86 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

aidono
post Apr 1 2014, 07:13 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 31 2014, 11:47 PM)
i setup my tent at special base for tents. i think the issue is the ground has water underneath

i got sleeping mat and also the inflatable air mattress, so we didn't get wet. just that underneath it got water

hammock no privacy  laugh.gif
If the ground got water underneath when I am setting up my tent, I will look for another option.
aidono
post Apr 1 2014, 07:15 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Apr 1 2014, 12:49 AM)
Yes, nearby got Nuang. But we been there before so wanna try some other hiking spot.  blush.gif
I guess you are unaware that Sg Congkak got two mountains - Gunung Chenuang and Batu Hampar if I am not mistaken. ROFL. Gunung Nuang is far away from Congkak by at least 30 minutes.
aidono
post Apr 1 2014, 07:30 AM

1,124 posts

Time for those who are into hiking, need to do some homework on how to explore new mountains instead of sticking to the same path biggrin.gif
gs20
post Apr 1 2014, 08:21 AM

1,685 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 1 2014, 07:15 AM)
I guess you are unaware that Sg Congkak got two mountains - Gunung Chenuang and Batu Hampar if I am not mistaken. ROFL. Gunung Nuang is far away from Congkak by at least 30 minutes.
DAMMMNNNNNN!!
How do we get there!?
We follow the trail from the broken bridge until the hut and we couldn't find any other way to proceed further.
SUStmdsad
post Apr 1 2014, 09:22 AM

1,176 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Mar 31 2014, 10:09 PM)
Are you well trained for EBC? I can tell you it is much more difficult compare to ABC if you never did before. AMS really a big threat here.
I have done some nepal treking and KK treking. So far so good.

I also worry about AMS but it is GOD Power anyway.
brotan
post Apr 1 2014, 10:12 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 1 2014, 07:13 AM)
If the ground got water underneath when I am setting up my tent, I will look for another option.
did realize until the water came in but it is ok lah cuz just a bit only, just sipped in, not really like flooding. no big deal. i just take some towel to dry it.

moreover that time heavy rain, too much hassle to find a new spot + move the tent + all belonging + make sure family stay dry

This post has been edited by brotan: Apr 1 2014, 11:26 AM
aidono
post Apr 1 2014, 10:24 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Apr 1 2014, 09:21 AM)
DAMMMNNNNNN!!
How do we get there!?
We follow the trail from the broken bridge until the hut and we couldn't find any other way to proceed further.
To be honest, I couldn't remember the trail completely.

As I know the route starts from near a building mark with either block C or E. Behind the block which is on your left there is a tar road. Trek the road for about 5 -10 minutes and there is a junction on your right that marks the trail.

As Chenuang is less hike by people, advisable to engage a guide. Warning - lots of leech due to wet terrain and possible encountering wild cat/ leopard.
aidono
post Apr 1 2014, 10:27 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(tmdsad @ Apr 1 2014, 10:22 AM)
I have done some nepal treking and KK treking. So far so good.

I also worry about AMS but it is GOD Power anyway.
http://mytravelkaki.com/

Look for Mr. Wai Kong. Tell him Alvin introduce.

I have yet to engage his service for Nepal before but he is a professional guide for Kinabalu. Meet him else where when I am trekking in some mountains. Friendly guy.
gs20
post Apr 1 2014, 10:48 AM

1,685 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 1 2014, 10:24 AM)
To be honest, I couldn't remember the trail completely.

As I know the route starts from near a building mark with either block C or E. Behind the block which is on your left there is a tar road. Trek the road for about 5 -10 minutes and there is a junction on your right that marks the trail.

As Chenuang is less hike by people, advisable to engage a guide. Warning - lots of leech due to wet terrain and possible encountering wild cat/ leopard.
I did a bit of Google & found the way.
Yes on the leech, we experience it yesterday. Have to stop to check every 5 minutes. And I missed out one well hidden in my pant only discover it when I got home.

aidono
post Apr 1 2014, 11:05 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Apr 1 2014, 11:48 AM)
Yes on the leech, we experience it yesterday. Have to stop to check every 5 minutes. And I missed out one well hidden in my pant only discover it when I got home.
I think you get the route from here?

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6169

That TS was one of my hiking friend smile.gif

I forgotten where I lead him to last time, too many trips. All good old memories biggrin.gif

Leeches that bite at the upper body are more likely tiger leeches. Woot!
brotan
post Apr 1 2014, 11:22 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Apr 1 2014, 10:48 AM)
Hamsap leech tongue.gif
Sky.Live
post Apr 2 2014, 11:04 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Im doing to Gasing today after work, but just for a short walk
scpt
post Apr 2 2014, 11:20 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 1 2014, 10:27 AM)
http://mytravelkaki.com/

Look for Mr. Wai Kong. Tell him Alvin introduce.

I have yet to engage his service for Nepal before but he is a professional guide for Kinabalu. Meet him else where when I am trekking in some mountains. Friendly guy.
wao 17-day hike! Must be amazing drool.gif
You been there bro?
aidono
post Apr 2 2014, 04:28 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Apr 2 2014, 12:20 PM)
wao 17-day hike! Must be amazing drool.gif
You been there bro?
Nope, as I am still concentrating in Malaysia mountains. Still got so many I have yet to conquer.

However ABC or EBC should not be a difficult task for those who are used to hiking. The only thing that matters will be AMS symptoms fearing that your body could not cope with the high altitude of the hike as their average height are 3000m.
scpt
post Apr 2 2014, 08:23 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

I see, well can stay at Bolivia for training first laugh.gif
Sky.Live
post Apr 3 2014, 08:50 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

my god, bukit gasing also can get lost,, go in from jalan changkat, came out from lembah pantai.. ended up took a taxi ride back
aidono
post Apr 3 2014, 10:45 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 3 2014, 09:50 AM)
my god, bukit gasing also can get lost,, go in from jalan changkat, came out from lembah pantai.. ended up took a taxi ride back
You must be not hiking there for a long long time. LOL.
Resha Valentine
post Apr 3 2014, 09:40 PM

Validating
13 posts

Gonna go hike Mount Kinabalu end of this month, can anyone help me where to buy these tools for cheap price but decent quality?

head torchlight
hiking gloves
insect repellent

Also, which energy bars or drink are recommended?
Many thanks! icon_question.gif
stimix
post Apr 3 2014, 10:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Resha Valentine @ Apr 3 2014, 09:40 PM)
Gonna go hike Mount Kinabalu end of this month, can anyone help me where to buy these tools for cheap price but decent quality?

head torchlight
hiking gloves
insect repellent

Topic merged
demolationz
post Apr 4 2014, 05:43 AM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

QUOTE(Resha Valentine @ Apr 3 2014, 09:40 PM)

head torchlight
hiking gloves
insect repellent

head torchlight
- petzl brand

insect repellent
- mosi-guard brand

energy bars
- power bar

drink
- Gatorade

I'll recommend you ENDUROLYTES from Hammer Nutrition. Tablets which prevent cramping.
Some of the item can be purchased at Explorer Outfitter in Publika or Outdoor Adventure in Jalan Ampang

This post has been edited by demolationz: Apr 4 2014, 05:43 AM

86 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:30 AM