111 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

spartacvs
post Mar 19 2009, 06:47 PM

I thought my jokes were bad!
1,281 posts

Sigh. I can’t seem to watch the video on the link provided. Anyway, the 3.0 firmware is just a beta version, right? I guess its still being improvised and hopefully, they do include flash feature into it when its stable.
TSstringfellow
post Mar 19 2009, 06:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Late to the "response" party but not on getting the news. Also just watched the Keynote through the podcast downloaded from iTunes.

Looks like there's no news on the "next-gen" iPhone, although the point brought across that the hardware may just be barely enough for the current iPhone3G to run all these new features may point towards either a hardware improvement(better processor, more random access memory, more capacity) but still essentially an iPhone3G, or a whole new iPhone.

I'm starting to feel the pinch on the capacity side, having to now designate podcasts, songs, and TV shows between my iPhone3G and my iPod Touch. I would be happy with just a capacity bump to 32GB this June/July, but a processor bumps alongside that new delicious mobile GPU being introduced by the company that makes the current iPhone graphic processor unit, would take the "next-gen" iPhone to new heights.

Either way, this June/July will be glorious, with or without new hardware upgrades. The new OS3.0 is awesome, feature set would simply shut up the moaners and snickerings from the naysayers.
SUSMike3300
post Mar 19 2009, 07:09 PM

6,866 posts

Normal phone features like Call Log is finally on the iPhone OS 3.0, hopefully more useful phone features to be unveil.
ryanryan
post Mar 19 2009, 07:46 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Mar 19 2009, 09:48 AM)
wat i cud see is mayb an increase to 32gb. n mayb a better camera. dats bout it. changin d sceen reso might not be viable unless the developers are informed bout d impending upgrade early on. so they can get ready. currently the devs are informed bout os3.0 witout any change in the reso. so yea, we'll jus wait n see dis summer.
Yup, u r right...

Just minor tweaked new OS3 iphone with few extra storage or better camera is plausible but total revamped new Iphone is really slim chance...

Plus the price will be high for the beginning of sales, always like that when new toy out... sad.gif
TSstringfellow
post Mar 19 2009, 11:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

To those doubting the future timeline of the iPhone to lead to a new iPhone, I'll hold you to it. I know we all want to justify our recent purchases of the iPhone with denial claims of a new hardware refresh..."no, it cant be, I just got it"..."it's too soon, Apple will not do that"...and all those other excuses, READ UP ON APPLE's PRODUCT CYCLE AND REFRESH HISTORY. I come to realise that with the iPhone's popularity, there is an influx of a lot of naive, ignorant newbies who take Apple's product refreshes just like how other product refreshes they are familiar it and equate that to Apple's own.

Don't believe me? I've been saying this and I'm saying this for the UMPTEENTH time, head to Macrumors Product Guide and read their Buyer's Guide. Apple's product cycles are thoroughly explained and described there for all their products, including the iPhone. Read what it says and come back here. That guide there basically advises savvy and knowledgable Apple users who are looking into buying either new product or looking into upgrading, about how old a product cycle is about a particular item, and should or should you not buy it now.

Just because YOU buy it recently, DOES NOT MEAN that Apple is obliged to follow your own purchase trend and hold off a product refresh/upgrade to a year so that you feel that you made an intelligent purchase. Next time, KEEP UP. Buy them either when they are relative fresh and new in that product cycle, so that when the time comes for the next refresh, it actually does feel you had made full use of that purchase.

Apple does not follow YOUR timetable, they follow their own. This same fact applies to everyone, INCLUDING late-acting telcos like Maxis, who take their own sweet time to release this locally, Apple does not compensate for your lack of vision or forward thinking if you are late on keeping up with technology. If you're late, bye bye.....you're left behind. There is no room for backward-minded folks in the current digital age of technology. If you plan to be a savvy iPhone or any Apple product user, KEEP UP.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 20 2009, 12:15 AM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 12:16 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Besides the well-informed guide at Macrumors, more indications pointing towards a new iPhone from this news blurb:-

http://www.iClarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=3296

After already enabling tethering on his iPhone developer Steven Troughton-Smith has found references to a new product in the iPhone 3.0 firmware.

