Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

scpt
post Feb 6 2014, 11:22 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Always wanted to do hiking & outdoor adventures but never done it. So I'm gonna start with hiking this month!

Question on hiking shoes, how breathable is a waterproof shoe in our weather?
I'm considering waterproof because I will be doing some wet trails once I'm in NZ later this year biggrin.gif
scpt
post Feb 7 2014, 12:42 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 7 2014, 12:10 PM)
Shoes are not waterproof, more to water repellent to me as if water enter through the top it still wets.

I will highly recommended those with good grips since you are doing with terrain. Any brand should be okay, as long as you are comfy and know your footing.

Where you going to start your hike?
are the water repellent ones breathable in our weather? I'm afraid I will sweat a lot, I already have sweaty feet and if those are not breathable, it'll be so much worst!

Gonna start with Selangor & KL areas: Gasing, Tabur, Broga etc. biggrin.gif
scpt
post Feb 9 2014, 01:12 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 7 2014, 12:45 PM)
Tabur is closed at the moment - you need to apply permit.

Gasing and Broga should be easy for you.

Yeah it is breathable in our weather. When hike you are meant to sweat so I just ignore them. biggrin.gif
thanks for the info!
What happened to Tabur?

I've spotted 2 shoes so far in World of Outdoors, have yet to decide which to get.
Hi Tec Adventurer Lace WP (weatherproof, buffalo leather drool.gif) ~ RM320
Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2 ~ RM475
*both prices are after discount

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 7 2014, 03:52 PM)
Sifu have spoken.. xD
I just done Saga from the Ampang entrance throug the waterfall,  6.5k quite a good training roune
Gonna put this in my list too biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Feb 7 2014, 05:13 PM)
I am planning to go for Mulu caves and pinnacles trek. Where can I get a tour guide?
Pinnacles caught my attention too, definitely will try that some time brows.gif
scpt
post Feb 10 2014, 01:07 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 9 2014, 11:58 PM)
Tabur West had a few fatalities in recent months.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...his-death.aspx/

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...kit-tabur-hill/

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...kit-tabur-dies/

Therefore you will need to apply license and pay RM5 from Forestry Department located in Cheras.

Just get the comfy shoes that suits your leg.
oh my, so many incidents and all happened in the last 2 months shocking.gif

and thanks, have to be real careful there.
scpt
post Feb 14 2014, 01:08 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

was at Bkt Gasing this morning, done first trek 35 mins laugh.gif
Gonna go back there again as there are quite a few trails, and with so many forks! flex.gif
scpt
post Feb 17 2014, 05:00 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 17 2014, 04:51 PM)
Have you been to this part of Gasing? biggrin.gif

Nope! that was my first time there and my first hike to anywhere! laugh.gif Gimme more time to explore biggrin.gif
scpt
post Feb 20 2014, 01:34 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 17 2014, 04:51 PM)
Have you been to this part of Gasing? biggrin.gif

OK I went back there this morning and found this part biggrin.gif and went round the whole tower laugh.gif
scpt
post Feb 24 2014, 03:48 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 20 2014, 02:30 PM)
Will be running there again tomorrow morning lol
it's a nice place to run! I'm thinking of running there too biggrin.gif
scpt
post Mar 2 2014, 07:54 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Mar 2 2014, 11:18 AM)
Been to Gunung Tok Wan this morning.

2 hours up & 1.5 hours down.
Estimated distance to the top according to other hiker is 4.1km from car park to the end.
cool! new place to explore for me biggrin.gif

anyone went for the Gunung Nuang run? How was it?
scpt
post Mar 9 2014, 08:33 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Mar 9 2014, 02:04 PM)
I have been asking the same question. So, I did some research & found a couple of brand that people recommend.
Just last week I went to eCurve & got a pair of Columbia.
This morning I put it on a field test & this is what I got:

The sole seem like going to come out soon, I'm not sure how long it can last but definitely doesn't seem that durable to me.
No doubt, the grip is okay (not as good as my Kampung Adidas) & it's very comfortable.
I heard these shoes doesn't last in our weather...

anyways I've recently bought a pair of Salomon's, used it a few times in Bkt Gasing, so far so good. Hopefully it'll last, 2 years is my target brows.gif

This post has been edited by scpt: Mar 9 2014, 08:33 PM
scpt
post Mar 27 2014, 10:46 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Mar 26 2014, 04:18 PM)
Tok Wan is hell crazy full with mosquito especially the first half of the terrain before heading down to rock steps and ascend up again where the mud area is. Could be a little slippery if raining season.

Those beginners who went to Broga and continue towards Tok Wan, they really never expect the unexpected.

Not too bad I could still remember all the terrains smile.gif Syok sendiri! LOL.

