LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

praetorian
post Jul 31 2009, 02:57 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 30 2009, 11:30 PM)
yah i think so too .. seems like not that ngam tho the color is awesome. glossy black & red. you are right again. very trampoline feel and mushy. even at 58lbs seems too soft. now at 60lbs. not as soft as before but still like something is not right. i can't really put my fingers to it. BTW both my exo3red and the speedport red are same grip size (2). Yah dun worry this time round not gonna waste my $$ on this racq anymore.. i'm going to meet up with Prince's marketing fella and complain to him then request for some strings to test out. Last time i was with him, he told me that they can provide me some strings if i'm really interested. they do provide some playtesters or those enthusiast to test test.. Maybe get the hybrid 17/18 and test out.

exo3 comes with 1 dampener. huge E-X-O wording dampener. But i read some review saying it's too damn big and totally damps the whole sensation on the strings. So i took out that dampener and replaced it with the smaller EXO dampener from my graphite 100. That is smaller and better. i've experimented with some babolat dampeners on it as well.

Let me know of your findings on a suitable string.

Added on July 30, 2009, 11:36 pm
Chris backhand is more towards continental but he does go to the bh eastern grip for higher balls and for more spin(which is same as the western forehand if i'm not mistaken).
'Frying pan' ie semi western grip for forehand and backhand, only recommended for advance level players, this style, your strings will not last,no matter what string you use, since you are hitting the ball with the same racket face.

QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 31 2009, 12:14 PM)
got passport visa liao ar for sunday ?hehe...  nice.
think i also must go try out continental bh. just now was working on bh with battousai. too bad rained after 15min. i need to do more drills on backhand. so ah wee you be my hitting partner. haha...  hit 100balls bh

Added on July 31, 2009, 12:15 pm
but like he says.. he changes his grip according to ball...

will try out continental a bit n see this weekend. smile.gif
I was a continental grip user for the backhand, in my junior days, I can tell you its a GREAT grip, you can really take balls on the rise with grip, its especially excellent for balls that are waist high and lower, anything above ,and you have to have excellent timing to achieve decent results.

QUOTE(SticH @ Jul 31 2009, 02:15 PM)
Hey guys, any one of you hit with very loose wrist? I mean really loose cause I saw a uncle hitting heavy topspin yesterday. You can see the ball's curve and it land inside the court and bounce high hitting into the fence, very deadly. I'm currently hitting with firm wrist hitting the ball from bottom to top, but cant really see the top spin effect. Should I change to loose wrist instead of firm wrist? Is there any draw back with loose wrist?
The loose wrist is a result of a relaxed followthrough and NOT the point of contact, your wrist has to FIRM. Also what exactly did you see the uncle do? Did his backhand cross the net high? If it did, naturally the ball bounce would bounce high as well, very rare does a ball cross the net a few inches and then bounce 3-4 feet high, unless you hit with a closed racket face and over top the ball, this is only used when trying to pass a volleyer, very low percentage shot when rallying.

Footwork is important on all strokes.
praetorian
post Jul 31 2009, 03:48 PM

866 posts

Ehhhh your backhand single or double leh....
now that you have elaborated abit more, the take back of the racket isn't that important , work with what makes you comfortable, I have a simple low to high take back so for me, I can hit backhands all day, infact my backhand is my strongest shot in my arsenal, though my forehand isn't any slouch either, people generally attack 'backhand' side as they assume its normally your weaker shot, go figure....
praetorian
post Aug 3 2009, 12:12 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Aug 3 2009, 01:24 AM)
come tuesday wei... another new fren from MMU also coming down to play with me @ 5pm ..wink.gif need to get some playing tips from him..haha
sifu chris high percentage, might be coming as well ..

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

now i'm a bit confused. i was told by the shop stringer today, that hybrid strings normally they string it Mains lower compared to Cross (e.g. 50mains,52ross ) and if stringing 2 tensions on same type of strings the Main is higher than cross (e.g. 52mains, 50cross) ..
is that true is that the norm ? wat's the upside or drawback ?

any sifus wanna answer ? praetorian ? z ?
Depends on what hybrid stringing you do.... its all a matter of preference.

Most people hybrid coz they want to get the best of both worlds, ie durability and feel.
But what most people forget is the gauge, sometimes when we try hybridization , take for example say we put blackcode as a main , but we forget its 18G , as a cross we put in a synthetic gut 16G , well to be honest that combo suxs, its like mixing rocky road ice cream with lime sorbet...... unless you are very eccentric I doubt that combo will cater to your taste.

In general a stiff string as a main kevlar/poly allows you to hit with more spin/bite, opposed as gut /multifilament as a main this will provide more feel.

If the stringer recommended stringing same string with different tensions, I suspect they did a two piece job, ie same string cut into 2 and strung that way, its easier to string but tension drops more rapidly than a single string job.

Where as a single string job takes more longer and is more tedious to do, but tension will not drop as rapidly as a 2 piece job.

I have been told the reason why stringers string a higher main than cross, as this inhibits the main from moving.

praetorian
post Aug 3 2009, 12:56 PM

866 posts

:-p just dont tell everyone~!~
praetorian
post Aug 5 2009, 06:49 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 4 2009, 09:47 PM)
Look what my friend from HK came back with.....

Prince Super Graphite Long Body (a.k.a Boron in Japan)

Head size: 107sq.inch
Length: 28 inches
Weight: 308g (strung)
Stiffness: 65
Material: Graphite
AFAIK, this racquet is only sold in Japan and some other parts in Asia.
Not worldwide. It is basically a combined Prince Super Graphite Longbody and Super Graphite Oversize. Using 2 crossbar stabilizers and has 107sq.inch head.