The file, /System/Library/AppleUSBDevice/USBDeviceConfiguration.plist, lists USB configuration details about various iPhone and iPod touch models. Currently released devices listed are the iPhone1,1; iPhone1,2; iPod1,1; and iPod2,1.

Steven has found references to four unreleased devices the iPhone 2,1; iPhone3,1; iPod3,1; iFPGA; and iProd0,1. All of the products are assigned unique productID numbers but have a productString of iPhone.

ArsTechnica suggests that the iPhone3,1 and iPod3,1 are clearly references to next-gen hardware version of those products (perhaps Apple is skipping iPhone2,1?). Smith suggests that the iFPGA could be a prototype device that uses field-programmable gate arrays, a type of programmable microchip. It doesn't conform to the standard numbering scheme that Apple uses for its hardware products, so it isn't likely something intended to be released. The "iProd," on the other hand, uses a 0,1 number, suggesting it is a prototype of an as-yet unreleased device that is neither an iPhone nor an iPod touch.

Could iProd be the rumored 10" touchscreen?

I hate to be the bringer of bad news to new, recently purchased iPhone owners, but I'd hate myself more when the moment comes this June/July and having to spurt out those 4 words that these eternal hopefuls would hate to hear: I told you so!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 20 2009, 12:34 AM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 12:35 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://www.iClarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=3301

Apple is set to launch new OLED notebooks and flat panel monitors along with a new OLED iPhone claim sources at LG in Korea.

SmartHouse spoke with a source inside LG which says the new iPhone and iPod touch due later this year will have OLED screens made by the company. The source also said Apple had a working prototype of a new device which also uses an LG screen.

More Korean sources are saying that LG has been testing OLED panels in the area of touch sensitivity and "leave behind finger marks". They believe that by adding a layer in the manufacturing process that they can eliminate "finger marking".

Smarthouse was also told that Apple is looking at a wafer thin OLED screen that will link with a wireless content device similar to the current Apple TV.
The floodgate is slowly trickling out its embargoed info.
TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 01:32 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://www.macrumors.com/2009/03/19/upload...in-next-iphone/

Engadget Mobile discovered an interesting screenshot from the iPhone 3.0 beta operating system that is labeled "Upload Video". The screen reportedly appears when you try to upload photos to MobileMe. While Engadget is labeling it as an interesting "typo", we feel it likely suggests that video recording and upload capabilities will arrive in the next generation iPhone which could be released as early as this summer.

There have been intermittent reports about the next iPhone revision, but few solid leads. Still, whispers have suggested that June/July is the timeframe for the next iPhone which is said to be a major upgrade over today's model. Talk of multi-core CPUs and GPUs suggest the next iPhone could be significantly more powerful than the iPhone 3G. This could pave the way for rumored features such as background processes, and even video recording. While Apple has made no references to a new hardware revision, we feel the timing of the iPhone 3.0 operating system due out this summer provides Apple an easy way to introduce a major hardware revision at the same time.

As a result, it wouldn't surprise us that this "Video Upload" screen was misplaced rather than mistyped.

..........well? Anybody else want to live in the Matrix and pretend the next-gen iPhone is not coming this summer?
lycan87
post Mar 20 2009, 01:35 AM

71 posts

more evidence towards new iphone .... even though i'm trying hard not to believe it and resist my temptation to get one from maxis right now because i have been waitin for the past 2 years T_T.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/03...t_contract.html

at&t offering Iphone wihout contract , somewhat similar to wat they did last year b4 the launch of Iphone 3G.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/03...ce_upgrade.html

Imagination technologies announced new generation graphics core ...

sigh sigh sigh
TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 01:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Good to see someone with a common sense here. Reality is a nice place to keep our feet on. Denial though, can be an ugly thing. I've been saying that it is coming, but naysayers here want to protect their beloved investment in their iPhones and in their perfect world, the product cycle of an iPhone starts the day they buy their iPhones, not when Apple introduced it, like it should be.

TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 02:40 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

More websites picking up what iClarified website is reporting about the next-gen iPhone, this time with analysis:-

http://i.gizmodo.com/5175348/iphone-30-os-...ysterious-iprod

A quick rundown on Apple model naming conventions. The original iPhone is known as iPhone1,1 and the iPhone 3G is iPhone1,2. The first number refers to the overarching model, so when it changes, it indicates a a genuinely new product, not simply a bump in storage capacity (or even the mere addition of 3G). So that the models referenced in the iPhone 3.0's OS are iPhone3,1; iPod3,1; iFPGA; and iProd0,1 is is worth noting—we're talking significant hardware updates to the iPhone and iPod touch worthy of a new model number.

......Cry? icon_rolleyes.gif
gmail
post Mar 20 2009, 03:05 AM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

based on the style that apple release product, i doubt it will be a new iphone or iphone 3G with minor upgrade in june / july.

just take the white macbook as example, everyone taught they will discontinue the white macbook after alu macbook introduce into the market. but suddenly apple upgrade the white macbook with nvidia chipset instead.

you will never know when will apple launch the new iphone as they love to give surprise!!

IMHO, apple will launch a new iphone in june / july in order to maintain their market share as palm pre will launch during that time as well.

2yrs back, AT&T launched the iphone during this time, and the contract of those phone is going to over soon, therefore that have to come out with something interesting (OS 3.0) in order to ensure their customer wouldn't change camp.

okies all the above is just my personal opinion icon_rolleyes.gif
TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 03:08 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/news/comm...-future-iphone/

iPhone OS 3.0 hints at video-recording future iPhone

By Charles Starrett
Senior Editor, iLounge
Published: Thursday, March 19, 2009
News Category: iPhone

New screenshots taken from the beta release of iPhone OS 3.0 suggest that Apple may be planning to add video-recording functionality to current or possibly future iPhone models. Engadget Mobile reports that a “Publish Video” screen appears when attempting to publish a still image to MobileMe, prompting users to enter a title and optional description. Given that Apple did not mention video recording as a new feature of iPhone OS 3.0, the appearance of this menu suggests the feature may be planned for future iPhone and/or iPod touch hardware; it is also possible, but unlikely, that the text is simply a typo.
All these info pointing towards the "next-gen" iPhone, goes "nicely" with this music video. Suck that lemonade!

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Mar 20 2009, 03:10 AM

1,396 posts

ahaha string why are ya rubbing it in onto the iphone users!! give them some sympathy!

well there are already some spy shots of the up and coming iphone its on macrumors as well!

selinix
post Mar 20 2009, 03:23 AM

7,343 posts

Pheww.. luckily I did not upgrade my Iphone 2G to 3G 3 weeks back ...
TSstringfellow
post Mar 20 2009, 03:29 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Mar 20 2009, 03:10 AM)
ahaha string why are ya rubbing it in onto the iphone users!! give them some sympathy!

well there are already some spy shots of the up and coming iphone its on macrumors as well!
I dont mind, and in fact I totally agree with you on being neutral on this issue, but denial of not seeing a new iPhone (new here meaning a cosmetic, processor change, or total hardware revamp) because they have just recently purchase their iPhones and not wanting to see their iPhone purchases being obsolete this June/July, irks me to no end.

Guess what? My 8-months-old Aifontriji will be obsolete as well this June/July, but you dont see me denying the emergence of a new, next-gen iPhone. That is part and parcel of technology. The rubbing-in as you so eloquently put, are targeted at those in denial, not those who kept things in check-and-balance.

