17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 11:00 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 25 2009, 10:39 AM)
LOL pls don't take this the wrong way I hate chatting via msn ym I don't even have account set up x-p. Feel free to direct only questions to me via PM, give me some time to reply, at least I don't give you a chaperang sp? answer, I will try my best to answer your question with my limited info.

Regarding most of the strings except for Pro Supex can be bought from tennis-warehouse( you must be sick of hearing that lol) I recall fellow lowyat member zdepth may be holding a small/big tennis bulk,next month after most forummer got their pay, so look for him 1st July,2009 tumpang him for some tennis strings lah, should have zero tax, as I ordered my Gamma Zo Twist via his previous bulk, didn't kena tax for the strings but kena tax 30% on clothing and frigging RF tennis cap.

For Topspin strings, give bro Battousai a PM, I think he has local lobang for this string, if I recall correctly, please forgive me if I am mistaken, but can't hurt to ask lah, he is a very friendly guy.

I read you are now using a APDC is that correct, I would try something along the range of 54-57lbs max!

BUT let me ask you, you have used luxilon before, how was your balls like, too short inside service box, too deep going past baseline, too flat, not enough spin, too spinny , go high over the net, but no penetration/power?

Pls give comments for both backhand/forehand/serve/volley. If you are shy, PM me, lah, will be discreet.If you are willing to share your experience on forum , more power to you, also please note, I am just a fellow tennis kaki lah, I am not guaranteeing you will be the next Federer/Nadal , but hopefully you will be a tennis player, even I learn new stuff everyday. :-D
no problem dude. understand completely.
well for pro supex (found the seller in singapore already). as for topspin blue found it in uptown selling for rm60 (will PM battousai see if he got any cheaper lubang).

ok for luxilon strings, i'v used luxilon rough, alu power and ace 113 (18gauge). So far my comments on them is that when new they produce pretty good bite but after some prolonged playing, they tend to lose the "bite". and my normal stringing tension is around 55lbs. As for the balls, is has quite descent spin but not too much. penetration is no problem coz i do whack it hard. but i just feel probably the spin potential is not strong eventhough i'm using semi-western grip. though myself i don't think i know how to hit "flat" balls (mostly ppl associate with the eastern grip) but i think most my balls are a semi ( in between flat n spin ) coz it definitely has deep penetration and mostly hitting baseline area. I nver had a chance to view myself playing so not sure how spinny the ball is from the opponent side.

forehand, having semi-western grip but sometimes do experiment with the western. long swing.
backhand, 1handed bheastern grip also with a bit of spin i think.

btw .. i'm not shy 1 lah .. coz really i'm still a beginner and learning via youtube and playing with frens. And of coz i don't aspire to be next champion, but i do really luv tennis and the fun of having to whack the ball at full speed. the only fun for me in tennis is driving the ball hard .. thus even though i don't play much game, but i just luv going down n stroking

Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 11:45 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 25 2009, 11:30 AM)
Ok judging from what you have told me, and this is just a educated guess at best, I really cannot give you an accurate assessment without looking at your strokes "Live"

Ok for starters, it sounds like you know the feeling of your strings ie, impact of tennis ball on your strings, as you have said yourself, you have noticed luxilon losing its bite after a while, this is a general accurate consensus, luxilon does indeed lose its bite after 2 or 3 hitting sessions. Only millionaires and sponsored Pro's can afford to replace Luxilon after each hitting session.

Next please check your racket strings for any notching if any, I have enclosed a pic:

Please make sure you have used the same string on the racket for at least 2 weeks or at least 8-10 hitting sessions whichever is longer. If you have "notching" this means that you are hitting with some degree of spin, if you have zero notching this means your balls/strokes are flat.

Semi Western grips are considered to be the best of both worlds today, ie you can have a real penetrating forehand, but here lies the problem, some people are under the illusion that the balls they hit are like Nadal, ie with SPIN galore, Nadal does NOT have a penetrating forehand, but he has the angles that move you from side to side.
Your forehand sounds like something along the lines of a Lendl,Fed forehand hahaha , to me their forehands are basically flat BUT with just the right amount of spin that brings the ball back down to the court.Hence when is the last time you saw Federer break a string on the court, even though he changes rackets at almost at every ball change.

To make a point do this can you hit a loopy forehand ie , the ball crosses the net like 4-6 feet high and stays in the court, do you have to control this shot, or can you hit it full blast and the ball does exactly that, clear the net 4-6 feet and land in the court OR does your stroke clear the net by inches and land near the baseline or near the service box?

