86 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

aidono
post Jan 27 2014, 12:37 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 27 2014, 11:43 AM)
Noted and thanks.
What's your advice for beginners? Which hikes are much more suitable for beginners like me?
If you are looking for easy terrain hikes you could give the listing a try: -
a. Broga Hill - Semenyih (do not attempt Tok Wan yet if first time)
b. Panorama Hill - Sg Lembing, Kuantan, Pahang (rewarding during Jan - Mar if you add the Rainbow Falls together, hill easy to hike without guide but waterfall required guide and 4WD)
c. Saga Hill - Cheras or Ampang (depends on which route you choose, the only difficult part for beginner is to do the entire loop or till the waterfall, beginner will opt to do same way up and down till peak)
d. Kledang Hill - Ipoh, Perak (relatively easy but not near the KL vicinity)
e. Bintang Hill - Kepong, KL (not the shopping centre name, pretty unknown but a small hill to hike near Kepong)
f. Serdang Hill - Serdang, KL (another neighbourhood hill, could be confusing for first time. Lots of entry point and exit to else where if not being careful)
g. Rasa Hill - located in Rasa, unknown to most
h. Lambak Hill - Kluang, Johore (popular hill in Johore region besides Pulai and Arong)
i. Ketumbar Hill - Cheras, KL (another hill similar as Saga without the waterfall. becareful as I spotted king cobra before and home to lots of aggressive monkeys)
j. Ampang Hill - Ampang, KL (also known as Indah Hill but could be dangerous if alone as pretty quiet up there)

All the listing above are based on my own point of view and the terrain suitability for beginners.
Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2014, 07:05 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Jan 27 2014, 12:37 PM)
If you are looking for easy terrain hikes you could give the listing a try: -
a. Broga Hill - Semenyih (do not attempt Tok Wan yet if first time)
b. Panorama Hill - Sg Lembing, Kuantan, Pahang (rewarding during Jan - Mar if you add the Rainbow Falls together, hill easy to hike without guide but waterfall required guide and 4WD)
c. Saga Hill - Cheras or Ampang (depends on which route you choose, the only difficult part for beginner is to do the entire loop or till the waterfall, beginner will opt to do same way up and down till peak)
d. Kledang Hill - Ipoh, Perak (relatively easy but not near the KL vicinity)
e. Bintang Hill - Kepong, KL (not the shopping centre name, pretty unknown but a small hill to hike near Kepong)
f. Serdang Hill - Serdang, KL (another neighbourhood hill, could be confusing for first time. Lots of entry point and exit to else where if not being careful)
g. Rasa Hill - located in Rasa, unknown to most
h. Lambak Hill - Kluang, Johore (popular hill in Johore region besides Pulai and Arong)
i. Ketumbar Hill - Cheras, KL (another hill similar as Saga without the waterfall. becareful as I spotted king cobra before and home to lots of aggressive monkeys)
j. Ampang Hill - Ampang, KL (also known as Indah Hill but could be dangerous if alone as pretty quiet up there)

All the listing above are based on my own point of view and the terrain suitability for beginners.
I think other easy hike, Gunung Datuk definitely is not hard.. Just do it slowly, clean and clear trails..
I don't think Chemerung Berembun Langsir is too difficult too, but it's quite far (very rewarding view)
Templer park in Rawang?

Anyone did Gunung Bujang Melaka? heard it's quite difficult

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jan 27 2014, 07:22 PM
aidono
post Jan 28 2014, 09:31 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 27 2014, 08:05 PM)
I think other easy hike, Gunung Datuk definitely is not hard.. Just do it slowly, clean and clear trails..
I don't think Chemerung Berembun Langsir is too difficult too, but it's quite far (very rewarding view)
Templer park in Rawang?
Anyone did Gunung Bujang Melaka? heard it's quite difficult
Datuk might not be suitable for beginners because of the ladder and that's one of the reason I never include Ulu Bendul's Angsi. Most of the mountains in Malaysia are relatively easy with soil terrain, minimal river crossing but the distance will come into the picture.

Templars Park consider a waterfall destination for me smile.gif

I did Bujang Melaka before and it is quite easy for your standard. Got a huge campsite 1 hour from the peak with clean water source which you could shower and drink.

I cannot recall what's the campsite name but it should be Camp Pacat (no one stay due to no water source and about 2-3 hours from peak) and Camp Lebah (the huge campsite which can fit easily 60 pax).

The only thing I do not like about Bujang Malacca was people could get lost during the first hour as there are many routes which some lead to orang asli village.

Nearby got another hill relatively unknown to others and house lots of live ammo left over from the WW2 called Bullet Hill.
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 11:48 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Anyone done Bukit Tangga in Negeri before?
aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 11:59 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 12:48 PM)
Anyone done  Bukit Tangga in Negeri before?
Why you are keen into this trail? Very seldom people even mentioned about it.
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 12:44 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 5 2014, 11:59 AM)
Why you are keen into this trail? Very seldom people even mentioned about it.
just want to find more place to train.. go ahpek san every week until want vomit d
aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 01:03 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 01:44 PM)
just want to find more place to train.. go ahpek san every week until want vomit d
Bukit Tangga not mistaken located in Jelebu district. Used to be a run there before being replace by Datuk and Angsi.

