10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Cergau
post Feb 21 2010, 03:34 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Feb 20 2010, 07:42 PM)
I don't know where exactly to upload for pdf files, so i used scribd instead. Sorry lambat post, its due to be tabled in cabinet next week. Like most policies, it will be tabled a few times. I'm thinking of bugging the Unit Walit (aneka haiwan) Putrajaya again soon.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/27157792/1GP-Draft
Here's another option to download the draft 1GP.
OOps Sorry, I tried uploading the 1GP directly to Lowyat 3x, how do I retrieve the download URL?
Or I do not hv sufficient access?
Can someone help so more viewers can get the doc, scribd require registration and not very intuitive.

This post has been edited by Cergau: Feb 21 2010, 03:51 AM
Cergau
post Feb 21 2010, 09:16 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Feb 21 2010, 04:19 AM)
............DL has been fighting for all in the industry since early 2000 across the whole country at his own cost
……btw, before his retirement, DL ever mentioned dusuntutmybuntut with assistance from west wing and the rest could be made a good leader to organize and spear head rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif …..so, have a good thought…….good luck and bye……and good nite……
Lucas 1, thks for yr advice.

Dunsun! WW,
What abt it?
You 2 are being annointed to lead.
Count me in as the 1st volunteer foot soldier.

btw, anyone here know how to upload to LowYat direct and then retrieve URL for forumers' use?
The same was done with the V1 docs at the beginning of V2.
Do I need to request admin?

Cergau
post Feb 21 2010, 11:16 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 21 2010, 09:23 AM)
ai yo!!, Lucas ahh....lu pergi mana?? sudah lama tak jumpa loh...
Reading the GP while looking at my fishes (to reduce my stress and lower down my blood presssure), what damn stupid GP is this !!

all farms need to paint different color so that tourists know that it is a farm?

How about putting a sign ` THIS IS A SWIFTLET FARM, COME COME COME!! COME FOR A VISIT !!! FREE BIRD'S NEST SOUP BUT MUST HARVEST UR OWN N PLUCK UR OWN N COOK URSELF!!!'

We are trying to beautify n adapt n make less changes to the surrounding so that peoples will not able to differentiate n instead u want us to paint different color???
quoted from the news :

"The guideline will set the standard for all local governments. It will help traders and swiftlet farm owners to venture into this field in a more organised manner," said the chairman of the Federation of Swiftlet Nest Merchants'' Associations Datuk Beh Heng Seong.

` WHAT THE F HE IS TALKING ABOUT?? HE KNOWS WHAT IS HAPPENING AND STILL F AROUND AND TALK !!! '

wonders anyone here have his phone no so that all farmers can call him to WISH HIM A GOOD YEAR AHEAD !.
And talk about SHIT, most established farmers already upgrade their swiftlets attracting technology where they used EM/O3 to eliminate all smells from the farms and the results are just overwhelmingly good!!.

Who said farms need to smell liked shit or ammonia to attract birds to stay?

I tested n waited and it proved that a farm that have no ammonia smells or whatsoever smells STILL ATTRACTS BIRDS TO COME.

AND THE ONLY OUTPUT FROM THE FARMS ARE MOSTLY ORGANIC FERTILIZERS...IT IS NOT CALLED SHIT!!...
Quoted from the news:

The government wants to see 100,000 swiftlet farms producing 500 tonnes of the bird's nest annually worth RM5 billion by 2020.
SO, IT MEANS THE GOVT WANT TO START FROM 60,000 FARMS OR WANT TO START FROM 1000 TO SEE IT GROW BACK TO 100,000 FARMS??

THIS IS THE ONLY GOVT IN THE WORLD THAT WANT TO CRIPPLE THE WHOLE INDUSTRY SO THAT TO BUILD IT BACK AGAIN!!!.....THIS IS THE FIRST N THE ONLY IN THE WORLD!!!!....BE PROUD OF IT!.
Bro Dunsun n WW,

Pls lead us to heavan!!..

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:47 am
no need upload it in sharefile website and then post the link here, but i think most can download it easily from bro dunsun link,

BUT MOST IMPORTANT, LOWYAT FORUM IS NOT AS POPULAR AS BEFORE, PLS PRINT OUT THE COPY OR EMAIL IT TO ALL UR FARMER FRIENDS..

THAT IS MORE IMPORTANT. WE NEED TO DO IT FAST !.

vmad.gif

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:55 amNeed somone to call Dr Fadzila, why this GP ??? She knows how this will affect us!

WE NEED TO SEND THIS DOC TO ALL POLITICIANS THAT CAN HELP US ...

WE NEED TO SEND THIS DOC TO CHINESE MERCHANT'S ASSOCIATION TO VOICE OUT FOR US!...
WE NEED TO GROUP ALL LOCAL OR STATE LEVEL BIRD'S NEST ASSOCIATIONS TO JOIN OR SET UP A TEAM TO FIGHT BACK!!...
WE NEED DL.....damn i miss him..... must go n kacau him lah....

those who got his no, i think we all have, just call him and wish him a Good, Active, Lively NEW YEAR AHEAD.

PLEASE DO SO..AND IF THAT DIDN'T HELP...

WE MIGHT NEED TO ARRANGE A TRIP TO KEDAH N SOBERLY ASK HIM TO AGAIN LEAD US TO HEAVEN...

By saying that, i am sure kena marah again by him loh...

Don't get mad lah...see my fishes...see my fishes....

Added on February 21, 2010, 10:08 amTHOSE WITH DIFFICULTY WITH BRO DUNSUN LINK CAN TRY THIS ONE :

http://www.scribd.com/full/27157792?access...sk4rzqcuw6j6g6z
THIS LINK WILL DIRECTLY GET U TO THE FULL SCREEN PAGE TO READ THE DOC...