Let me know!
Looks like a good topic is coming up, fellow tennis enthuasists please feel free to make any comments, as I am sure Yan and myself may learn something new.
nice very nice. yup i guess i do impart spin then.. coz my strings are pretty grooved. mostly all my poly will tend to "makan" into each other creating a "longkang" ..lol..i used to use crossfire 1yr+ ago. break em within a mth coz of the string action.

yah i'm guessing mine is not like nadal's loopy style. coz i played with carto and his is a bit extreme in terms of grip and also the shots. extremely loopy with powerful kick. i don't have that loop or kick. mine is probably like you say, more penetration on court but goes down near the end @ the baseline.

but i think i can do the 4-6feet over the net if i choose to but possibly not full power (will have to try it out later on court). but as for regular stroke can be safe to say, mine normally travels full length of court. or almost baseline area. so mostly i've heard comments of ppl loving to stroke play with me. ..lol

well ppl that played with me, care to comment ? coz i can't see how i play or feel how i am hitting to you, so if you can pls do giv you inputs so can improve and learn also smile.gif
Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 12:05 PM

551 posts

haha.. well still learning fr sifus here.

actually the apdc i haven't strung it yet. so now in survey and asking around process. i've tried cartographer's apdc strung with luxilon alu power 16gauge @ 53lbs. So far to me it feels comfortable and powerful actually. but normally i wud prefer a bit thinner gauge like 17. coz 16 feels "heavy". not coz of the racket weight but more on the feeling of the string.

yah i'm happy to try out those strings you recommended coz it's in my shortlisted range. hav it down to pro supex blue gear and topspin cyberblue unless somebody can tell me where to get gamma zo-twist. lol.

my thinking is this, as i have a rather "penetrating" forehand, so looking for a spin with added spin potential so would be "safer" in terms of hitting the balls to the baseline and not out of bounds. lol

Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 04:08 PM

551 posts

battousai,
well i'm in for the cyberblue if can get cheaper. coz i asked the uptown shop the iranian shop is giving me rm60. so if can get lower than rm50 of coz jalan lah..haha..
also brother, any jalan to sell off my 4d300 tour ?

praetorian,
so you hav tried cyberblue, i mean if compare with bluegear. how many percent difference in terms of spin potential wud u say ? too little to differentiate ? or just about there ... coz if i'm not mistaken cyberblue is just normal rounded string .

This post has been edited by Yan: Jun 25 2009, 04:10 PM
Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 05:09 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jun 25 2009, 04:57 PM)
Yan if u sell your 4D 50%.
Sure got ppl grab wan  brows.gif
haha... i was just responding to some fella fr forum offering me RM200. which part of ridiculous price he didn't understand. kena "***-kaw" from me loh. if got this type of deal 1week old 9.9/10 racket at 50% ... and some more is the latest model. if you hav 10, i'll grab all from you. (not to brag) ..
i know everybody looking for "hot deal-durian runtuh-deal" but must be reasonable also lah. if 1-2yrs old racket 50% i also give. but 1week old racket how lah? you tell me loh.

pengsan lah me replying lots of nonsense PMs. at least a win-win situation for us all lah. you safe a bit fr buying here rather than from shop and i get to rugi a bit also. so everybody happy.

i think i better post up the expected price. RM450.. fr retail. (btw i still have the receipt i think)
Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 09:17 PM

551 posts

praetorian,
is the cyberblue smooth surface ? or is it with edge (like blue gear) ?
Also biasalah after 1yr+ never change anything, using my barricade for 3yrs and wilson kpro tour. These 2mths tangan gatal go change now have to trial and error .. bang wall. until find a suitable fit. lol..

pooh88,
you sure or not you can get rm300+ for the Dunlop 4D300 Tour ? when i ask you last time before i buy that you said cannot get and cannot match the price from Topper / Ultimate .. now suddenly you can get rm300++ ? U yanking my chain ar ?

Anyways latest update for my dunlop 4d300 tour!!!!:

Poor 4D300 tour.. sudah send balik kedai. Found out the paint is chipping away. found one yesterday near the throat @ the grommet area. Then just now while playing with Eason, mishit and the ball landed on the top frame. 2 pieces of the paint fell off. i was like WTFx.. If i hit on the ground or another racket i'll accept the paint chipping off but a friggin' ball ? So gave the shop a call. Asked me to bring back and told me don't worry about the racket, he'll make sure i'm satisfied. Even told me probably they'll change for me a new racket or if i want to, can change another model also but need to let the Dunlop Sales ppl see first.

yay yay !! So now new hope.. maybe another new racket coming lol.

