Mar 6 2009, 06:30 AM
866 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
WAH!
So big box!!!! Must be a racket lah! Hmmmm must be a Wilson KPS88! got tax or not leh? |
Mar 8 2009, 09:18 AM
Just curious has anyone actually played with the Wilson KPS88 , if so please post your thoughts on the racket, it would be appreciated if you could post what string you are using and at what tension.
Cheers! BTW for this particular racket , there is only a standard release right, no US version or Asian version with different specs right? |
Mar 11 2009, 06:47 PM
Steffi and John were using Dunlop Max 200G as far as I recall , dunno if you meant that lol,yhaaa kids these days sure have it made, my first racket was a huge Prince 110 hehehe, then I upgraded to Yonex RX-37 I didn't like the R series as it was too rectangular,boxy for me, after the Yonex I tried Rossignol , the Wilander racket, I liked it alot but it was too fragile for my style of play..... I think I broke 3 of them returning serve.......I had gone through 6 of them if I am not mistaken , then someone recomended me Wilson rackets, the original 85 Pro Staff when Chris Evert Lyold was using it, that was sooo before Sampras's time, I managed to stock up 4 of them, after 10-12 years of abuse and countless match victories, they slowly broke at the throat *cries* then I was sold on the Wilson Pro Staff 6.1 (colorful racket) then I stopped tennis for 18 years, I only sambung balik last year.
The rackets I have had experience are: Dunlop Max 200G Yonex RX-37 (boron) SP Rossignol F200 and F295 Puma Boris Becker Winner Puma Boris Becker Super Adidas GTX Pro T (Lendl's racket belonged to my cousin he had at least 6-8 of these,all broke coz he strang it as high as Lendl ...72 1/2 pounds. Prince Graphite 90 original release in late 80's the one Agassi was using, that was a SOLID racket, very high up there with the original Pro Staff 85. Wilson 85 Pro Staff dunno what version but this was bought before Stefan Edberg,Jim Courier's, Pete Sampras,Roger Federer made this racket popular. Tried Head Prestige Classic my friend was sponsored by Head in Singapore, so I got to hit with that racket alot. Wilson Pro Staff 95 Wilson Pro Staff 95 6.1 (colorful) Wilson K 6.1 Tour (current stick) Wilson KPS88 ordered I have a factory sealed Estusa Boris Becker Pro Van tech as well,somewhere. |
Mar 30 2009, 06:53 AM
If you are experiencing some type of elbow pain, I strongly suggest the following:
1.Check to see if your grip size is too big or small , the harder you have to grip a racket , the more unnecessary muscles you use, the more stress you put on your arm. 2.Check your string tension, if you are using a POLY type string, did you string 10% BELOW your normal playing tension, I personally feel poly should be strung at a way lower tension, 48-52 max.If you can afford it try natural gut, or buy a multifilament type string. 3.Stroke wise, I think if you don't have the basics for a tennis stroke, you shouldn't of bought the ktour 6.1 it is a very unforgiving racket, slight mishit on the stringbed and you will know it, ask Federer himself.... |
Mar 31 2009, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(zdepth @ Mar 31 2009, 03:37 PM) no matter how tall you are... u're still shorter than me WAH boss!!! Just how tall are you? NBA tall?I think the best are from the discontinued Wilson W Line which are designed especially for women... U can still get them at Topper Sports Ampang Park now at a discounted price. I've tried them before out of curiosity of what it feels like to be maria sharapova minus the $50 per-pop whore shriek & to my surprise it felt stable & err.. vogue? Anyway below are one of them... pretty sexy eh? ![]() http://www.wilson-w.jp/wline.html <--- W Line site |
Apr 6 2009, 08:04 PM
Anyone here using Luxilon? Please state your string of choice, and what kind of deal you are getting if you don't mind sharing,thanks!
Apr 14 2009, 10:36 AM
I have tried Yonex, its on par with the Wilson grips, if not slightly better, I have ordered a reel of Gamma Supreme's they should be here within a week or 2, will post comments once I have tried the grip. If anyone has experience with this grip feel free to post.