PLEASE USE THIS LINK AND SEND IT BY EMAILS TO ALL PPLS THAT U THINK CAN HELP ALL ORDINARY FARMERS.

thks again to bro dunsun.

Anyone know GEM email address, maybe someone can send it to them as they are able to help too..

Added on February 21, 2010, 10:51 amby the way,

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE WITH 1ST N GRD FLOOR?

IF 1ST FLOOR CAN DO, WHY GRD FLOOR CANNOT DO??

IN THE FIRST PLACE,
IF THE GRD FLOOR WE CAN RENTED OUT , WE WILL!!!

WE CANNOT RENT IT OUT!
IN THAT CASE, HOW ABOUT THOSE SHOPLOTS THAT USE AS WAREHOUSE BY TRADERS? ARE THERE TOO ILLEGALS??

HOW ABOUT THOSE SHOPLOTS THAT ARE LEFT IDLES, ARE THERE TOO ILLEGALS???

vmad.gif  vmad.gif   

THOSE FARMS THAT CONVERTED IT TO FARMS IN FACT IS A ALMOST A GHOST TOWN IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!

EVEN IT IS NOT A GHOST TOWN, BUT THOSE WHO WALK HERE N THERE...TO ME ARE ALL GHOSTS AS THEY ONLY WALK AROUND WITHOUT BUYING ANYTHING!!!....AS THEY GOT NO MONEY TO SPEND!
EVEN WE CAN RENT IT OUT, THE RENTAL CAN'T EVEN PAY FOR THE CUKAI PINTU!..

WITH THE HELP OF US, WE MANAGED TO REVIVE MANY ABANDONED SHOPS BY PUTTING GUARDS IN THE AREA TO PROTECT THE SURROUNDING AREA FROM CRIME AND BY PAINTING N BEAUTIFY MANY SHOPS FROM BEEN LEFT IDLE AND ROTTED AWAY.

THE NEIGHBOURING TAMAN RESIDENTS are all benefitted from it.

Added on February 21, 2010, 11:00 amQUOTED FROM THE NEWS THAT MALAYSIA IS THE FIRST COUNTRY TO HAVE A GUIDELINE FOR SWIFTLET FARMING INDUSTRY :
YES!!!.....YOU ARE THE FIRST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD AHEAD OF INDONESIA N THAILAND TO CRIPPLE THE WHOLE INDUSTRY SO THAT U START FROM ZERO AGAIN!

YES, MALAYSIA WILL COMPETE WITH MYANMAR OR PAPAU NEW GURNEY IN TERMS OF BIRD'S NESTS OUTPUT...
IF 1GP IS APPROVED AS IT IS, MALAYSIA IS OUT AS ONE OF THE TOP THREE PRODUCER OF BN!.
Chan K,
Thanks for providing another easier the link, I has the same intention of making easier to download.

I have picked up similar points as you have shared here.
I am in the midst of drawing up an alternative guidelines incase any pleading is successful.
IN the interest of time, the parties may be ameable to adopt my alternative after feedbacl from forumers.
I will try to complete it today. I will provide the basis for each of the my proposals either new, removed or amended from 1GP.
Appreciate yr all feedback including if my drawing of the alternative is wise and not a waste of time.

I have earlier (mths back) mentioned a proposal to request my local MP to raise a private members Bill in Parliament to remove Fuciphagus from Schedule 4 of the WilfLife Act and was advised by the MP that I need to publicise it else it will fail w/o sufficient support from the Parliament floor.

I agree with yr suggestion of the publicity of the draft 1GP to a wider audience and request them to write to both their local MP and to the Cabinet members.

I think we need a 2 prong approach here
1)Publicity to generate interest and critical mass of voices
2)Continue collaboration with the agencies involved with the drawing up of 1GP

Pls pls provide comments.

Cergau
post Feb 21 2010, 12:25 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 21 2010, 12:10 PM)
I been reading this and as a newbie who hardly know about the history can simply summarize the bird nest scenarios in Malaysia.

1) Political Dato involvement in the Bird Nest Industry using the government mechanism to cripple the newcomers, expansion by current bird nest farmers, talented farmers and new consultants, small business investor (shoplots buyer)

2) Same herd of people protecting each other interest and do not allow or accept views of people that one to see growth using their skills, talent and same time to compete in the world market.

3) Dominion of soverign and territories of successful farm.

4) Disguised as good and honourable figures to lead and to help to boost the industry. ( It's like an old man on the bamboo crutch that also keeping a hidden dagger ) . Always remeber that what one perceived the shape as a pretty lady can also be identified as old lady.

Any realistic suggestion for immediate action?
May I suggest for now, instead of just venting our anger, lets all comment on the contents of the draft 1GP and decide the next course of action.
Any little help is appreciated.

Cergau
post Feb 21 2010, 04:08 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Feb 21 2010, 01:22 PM)
The commercial lots, there won't be much difference with the 2005 guideline or regulations imposed by KPKT (kementerian perumahan dan kerajaan tempatan, i'll post the PBT guideline tonight), but once it becomes policy, the enforcement may become more stringent and widespread. Those who previously were not approached by PBT, will be approached. Leniency might be a thing of the past. Still, since no move out order was mentioned, i am relieved. Previously Jabatan Perancang Bandar & Desa was minimally involved, but not they may play a vital role... this being based on the Land Code whereby for state matters, they can issue orders whether an area can or cannot be developed for swiftlet activities.

Some contents of the guideline are contradictory. Distance from residential areas (the 0.5km & 150m), usage of audio. A ratio of 1 out of every 5 lots are allowed for swiftlet activities. Standalones on agri land MUST be converted to Building.

WHAT ISN'T mentioned... the existing lots that clearly 'violate' the proposed guideline. We must be wary of this since in the end, a policy will depend on its implementation and since the executors are mostly the PBT... they can and will enforce the powers allocated.