I've never seen this racquet before, only the original SGLB but with a 100sq.inch head. Any of you seen this before?
Going to have a hit with him this Friday and wanna see how this racquet works out.
Yhaa I have this was the most expensive racket at one time, a whopping 800SGD I think when I was playing, it played quite stiff, many preferred the Graphite over the Boron but I suspect price was the factor.....

Definitely a keeper! Great racket for collection, may I ask how much did you/ your friend pay for this gem?

praetorian
post Aug 8 2009, 10:58 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Aug 8 2009, 08:33 AM)
didn't i tell you the alu spin sucks ..haha.... i'm not touching luxilon anymore. wasted too much $$ on them. So far the blackcode is good just need to find the correct tension. My next string to test is the pro supex. gonna get the RED and also the blue gear to test.
Boss if you are getting Big Ace PM me pricing, for both individual set and reel, may want to hybrid this with Blackcode and Zo-Twist.
QUOTE(Yan @ Aug 8 2009, 08:51 AM)
if i'm not mistaken i've enquired abt it once... don't think can get in KL. i'm sure sportsprises in bangsar doens't have them. asked before. not sure whether they gonna order it or not lah.. but apparently the gamma malaysia doens't bring it a lot of models. just selected. even the Zo-Twist is not avail.

Added on August 8, 2009, 8:56 am
dun hav to wish lah .. just come down here n grap it.. else kirim member beli...haha
i tried blackcode on my 4d300 @ 57lbs. very sweet...  now i'm having both my pdrgt & 4d300 at around 57lbs. finally found the G-spot for the string & racquet haha..

onli the exo3 still cannot find the correct balance ... sad.gif already spent rm140 on 2 blackcodes. next will try the higher premier LT. so far accumulatively not even played 30min on it. if the Premier LT 18 also cannot.. bro praetorian you want the red? sell to you..haha...
>:-(
Dun firestone me leh, my Ferrari (not actually Ferrari,just same color scheme) just set for repairs.......cost me a BOMB to repair......

Add lead tape 3 and 9 o' clock first. Dont restring. KL got sell lead tape or not? If not I can cut and send you some for free, shipped by pos malaysia (normal mail).
praetorian
post Aug 8 2009, 02:48 PM

866 posts

Send me the EXO3! I will customize for you!!!

I can't believe its too heavy, static weight? Or when you swing?
More details please!

praetorian
post Aug 11 2009, 12:34 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Aug 11 2009, 07:34 AM)
I'm thinking of trying out a natural gut. never tried it before ever. Was told it's probably the most expensive string out there - Babolat VS natural about rm299. anybody knows whether it's good ?worth trying ? What's the setup like ? should hybrid it with another poly ? or all natural ? Just wanna get an experience of trying out natural. But can't afford to make any mistakes as you already know it's damn expensive ..kekeke...  Need to get it right the first time..
Have tried natural gut in the early 90's Bowbrand follow Ivan Lendl, natural gut is the ULTIMATE feeling, playability, retaining tension, but the strings frays easily, and though string is frayed, the tension still hold true to form, if in this lifetime you want to try natural gut, try at a higher tension, COZ Natural gut is DAMN friggin powerful..... if you use on a Babolat racket, powerful racket + powerful string= popeye tennis player.
praetorian
post Aug 11 2009, 12:46 PM

866 posts

I would recommend FULL set up, hybrid means your cross's (other string and NOT Natural gut) may cut into the natural gut, eg: You put Natural mains, and Blackcode as a cross, since BC is slightly pentagon shape, it will bite into your mains, hence shortening the span of life of your natural gut.
praetorian
post Aug 11 2009, 01:18 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Aug 11 2009, 12:53 PM)
ok now we are ON to something.. interesting views from both our sifus. I get what praetorian is saying if i go hybrid with a string that has strong edges such as blackcode. will snap the guts in a matter of hits as will eat into the nat very fast.

but then again i hear stringers will recommend me not to go full natural coz they say will be too powerful pulak.. asking me to hybrid instead and thus making 2 sets out of the nat

p/s: Ben bila mau datang ? keep on hearing from you .. wanna put a face to the nick man ...lolx
I am no sifu lah, Ben has a opinion and he is entitled to it, I certainly can understand his viewpoint.
If you hybrid, just use a normal synthetic gut or multi , you can go poly provided they don't have any special shape, if they are 'round' feel free to use poly.

Stringers will always recommend you 'hybrid' thats to save you money, but hehehehe if money is no object you owe to yourself to try FULL gut at least once in your lifetime.

There is a reason why no company in the world can replicate natural gut.
praetorian
post Aug 11 2009, 08:08 PM

866 posts

zdepth is totally correct on proper form required to string natural gut.If you gut broke ANYWHERE near the racket frame, its the fault of the stringer, if it broke smack down in the middle of the racket and the STRING is NOT frayed before hand, 50% stringer, 50% string.Why? If you recall when you buy a string its in a packet and coiled up in a nice circle for you, IF you( d stringer) does not uncoil the string properly it retains some coil memory and when you string the racket you naturally weave your cross's, by pulling them through the mains, you still have to get rid of the coil memory and your string has to be pre-stretched for optimal playability.

Natural gut are only people who hit predominately flat, strings hardly move if you hit flat,people that have arm/shoulder problems, natural gut does not lose tension that much maybe 1-2lbs, I know some people who have had Natural gut for a year and it still plays fine, ie like freshly strung.You know why pro's these days don't use natural gut, coz 1) the rackets these days are extremely powerful, you need a string that provides extreme control hence the thats how Luxilon become popular.Can any of you recall pro's in the 80-90's all using Natural gut, why, because their rackets were all about control, they just used gut as it was powerful.Ever wonder why Sampras was using Babolat VS 19G at 72lbs, his racket did the talking....

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0488sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:20 AM