Apr 18 2009, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(darky @ Apr 18 2009, 03:08 PM) Battousai, i'm using crossfire + babolat syn gut...dun like it coz the stringbed too hard for my liking... At what tension did you string the aramid string ie kevlar? Kevlar at a high tension loses its initial tension very fast, however once it drops to a certain degree, it stays there for a while, I strongly suggest if you have the $$$ to drop the tension to 48-50 lbs, kevlar plays fantastic, at low tension, try the same set up, but at different tension, I am using Luxilon right now, but I play at 45-48 lbs on a K Six One Tour.any suggestion for a softer stringbed? |
Apr 18 2009, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(darky @ Apr 18 2009, 08:52 PM) yes...the babolat syn gut is white in colour...because the stringing is hybrid, that's why i'm confused which string made the stringbed feels hard, is it crossfire or the syn gut? I meant if you decide to experiment abit, if and when your tennis strings snaps, restring using the same setup but drop the tension to 50lbs.Added on April 18, 2009, 8:53 pm i strung it at 56lbs...is within the normal range right? how come stringing at lower tension need to pay extra $$? care to enlighten? QUOTE(ahwee1987 @ Apr 18 2009, 09:11 PM) yuppie..i thought all player range should range at around 50-60lbs??below 50lbs i think is too soft already.. i am stringing my luxilion at 55lbs..nice feel~.. Depends on your style of play, if you are comfortable at 50-60lbs, using luxilon hats off to you, my elbow would scream bloody murder, I have experimented ALOT using Luxilon strings and I guess I am comfortable with the tension being at 48-50lbs, please be reminded that my head size is 90 square inches, I am pretty comfortable with it, I can play 3-4 hours comfortably with no arm pain, but once I up the tension to 55lbs, 45 minutes later I am off the court and I will need to ice my elbow, problem could be age since I am near 40 ( near but not 40 lah), if you are a young gun, 18-21 naturally your powers of recovery are better than mine. |
Apr 19 2009, 07:01 AM
QUOTE(SticH @ Apr 18 2009, 10:58 PM) Yes, K-six one tour is very very stiff, dont buy it ONLY IF your accuracy is low. I guess I know where my elbow pain from, I serve without hitting the sweat spot, it produced tremendous amount of vibration especially the top part of the racket, =( Not quite sure what you mean by accuracy is low? Do you mean directional control? IE if you aim cross court, the ball goes down the line, if thats the case, nothing to do with the racket, got to do with your arm, if you don't like the vibration lower the tension, if you don't like the "PING" when you hit the ball use a dampener.QUOTE(pooh88 @ Apr 19 2009, 12:15 AM) Agree, can always improve, just practice more, not to sure what he means by amateur player, most of us here aren't touring pro's, albeit they are a few ex National/State players on the forums.QUOTE(darky @ Apr 19 2009, 12:53 AM) I am personally using one type of string.QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Apr 19 2009, 12:54 AM) some pricey strings claim that they can enlarge the sweet spot ( i think is wilson's NXT string). those who tried it before, does it really enlarge your sweet spot? like still hitting good even if the ball is off-center I doubt that has any truth in it. Just marketing gimmick, one day in the future, may be a string can be developed lol. |
Apr 21 2009, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(Hydrotherapy @ Apr 21 2009, 03:46 PM) hey guys, I have made up my mind to buy a Microgel Extreme Pro from Tennis warehouse. Its on sale at only USD99. I was wondering if anyone here did hit with this frame before? How was it? You can try and source this locally, tennis-warehouse is cool, but shipping is a b****, unless a friend brings the racket for you, or you can do a bulk order, and save alot on shipping, just an idea. |
Apr 24 2009, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(hyperthom007 @ Apr 22 2009, 11:06 PM) Does anyone here sell A bucket of wilson pro overgrip (60) ? How much are they ? Locally I doubt you can get a bucket, the only place I have seen the bucket is on tennis-warehouse and Singapore.You can find 3 in a pack locally,ask battousai he can hook you up , can't hurt to ask for bulk discount assuming you are buying 60 overgrips at a time.....I plan to buy a whole bucket as I use them quite a lot QUOTE(starcrossed @ Apr 23 2009, 04:16 PM) the reason why im considering the ksixone 90 is because my old prostaff kevlar has the same head size. but i read a few pages back that the ksixone 90 is pretty stiff and also heavy. I dug out my old school prostaff kevlar to get it re-string today. Tension preferred is 60lbs. Been using that tension back in the 90's. i hope it will still work for me tho, as these days (getting older) im aiming to play a controlled consistent game rather than power. I, too have the old pro staff, but I bit the bullet and am currently using K Six One tour, leaded up.If you are planning on buying Babolat rackets, please buy from authorised dealer, there are ALOT of good counterfeit babolat rackets on the market, if in doubt google it all up, there are pics and signs on how to differentiate authentic and counterfeit products, even US Sport retailers had a hard time figuring out a which is which, here the shops even more bo-cap one....i was checking out the babolat aeropro cortex, got quoted 570. looks nice, head size - 100, feels light, good grip and i also loved the design. Roddick's puredrive feels good too. they did not have the ksixone 90, but the shop fella handed me the pete sampras racquet to get a feel. He said it will be more or less the same weight as the ksixone 90. It felt heavy comparing to the babolats. guess for now, maybe i'll stick to my old school wilson prostaff kevlar...we will see how it goes... im in penang. i don't think we have any specialized tennis shops around. after 13 years, guess it's time for me to invest on a good pair of shoes as well. any babolat specialized outlets in KL? they look awesome. I'll probably plan a trip to KL one of these days. hope you folks can gimme an idea or 2 on where to go hunt for tennis shoes, racquets, bags in KL... cheers! will be playing again this saturday! |
Apr 24 2009, 08:18 PM
Well this my personal opinion, if you like rackets that have no give that means you can plough through the ball you have 2 options the k90 and the kps 88( this racket is damn heavy), I string at a very low tension 45-48 lbs max, I can whip the ball on both wings pretty well, kicks on serve are pretty decent , on a personal note I use a eastern backhand, a eastern forehand, a continental grip for the volley and serve.