Lets follow the cabinet response closely.
Dunsun,
I doubt the cabinet can make any sense of this draft in the current state of readiness.
As you have mentioned, there are quite a few contradictions.
If this guideline in the state we now have at hand, gets approved then we know Cabinet fellas just 'bantai' approve only.
It's madness, this whole draft is piecemeal with inputs from diff authors and badly put together w/o rational.

I am struggling to build an alternative & found myself handicapped by not owning a shophse BH to provide insights into their peculiar situation in regards to section 6.

I am GIVING UP to try for a complete alternative but instead a partial comments only.

Yes, there is no outright statement that says shophouse BH is not allowed.
The conditions laid are impossible to comply with so 'SECARA HALUS' shophouse is not allowed or suffer endless harrassment until you give up.

Added on February 21, 2010, 4:44 pmMy effort thus far, I AM NOT going for an alternative as I find that every other statement require clarification from the author on the basis and justification.

Edible Bird Nest Guidelines
(Draft)

1 Latar Belakang
1.1 – 1.5 – no comments
Addendum
1.6 With the initial observation of the swiftlet’s preference for old shophouses along the coast. Further developments of man made swiftlet habitat for the collection of edible bird nest has been concentrated among coastal shophouses which then spilled over to abandoned shophouses. It was initially viewed positively as a means of utilizing (recycling) these properties for an alternative economic activity. With time foot traffic increases which saw the reopening of these once abandoned shophouses which signaled the start of the resident complaints of smell, noise & fear of avian influenza, be it real or unsubstantiated perception.

2 Objectif

Amendment (just my suggestion, if the agencies can get their Objectif clear, then everything else will fall into place)

2.1)To Facilitate the growth to 100,000 birdhouses producing 500 tonnes of edible bird nest annually worth RM5billion by year 2020.
(source - http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsfeat....php?id=461591)

2.2)To ensure achievement of objective 1 is accompanied by a 85% reduction in public complaints in regards to smell, noise and fear of avian borne diseases by 2012.
(note#2 Each agencies will plan out their annual action points through to 2020 with the SMART methodology. Additional funding if required is clearly stated with justification and how achievement is to be measured. )

2.3)To ensure that the commercialization of Aerodramus Fuciphagus does not impact negatively the vulnerability of the wild cave populations, also in tandem pro active action to wind down cave harvesting with Govt funded bird house for the original harvestors by 2012.

2.4)To intiate and commission research in conjunction with other institutions, industry players and residential associations to either dispel, disprove, overcome or mitigate as the case may be. the issues of smell, noise and fear of disease by 2011. Results of said research to be freely available to the general public.

Each objective may be taken wholly or shared by all concerned enforcement and licensing entities with different weightages as per the expertise and influence of the specific entities. The overall accountability for success of the above objectives lies with the lead entity.
(Note #1 The existing objective is way off the the published objective of the DPM.

3 PERUNDANGAN
– no comments

4 PEMAKAIAN
4.1 Garis panduan ini terpakai untuk spesis Aerodramus fuciphagus ( Edible -
nest Swiftlet ) dan Aerodramus maxima ( Black - nest Swiftlet ) dan
merangkumi seluruh Semenanjung Malaysia . Garis panduan in! adalah•
tertaktuk kepada pindaan dari masa ke masa

(Note#3 Need feedback from readers, I have no idea what this is.)

5 KEPERLUAN LESEN
5.1 Pengusaha yang ingin menjalankan peru'sahaan sarang burung perlu
mendapatkan lesen - lesen daripada agensii kerajaan berikut;

Jenis Lesen AgensiB~rtanggun~awab

(i)Lesen Premis Pihak Berkuasa Tempatan
(ii)Lesen Perniagaan Pihak Be'rkuasa Tempatan
(iii)Lesen Mengambil Sarang Jabatan PERHILITAN
(iv)Lest?n Perniagaan Hidupan Liar Jabatan PERHILITAN
(v)Lesen Import I Eksport H I Liar Jabatan PERHILITAN

(Note#4 There is no trading nor exchange of cash in the premises why the requirement?)

6 KEPERLUAN. I SYARAT PERMOHONAN' LESEN . PIHAK BERKUASA
TEMPATAN.

6.1 Status Tanah ;:
i. Hendaklah dikategorikan sebagai bangunan perniagaan
ii. Bagi bangunan ' free standing I di atas tanah pertanian , syarat nyata tanah ditukar kepada kategori bangunan perniagaan.
(note#5 How does it help in the achievement of the objectives. Further clarification required on basis and justification).

6.2 Jarak Bangunan
i. Mempunyai jarak 150 m daripada mana - mana bangunan kediaman berdekatan.
ii. Hendaklah tidak kurang dari 0.5 km. daripada kawasan perumahan dan bangunan komersial.
(note#6 This is a very damaging catch all requirement. This will render all shophouse BH units not compliant. Further clarification required).

This post has been edited by Cergau: Feb 21 2010, 04:44 PM
Cergau
post Feb 22 2010, 12:57 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ahwee1987 @ Feb 22 2010, 12:04 AM)
hi cergau,
the bird call tester u test success to lure the bird?u connect to your car battery is it??so the total cost for the DIY kit is around rm 150 is it??
i am planning to build a DIY kit like yours. hopefully u can give me some guidance
ahwee1987,
What I did was to ask the sales chap exactly how I was to wire the speakers to the amplifier.
I made him test each and every tweeter for me though they cost less than RM3 each.
(I am no expert by any measure.) Bought all the material, yes for less than RM150.
Fitted and tested fine all wired up (without soldering).
Found the box, cut out to fit the tweeters, solder the wires to the tweeters permanently.
Screw everything firmly into the box so nothing moves during transportation.
No I do not use the battery off the car, I carry a separate 12V battery in the car for the purpose.
I notice the amplifier gets hot with use, so the draw must be BIG.
I wouldnt want to be stranded in far off places with a flat car battery.
It may be safe to do the testing with the car running but I chose not to.