btw in the end, he gave me 2 demo rackets to try out while waiting for the verdict,
-dunlop aerogel 300 (old model)
-Prince Exo3 graphite (green color)

hehe....gilar already 2mths trying out so many rackets...lol

This post has been edited by Yan: Jun 25 2009, 09:25 PM
Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 09:56 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(lowyat.user47 @ Jun 25 2009, 09:39 PM)
wow glad to hear that. its a good thing for you yan. biggrin.gif why dont you try out the other 4d 300(not the tour one), its lighter. who knows it might suit your hard-hitting gamestyle. if you can pick up other brands, then better get another APDC since you said you like it the most.
you read my mind my brother wink.gif. that's exactly my game plan ..lol. the boss even told me it's a blessing in disguise the chipping away. coz he believed me when i told him that that chip position on the racket can't be court-inflicted. Coz awkward position for a scrape to the floor.

so i'm thinkin either changing to the 4d300 (non tour) or the safest bet to get another apdc since i already own one already. or anybody wanna buy any racket model ? maybe i can change to that and sell you since i've already bought my apdc. lol
Yan
post Jun 25 2009, 11:14 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jun 25 2009, 11:07 PM)
oh crap..sent out yesterday already... i forgot haven't tell you shipping price..kk PM u after my bath tongue.gif   nah using radical MP only la... youtek they dont give coz i dont sell much head racquets..what to do their prices so expensive in malaysia i myself rarely recommend whistling.gif
laugh.gif  guaranteed lower than his price de..rm50 is max.. more depends on amount and also my negotiation skill with the shop owner tongue.gif
if u can get 4d 300 at rm400.. nvm i let u earn rm100.. i myself will buy 5 racquets off you to keep and sell.. icon_rolleyes.gif
how ? we got a deal or not ? flex.gif

Added on June 25, 2009, 11:08 pmmake sure 4d 300 ah..normal 300 i myself selling price already lower sleep.gif
anyways, now these few days gotta try more n test out rackets so when that day comes, will be able to choose a "ngam" racket. already got my ngam racket actually apdc. so maybe this is just another racket to try out. unless anybody thinkin of getting one racket i can try n get and tell to you smile.gif

This post has been edited by Yan: Jun 26 2009, 12:52 AM
Yan
post Jun 26 2009, 07:30 AM

551 posts

yo bro. what a turn of luck. too bad i had to leave Eason "makan sendiri". felt sorry for leaving him in the midst of game as was concern for the racket itself losing paint over balls.lol

will ask the boss if he has exo3 red. this afternoon will have a go with the exo3graphite. so far feel is good as it's not those light o3 type but is more classic style with some weight to it. read some good reviews abt it too fr youtube tenniswareshouse. will update later when i whack it out in the afternoon. anybody wanna review this racket with me can come join wink.gif
Yan
post Jun 26 2009, 08:51 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(ahwee1987 @ Jun 26 2009, 08:48 AM)
hey yan..mb u should change to the non tour version and try~.ahha..since the tour version string bed 18x20 doesnt suit u...mb because u are use to the 16 x19 string bed d..ahha..
yo ah wee..
yah will seriously consider that since now i have this extra "option" to change to another racket. Anyways also due to the fact i've gotten my apdc (primary racket). so this dunlop option is just extra to test out another secondary racket or get another backup apdc (don't think i need backup, not a pro).lol

so this sunday we ON for evening ? tonight also we're playing a few of us.
Yan
post Jun 26 2009, 12:16 PM

551 posts

yup but the normal aerogel 300 also got 16x18 model. saw fr t/w. 16x19 and also 16x18.

btw just finished banging some balls with a fren using the prince exo3 graphite. so sharing a bit of my review (feel)

by far the most convincing prince racket i've tried. And i've used the prince o3 white, o3 white speedport, tried the o3 blk sp, o3 red, o3 tour. All the o3 series not suitable for me coz of the light racket head so tend to overswing and also the frames are mostly too powerful, so lots of out-bound balls.

as for the exo3 graphite, the feel is good has the heft and the good swing weight. some comment fr a fren was my shot was harder and more spin compared to the other aero300 i tried just now as well. one thing i noticed was the head is quite fast and has the certain "ziinnng" sound as it cuts through the air. which in turn produces a good racket speed and nice contact. groundstroke is pretty solid too especially when i go on for the winners. Backhand is also solid and nice. i'm guessing the 16x19 is my string pattern choice.

haven't had a go at volleying yet. too bad the demo string is about to break. i hope i don't break it in the afternoon later.

