apparently Mahsa is offering a new 2+2 MPharm twinning program with the Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU).

just when I thought new pharmacy schools in Malaysia are growing at an intense rate, there's another new one popped up at another corner. it is really bothersome when quality of these new pharmacy schools are concerned, especially looking at the rate that they are emerging. unsure.gif

oh btw, since jerk brought up to ridd about the pre-registration application in Malaysia, I might as well just throw this onto the table, I think it's fairly informative as well: LINK

last but not least... since the pay of PRPs is the common question here, based on my own personal experience, PRPs are paid at 3.8+k, so ideally it is in fact within the range of 3700-4000.

they are called provisional registered pharmacist (PRP) in msia instead of pre-reg as in UK.
youngkies
post Aug 31 2009, 05:07 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(ridd @ Aug 31 2009, 04:44 AM)
@ valens

Is that the salary range for fresh PRP? 3.8k + ? I've been told you start only at 2.5k..

Added on August 31, 2009, 4:50 am@ valens

Thanx a lot for the provided link, definitely will help me a lot!! thumbup.gif
in the range of 3.8k, +1k if you are west malaysian working in east malaysia.
youngkies
post Sep 6 2009, 07:58 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

community pharmacist - pharmacist that work in community setting.

hospital pharmacist - self-explanatory

industrial pharmacist - pharmacist that work in drug manufacturing site.

academia pharmacist - post-research student, lecturer

also pharmacist that work across board e.g. regulatory pharmacist, administration pharmacist etc etc.
youngkies
post Sep 6 2009, 10:30 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(minshuen @ Sep 6 2009, 10:02 PM)
wah so many types of pharmacists?!which types of pharmacist is most profitable?
all can be profitable depends on which level you get into.

youngkies
post Sep 7 2009, 02:26 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Sep 6 2009, 10:29 PM)
well, just wnated to know what are the differences of pharmacy and biochemistry? can a biochemistry graduates continue their master in pharmacy?

thanks for any reply.=)
the differences are huge.

MSc in pharmacy, no. MPharm, yes as you start as a new second degree.
youngkies
post Jan 11 2010, 01:36 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Dec 31 2009, 09:47 PM)
Hey, yes it's a postgrad program, wether Master/PhD in Clinical pharmacy, allegedly steers to the pathway of Clinical Pharmacist and Medical Researcher.

But I'm really confused between a Clinical Pharmacist and a Physician, except that a Clinical/Hospital Pharmacist doesnt take-on surgery procedures. I know that they assist physician as a Consultant for Drugs and Medication, but how much is their gravity in the field of health care?

We all know that commensurately with the inflation of Pharmacists, pejoratives such as 'Pharmacist=salesman, or Doctor:" Hey pharma x, get me an aspirin" propagates greatly.'
Therefore, what is the future outlook between Pharmacy and MBBS, does Pharmacy studies delve deeper into drugs rather than MBBS which prones toward surgery?

Is this true?

it is simple. physician prescribes and pharmacist dispenses.

physician treats while pharmacist supplies and nurse to administer.
youngkies
post Mar 19 2010, 03:30 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(loveless90 @ Mar 17 2010, 06:05 PM)
thanks for the reply. yes i have heard tat UK ppl are very friendly and not racist. But what about the employability rate of asian pharmacists in the UK? is it favorable? because after spending 400k studying in nottingham, i'm sure no one would wanna come back malaysia to work not after u earn back the 400k at least.

and is the demand of pharmacists in the UK high? as i've seen there are quite a number of pharmacy schools in the UK, i guess the number of pharmacists would also be quite high.

Added on March 17, 2010, 6:10 pmALSO, this question has been hovering in my mind for quite some time. IMU and nottingham, which would you advice me to study in? please tell me the pros and cons (if any). thankss in advance. smile.gif
as long as you have the registration as pharmacist in UK, job is not hard to come by whatever race you are. beside, a lot of companies do depends on overseas pharmacist to get the job done, as some local british pharmacist are just laid back.

and its not about money all the time. I do see a lot of people going back even after just a year of working/training in uk due to stress and boring life in here.
youngkies
post Mar 20 2010, 02:18 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(LovingDae @ Mar 19 2010, 03:47 PM)
hmm...i dont understand some of it...does any of it includes compounding job?
could u please describe it more details?
thanks in advance rclxms.gif  laugh.gif  nod.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
compounding has become less common practice, even in pharmaceutical company, unless you are in R&D department, academia or work as compounding pharmacist in specials manufacturers. even in hospital, compounding is usually limited to parental administration.