As for the testing, I would suggest you bring along a GPS so that you can mark out where you were.
For a better sense of the place , you manually or download thru serial cable to Google Earth.
Then you will be able to see the topo, existence of of big water, vegetation and so forth from satellite photos.
If you had also the waypoint (GPS speak) of the nearby successful BHs then you will be able to gauge whcih way the birds fly.

Cergau
post Feb 22 2010, 01:43 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(birdfarm @ Feb 22 2010, 01:13 AM)
rclxub.gif Dear Friends, Could it be a outdated version of GP1 being posted here as normally Cabinet papers are prepared professionally under the Official Secrets Act stamp . The one posted is very unprofessional with typo errors and 1999 data. Currently we have 50,000 BHs and 1.5 billions revenue which is common knowledge. Anyway no harm taking precautionary measures. rclxub.gif
Birdfarm,
My sentiments also.
My guess is the main contents will be in place despite being tidied up.
The draft we are now reading is still w/o the Min of Health feedback which was stated in Dec 2009 in the MOA website.
My guess this draft is at least as old as that MOA statement on their website.
With their tendencies for being territorial, I tend to believe the bulk of the conditions are still in the one presented to the Cabinet.

I dunno know what to summarise to my MP, I think I will try that tomorrow.
Cergau
post Feb 22 2010, 01:43 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 22 2010, 12:23 PM)
Now we could emphasize this to the Cabinet. Whoever have the connection , please repeat this to the govt whether they are in wildlife , PBT, Najib admin etc.

If Swiftlet is an Endangered Species ( how they regulate or determine a species falls under this category is yet to be known but i try to find out more soon)  than all Swiftlet Farmers should have Bonus and Incentives by the Govt to protect this swiftlet population by us.

Wildlife Dept must now identify the macro problems that will cause the extinction of this Species.

1) Peat Fire
2) Air Pollution
3) Water Pollution

Anything that can kill or make these bird extinct. What factors are they taking to protect this species?

Malaysia always proud to be call as the First or No 1 in everything but the 1GP draft not even an updated one due to the 2000 and the word angaran. Then the draft is so thin and no details or studies made. Where are the reference or articles that brought them to this draft. Where is the evidence and on what basis they draft out this 1GP.
Hackwire,
Your suggested approach has been tried already.
It's not cos' swiftlet is a threatened species.
Sufficient evidence already show that its not the case already.
CITES which M'sia is a signatory to, helps regulate the endangered list.
Schedule 1-3 of the WildLife Act reflects the degree of the danger of extinction.
It's not listed as endangered in Malaysian WildLife Act, but it's listed in Schedule 4 which any country has the liberty to add or remove.
So long as it's listed in any schedule Perhilitan (Pen M'sia) and Forestry (Sabah & S'wak) has the authority over these species.
My effort with my local MP was to remove swiftlet from the Schedule 4, but was advised that I need to publicise the effort to get sufficient support from Parliament members. I do not have the resources nor connection to mount any kind of publicity except here in the forum.

Dunsun has spoken to Perhilitan, their reason for still keeping it in Schedule 4 it's cos' it's wild, whcih sounds preposterous to me.
The only valid reason they need to still keep it in the Schedule is cos' the wild cave populations have indeed dwindled, for whcih they have direct control as they control the harvesting. (how else do you think they have a ready process or licensing regime for keeping & harvesting EBN?)
They have then push the fault to the some other uniformed services for allowing overharvesting for undercounter $$$$.

So.... do you wanna go battling with the power-to-be to handle this HOLISTICALLY? I wish you luck.
Have you read the Lizard King?? Our very own world class ANAK MALAYSIA for all the wrong reasons.
Read how the 2nd most powerful person in Perhilitan talks abt him like her own pakcik and goes around protecting him and accuse a foreign country of entrapping him and putting him in jail for a few years. When he was in jail, Perhilitan continue to provide him licenses to him to deal in protected species. NOW you wanna to tangle with folks like this.

All I can tell you is I can only function in this forum after I regain my energy from the anger and disgust I feel with these knowledge.
I feel so helpless sometimes with no where to turn to... the police?... civil case to the courts?
Welcome to my beautiful country.
You know the saying..
THOSE WHO CAN, DO; THOSE WHO CANT, TEACH.... for M'sia you can give it a twist
THOSE WHO CAN, DO; THOSE WHO CAN'T, GOVERN

I know I too have sunk to just venting. (soory lah, else cannot function and will probably have a heart attack if not)

btw , I have sent the draft 1GP to a few blog writers and my MP.
I already see it on WOSG on their front page. (they must have picked it from LowYat or 1 of us, not me)
http://worldofswiftletfarming.blogspot.com/

Please note that the discussion is at the Cabinet level, not Parliament, so sending to MP only serves to notify, MPs cant do anything.

Cergau
post Feb 22 2010, 06:19 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 22 2010, 04:39 PM)
Reading the Draft provided, I still don't believe that it shall be the one forward to the Cabinet. We have leaders like Dato Beh and others  helping in the drafting of the paper and is this the outcome of the workshop after workshop helping to draft the paper to be make a Law on swiftlet Industry. I still don't believe it but I just sleep with it now until I get confirmation from the horse's mouth ....by the way, who has the horse mouth............ and will Dato Beh's representative or any Pejabat Haiwan official reading this forum please clarified if you are reading it.

Anyway, I am waiting for my Association Secretary to get intouch with the Fed. Association on the matter and hope that the draft is not the ONE>
WW,
I wish I have your confidence in any so called 'leader', I see them merely as the head of some association PERIOD.
From the fiasco from end 2009 and some more now of suggestion of their influence with the govt agencies, one can't help but be cynical.
Simply put they have yet to prove themselves worthy of our confidence.