For Broga Hill, I hike about 4-5 times but I used that hill to train to carry heavy weight-load up to 15-20 kg.
could Broga be less packed with people on weekdays? What time should we start to hike there? 6am?

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 26 2014, 06:12 PM)
Dato - 1 hour to summit, but the drive is 1.5 hours
I kinda like this hike, it's challenging, it's interesting (steep), it has view.
you can  bath at the waterfall after everything is done
bro, u referring to Broga?
scpt
post Mar 27 2014, 05:52 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Mar 27 2014, 12:20 PM)
I answer on behalf of Sky. He was referring to Gunung Datuk in Rembau, N9.

Broga Hill are pretty packed during weekend and public holidays but as for normal day, there are still crowd but less 80% of the usual crowd.

If you wanted to get a good spot for sunrise, some will hike as early as 6 AM. I did once hike as early as 5 AM just to take stars photography.

I think if you are to hike around 6.30-7 AM, that will be just nice. Half an hour hike and reach peak 3 can enjoy the nice scenery already.

Reason for some to hike early was to avoid the congestion at the last boulder, that also leads to Gunung Tok Wan if stay left.
thanks for the info on Broga. biggrin.gif

scpt
post Mar 31 2014, 01:41 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Can see lots of trees suitable for hammocks biggrin.gif
scpt
post Apr 2 2014, 11:20 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 1 2014, 10:27 AM)
http://mytravelkaki.com/

Look for Mr. Wai Kong. Tell him Alvin introduce.

I have yet to engage his service for Nepal before but he is a professional guide for Kinabalu. Meet him else where when I am trekking in some mountains. Friendly guy.
wao 17-day hike! Must be amazing drool.gif
You been there bro?
scpt
post Apr 2 2014, 08:23 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

I see, well can stay at Bolivia for training first laugh.gif
scpt
post Apr 6 2014, 12:07 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

I was in Gasing this morning, first time there in the weekend. And I got a shocked by the crowd there, soooo many people! Didn't see any event going on, so I conclude it must be the usual weekend hikers doh.gif laugh.gif

This reminds me to do Broga during the weekdays when I have the chance.
scpt
post Apr 7 2014, 10:26 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 7 2014, 07:38 AM)
Relatively cheap if you asked me. Mine add another 0 biggrin.gif
what kind of socks cost u rm500? shocking.gif

I managed to get a pair of Smartwool socks (very comfy!) for half the normal price in Melaka, not sure if it was because of CNY sales or wrong pricing, I've been looking everywhere for the same bargain ever since laugh.gif
scpt
post Apr 8 2014, 09:29 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 7 2014, 01:47 PM)
No worries. Feel free to ask.

The reason to get a waterproof jacket is to avoid getting cold. It is like you are staying in Laban Rata and you have the option to shower or not with cold water. ROFL.

Waterproof jacket could be expensive. I got mine for around RM1.2-1.8k. Some could not afford it and get a normal cotton or synthetic jackets which could absorb rain water. Poncho is a option to help you reduce your cost instead of invest heavily like mine. I used it for a lot of hikes therefore it is worth every penny. If you to do Kinabalu, you will think twice.

Sport shoes not recommended. Not those from Nike, Adidas, Lacoste, etc. You need a proper hiking shoes, not even running biggrin.gif. Again, hiking shoes will be around 150-300 bucks and kampung adidas is erm RM10 the most. Your choice again. Kampung adidas can just dump away after that if you no longer need them but hiking shoes, you need to wash them and dry them. The major differences between both shoes are hiking shoes protect your ankle better than kampung adidas. If you got confident that you would not injured your ankle, kampung adidas is always a better option. Did you wear socks when you went Broga with those shoes?

One thing I always encourage people to do - engage a guide to carry your items. Come on it is just RM 10-12 per kg for once of a lifetime hike. Just share with your friends, everything fit into a bag and pass to the guide to carry. Easy peasy.
i've always wondered, those 1k above jackets compared to the few hundred ringgit ones, what is the pros & cons that results in such a dramatic price difference? Say compare those by outdoor companies to the ones by Timberland which are much cheaper.

I'll be heading to New Zealand in a few months and I still haven't got a windbreaker yet.
scpt
post Apr 9 2014, 10:27 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(hoiho @ Apr 8 2014, 10:46 PM)
mind to tell in which month you are going and which trek you're going to hike?

if you stop by christchurch, there's a Kathmandu outlet shop there. the goods might have minor defect but selling at much cheaper price. i think it's more cheaper to get your gear there than in msia winter wear shop.
will be there in September.

I guess Kathmandu is all over NZ?
scpt
post Apr 21 2014, 01:34 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 18 2014, 03:17 PM)
Sad news.

More sad news: There was a wingsuit BASE jump from the peak due early May, and they cancelled the event due to this accident

0.0273sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:00 PM