124 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

CLOSED

vinothen
post Apr 4 2009, 08:20 PM

1 2 3 4
260 posts

planning to get a LCD soon. most probable acer or dell. but i want to know whether the lcd can last as long as the crt?

FaezFarhan
post Apr 4 2009, 09:40 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

please use lcd monitor thread bro

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/950068
kaylejohnny
post Apr 4 2009, 11:31 PM

87 posts

who know wat is the meaning of CRT and LCD
then what is plasma?

blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 12:06 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

Rofl, ever heard of www.google.com and wikipedia ?

http://www.google.com.my/search?q=what+is+...lient=firefox-a

The first 5 results should be good.

Mods taking a break I think tongue.gif
ooiwbng
post Apr 5 2009, 01:26 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

me too, planning to get Acer H233H once got the $$ for it
aztechx
post Apr 5 2009, 02:47 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

guys,whats the highest refresh rate a 22" lcd can get?60HZ for my t220 is a bit low right?any other higher ones in the market?i dont usually see refresh rates written in the specs..
SiFeiZai
post Apr 5 2009, 04:01 AM

27 posts

hi to all bro in this threat...
I am planning to get a samsung T240...
May i ask whether do i need a graphic card with HDMI function in order to use this monitor??
Actually i m confused with the respond time, 5ms better than 2ms??
I actually will use this monitor to watch movie most of the time, do u guys think is suitable??
Higher contrast means sharper colour/image??
Wat is meaning of static and dynamic in contrast??
lastly, as i said above tat i will be watching movie most of the time(seldom play games ), which graphic card shud i get??
thx to all experts...
cheers...

gto87
post Apr 5 2009, 07:26 AM

492 posts

Guys, planning to buy my 2nd lcd and my budget is RM1000. Prefered 24" or more. tongue.gif. Do you guys have any suggestion. Currently I own a s2409w. Thanks in advance~
goodyear
post Apr 5 2009, 10:05 AM

304 posts

Does anyone knows of any LCD 19" or above that have USB port also? I bought one before from DELL and has 4 USB ports.

However, I couldn't find any so far now. My budget for this LCD is around RM400. Any idea?
intelli.speed
post Apr 5 2009, 11:04 AM

66 posts

let's check on the diff between 16:10 and 16:9

since 16:9 is the substitution of 16:10, it must have a BIG diff fron the so call widescreen (16:10)

the first diff is:
16:9 is 1080p...there will be NO BLACK BARS on the top n bottom of the monitor screen when u r enjoying FULL HD 1080 movies....(only applicable for movies or gaming output that use this tech)

the ...16:9 won hav distortion on picture quality
meaning a football won look like an egg on the screen...
so... the RATIO of 16:9 is made for the REAL wide screen usage
(forget about the old widescreen, or so called 16:10)

well mayb i am not explaining well enuff
let's check on this page....
Do You Want a 16:9 LCD Monitor Now? : 16:9 LCDs: Movies On Your Desk!

go for 16:9 if u do use ur desktop for gaming n documentation

even if u onli using it for documentation .. i will suggest that
go 16:9... becoz the 4:3 is almost out of production ..
resulting that the 4:3 price is HIGH compare to 16:9
justone
post Apr 5 2009, 02:39 PM

justone
1,067 posts

i hav 4:3, 16:9 and 16:10 lcds...i personally dun mind black bars(provided d lcd do not hav serious backlight bleed)
not every movie is in 16:9...there are quite a no. of movies were at 21:9(theater ratio) which u still get black bars in 16:9 lcds

based on the ratio its obvious that both type of lcds are capable in displaying full hd movies, jz d matter of black bars and price of coz

image stretching depends on wat type of player/codec u're using, however if u're not playing ur movies through pc(i.e. dvd player, ps3...etc) then d image will b stretched

gaming and web surfing/text wise, still prefers 16:10
consoles and "16:9" movies here goes the 16:9

viqq
post Apr 5 2009, 05:20 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

All I can is that the 16:9 aspect ratio is the standard aspect ratio of most if not all HDTVs on the market. So you can tell how much contents will be available.