Other than spreading this draft far and wide, I will wait and see if any forumers has anything else to share.
May we hope you will be able to bring good news after finding the horse.

Cergau
post Feb 22 2010, 08:15 PM

416 posts

Najib's facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dato-Sri-Naj...zak/27767103249

Najib's blog
http://www.1malaysia.com.my/index.php?lang=en
Cergau
post Feb 22 2010, 11:40 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Greenacres @ Feb 22 2010, 11:15 PM)
[cool.gif2 Objectif
Amendment (just my suggestion, if the agencies can get their Objectif clear, then everything else will fall into place)
2.1)To Facilitate the growth to 100,000 birdhouses  producing 500 tonnes of edible bird nest annually  worth RM5billion by year 2020.
(source - http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsfeat....php?id=461591)
500 tones=500,000kg          annually
500,000kg/100,000 bird houses=5kg per house annually
5kg/12months=415grams per month on average per house.
415m/1000gm X Rm4000 (per kilo) =Rm1600.00 gross revenue per month
What about expenses, interest, labor, licensing fee, conversion fee, utilities, depreciation etc, etc, etc, etc
Conclusion: The industry is a money losing venture on the whole for the majority .
When you let monkeys do the calculation there will be no bananas left….. only greedy fat monkeys with no shame.
This is mismanagement of the country’s resources.
Why should an agricultural activity be classified “perniagaan”.
Are chicken ,ostrich, fish farms also perniagaan.
This is God’s gift to the nation.
Mom and pop can participate.
Just like Hong Kong , Taiwan of yesteryear when a small plastic injection machine in their premise forms part  of a supply chain to their country’s exports.
Small and medium industry ……….if you will.
This industry should be categorized under Cottage Industry for the small timers .....some who cannot rent out their ground floor because sundry shops lost out to the tescos' etc.
For the super successful there is always income tax duh!
Perhaps the over zealous are thinking of windfall tax.
Get real and be fair to all.
Nest cleaning is another industry in itself.
At Rm600 to say Rm800 a kilo to clean the nests, 500,000 kg cleaned is Rm300 million in cleaning wages or full/ part time employment for 41666 persons cleaning 1kg a month at Rm600 wages per kg.
Money should be earned the responsible and honest  way !!
keep the rempits and dead wood  off the streets and leaching off the govt.
That is the only way forward.
Greenacres,
rclxms.gif
Guilty as charged.

btw, I have commented on the Najib's 1Malaysia blog under the tag 'Budget', so I will wait to see if it get's moderator approved.
If so, then I leave to all here to comment further. The comment space is regulated, so I had to sound abrupt but hopefully coherent.
http://www.1malaysia.com.my/index.php?opti...ang=en#comments
He mentioned that he was thrilled to get 600+ comments post the budget presentation.
How desperate are we??? Maybe 1000+ comments?? biggrin.gif
To be effective it has to be before the Cabinet discussion (which date I do not know) , so do yr bit..let it be like a DDOS attack.

This was to be the full text but I had to edit on the fly and I did not copy the final cut for records and I cant recall (old chap mah!)
Dear Mr PM,
I humbly bring to your attention as a 3 decade tax payer the disappointing results of at least 1 item of the 2010 budget. (As a citizen who has his head at the grinding stone for so many years but has not yet developed friends in the proper places to bring this to your attention and thus through this channel I am aware of.) Your attention is most appreciated now as to nip this in the bud before the repurcussions may just prove to be widespread unhappiness and still yet another distraction from more important matters of state.
It relates to and I quote from your budget speech the following

"ADVANCING AGRICULTURE SECTOR
Fourth: Develop food farming industry such as fruits, vegetables, organic farming, herbs, seaweeds and swiftlet nests with an allocation of RM149 million;"

My writing to your goodself pertains to the swiftlet nest industry.
Various workshops were held by govt agencies with participants from the existing industry players.
Despite their input the draft guidelines to develop the industry has now appear to a whole litany of regulations with emphasis on control and licensing by the different govt agencies.
These appear to be self serving and runs counter to the published objective of...to quote Bernama release
"growth to 100,000 birdhouses producing 500 tonnes of edible bird nest annually worth RM5billion by year 2020"

The 1GP (the said guidelines) has the following as it's objective and I quote.."
2 OBJECTIF
2.1 Untuk memastikan perkembangan industri sarang burung layang - layang di negara ini ·terkawalserta mematuhi perundangan dan peraturan semua agensi kerajaan yang berkaitan dengan industri ini.
2.2 Untuk memastikan aktiviti pengambilan sarang burung layang - layang tidak akan menjejaskan populasi semulajadi burung layang - layang. tersebut.:
2.3 Mengawal dan menyelaras pengambilan sarang burung layang - layang agar ianya dijalankan secara lestari. "

It obviously is off the mark in terms of a national objective.
As for the allocated money to be spent to 'develop' the industry, there is no stated desire nor plan to work out common industrial problems faced either technical, health, specie specfic research, market access...etc.
As it stands now, the sums are to be given out to successful 'applicants' to build swiftlet farms. Nary a person in the industry seem to have a clue of how and when these applications were offered. Also the failure rate for this industry is topping 80%. Also 'swiftlet farming' is a misnomer. This trade is more akin to apiculture. We do not have a glowing record on apiculture to boast of.

As for the guidelines per se, it is too tedious for this channel and also will be sighted soon enough for cabinet discussion this week.

Suffice to say that the guidelines as unclear and incoherent as it stand in the draft, it is estimated 80% of existing 'farms' will be hard pressed to comply and will eventually have to close. Let alone what unclear,subjective and opague guidelines breed for those compliant.

That's RM1billion in foreign exchange and maybe the same amount of capital investment lost by small time investors from their life savings and retirement fund lost to short sighted and misguided guidelines. (no pun intended).

