6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

praetorian
post Apr 29 2009, 08:42 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Apr 29 2009, 08:20 PM)
i saw in prev pages.. yellow smiley dampener..  hmm.gif  nice... what brand..& where to find?

my buddy and i have been looking for it..
Brand is by Wilson, locally I don't know if any store carries this. Can order online though.
praetorian
post Apr 30 2009, 10:58 AM

866 posts

To the someone who requested I take pic of the yin & yang dampener ,here you go:

1 Smiley
2 Chilli
3 Yin & Yang

praetorian
post May 1 2009, 08:39 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ May 1 2009, 08:29 PM)
hmm. i tried using wilson pro overgrip.it's quite good but doesn't last long for me most probably because i got sweaty palms. which type of tacky but also absorbent overgrips are there in the market?
I highly recommend you try both Gamma Supreme Overgrip tour, it takes may be a hitting session to get use to, but after a while boy boy it grows on you, and also try Yonex Super Grap, this was my favourite grip till I tried Gamma.
Gamma>Yonex>Wilson.

Please note I wear a wrist band as well while playing.If you aren't wearing one, you may want to invest it one.Hope that helps.
praetorian
post May 2 2009, 12:03 PM

866 posts

Anyone entering the Sabah Tennis Invitational at Sutera Harbour in KK, first prize I think is RM4500.00. Not sure if its doubles only or doubles & singles.
praetorian
post May 2 2009, 03:01 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ May 2 2009, 02:25 PM)
Any idea which place can get best price for Adidas Barricade V?
I love the black & white ones that Murray wears on hardcourt.
Very hard to tahan d not to buy it.
;p
Best price is definitely is most likely across the causeway ie Singapore, Queensway on average RM225-250, but sometimes the local Nike facvtory warehouse has barricades for RM190, but the size's available are limited, either a extremely small size, eg size 6, or a really large size,size 11 and above, which benefits me, lol since I am a size 11 or size 11.5.But these days Barricades are so damn popular, hard to get my size :-( . I already have gone through 2 pair of Barricades, now on my 3rd pair, cureently looking for different shoe, hopefully I will get a Prince shoe this month, to test, if it feels comfortable and doesn't wear out that fast, (hoping they last at least 6 months), I will change to Prince shoes, I don't recommend Nike for durability as they wear out extremely fast, my friend gave me a pair think it was a Nike Vapor V or VI can't remember , lol I wore out the soles till the air sac burst, then run not balance as punctured, and the shoe lasted only 2 weeks x-p.But I play almost everyday for 2-3 hours.But the comfortability of Nike shoes is reallly good, but I 'eat' em up so fast, cannot afford it.....

Locally I don't think you can get a good deal on Barricade's V , but hopefully someone can prove me wrong, best price I have seen is RM499.00. rclxub.gif

praetorian
post May 2 2009, 03:12 PM

866 posts

Can't comment on pacific, but I have tried Babolat, no comparison's to the Wilson's. If you really want to save cash, don't use a overgrip but a replacement grip, I have personally tried Wilson K grip and True Grip, they do the job for me.

Attached image(s)
praetorian
post May 3 2009, 08:09 AM

866 posts

It was announced that the tournament starts 30 July to 1st August 2009. I heard invitations were sent out to neighbouring states, countries like Brunei, Taiwan,Korea,Singapore and even Australia.But not sure who is confirmed yet.Looks to be a awesome tournament.

praetorian
post May 4 2009, 12:08 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(emceeray @ May 3 2009, 07:52 PM)
hey all..my strings snapped while attempting a monster 2H backhand recently.(bwahahaha..it went like "pinnnggggg")
used prince hybrid, poly+syn gut.
i guess the poly loses tension quicker than the syn gut, so the syn gut takes all the stress fr the ball (correct?) and snaps 1st.

im considering to restring with full poly or full syn gut next.
i know that multifilament syn gut are known for soft feel, but can it hold the same tension for longer time than poly?
which is better at retaining original string tension?

and what are poly strings known for?
is it durability, feel? or spin?
Poly loses initial tension very fast, within 3-4 hours your initial tension may drop 2-4lbs depending on what string.Multifilaments strings are softer, but 3rd generation poly's ( which I have heard from other tennis forums) are softer and you can string at the same tension you like, you no longer have to reduce tension by 10%. Also have heard that there is a string that recommends you to string 5-10% higher than normal, I have zero experience in this, as I have been using Luxilon,however I am trying Gamma, just made a order from tennis-warehouse will post feedback once I have tried it.

praetorian
post May 5 2009, 06:51 PM

866 posts

Wow! Thats a sweet lookin racket!

praetorian
post May 11 2009, 06:22 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ May 10 2009, 09:37 PM)
i would say invest in a good pair. i used to buy nike / reebok tennis shoes. almost gotta change shoes every year. coz the outsole will be damaged or worn out. since i bought my addidas barricade i've used it for 4years straight and i play very very regularly. now just got my 2nd pair the barricade V but yet my other barricade is still playable. so it's really worth it in my opinion.
HOLY CRAP!!
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif A pair of Adidas barricades last me the most 3-4 months depending on how often I play, if I play 5 times a week, for 4 hours confirm, shoe botak 3-4 months, if I busy with project and can only play weekends, maybe shoe can last 6-8 months.