Also, you have to take resolutions and the size of the monitor into comparison, and don't just look at aspect ratios.

For example, 22inch 16:10 is capable of doing 1680x1050 only whereas 21.5inch 16:9 is capable of doing 1920x1080. So when choosing a monitor, you have to look into more things than comparing the aspect ratio only.
skan1
post Apr 5 2009, 06:43 PM

45 posts

hi, how good is the acer x233h ? i looked at the specs , basically same with h233h but has a cheaper body.

40:000 constrast ratio, got any use in games ?

This post has been edited by skan1: Apr 5 2009, 06:51 PM
ooiwbng
post Apr 5 2009, 07:31 PM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

QUOTE(SiFeiZai @ Apr 5 2009, 04:01 AM)
hi to all bro in this threat...
I am planning to get a samsung T240...
May i ask whether do i need a graphic card with HDMI function in order to use this monitor??
Actually i m confused with the respond time, 5ms better than 2ms??
I actually will use this monitor to watch movie most of the time, do u guys think is suitable??
Higher contrast means sharper colour/image??
Wat is meaning of static and dynamic in contrast??
lastly, as i said above tat i will be watching movie most of the time(seldom play games ), which graphic card shud i get??
thx to all experts...
cheers...
budget? brand?

QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 5 2009, 07:26 AM)
Guys, planning to buy my 2nd lcd and my budget is RM1000. Prefered 24" or more. tongue.gif. Do you guys have any suggestion. Currently I own a s2409w. Thanks in advance~
Samsung T240, or another S2409W
gregy
post Apr 5 2009, 08:04 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Apr 5 2009, 05:20 PM)
All I can is that the 16:9 aspect ratio is the standard aspect ratio of most if not all HDTVs on the market. So you can tell how much contents will be available.

Also, you have to take resolutions and the size of the monitor into comparison, and don't just look at aspect ratios.

For example, 22inch 16:10 is capable of doing 1680x1050 only whereas 21.5inch 16:9 is capable of doing 1920x1080. So when choosing a monitor, you have to look into more things than comparing the aspect ratio only.
Ya true, but in terms of physical screen real estate a 22" 16:10 is bigger than a 21.5" or 22" 16:9 in width and height. The pixel density is also higher in a 16:9 compared to a 16:10 of a similar screen size so text will tend to be really small on a 16:9 smile.gif Have you seen a 19" 16:9 screen? Looks puny and a real pain for long term pc use. IMO if you really want 16:9 the minimum size is 24". And not forgetting trying to view photos in portrait orientation, the photo will be way smaller on a 16:9 than on a 16:10 smile.gif
xenon_aniki
post Apr 6 2009, 09:20 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(ooiwbng @ Apr 5 2009, 07:31 PM)
budget? brand?
Samsung T240, or another S2409W
kinda hard to find S2409 recently. all out of stock sweat.gif sweat.gif
prospeed_ballz
post Apr 6 2009, 10:46 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Apr 6 2009, 09:20 AM)
kinda hard to find S2409 recently. all out of stock sweat.gif  sweat.gif
can try T220 also.......
RM690 at LY.......
but i think can get cheaper.......
coz my sister bought it.......

FaezFarhan
post Apr 6 2009, 11:31 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

i like the new samsung one.. with the 50000:1 dynamic ratio.. what's the model of that one ?
afs
post Apr 6 2009, 11:41 AM

294 posts

WTA - If i use LCD for surfing the net, any different if i use VGA or DVI connection?

DVI would be better for watching movies and gaming rite?

For browsing the net any different between this two?

Edit: Got people offer me used LG W1952TQ, is this good?

This post has been edited by afs: Apr 6 2009, 11:43 AM
lowyatla
post Apr 6 2009, 11:48 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 6 2009, 11:31 AM)
i like the new samsung one.. with the 50000:1 dynamic ratio.. what's the model of that one ?
2494hs if not mistaken. that's the one you talking bout?

124 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:21 AM