I again seek you indulgence to nip this in the bud and I offer my service and I am sure many of my fellow small time players to help revisit this guideline if you so desire and direct.

This post has been edited by Cergau: Feb 22 2010, 11:55 PM
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 12:35 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 23 2010, 12:08 AM)
Guess we are going into the countdown.......

but we cannot gives up, we still need to send the message around....it is still CNY...all ppls still in CNY mood or still in holiday.....

where else did we miss out?

we have yet pass this message to all local associations....

we need the contacts, at least the fax no!... anyone here can get it from their friends/relatives in other states to help out to get the no?

We cannot just comment, comment, comment...

Added on February 23, 2010, 12:10 amwe need to contact all the local bn associations and then we can organise a press conference and through the media we can gives all the cabinet members the actual data and the consequences if they take this matter lightly and letting the small napoleon's to take charge and DESTROY the industry!.
Agreed, let's do a roll call of contacts made
Am not a member of any assoc as I do not own a BH yet
My touch points were

1)my local MP
2)Leader of a Opposition party
3)3 Blog writers emailed
4)Najib's blog
5)1 BH equipment supplier
6)WW has contacted his local assoc to contact the umbrella assoc (not certain where WW is from?, Pekan?)

Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 09:51 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Feb 23 2010, 08:17 AM)
This is a violation of our basic rights.  Any law that violates the constitution is null and void.

Entering any private land or building by enforcement agencies without a court order will turn us into a dictatorial country.

Added on February 23, 2010, 8:20 amThis new law will kill off the industry.  Is there no public hearing or any parliamentarians sympathetic to the cause ?
For a country with ISA...What rights?
Police have theirs in some other Act, I know Bank Negara officers too.
They need only show you their IDs.

Search without warrant
7. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in section 6 a
Director for Wild Life and National Parks, a Deputy Director for
Wild Life and National Parks or an Assistant Director for Wild
Life and National Parks may without a search warrant stop and
search any vehicle or enter and search any dwelling house, shop,
business premises or other building where—
(a) acting under a warrant of arrest or exercising his powers
to arrest without a warrant of arrest under this Act, he
has reason to suspect that the person to be arrested is
in the vehicle or dwelling house, shop, business premises
or other building;
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 11:35 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Feb 23 2010, 02:54 AM)
What? Swiftlet, an endangered species? My god, do all of us see sparrows that frequent these days in our courtyards? I hardly see them these days, no longer like last time......whereas, each time I look at the sky at any where, I see swiftlets, sometimes covering the whole sky...... I think sparrow should replace swiftlet to be under Endangered Species.....For your info, swiftlet is no longer classified under Endangered Species in Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia etc. Only Malaysia the only country doing this. ( May be we should highlight this to the PM, telling them how efficient is our PERHILITAN? I think, good point, no joke. Yes, yes, I remember that. i ever saw it. Someone ever highlighted to me. Could someone please help to google that to extract it?)
We can lose credibility and damage our cause if we do not quote facts.
If our foe pokes holes into our case, then we will sound like some bodoh politicians, talk 'AYAM JANTAN'.

To be more exact; in case anyone wish to quote the 'Not Endangered' reason to fight our cause.
Swiftlet specifically Fuciphagus, is not in Schedule 1, 2 or 3 which list Endangered specie.

Fuciphagus is listed in Schedule 4, which according to Perhilitan are for 'wild' Fauna but NOT ENDANGERED.
But anything in Schedule 1-4 comes under their purview.

My initial thought was to break their source of power at this point.
It's a tough one cos' it will go against the now licensed exporters who has the money and influence.
Anyway let's not get on to this for now...it's for another time.
It's important but not urgent.
I can only go into this when there is sufficient support to do the mass publicity effort like happening now.
There's a lot of paperwork to walk this into Parliament, it will be sad, to have it defeated by lack of publicity and MP support.
It's a thankless job.

To quote ChanK
"Stop thinking that we are been govern by the politicians. They are our servant's. Act liked a boss for a start!."

Yes, Democracy works if we wish it to work, not just every 4-5 years. We have to live it and not shy away.
If we do not keep them in check, they become little emperors.

To quote the Lizard King fiasco again....as it's specific to our cause
When asked why a convicted jailbird continue to get licenses to do the very thing that he was jailed for..
"Well, if we do not give him the license, he will do it illegally anyway....such arrogance in the face of the illegality of it all"
In the same line of reasoning ... can we house and harvest swiftlet nest illegally until you grant us the license w/o the hassle. vmad.gif
Let' start exporting too!!! so can get export permit!!!!

We must have a strong civil society to make Civil service (PUBLIC SERVANT), Parliament & Executive in check.
Speak up, comment on forums, blogs, twitter, facebook, write to the papers (if it still exist in 5 yrs).
A lot can be achieved thru these channels. Peaceful demonstrations.
Dun mean to preach...aging does that to you.

"demonstrations"....I can picture Dunsun suddenly perk up with anticipation with a crazy look in his eyes.
Down Dunsun!, Down!! biggrin.gif
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 01:06 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 23 2010, 11:36 AM)
yes indeed bro Cergau. hope our PM do read your comment in his blog and will invite u to join him in his teh tarik session and if he ever did, do inform us we will support u in full force outside the kopitiam !.
I grudgingly respect the position of PM of M'sia, not necessarily the person.
Anyway my comments are still not online yet.
Walk the talk-lah! Service Levels not included in his KPI meh?

To talk "AYAM JANTAN" while we bite our nails
Notice the Comments navigation on Najib's blog?
Terbalik dah!
Last = Oldest
First = Latest
Such ingenuity... new meaning to words.
It's in Reverse-Chronological order.
A new word need to be invented to describe this...1Chrony???
I dun know French 'cept the Fxxx word, would be cool to invent a new french word to describe this,
else all the IT people will be confused and we will be time traveling back & forth while staying still.
Very Matrix-like.

