|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)
paichow777
Mar 11 2009, 04:52 PM
Only RM100 penalty will be imposed for this plan in the event a customer decides to terminate the 6 months commitment before its expiry. QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 11 2009, 04:44 PM) Ermmm, no. It's 6 months PENALTY, IIANM. That's 6 x monthly commitment fee. Maybe not 6 x monthly commitment fee. Just RM100. This could be their last option to get the market from those who dont want to be tied to Maxis,
tarpaucase
Mar 11 2009, 04:54 PM
If it's really 100..just buy and terminate contract somewhere down the line lar... You think maxis really will let you go so easy ah? free lunch ah?  I highly doubt it. This post has been edited by tarpaucase: Mar 11 2009, 04:56 PM
g3n0c1d3
Mar 11 2009, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Mar 11 2009, 04:54 PM) If it's really 100..just buy and terminate contract lar... You think maxis really will let you go so easy ah? free lunch ah?  I highly doubt it. LOL! couldnt agree with u more the tarpaucase.... This post has been edited by g3n0c|d3: Mar 11 2009, 05:02 PM
stringfellow
Mar 11 2009, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(paichow777 @ Mar 11 2009, 04:52 PM) Only RM100 penalty will be imposed for this plan in the event a customer decides to terminate the 6 months commitment before its expiry. Maybe not 6 x monthly commitment fee. Just RM100. This could be their last option to get the market from those who dont want to be tied to Maxis, I'm afraid not, bro. I've confirmed with my contact, it's 6 x monthly commitment fee. And the commitment fee for the 6 months plan is RM100. You may have gotten it mixed up that way.
prasys
Mar 11 2009, 04:58 PM
Heros Never Die
Look at the price of their 6 months contract thingy. You're actually paying the same price as someone who is selling here. Maxis isn't subsiding , pretty much you're paying for the phone alone and maxis gets an additional RM 100. Either way , they make money - you lose
paichow777
Mar 11 2009, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Mar 11 2009, 04:54 PM) If it's really 100..just buy and terminate contract somewhere down the line lar... You think maxis really will let you go so easy ah? free lunch ah?  I highly doubt it.  then price would b 2640, 8g and 3060 16G
tarpaucase
Mar 11 2009, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 11 2009, 04:58 PM) Either way , they make money - you lose it's called bizness...lol.. Added on March 11, 2009, 5:00 pmQUOTE(paichow777 @ Mar 11 2009, 04:58 PM) then price would b 2640, 8g and 3060 16G Wasn't someone selling an 8gb about ..RM2300 like..2-3 months back?.. damn.. prices went up >.< i'm still stuck on my 2g.. noooOOOoooo.... This post has been edited by tarpaucase: Mar 11 2009, 05:00 PM
paichow777
Mar 11 2009, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 11 2009, 04:57 PM) I'm afraid not, bro. I've confirmed with my contact, it's 6 x monthly commitment fee. And the commitment fee for the 6 months plan is RM100. You may have gotten it mixed up that way.  RM100 for 6 month plan? The table stated RM 80 lol
Doppelgriff
Mar 11 2009, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 11 2009, 04:01 PM) The phones ARE cheaper. It is the contract plans and the monthly commitment fees that are the killer. If you have been keeping up with Apple's tieup with all other telcos, it has been the same throughout. A lot of people dont realize this. All they see is "iPhone 3G for USD199" and immediately call it cheap. But to get the iPhone for USD199 , you need to sign up with AT&T and pay USD129.99 a month. Convert that to RM and see if you can call that cheap! You cannot convert coz people who buys the 199 phone plus the plan earns in USD. So if they earn 2K a month.. its cheap for them to buy the phone for USD 199 compared to us who have to pay almost RM2K when we earn Rm2K a month! besides.. their cheapest plan is 40 - 70 bucks.. not 129.99.. Comparing Maxis to theirs.. Maxis pricing is just ridiculous!!
falynx
Mar 11 2009, 05:01 PM
btw, Maxis brought back up the iPhone page.
I can't believe Maxis is charging one hell of a price with its package, in addition to its advance payment.. So we have to go through the whole hassle of claiming back the advance payment every month??
what a bummer!
neekun
Mar 11 2009, 05:04 PM
Personally I think the 6 months plan is good in a sense that its a "short kahwin" dgn Maxis for 6 months and later just divorce.
But I remember when I was at Maxis KLCC just now asking about this, I was informed that after 6 months contract habis and you wanna terminate the plan, u still need to pay RM100 admin fee. Can someone confirm this?
tarpaucase
Mar 11 2009, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(Doppelgriff @ Mar 11 2009, 05:01 PM) You cannot convert coz people who buys the 199 phone plus the plan earns in USD. So if they earn 2K a month.. its cheap for them to buy the phone for USD 199 compared to us who have to pay almost RM2K when we earn Rm2K a month! besides.. their cheapest plan is 40 - 70 bucks.. not 129.99.. Comparing Maxis to theirs.. Maxis pricing is just ridiculous!! You can compare wat.. because YOU are buying mar ultimately.. so whatever you earn..rupees.. yen.. ringgit.. in the end you see which country is cheaper to get from lor (based on exchange rates hahah.. maybe japan will be cheaper soon at the rate their money is dropping hehe) don't compare plans.. plans are only relevant here. ultimately if you're a heavy user.. their plan isn't really gonna cut it - 500mb..? come on! btw anyone knows if their 'free' minutes and stuff rollover to next month?
tarpaucase
Mar 11 2009, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(neekun @ Mar 11 2009, 05:04 PM) Personally I think the 6 months plan is good in a sense that its a "short kahwin" dgn Maxis for 6 months and later just divorce. But I remember when I was at Maxis KLCC just now asking about this, I was informed that after 6 months contract habis and you wanna terminate the plan, u still need to pay RM100 admin fee. Can someone confirm this? aiyoh. you never ask the maxis KLCC fella just now that meh? is the 'short kahwin' still good if you already got a line? .. no point getting a 2nd line right? :/
CerebralRogue
Mar 11 2009, 05:06 PM

But seriously how often do you guys change plans anyway? Its good in theory like MNP but I think the take up is still pretty low
g3n0c1d3
Mar 11 2009, 05:06 PM
taken the consideration... where is the iphone going to be launched? i mean officially? wanna see the action myself.... maybe i can get some goodies?
This post has been edited by g3n0c|d3: Mar 11 2009, 05:07 PM
d3vilzzzz
Mar 11 2009, 05:07 PM
though many forumers may nt b supportive of the maxis plan, we will soon see the iphone 3g flooding M'sia
mannequion
Mar 11 2009, 05:07 PM

comments from fren who used Maxis data package -- it is very lousy comparing to Celcom.
My area dun have Maxis HSDPA coverage too. *headache*
nokia2003
Mar 11 2009, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 11 2009, 02:32 PM) And the truth is out. I lol'ed back at those who were trying to lol at me. @nokia and frozzbyte, What you guys said and predicted came true. Malaysians are so predictable. Whine when they cant get what they want, whine some more when they already have what they want and want even MORE! Disgusting! precisely. so this is what it feels like to be proven correct!
mannequion
Mar 11 2009, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(princezs @ Mar 11 2009, 05:07 PM)  then its really not worth it ? I do see any points we should grab it now, to be the 1st to own the iPhone in Malaysia. ... Just wait and see. ?