I think I am on my 3rd or 4th adidas barricade IV and on my 2nd adidad barricade V.

I can't buy Nike even though they are super comfortable, as I burn through them in 2 weeks... this does not mean they aren't worth buying, depending on what style you play and how often you play, I run for everything and have a all court game rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
praetorian
post May 13 2009, 12:36 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(junebug @ May 13 2009, 07:22 AM)
Thanks cakarsakti.

I have my eyes are on poly now. Don't mind it being stiffer because I usually string my racquet at 42-45 lbs.

How much is Dunlop Explosive? And where do you get them? What other poly do you recommend that we can get here locally and cheap at the same time?

Nothing wrong with Crossfire. Good set of strings, but I'm stringing them every 2 weeks. I need it to last at least a month because I can't afford to spend. So average once a month for poly, like you mentioned, sounds good to me. smile.gif

Added on May 13, 2009, 7:28 am

Fishing rod? Haha... I was thinking chicken wire. biggrin.gif
Wow, this is the first time on the board I am hearing someone breaking Crossfire on low tension 42-45 lbs within 2 weeks, my personal best was 1 month.

That being said it is no guarantee that poly will last longer, coz in my mind poly is kinda 'brittle' in some ways especially if you hit off the sweet spot. I have snapped poly within a day, and I have tried almost every brand under the sun including pro supex,( all their flagship models) my latest string to try will be Gamma, and then Tecnifibre Black code, these are 3rd generation poly's so hopefully I will string higher than normal, ie 55 lbs, I have heard with 3rd generation poly's you don't have to drop the 10% of your normal playing tension. Will update once I get the new strings.
praetorian
post May 13 2009, 06:23 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(bluehippy @ May 13 2009, 02:04 PM)
Good to know that there is a tennis forum here and glad I found it. Need some advice. I am currently using a K blade tour and looking at trying out K 6.1 (federer). Do you think it will be a good switch? Any other Wilson racquets that would be a good replacement?
I would recommend you demo the K 6.1, not just buy it outright.In all honesty the k blade tour is a damn good racket in its own right, I personally feel it's not worth an upgrade. Do you have a single or double handed backhand?

I hardly see any double handers using anything 90 sq inches in headsize, though I could be mistaken.

Stick with K-blade if you do have a double handed backhand.

QUOTE(cartographer @ May 13 2009, 02:11 PM)
hey lowyat forumers... lets not forget this.... lets fix a date and lets do it!!!

Added on May 13, 2009, 2:12 pm

cool! next time if u got order tennis warehouse again i juz tumpang this can?
tennis-warehouse doesn't carry pro supex, you have a better chance of ordering from Singapore.

praetorian
post May 13 2009, 09:03 PM

866 posts

Really grass or synthetic grass, bro.....
How much they charge per hour?
Next time in KL, hopefully can hold a hitting session and yum cha session after that.
praetorian
post May 13 2009, 10:00 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ May 13 2009, 09:03 PM)
nope, not grass court, it's omnicourt or artificial grass just like what PSC is having in Penang.

hated this court, never won a single game from tis court

p.s the 4th & 5th picture is actually Penang Sports Club not RSC tennis courts. Opposite of the courts is a grass court ( true grass court )
Ahhh so synthetic grass then, they put some sand on the court as well, played on these type of courts before, very fast, extremely good for building your groundstrokes, to rid yourself of too long a backswing. Ball really skids low and fast.

QUOTE(zdepth @ May 13 2009, 09:21 PM)
U cannot join the Royal Selangor Club... it is by invitation only.
I suspect you are a member of this prestigious club drool.gif

By invitation, you mean only another club member can invite you to join the club, but has to get club committee approval before hand?
praetorian
post May 14 2009, 10:59 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ May 13 2009, 10:46 PM)
I don't care what clubs u from. mad.gif
Can we have friendly game only for lowyat ppl here  nod.gif
I want to see ur levels of your game  cool2.gif
QUOTE(bluehippy @ May 14 2009, 09:49 AM)
praetorian thanks for the feedback. No I don't have a double backhand. I think I'll take your advice and test the K6.1 out first.