If you like rackets that flex, this racket isn't for you.Its like a bat, you hit the ball with your own strength, this racket doesn't do it for you.If you have lousy uncoordinated strokes, this racket isn't for you.I don't recommend this racket to beginners, this racket will destroy any self esteem you have. DEMO this racket if you have a chance.Don't buy this racket on a blind whim.... Hmmm if you have flat strokes this racket could be for you, I can hit pretty flat, but only at a low tension, using luxilion , hated luxilon pass 55 lbs, it destroyed my arm after 30 mins...... I had to ice my forearm, elbow, didn't play for 2 weeks to rid my self of the lingering pain/ache. For volleys if you have a nice compact punch,this racket handles this like a dream, for touch volleys, I'd say its semi decent, not the ball racket out there for touch volleys, it can be done, but your timing has to be that friggin good. The best thing for me, is the serve with this monster, I really like my flat serves, my kicks are really good depending on what cut I take at the ball, I can bring them out wide to the doubles court and beyond on the ad court hehehehe, I <3 the flat bombs down the T, the only thing I cannot do really well is slice wide with this racket.... don't ask me why, I can slice wide, but not wide enough to pull a opponent off the doubles tram line.Approaching the net , via slice is excellent, ball stays really low. But there is always room for improvement lah. Please note that this is my personal preference, you can ask around and ask other k90 owners what their set up, and their take on the racket.Hope that helps. |
Apr 25 2009, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(zdepth @ Apr 24 2009, 11:12 PM) praetorian, Hahah I guess I am part of the wimpy group then, mine is just a plain Asian stock k90, i just leaded it up at 3 and 9 o clock and at the top part of the grip and inside the grip i added some fishing weigh x-p, Weight of racket is slightly under 14oz. I don;t really play with a dampener, since I play at 45lbs, but since my friend gave a few dampeners, I use it just in case she gets offended if didn't use lah :-|, I added string saver as well lah.Are u using a non-asian K90? I cant find any non-asian K90 for sale in Malaysia... All K90s sold here are the wimpy, below 12oz asian version which in my opinion, a totally different racquet that doesnt carry the true pro staff 6.0's feel, touch & legacy. Pics are below: This post has been edited by praetorian: Apr 25 2009, 09:41 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Apr 25 2009, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(tchiaming @ Apr 25 2009, 11:12 AM) hey... wat strings r u using? and where can i find those lead tapes? Using Luxilon Big Banger XP 16L natural at 45lbs with string saver, as for the lead tape, I tumpang someone's bulk last year when he ordered from Tennis-warehouse.To be honest if you hold my racket, its may feel slightly heavy but once you swing it, the racket does all the work, for you.Try it and see for yourself.Start adding small strips, once you feel comfortable ,cut longer strips and adjust accordingly.ur racquet must feel freaking heavy man... madness! |
Apr 25 2009, 07:25 PM
Better ask expert, I suspect zdepth has experience with international tennis-warehouse transaction, only international thing I have done is make oversea's call x-p
Apr 26 2009, 09:31 AM
LOL they are prolly pink coz they are for girls !
