Enjoy with new pc smile.gif

zeroglyph
post Mar 2 2009, 02:23 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Mar 2 2009, 12:15 PM)
i found part 10 most useful to me

10. Front panel header and front USB headers

smile.gif thanks for the tip, I managed to install without the guide above but that reassured my configuration
you can find those info in your motherboard manual, you didn't read it, did you?

QUOTE(hakimz @ Mar 2 2009, 02:14 PM)
Enjoy with new pc smile.gif
you copied and paste the guide, you shouldn't take credit for it.
Jcsy
post Mar 2 2009, 02:28 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Mar 2 2009, 02:23 PM)
you can find those info in your motherboard manual, you didn't read it, did you?
you copied and paste the guide, you shouldn't take credit for it.
my mobo crashed, its 7 years old

the manual lost dunno where liao, do u keep anything that old anyways?

i had 2 source for something immediate on what i needed

btw, 90% of the world does not read manuals smile.gif
TShakimz
post Mar 2 2009, 02:28 PM

259 posts

Im just saying enjoy with new pc ? not saying ohh thanks.. enjoy with new pc !@!@#!@!@!@ .. he said thanks because i copied the guides from the magazine and share something useful for other peoples.. btw, i give credits to chip magazine edi.. sigh*
zeroglyph
post Mar 2 2009, 02:42 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Mar 2 2009, 02:28 PM)
- the manual lost dunno where liao, do u keep anything that old anyways?
- btw, 90% of the world does not read manuals smile.gif
those are the problem aren't they? 90% of the world's problem could be solved if people actually bothers to read and keep their manuals. laugh.gif
keithmin
post Mar 2 2009, 02:58 PM

75 posts

haha, anything that is metal n is on ground den u can earth ur body de, i used to assemble PC for customers when i work at low yat last time...i always get shocked by new casings maybe because of the static charge when i take out the casing from the box...but if for hardware, i really suggest u to ground ur body b4 handling parts of a PC, u might damage the hardware...

n for the USB n front panel wiring, i think its the most important as it can burn ur mobo after u turn on the power if u insert it wrongly, i have a few colleagues that burn mobos when they first came in to work...its kinda smelly, so make sure that those wiring r inserted properly

This post has been edited by keithmin: Mar 2 2009, 03:02 PM
SuBryN3
post Mar 2 2009, 03:49 PM

M o J o J o J o
1,216 posts

wow sounds kinda dangerous...i better be more careful while im trying to add in more usb ports sigh...
Jcsy
post Mar 2 2009, 03:55 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Mar 2 2009, 02:42 PM)
those are the problem aren't they? 90% of the world's problem could be solved if people actually bothers to read and keep their manuals.  laugh.gif
anyways there are enough manuals out there in the world for everything

reading them all isnt just feasible enough smile.gif
DarkNite
post Mar 2 2009, 05:30 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(hakimz @ Mar 1 2009, 09:01 PM)
ASSEMBLING A PC
When buying a new PC, everyone are faced with the choice between a branded and an assembled one. Those who don't want to go through the daunting task of shopping for components and assembling the PC themselves, often choose an easy way out by opting for a branded PC. There are very few adventurous ones who upgrade or build their own PC.

There are more drawbacks than advantages in buying a branded pre-built or a customized PC. No doubt that you won't have to worry about the maintenance. However, you'll be stranded if the company technician doesn't turn up on time. Also, you cannot tinker with the hardware or resort to your tech-savvy friends or some technician in case of emergency. Finally, service and upgrades burn a hole into your pocket. With an assembled PC, the biggest advantage is that you can pick the components of your choice to suit your budget and requirements.

-----
Finally, this guild assumes that you know how to install the operating system. If you don't know, you can seek help of a technician or a friend who is willing to spend a couple of hours installing the operating system.

So, Are you ready !?? lets roll up your sleeves, grab a screwdrivers and let's get started !

source CHIP PC magazine
Type by hakimz
Thanks for posting this great article and giving credit to Chip PC Mag. However, these days the drawbacks and advantages of building your own is subjective and debatable.
Most Malaysian companies these days hardly buy clones or built it themselves anymore. It is better and more economical to buy from Dell with 3 years on-site warranty. If any part gives problem, it is usually replaced the next working day. Compare that to a self built unit, how fast can RMA be? Which is why most consumers these days buys "a branded pre-built" and also you see less & less sellers of 'clone PC' and more and more of Branded PC Outlets.
Another reason is like my company which do not have an IT dept, it is cheaper for Dell to be our 'IT dept'.
My boss says workers are paid to bring the sales, handle the customer and production, and let Dell handle the computer problem. laugh.gif
Service? Err... Dell's next day on site service not good enough? Upgrades burns hole in pocket? Emm...many bolehland citizen are smart enough to buy cheaper upgrades like Ram, GC and HDD and have it fix in and taken out when the Dell tech comes. whistling.gif
Yes quite agree on this "the biggest advantage is that you can pick the components of your choice to suit your budget and requirements."
Self built are for enthusiast, OC and LYN's forumers. Most other people stick to laptops.

PS I'll be using this guide in addition to other guides and manuals, to built a MAC.
timljh
post Mar 2 2009, 10:54 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Mar 1 2009, 09:09 PM)
but i install a cpu+hsf and ram 1st before put the mobo in the casing tongue.gif
IMO, this will be easier especially when u need to assemble many sets...
anistova
post Mar 3 2009, 08:41 AM

103 posts

one more thing. if the termal paste is dry, can i use some oil 2 make it melting back. sure can save some money.
momoyuen
post Mar 3 2009, 09:04 AM

119 posts

better apply new thermal paste...hehe...not so expensive leh....
anistova
post Mar 3 2009, 09:55 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(momoyuen @ Mar 3 2009, 09:04 AM)
yeah thanks, bear in mind NEXT time
Jcsy
post Mar 3 2009, 10:52 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(momoyuen @ Mar 3 2009, 09:04 AM)
buy cheap thermal paste already rm5 biggrin.gif

can use at least 3 CPU or something

if buy expensive 1 , RM 20 alos can use for like 8-10 times biggrin.gif

cheap la

improves heat like 5-10C depending on quality
thken
post Mar 3 2009, 02:35 PM

keep walking
938 posts

how come my RAM hard to put in and nid strength to push it in? got problem?
i_love_japan
post Mar 3 2009, 05:17 PM

753 posts

TS, thanks a lot for sharing. very useful guide indeed. biggrin.gif

izit possible to get this pinned up?

QUOTE(thken @ Mar 3 2009, 02:35 PM)
there is nothing wrong with ur ram. u'll need to apply some strength when u push in ur ram into the ram slot in order for the clip to clip on the ram and secure in place.
krizalid88
post Mar 3 2009, 07:10 PM

981 posts

need to update bout da AGP slot with da latest one,ram,etc... tongue.gif
TShakimz
post Mar 3 2009, 07:56 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Mar 3 2009, 02:35 PM)
U must push down the ram until both side clip is clicking to the normal position back

This post has been edited by hakimz: Mar 3 2009, 08:00 PM
Aaiyaa-its-me-lah
post Mar 4 2009, 10:21 PM

55 posts

how do I assemble extra cooler on a pc? southbridge? northbridge? + heatsink? fan????

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0231sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:29 AM