23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Bottom

Health Health & Fitness MYTHBUSTERS, Ask your questions, or ask here!

SoccerBro19
post Dec 20 2019, 08:27 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(megatdanial @ Oct 24 2018, 02:08 PM)
Detox tea is a scam. You dont need it to "detox". We have our liver to do that for us.

If you want to lose weight just eat less.

Nice one. good reminder to be careful with supplements
Queen_AQ
post Dec 26 2019, 02:49 PM

62 posts

will doing 100 sit ups a day make my stomach flab go away?
IMBeta305
post Dec 26 2019, 03:20 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Dec 26 2019, 02:49 PM)
nope, you need to control your diet instead.
Queen_AQ
post Dec 27 2019, 03:03 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Dec 26 2019, 03:20 PM)
nope, you need to control your diet instead.
how about overcoming abs separation? heard it's common amongst women who have given birth! hard to get a firm stomach again after that
IMBeta305
post Dec 27 2019, 03:26 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Dec 27 2019, 03:03 PM)
how about overcoming abs separation? heard it's common amongst women who have given birth! hard to get a firm stomach again after that
This I'm not sure. Maybe some other sifus can help clarify.
Queen_AQ
post Dec 30 2019, 10:57 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Dec 27 2019, 03:26 PM)
This I'm not sure. Maybe some other sifus can help clarify.
haha any sifus can help tolongku
Sky_Is_The_Limit
post Jan 2 2020, 11:15 AM

70 posts

Will doing targeted exercises (e.g. abs/arm/legs focussed workouts) only burn fat/build muscle in that area? Or is it still possible to lose overall weight through these though to a lesser extent.
luvjim
post Jan 7 2020, 02:47 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Dec 26 2019, 02:49 PM)
i try before. you won't get the whole stomach flab away. but the upper 2 pack maybe will slightly visible.
but need to control diet, especially dinner.
also take less sugar and carbs.

Queen_AQ
post Jan 7 2020, 02:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Jan 7 2020, 02:47 PM)
i try before. you won't get the whole stomach flab away. but the upper 2 pack maybe will slightly visible.
but need to control diet, especially dinner.
also take less sugar and carbs.
How long you do for before you see change? Did it cause pain for your back?
luvjim
post Jan 7 2020, 03:58 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Jan 7 2020, 02:50 PM)
How long you do for before you see change? Did it cause pain for your back?
about 1 month, but it depends individual.
i'm weight 56kg. i feel sore for my lower back but not pain.

statikinetic
post Jan 8 2020, 07:26 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Is_The_Limit @ Jan 2 2020, 11:15 AM)
Will doing targeted exercises (e.g. abs/arm/legs focussed workouts) only burn fat/build muscle in that area? Or is it still possible to lose overall weight through these though to a lesser extent.
You need to separate the terms "burn fat/build muscle".

Will targetted exercise build muscle in that area?
Generally yes, if you use enough resistance and target the specific muscle. Like the common bicep curls will target your biceps.
I'd recommend compound exercises though if you are just starting up as compared to isolation exercises.

Will targetted exercises burn fat in that area?
Generally no. If you want to drop your bodyfat %, it applies overall throughout your body.
That is why they say abs are built in the kitchen, not in the gym. If this is your target, get a good diet which meets your goals and make time for some cardio.
statikinetic
post Jan 8 2020, 07:29 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Dec 27 2019, 03:03 PM)
If by ab seperation referring to the lines between your abs, it will happen if your bodyfat % is low enough.
Women generally have higher bodyfat than men, so anything below 20% total bodyfat will take some work.

Your abs are always there.
What is blocking them is a thick layer of fat, this correlates with your total bodyfat %. Reduce this layer of fat, your abs will start becoming visible.
Sky_Is_The_Limit
post Jan 9 2020, 01:25 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 8 2020, 07:26 PM)
You need to separate the terms "burn fat/build muscle".

Will targetted exercise build muscle in that area?
Generally yes, if you use enough resistance and target the specific muscle. Like the common bicep curls will target your biceps.
I'd recommend compound exercises though if you are just starting up as compared to isolation exercises.

Will targetted exercises burn fat in that area?
Generally no. If you want to drop your bodyfat %, it applies overall throughout your body.
That is why they say abs are built in the kitchen, not in the gym. If this is your target, get a good diet which meets your goals and make time for some cardio.
Hmmm.. yeah okay i think i get it now. I think for my goals it's best to work on compound exercises and diet like you've said.

But being on a diet in this country with our food is a whole other problem cry.gif cry.gif
Queen_AQ
post Jan 9 2020, 01:51 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Jan 7 2020, 03:58 PM)
about 1 month, but it depends individual.
i'm weight 56kg. i feel sore for my lower back but not pain.
Wah you do every day for one month?? did you change your diet or anything also?
Queen_AQ
post Jan 9 2020, 01:52 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 8 2020, 07:29 PM)
If by ab seperation referring to the lines between your abs, it will happen if your bodyfat % is low enough.
Women generally have higher bodyfat than men, so anything below 20% total bodyfat will take some work.

Your abs are always there.
What is blocking them is a thick layer of fat, this correlates with your total bodyfat %. Reduce this layer of fat, your abs will start becoming visible.
Okay, so i need to focus on losing fat. How can i check my bodyfat %? How to calculate this?
luvjim
post Jan 9 2020, 03:21 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Jan 9 2020, 01:51 PM)
Wah you do every day for one month?? did you change your diet or anything also?
lol not everyday, at most 3 times per week only laugh.gif

ya, not to say very healthy. i just take less rice, bread, sugar.

QUOTE(Queen_AQ @ Jan 9 2020, 01:52 PM)
Okay, so i need to focus on losing fat. How can i check my bodyfat %? How to calculate this?
there's a scale to measure..
i can borrow if you want measure, if you're in KV la..

This post has been edited by luvjim: Jan 9 2020, 03:22 PM
Amedion
post Jan 9 2020, 04:06 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Is_The_Limit @ Jan 9 2020, 01:25 PM)
Hmmm.. yeah okay i think i get it now. I think for my goals it's best to work on compound exercises and diet like you've said.

But being on a diet in this country with our food is a whole other problem  cry.gif  cry.gif
Nothing wrong with the food in our country. Its just how to control yourself only.

Use mirror.
statikinetic
post Jan 9 2020, 09:02 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Is_The_Limit @ Jan 9 2020, 01:25 PM)

But being on a diet in this country with our food is a whole other problem  cry.gif  cry.gif
It's the same in any other country.
We can say the States has super sized burgers and steaks.

Diet doesn't mean starving yourself. It means finding the right foods which you enjoy every day and every week.
It just so happens that those foods also contribute to your nutrition, instead of working against it.

Like the forumer above, use the mirror as a guide.
Knowing your exact bodyfat % doesn't help you do anything. Dropping 1% of bodyfat doesn't mean anything by itself.

At the end of the day, you want to look better and the mirror is the best representation of that.
So don't mind the small data points.
collingwood
post Jan 13 2020, 04:17 PM

53 posts

Most of the body fat scales in the market arent accurate enough unless you get DEXA scan which is expensive and you shouldnt do it more often than 1 time in between 3-4 months.

Buy a fat caliper for cheap and then you can track your measurements, there are several calculator to get a rough number of your bf percentage
Sky_Is_The_Limit
post Jan 13 2020, 05:05 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jan 9 2020, 04:06 PM)
Nothing wrong with the food in our country. Its just how to control yourself only.
Use mirror.
Not saying there's anything wrong, just saying that it's all too good that control is hard lol

23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.0239sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:14 PM