Nearby you can head to Ketumbar or Ampang.
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 01:35 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

ketumbar refers to this?
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1271338

eh,.. I thought nuang is the highest peak in Selangor..

found this, Gunung Semangkok
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1835630

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Feb 5 2014, 01:46 PM
aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 04:18 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 02:35 PM)
ketumbar refers to this?
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1271338
eh,.. I thought nuang is the highest peak in Selangor..

found this, Gunung Semangkok
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1835630
Ya, Ketumbar is located in Cheras area. You will pass by a few flat area before reaching the entry point. Ample of parking space there.

Semangkok is debatable as Nuang was being declared the highest mountain in Selangor. Semangkok is located near three state boundaries - Perak, Pahang and Selangor. The reason why I stated Perak as well as there is an old entry point from Lubuk Kawah to Semangkok but not much people used that trail anymore as tiger being spotted there before. Lubuk Kawah used to be a popular fishing spot before the area run dry of kelah fishes.

Two group recently hardcore open the track of Semangkok from Pine Tree Trail. I can assume that the Rhode Peak is the Twin Peak which marks the 2nd peak which offer the 270 degree of panoramic view. From there you will pass by Helipad Campsite and another before reaching the peak of Semangkok.

If to asked me personally, Fraser's Hill is under the management of Pahang therefore Semangkok is part of Pahang instead of Selangor and the highest mountain in Pahang no doubt is Tahan smile.gif
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 05:02 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 5 2014, 04:18 PM)
Ya, Ketumbar is located in Cheras area. You will pass by a few flat area before reaching the entry point. Ample of parking space there.

Semangkok is debatable as Nuang was being declared the highest mountain in Selangor. Semangkok is located near three state boundaries - Perak, Pahang and Selangor. The reason why I stated Perak as well as there is an old entry point from Lubuk Kawah to Semangkok but not much people used that trail anymore as tiger being spotted there before. Lubuk Kawah used to be a popular fishing spot before the area run dry of kelah fishes.

Two group recently hardcore open the track of Semangkok from Pine Tree Trail. I can assume that the Rhode Peak is the Twin Peak which marks the 2nd peak which offer the 270 degree of panoramic view. From there you will pass by Helipad Campsite and another before reaching the peak of Semangkok.

If to asked me personally, Fraser's Hill is under the management of Pahang therefore Semangkok is part of Pahang instead of Selangor and the highest mountain in Pahang no doubt is Tahan smile.gif
Good point, Pahang has most of the G7 of peninsula, another Gunung Semangkok is not going to be much of their focus.

Hate when you said overfishing leads to the river running dry.. Can't we fish more reasonably..
aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 05:12 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 06:02 PM)
Good point, Pahang has most of the G7 of peninsula, another Gunung Semangkok is not going to be much of their focus.

Hate when you said overfishing leads to the river running dry.. Can't we fish more reasonably..
You can give Semangkok a try since the trail is clear now. The river doesn't run dry just the fishes are. Want to fish for Kelah, head to Chiling but if you got caught - Oh Oh!
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 05:12 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 5 2014, 05:12 PM)
You can give Semangkok a try since the trail is clear now. The river doesn't run dry just the fishes are. Want to fish for Kelah, head to Chiling but if you got caught - Oh Oh!
Yeah but it requires a night camping riight?
aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 05:14 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 06:12 PM)
Yeah but it requires a night camping riight?
If you are fit, can do as a day trip biggrin.gif
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 05:27 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 5 2014, 05:14 PM)
If you are fit, can do as a day trip biggrin.gif
Everytrail states it's 7 hours up @@ that's worse than nuang

aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 06:10 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 06:27 PM)
Everytrail states it's 7 hours up @@ that's worse than nuang
It is a longer trail compare to Nuang and the steps from Pine Tree Trail might be the killer steps smile.gif
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 06:22 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 5 2014, 06:10 PM)
It is a longer trail compare to Nuang and the steps from Pine Tree Trail might be the killer steps smile.gif
makes me want to try it more, let's organise !
aidono
post Feb 5 2014, 07:09 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 07:22 PM)
makes me want to try it more, let's organise !
Do not have the free time at this moment. You try first then you let me know. LOL!
Sky.Live
post Feb 5 2014, 09:46 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 5 2014, 07:09 PM)
Do not have the free time at this moment. You try first then you let me know. LOL!
Let me do pine trail first lol
aidono
post Feb 6 2014, 09:04 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 5 2014, 10:46 PM)
Let me do pine trail first lol
Keep me posted.
scpt
post Feb 6 2014, 11:22 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Always wanted to do hiking & outdoor adventures but never done it. So I'm gonna start with hiking this month!

Question on hiking shoes, how breathable is a waterproof shoe in our weather?
I'm considering waterproof because I will be doing some wet trails once I'm in NZ later this year biggrin.gif

86 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0399sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:18 AM