Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

brotan
post Mar 25 2014, 11:27 AM

2,392 posts

Hi all,

planning a weekend camping for my family (2 adults, 2 kids). Been going through this thread, need further advice

Below are some of my requirements

1) Near waterfall area
2) within 1.5h drive from PJ
3) Relatively safe
4) Able to setup your own tent
5) can set your own fire to bbq
6) can fishing is a bonus
7) no long hiking needed

looking at past post, i shortlist the below place that meet most of the requirements

1) Ulu Pangsoon
2) sungai congkak
3) Chilling Waterfall

which of the 3 is your 1st priority if you have a choice?

any other good recommendation?

brotan
post Mar 25 2014, 02:15 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Mar 25 2014, 01:30 PM)
Suddenly my mind is jam with f*cking workload and I couldn't think of any place to recommend but my piece of advice for all the location which you have listed below.

As I am not certain of the age of your kids, it could be one of the factor I would not advice you to go.

Location 1 - Ulu Pangsoon
I believe you are referring to the Lolo campsite. About 1 hour drive from Cheras Batu 9 towards Batu 18. During weekend this place could be pack with campers near to the waterfall. You might find it a little difficult to get a good camping place if you are to go in late. There are certain confusion on the route to Lolo campsite when it come to the number of fork roads if you have never been there before. No problem of doing your own BBQ but no fishes for you unfortunately. It is about 2 hours trek in from the main entrance and shower facility provided near the carpark.

Location 2 - Sg Congkak
On the same way to Pangsoon but end earlier. Very small carpark that could fit around 30-50 cars maximum. Gate will be open by the guards around 7.30-8 AM if I am not mistaken. Plenty of place you to pitch your tent and it should be safe with the number of people there. Trekking are not required most of the time as most will shower by the stream unless you want to hike up slightly higher for example Gunung Chenuang in the same area.

Location 3- Sg Chiling
Location located before the entry point to Frasers Hill. About 0.5 hour from KKB township. Camping and entrance fee will required to pay around RM3-5 per person if not mistaken. Very safe to camp here but I am not sure whether you are allow to do BBQ here since it is a sanctuary. To trek to the waterfall will take up to around 1-1.5 hour. The problem you might face during the hike is there are few river crossing and it might be difficult to do the last river crossing en route to the waterfall if you are beginner. As it is a fish sanctuary, fishing is obviously prohibited.

You could me ask me more details if you need answer.
thanks bro for your inputs. very informative.

planning my first trip to sg congkak this weekend

btw, also plan monthly trip for camping, so most likely will visit other sites icon_rolleyes.gif

btw, for Ulu Pangsoon, is there a booking system or 1st come 1st serve basis?

This post has been edited by brotan: Mar 25 2014, 02:16 PM
brotan
post Mar 25 2014, 02:49 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Mar 25 2014, 02:43 PM)
Ulu Pangsoon no booking system. More like a first come first serve basis.

Near Batu 10 towards the Semenyih Dam (old trunk road to Jelebu if make a left turn), there is another easy trek called Tekala Falls.

I have never been there before but you could give it a try.
thanks bro. will try in possible next trip
brotan
post Mar 27 2014, 05:04 PM

2,392 posts

going to camping at sg congkak for the 1st time sat. wish me luck biggrin.gif
brotan
post Mar 30 2014, 10:31 PM

2,392 posts

Hi guys

Just came back from sg congkak this morning

In short, nice place for camping. Clean and feel quite safe

Water is cooling. Only downside, my leg hurts walking in the stream. Too many smooth stones. Lol

And was raining heavily at night too. My camp masuk a bit water from underneath

Also the tent description can fit 5 ppl. Well, for me 2 adult 2 kids already feel a bit cramp. Fake marketing

Some pics to share

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by brotan: Mar 30 2014, 10:33 PM
brotan
post Mar 31 2014, 10:47 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Mar 31 2014, 01:23 PM)
Thanks for sharing the picture and let me help you on the camping part.

We need to see the terrain first before setting up the tent to ensure the water does not flow into your tent base if it is raining. Unless you are in a limited constraint terrain, then you have no choice but Sg Congkak should not be an issue.

I am not sure whether you have a sleeping mat as your base to ensure your body stays warm during the night. Another method to ensure you sleep comfortable will be putting a ground sheet below of your tent which could provide you better area for you to put your unnecessary stuff outside of the camp when you are sleeping. Better investment will be an inflatable air mattress which could be 10 times more expensive compare to a mat. At least both methods will prevent you from catching wet during the night.

To choose a right tent, always remember to -1/-2. When it said as a 3 man tent, it is always comfortable with 1, ok for 2, cramp for 3. You could invest in a flysheet to secure your tent to ensure no water leakage comes from the top. Marketing is all about delusion. You could see why some choose to set up hammock instead of tents smile.gif
i setup my tent at special base for tents. i think the issue is the ground has water underneath

i got sleeping mat and also the inflatable air mattress, so we didn't get wet. just that underneath it got water

hammock no privacy laugh.gif
brotan
post Mar 31 2014, 10:49 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Mar 31 2014, 07:37 PM)
brotan

Did you camp on Sunday?
Did you see 1 Chinese guy & 2 girls, walk passing by your camp?

Coincidentally, we were there too! Around 8am - 11am.
hi

i camp overnight sat, went back sunday morning

i think i did notice 1 guy and 2 girls around 10am in the stream. 1 of the girl specky (the other not sure) smile.gif
brotan
post Mar 31 2014, 11:47 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Mar 31 2014, 11:31 PM)
That's our gang! biggrin.gif
We pick random spot for hiking & Congkak is the one we went yesterday (without realizing there is not much to hike).
lol. nice.

i thought got a mountain to claim nearby?
brotan
post Apr 1 2014, 10:12 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Apr 1 2014, 07:13 AM)
If the ground got water underneath when I am setting up my tent, I will look for another option.
did realize until the water came in but it is ok lah cuz just a bit only, just sipped in, not really like flooding. no big deal. i just take some towel to dry it.

moreover that time heavy rain, too much hassle to find a new spot + move the tent + all belonging + make sure family stay dry

This post has been edited by brotan: Apr 1 2014, 11:26 AM
brotan
post Apr 1 2014, 11:22 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Apr 1 2014, 10:48 AM)
I did a bit of Google & found the way.
Yes on the leech, we experience it yesterday. Have to stop to check every 5 minutes. And I missed out one well hidden in my pant only discover it when I got home.
Hamsap leech tongue.gif

0.0184sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:06 AM