overall would say the classic type exo3 is surprisingly good. wondering how the other exo3 such as what praetorian suggested exo3 red feels like.
Yan
post Jun 26 2009, 04:28 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(ahwee1987 @ Jun 26 2009, 04:18 PM)
yeah..hopefully this sunday no rain~..smile.gif yan i tell u..later if the non tour version not ngam again... u "Kei kei" go scratch the racket let the paint come off again then u can slowly choose which racket suit u the best~hahaha
Oi, don't until like that la. lol. but seriously don't really care already since i've decided to stick with apdc.
Yan
post Jun 27 2009, 12:40 PM

551 posts

wow finally got to see in person the nadal slayer. lol
Yan
post Jun 27 2009, 01:35 PM

551 posts

got mine at either rm480 or 490 with sarung + standard string. upgrade luxilon add rm40

dunlop 4d 300 same price as the 4d300tour. smile.gif
Yan
post Jun 27 2009, 11:45 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jun 27 2009, 11:03 PM)
Just To update u guy 4D 300 can get for RM 430.00 flex.gif
Guarantee price  nod.gif
okay ... but more details lah .. rm430 with string or w/o string ? with sarung or w/o sarung ?
Coz if you say w/o string, then works out to be abt the same as what topper is selling rm480 coz it's with a string of your choice below rm40.

so be more specific bro if you wanna throw out offers as not to confuse buyers. smile.gif
Yan
post Jun 28 2009, 10:43 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jun 25 2009, 11:07 PM)

if u can get 4d 300 at rm400.. nvm i let u earn rm100.. i myself will buy 5 racquets off you to keep and sell.. icon_rolleyes.gif
how ? we got a deal or not ? flex.gif

Added on June 25, 2009, 11:08 pmmake sure 4d 300 ah..normal 300 i myself selling price already lower sleep.gif
hey battousai, you interested or not if i get for you 4d300 @ rm400 ? Mine not chui sui one.. is real and this deal i can do ..lol...coz i'm getting a new replacement for the 4d300tour from dunlop this week. Either the 4d300 or the 4d300 Tour also should be no problem wink.gif
Coz i've bought the other racket already Babolat APDC. so thinking might as well just sell off this and get $$$ back.

Yan
post Jun 28 2009, 11:28 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jun 28 2009, 11:17 PM)
you only have 1 racquet to deal right yan.. i cant deal only 1 stick.. im always on the lookout for good suppliers who can supply me stuff anytime i wish to order coz my order times are not fixed..not per unit le... per unit u can try sell at garage sales.. should get a response smile.gif
ok sure. well maybe i'll do it this way,

anybody out there wanna get any tennis rackets ? babolat, wilson, prince, head, dunlop ?
I'll match any deals you can get from any tennis shops and give you additional discount as much as 10%. So for those on the lookout for new rackets pls contact me with your model & price you found.

for e.g. Say you wanna get a Wilson racket from Ultimate sports / topper for rm500. I'll give you an additional rm50 from the lowest price you can get from any shops, making it rm450. My racket will be from Topper.

anyways this offer is open for 1week only. if not possibly i 'll just get another racket and treat it as just another racket for testing ...

This post has been edited by Yan: Jun 28 2009, 11:32 PM
Yan
post Jun 29 2009, 01:53 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jun 28 2009, 11:28 PM)
ok sure. well maybe i'll do it this way,

anybody out there wanna get any tennis rackets ? babolat, wilson, prince, head, dunlop ?
I'll match any deals you can get from any tennis shops and give you additional discount as much as 10%. So for those on the lookout for new rackets pls contact me with your model & price you found.

for e.g. Say you wanna get a Wilson racket from Ultimate sports / topper for rm500. I'll give you an additional rm50 from the lowest price you can get from any shops, making it rm450.  My racket will be from Topper.

anyways this offer is open for 1week only. if not possibly i 'll just get another racket and treat it as just another racket for testing ...
btw update on the racket sponsorship program .. FREE $$$ giveaway. !! LOL

in reply to those PMs i've gotten since i advertised my deal....your racket must be same or higher price than mine .. rm520.00 or around there. coz if you get wilson k.61 90 which is around rm400 then i won't be able to giv you the discount already since i need to swap with a racket at least rm520 and above.

Yan
post Jun 29 2009, 08:57 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 29 2009, 08:55 PM)
No lah, all watching Wimbledon mah....
found a seller for technifib blackcode in kl. but currently out of stock. they carry all the gamma strings but so far they said in malaysia the gamma office never bring in the zo-twist and zo-magic.

the blackcode cost about rm69.00.
Yan
post Jun 29 2009, 09:24 PM

551 posts

wow rm40 with stringing ? where you get it .. that's very cheap.

17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:50 PM