QUOTE(loveless90 @ Mar 19 2010, 06:53 PM)
thanks thanks for the clarification. So i guess as long as i'm hardworking enough and don be so laid back, i can secure a job there pretty easily tho not 100%.

May i know are u a pharmacist in practising in the UK? If yes, may i know is it super cold there? like let say sometime can even reach 1 degree celcius...
my advice is, get working experience or summer placement with big companies in uk, that will also leads you to a place for pre-registration even before your graduation. pass the pre-reg year, get the registration and there you go, plenty of jobs still. but i have to pre-warn you, jobs are plentiful, but good places to work in are hard to come by in community sector.

yes I am pharmacist in uk, and it can get quite cold sometime, below 0 for 1-2 weeks at most, varies on area you live in.
youngkies
post Mar 22 2010, 07:43 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(shui6 @ Mar 22 2010, 11:27 AM)
@jerk

Thanks for replying me.

However, i thought UWA offers Pharm as well. They dont offer 1st year course in pharm. Instead they offer students in year 2. year 1 would be in the bachelor of science or biomed or biotech. Only in year 2 they offer pharmacology for 2 years and honours for half a year.

is pharmacology and pharmacy the same aspect?
pharmacology is not the exact equivalent of pharmacy. pharmacy does include pharmacology to an extent, but not vice versa. pharmacology is the study of drug on body, but pharmacy is everything to do with drug, including law and pharmacy practice.

to answer to your previous questions. Yes 2+2 allows you to practice as pre-reg in uk after graduation, and upon passing the pre-reg year, you can register as pharmacist in uk.

MPharm is not equivalent to Honours degree as well.

yes, despite whatever qualification you have from any part of the world, once you get back to malaysia, you work for at least 3 years of civil service.
youngkies
post Mar 29 2010, 10:25 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 22 2010, 10:47 PM)
thanks baoz for the reply and info.

thanks to you too jerk for the reply, if my daughter do choose to do pharmacy then most probably would sent her to Australia as nearer.

shui6, thanks for the info on IMU. Yah want her to take SAM as you mentioned can do it in a year and go into Uni on Jan.

As for MPharm from UK, any one can confirm with this degree can do PhD in Pharmacy in either US or Australia?
youngkies, mind to elaborate further on above. MPharm would be higher than BPharm Hons yes?
MPharm is after all a Master degree but Honours is classification of usually Bachelor degree or some Master degree (e.g. 2:1 Hons, 2:2 Hons of a BPharm or MPharm).
youngkies
post Mar 29 2010, 09:31 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

I enjoyed being a pharmacist. End of the everyday, I have given plenty of advices from minor illness and treatment to specific advice of medication information, made sure hundreds of my customers receive their medication at right strength and right dose, of course right medication, and ensured hundreds of medication prescribed being dispensed with no margin for mistaken.

What more, the pay is good, way above the average pay, feed myself and still extra to spend after savings.

What I don't enjoy most, stressful most of the time due to multitasking, lack of staff, and lack of support from the managers, who knows only about targets targets and targets.
youngkies
post Apr 1 2010, 02:30 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(heavensword9 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:57 AM)
I am most probably going to liverpool john moores for pharmacy...maybe it isnt good to many of u... but nvm...anyone with me?
if u coming to UK for pharmacy course, go for a better university when you are paying about the same for a reputable and so-so uni.
youngkies
post Apr 2 2010, 08:50 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(heavensword9 @ Apr 1 2010, 09:11 PM)
hmm...juz take it as i love a so-so university... : ) and wat reputable uni u recommend?
if you want to do the course in a so-so uni, go for sunderland, bradford, portsmouth or aston university instead.

pharmacy course in liverpool, brilliant, but pharmacy in liverpool john moores, is almost unheard of.

reputable universities in pharmacy are like, London School of Pharmacy, Nottingham, Cardiff, Bath, Manchester, Liverpool, Strathclyde.

youngkies
post Apr 8 2010, 01:58 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 4 2010, 10:55 PM)
Mpharm is just as the same as BPharm la..no difference...dun use that as a consideration factor..
it does actually. in terms of how does the qualification weigh in malaysia, they put it the same, but what you actually learn, they are different.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0491sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:54 AM