Would you or anyone here know of any racquet that would be a natural progression from the k blade? I do like the k blade but just itching to try out something else.
You're welcome.

Hahaha if you really itching to demo or buy another racket, just try experimenting on your kblade, add some lead tape to 3 and 9 o' clock position and see if it works out for you.

If you are gonna test the k6.1 make sure it's strung with the same string that you are using on your kblade,if its doable, if not just demo the racket for a day or 2, try playing a set/match with it. Make a mental note of what you did well with either your kblade vs the k6.1 tour, weigh the pro and cons there and then.Hope that helps.

praetorian
post May 26 2009, 06:21 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ May 26 2009, 05:19 PM)
Murni if u tell everyone u look like Sharapova. brows.gif
The will line up to play with u  whistling.gif
WAH PIANG!!!

That made my day, good one pooh88 notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
praetorian
post Jun 10 2009, 08:43 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 9 2009, 02:19 PM)
Anywan here know any spin string tht is more durable than luxilon alu power spin that is available in klang valley? n anyone knows where i can get gamma strings that is not too expensive?
Can't help you with Luxilon x-p, but I have tried Gamma strings Zo Twist , this string is pretty darn good, it gives Pro Supex, blue gear a run with its money, I will be getting technifibre's black code strung on my other k6.1 tour and will give that a spin once I get black code, but here is a short review on Gamma Zo Twist:

Plenty of spin, strung on Wilson k6.1 tour on slightly higher tension 52lbs, my normal tension is 45lbs (luxilon Big Banger).

Serve has more 'pop' than usual, kick serves dip sharply and swing wider out on ad court, but doesn't kick up as much as luxilon strings, ground strokes, I have noticed have landed shorter than normal, means that the strings are biting into the ball, slice , the ball skids, and bites deeper into the court, stung for 2 weeks, tension still is decent, if you are the type who plays on feel, ie likes to feel ball on the strings type, this string could be for you, if you are the type like the dead type of feel, this isn't for you.

QUOTE(Yan @ Jun 10 2009, 08:21 PM)
yah too bad for me & my k6.1 90 tour. guess would have to sell my 2weeks old federer's racket sad.gif Not ngam me. So any takers pls PM me ASAP. Will give you the best deal in town.

Anyways So far kinda like the dunlop's feel.. though it's old racket but still has character. But would like to get a chance to test out the 4d version.

Also Waiting for cartographer to restring his babolat apdc with new string, so can give it another good testing. leaning towards buying that also.
Sorry to hear that the k6.1 tour not ngam for you, the racket is bery demanding, if you don't have proper technique, this racket punishes you :-(

I have pretty decent things about Dunlop rackets online though, over here in Sabah, Tawau, there is no one shop that carries Dunlop tennis rackets, fellow tennis player and lowyat forummer battousai has access to Dunlop, he has some old stock 200/300 Aerogel series, the review of these sticks are all above average!

I read in one of your post that you are resting your arms, I don't know if its a tennis injury, or from another sport,but if you are leaning towards Babolat, I wouldn't recommend Babolat at all, esp IF you have had a injury albeit a healed one, most of the people I personally know, who have used Babolat have either switched to another racket brand, 80 percent of the people have complained about some arm,wrist,elbow issue.I strongly suggest you DEMO a Babolat racket based on MULTIPLE hitting sessions and not a single 15-30 min hitting session.

praetorian
post Jun 11 2009, 07:16 AM

866 posts

Well you have to consider the weight of the racket, I suspect you are not use to the weight of the racket yet, naturally if you have only tried the racket for 2 weeks, your muscles are adjusting to the difference of weight from your new racket ie k6.1 tour, I highly recommend you continue trying the racket for at least a month, before making a more informed decision. If you can try another k6.1 tour with lower tension, make a mental note between the difference between the feel of your own racket and someone else's. Also Luxilon on a k6.1 tour.... I wouldn't recommend anything over 52lbs for a non pro x-p , myself included lol
praetorian
post Jun 12 2009, 03:19 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 12 2009, 10:25 AM)
Thanks... but where do u get ur Gamma Zo twist and technifibre blackcode???
ordererd from tennis-warehouse ;-p
praetorian
post Jun 16 2009, 08:02 PM

866 posts

Hmmm if you didn't show the last pic, I would of guessed it to be authentic, then looking back on other tennis forums your last pic is missing the 'a' above the racket throat.

I am not a pro determinting counterfeit Babolat rackets, but I can spot a fake Wilson a mile away:-p

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:54 AM