These rub-ins are also targeted towards the new, naive, fledgling of an iPhone user(s) who have no clue whatsoever on how Apple refreshes their product. Unlike their previous crappy Nokias or SE which refreshes practically every months with minor hardware upgrades and product number recycles(N93 to N93i? Plllleeeeeeezzzee!), Apple takes pride in the longevity of their product and keep bringing refreshes to the table to keep the product fresh.

What also a lot of newbies here dont realise is how Apple approaches a product refresh. Remember the first iPhone EDGE? AT&T ties up tons of iPhone EDGE subscribers for 2 years with their contract plans, and these plans are about to expire. What's the pull for these subscribers to renew their contracts with AT&T(and in turn, Apple as well, since Apple retains a portion of profit margin from their tie-up with their chosen telco), if the product remains stale, with no new upgrades after their 2 year contract expires? An impending product refresh, my dear ignorant newbies!

This creates a spillover effect where other regions also receive these new hardware upgrades/product refresh in terms of better hardware and feature set. We are enormously lucky that Apple chooses this roadmap to refresh their product, as it creates milestones and timeline where a new refresh can easily be tracked and projected, hence helping those who are in the process of getting an iPhone, know EXACTLY where in that product refresh period they are in now, and should or should they not upgrade based on that information.

It is nothing complicated, it is not rocket science. It is purely keeping up with the inside info, and a bit of common sense. Tear away from that archaic, old-fashioned mindset you once subscribed to when you had your Nokias and SE phones, they are not applicable once you moved on to Apple's own roadmap.

So, with that, my little "sweeties", listen to Planet Funk and "Suck your lemonade!"
ryanryan
post Mar 20 2009, 07:41 AM

124 posts

stringfellow, salute to u...

Ur explanations seem logical and convincing, mayb after all we'll have a total new iphone launch this year, great but too bad to the recent new iphone 3g buyers...

Embrace to the new tech iphone, the era has come sooner than u expected!
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 20 2009, 09:16 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

i dont know about u all... but i DO believe they'll be launching the new iphone 3g based on some indication that we been recieving (OS3??)

maybe to some of ppl it seems just a minor adjustment, but for me i see apple is trying to hint us something by this OS3 preview....

and im not saying only this OS3 preview... but history showed that once a year, in june, apple launched the iphone 2g on 2007 and 3g on 2008.

this is just my personal opinion... and as for me, i wont mind saving some money now than later regreting that when my head telling me "i told u so" part, and start bashing my head to the wall....

hohohoho.....
deepan84
post Mar 20 2009, 09:21 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Mar 20 2009, 09:16 AM)
i dont know about u all... but i DO believe they'll be launching the new iphone 3g based on some indication that we been recieving (OS3??)

maybe to some of ppl it seems just a minor adjustment, but for me i see apple is trying to hint us something by this OS3 preview....

and im not saying only this OS3 preview... but history showed that once a year, in june, apple launched the iphone 2g on 2007 and 3g on 2008.

this is just my personal opinion... and as for me, i wont mind saving some money now than later regreting that when my head telling me "i told u so" part, and start bashing my head to the wall....

hohohoho.....
but den u cant say jus bcos 2years in a row they did it, at d 3rd year its gonna be d same. 2 years is not a long history. apple is capable of doin anythin. they might even drag the launch towards end of d year as nowhere is it stated dat apple MUST release an iphone in june/july. so yea, jus go wit d flow and not wait for sumthin dat ur not sure of oso.. rumors will always be rumors unless sumthin concrete surfaces.
timothyy
post Mar 20 2009, 11:23 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

I definitely believe iphone gonna come out with new iphone in June. But heck... 3 months is long enough. I've waited since last year to get a new phone... at last, last night, I paid deposit for a new Singtel iphone.

Yup... must be a dumb "as" to buy it now at high price somore... but heck... I can't wait.

If the new iphone is really cool... e.g. big adjustment on hardware (5mp camera is not important), then, I just ditch this and buy another one. Kakakakaka... (as if I will since I took more than 6 months to consider getting one)...

But haiz... we always want to buy the best right?

111 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0200sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:21 PM