Likely scenario.....
1Day 1n 1Hospital....
Maaf tuan/puan...mengikut butir yg sedia berada kat komputer yg berfungsi saat ini, umur tuan/puan skrang -ve 26 tahun.
Oleh krna itu, appointment doktor memasuk kembali otak tercicir di tangguh kat 30hb Feb 1875.

Yang Ikhlas,
Kong, Ket Leh
DIMP,BDP,ICU,PICU,BTN,TIKUS,MC,KUCING,ITU,INI,SANA,SINI
Sijil Penyertaan Melawat Sambil Belajar
Sijil Penertaan Kursus....banyak sekali (URL links provided)
Masters in Ada projeck-kah? (UNITEN,ELEVEN,TWELEVE)
Dll... (also URL links provided)

This post has been edited by Cergau: Feb 23 2010, 01:36 PM
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 06:03 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Feb 23 2010, 05:30 PM)
Sorry late reply. Been on the road. Trying to get some feedback from a Pakatan MP, just to see if they are aware of this issue... and if they are, what is their stand. I think we need to play both parts of the divide... as long as SSP's interest are protected. MP's should have copies of items to be tabled in advanced.

I welcome anyone to verify the 1GP i posted is genuine or not. I'm beginning to pray that it isn't and that you guys prove me wrong.

Give me time to get more input about this issue. Will update regularly.

About PERHILITAN's authority... its a matter of definition. The issue is not whether its endangered or protected... the issue here is the term 'wild animal' or haiwan liar. I had a bloody lengthy talk with their bahagian perundangan about this.
Quoting Cergau;

"demonstrations"....I can picture Dunsun suddenly perk up with anticipation with a crazy look in his eyes.
Down Dunsun!, Down!!

hahahaha... if it is necessary, you can bet on it!!! participated before in such activities.
I beg Lucas 1, WW, Uncle Ben, Eng Lee or any old guy (i say this with pure affection) to lead our effort. Saying this bluntly, i am too inexperienced politically and lack the finesse of an old timer, but i can do work, korek2 maklumat, run about lobbying friends and erm... other things that might be necessary (and legally, of course).

For now i suggest;

1. We get direct info from MP's. So anyone with contacts, please ask around. Doesn't matter which side of the political divide.

2. Based on the draft 1GP, one of us compile recommendations to ensure the 1GP represents the industry better. This will not work unless a survey or poll is done... this will need elaborate networking & team effort.

3. We follow closely cabinets movement's regarding the 1GP. It takes several tabling before becoming policy (normally). Once tabled, immediately revise the recommendations/memorandum and get as many signatories possible let it be thru associations or individuals.

4. Garner support from your associations, make a stand to reject a non-productive 1GP.

5. Spam every existing forum about this issue.

6. All of us contribute posting to our PM's facebook & 1Malaysia website.... REGULARLY (everyday if possible).

7. If the 1GP tabled somehow suntut's the industry so hard... for instance some unexpected ruling that will wipe out existing BH's... i propose a peaceful demo.

Thanks all.
Dunsun,
I am getting uncomfortable as I am beginning to see that I was presumptious to think Cabinet means Najib.
It's beginning to make sense , PBTs comes under a different Ministry at the Federal level.
It's Muhyiddin we shd be going for. Najib is away in S;wak for 2 days starting Mon.

"However, before the guideline could be adopted by the local authorities, it would be brought to the attention of the National Council on Local Government chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, which is expected to meet March next year."
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...3920&sec=nation
doh.gif

Also, this is a Cabinet level meeting ie Ministers or their designate, nothing to do with ordinary MPs.
We send to MPs to keep them abreast of the facts surrounding the case incase we manage to pull enuff bantahan, it gets into the news.

Sad, WW has reverted that the assoc were all asleep and were asking for info in return.

In addition, I suggest we know start contacting news reporters.
All newspapers have their news portal now. Once it's on the portal, it's in the hardcopy news.
All these can be achieved thru use of the PC alone.

I will volunteer to draft the English version and post here.
From then on, we will need both BM & Chinese translation and forwarding to the Main Stream Newspapers & other alternatives.

Added on February 23, 2010, 6:44 pmChan K,
Are you at liberty to share some more of the EM / O3 treatment?
I wanna to put them in my release.
I recall it was discussed, EM is some kind of Effective Microorganism commonly us in composting right?
1)Is the use widespread?
2)Is it effective in terms of getting rid of the smell?
3)Are you a user or have viewed it's use and testify to it's effectiveness?

What abt the O3 treatment, it's ozone correct?
I know there are mobile units for pest control in fruit export. How is it used? For guano treatment or nest? If guano, the same 3 Qs above.
Pls respond soonest.
Cheers

This post has been edited by Cergau: Feb 23 2010, 06:45 PM
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 07:15 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 23 2010, 07:11 PM)
May I know or should we first find out the person background who are going to table this 1gp to the cabinet. Have they set the meeting?
It's probable that DVS (Vet Services) being the appointed lead agency will table.
Dunsun may have more details.
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 07:44 PM

416 posts

Need help to dig the actual Wild Life Act for both Sabah And Sarawak.
I just need to quote the full title of both act, not the content.

Added on February 23, 2010, 7:59 pmGreen acres, or anyone incase he;s away
Can I request u work out the avg 100,000 BH will produce insted of the monkey nos?
Also a reasonable cleaning service industry nos.
cheers

This post has been edited by Cergau: Feb 23 2010, 07:59 PM
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 08:30 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 23 2010, 08:02 PM)
EM is effective, i used it for over 3 months in my own farms for testing but before that they are already many established farmers used it in their farms.
I tested n found that i no longer smells even slight ammonia after repeated applying it to my farms. I sprayed it to the floor each time i enter the farm which is twice a month. after only one and half month of using it, i found my farms no longer smelly as before. Bird's count increasing, bn count maintain and growing at normal rate.