Apr 27 2009, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(zdepth @ Apr 27 2009, 01:41 PM) i'm not so sure on how they calculate... but i think they suka2 tax... i ordered a racquet & they tax me for the racquet cover but not the racquet... muahahaha... dumb azz ???? wha piang!!! Racket cover? Also want to tax?!!! how much was the tax?You should see director or report to newspaper and show proof that racket cover also kena tax, totally lose respect for this type of character , the consumer should not keep quiet, no matter how small make a huge fuss, local newspaper here wrote GOLD BARS have no tax, racket cover want to tax........ How to 2020?!!! |
Apr 27 2009, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(mr_bertz @ Apr 27 2009, 04:41 PM) My 2 cents. If I order tennis string how? Is that tax free, 4 pieces only.There is no such thing as rough estimation on tax bro, every single thing got fixed tax bracket. There's a tax docket that you can check with custom or via FedEx custom department. For most sporting apparels, you will be imposed Import Duty Tax of 20%, and Sales Tax of 10%. Sporting equipment will be tax free. next time its wise for us to check with the Custom prior to buying. And i believe it's stated in the Terms and Conditions in the website. Just 2 cents... I agree 100% ,its for consumer to ask before purchase, but the sad thing is, 1) you cannot get a straight forward answer,which is universal. One custom officer says one thing , you follow his advice,you order the thing, the thing comes, another officer says ahhhh boss this one kena tax , must pay! And I said that before I ordered I checked so and so article something, not applicable for tax, you get scolded, fella say he work here at Kastam for 12 years, you trying to teach him his job or what, then ask his friend gather round and say I am trying to create some kind of trouble, look man I just ordered a pair of shirt and shorts less than RM500,all I want is my stuff, but if it means I have to pay another 30% when already I was told one shirt , one short is tax free,how can tax!?! I have utmost respect for people trying to do their job, with integrity,but people trying to scam common folk is plain troublesome. Do Kastams pay tax for the BMW they get? Added on April 27, 2009, 4:56 pm My 2 cents. The custom is certainly not a dumbazz bro.. Most of us just cudnt careless to check with the custom first whether is tax is applicable on what goods. As for your case, all Sporting goods like tennis racquet is tax free. Other sports apparels will be tax. Fixed at 20% Import Duty Tax plus 10% Sales Tax. And, the racquet cover will be tax. Its in the tax docket. Thats the reason you or you forwading agent should declare that the "racquet comes with cover". Then it will be tax free for both. However, if no declaration being made, the custom will not charge for racquet as its tax free. but the cover will be tax accordingly to what type it is. Ranging from 10% to 20% (Import Duty tax) + 10% (Sales tax). Depending on material type. Need to bear in mind that if you are unsatisfied, you can appeal at the custom beforehand on the tax (i.e. tennis shirt for personal use). How does one do this?? If you place an order and ask Tenniswarehouse to specify for personal use, and they do and the amount is less than RM500 which includes shipping from the US. FedEx being a courier service PAYS for the TAX irregardless.........this has happened to me three times.That said, I now try and tumpang other people bulk instead of doing direct... x-p Before buying, you can call FedEx and check with what goods will be tax. Maybe I am unlucky with Fedex but I have tried asking them and telling them but by right I should'nt be subjected to tax, their official reply is its Tax applicable...they have no choice but to pay, then when item reaches my hand I pay.... Just 2 cents worth. Added on April 27, 2009, 5:33 pm How to 2020 if we play tennis onli and do not bother to check the tax bracket. ( if importing on our own) I prolly deserve that, if you are a officer or have relations in customs, but I did check on my order, not the order that tax the racket cover, coz I never ordered racket from tenniswarehouse so I did not research that. but for a shirt and a pair of shorts, C'MON!?!! Dun la blame everybody fren. I apologise for lashing out. Hahahahhahaha... My boxer oso kena tax liao... Hahahahahhaa.... But having said that, you can be exempted from tax if you declare that "the racquet comes together with cover". Some more if you keep quiet onli, how do Custom know that you are using it for personal use mah... How do you declare for personal use, I had tennis warehouse write it on the box, for personal use...what else can I write.....if you can let me know, I will make order ANOTHER order from tennis warehouse one shirt and one short and ask tennis warehouse to again write in big bold letters For Personal Use, in English and Malay and see what happens , this not a dare, but I am royally miffed. Common sense or not, thats how the tax is. Bought from tennis warehouse several times oredi. This is from my experience. First time buy, did not bother to check. kena tax. I maki everyone including the gamen. But its my fault, so i double check again. Any tennis shirt or shorts; Import Duty Tax 20% + Sales Tax 10% (federer shirts all small size in KL mah, so need US size XXL) Frig dude thats MY EXACT problem, Asian XXL is friggin small!!! and Fed's stuff is body fit, so order from tt warehouse,kennnnnnaaaaa taxxx!!!!! Any tennis shoe; Import Duty Tax 20% + Sales Tax 10% Any tennis racquet; Tax Free. Any Sports Accesories; depending on type and material, but mostly Import Duty Tax 20% + Sales Tax 10% (need to double check again) But again, you can always write for appeal to Custom explaining that its for personal use. They might consider. p/s : people from Custom advice me, because i buy so often. "if you order shirts or shorts amounting not more than RM500, usually we dont tax. The amount indicate personal use" Just 2 cents onli. You can see how desperate I have become...... I appreciate your input on this, coz this is the first decent answer I have come across. Cheers! |
Apr 27 2009, 09:30 PM
pooh88 just curious bro, that shoe got size 11.5 or size 12 or not?
If anyone has this shoes how do they fit, I have pretty wide feet already wearing barricade V and VI in sizes 11.5, I am worried these are tapered so my toes will be crunching against one another, if anyone has tried these, pls post, thanks! This post has been edited by praetorian: Apr 27 2009, 09:31 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0419sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:27 AM |