U have two ways to do it,

one way : u cleaned up the guano n throw into the plastic bag, u spray the activated EM1 with sprayer for few layers. and just leave the bags in the farms

another way which is my way : i spray all the floor with EM1 and then only i collects all the guano into the rubbish bag, after one month i used guano which is now organic fertilizer in my oil palm estate.
Not only me but i knew of farmers that had successfully applied these method and found it to be effective even in attracting birds to come but they normally don't revealed it as this is a secret weapons to them...

(As for O3, i think u guys should researchs more before others revealed it to u. I will post the information i gather about a year ago...that will gives u an idea how we can make use O3 to purify air in ur farm. if u apply O3 at approriate concentration n duration time per day.....ur farm will smell liked... well...can u imagine the air that u smell after storms....Fresh!!!!...)

I shared it here as i know this will helped us in securing the license.
(the only problem is....the small napoleon's not interested with all these...they only trying to make money here!!!...to squeeze u for money!).
Bro Dunsun,

U have done a great job. will try to find more contact no of other association no/fax no....

i do know one guy have all the contacts of these association and only one guy that can kumpul all the industry players in a very short time...

Added on February 23, 2010, 8:09 pm
instead of concentrate in the amount of bn produced by each farm, how about tuning (only my opinion) ur focus in the number of ppls that depended on it to survives?
ChanK, thks
I intend to give them the whole lot. No holds barred. Wanna shoot, shoot bullets, not rubber bullets.
But then I will post here b4, I know we will not be unanimous, so I will make the final call after comments, agter all I am the author biggrin.gif
Cergau
post Feb 23 2010, 09:26 PM

416 posts

1GP (GarisPanduan Perusahaan Sarang Burung Layang Layang)
The promised panacea for the ills of the industry.
60,000 farms currently earning RM1.5bil of foreign exchange awaits the sight of this guideline.
It was variously reported that when this much anticipated guidelines is implemented, it will propel the nation ahead of Indonesia and Thailand the current

leading producers of the Edible Bird Nest. Malaysia currently contributes a mere 6% to the world supply.

Enforcement,licensing bureaucracy and disparate requirements of the local councils (PBT) has been cited as the prime impediment to further growth.
These came to a head when mass raids were conducted in Mukah Sarawak, resulting in eggs going bad and deaths of swiftlet fledlings.
Operators then claimed that though hundreds of applications for licenses were filed and was later revealed that of them 2 were approved.
The situation is reported to have calmed down somewhat with approval of more licenses.

Aerodramus Fuciphagus, the swiftlet specie that produces the Edible Bird Nest in this industry is not a protected specie in any of the producing countries.
This is in tandem with CITES (an international agreement between governments to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does

not threaten their survival, of which Malysia is a signatory). A CITES report has attributed the recovery of this specie to the current commercialisation of

it's nest. Nevertheless it remains in Schedule 4 of the Wild Life Protection Act 1972 (Pen M'sia) and xxxxxxxxxxx for Sarawak and Sabah. As such it remain

under the purview of the respective agencies. Operators are now required to apply for annual licences for 1)Housing the birds and 2)Harvesting of the nests.

3)Export permits (good for once) are granted on a picemeal basis with a tax of RM100 per kilogram of birdnest.
Birdnest (which remain a favourite tourist purchase) is reported to continue to be confiscated at departure lounges of local airports due to the export

licence requirement.

This fledging industry is not without controversy. There has been numerous public complaints over the loud chirping emanating from the farms or birdhouses as operators prefer to call them. Some too claim that they offer sanctuary to the birds and as such bird sanctuaries be more apt a name. It is understood that 3 different chirps are in use. The first with speakers facing out and up at the entrances. Second at at intermediate area (or roving area in the trade speak). The final being at the building internals. It is the first chirp that brings misery to the public. Local councils have now mandated that this first sound are allowed to be used only between the hours of 7AM to 7PM. The Veterinary Services has also offered courses to incalcate good husbandry practices through the GAHP syllabus. Another public complaint is the smell of the guano from within the birdhouses. And current regulation calls for regular cleanup and proper disposal of the same. Being the ever innovative enterpreneur new technoloy (such as Effective Organism -a green composting method is now cathcing on amongst the operators)is being adapted for use and proven effective in terms of neutralising the ammonia whcih is the main contributor to the unpleasant smell. Post application of EM produces guano ready to use as fertiliser. Another is ozone which is now only undergoing trial runs in a small number of birdhouses.

Majority of operators started self funded in mostly abandoned shophouses for economic reasons and the then believe (or trade secret) and layman observations of swiftlets preference for their chosen habitat. Due to the high starup cost (RM400-RM750K), most operators had either pooled family resources and their life savings. It is estimated by operators that the industry now economically support close to half a million of their family dependents.

The government has come to the reaslise it's potential and has allocated a large sum of money in the 2010 national budget to develop the industry .

"ADVANCING AGRICULTURE SECTOR
Fourth: Develop food farming industry such as fruits, vegetables, organic farming, herbs, seaweeds and swiftlet nests with an allocation of RM149

million;" (source: 2010 Budget speech)

It is apparent why the current operators view the the availability of the guidelines with such anxiety and emotions.
They have faced heart wrenching raids and then delighted with promises of assistance.

Prior to the completion of this article and as the date draws nearer to the Cabinet approval of the guidelines (from various press releases), some facets of the guidelines become available to the operators. These were viewed with disbelief as the overall theme tended to be more bureaucracy and further licensing and a host additional conditions that are impossible to comply with.
Impossible conditions, contradictions and incoherent statements in the draft guidelines are now what the operators are viewing from all the months of hoping.

Next I will quote some examples of the guidelines.
I will break for dinner now,
tembak away,
Please check my numbers.
thks

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0744sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:31 PM