Renovations Type of Grass for House Garden, Selecting type of grass for garden

enriquelee
post Feb 3 2015, 04:03 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Feb 3 2015, 10:23 AM)
Still deciding to purchase or not. Thinking of putting on my garden.
You will not regret to get this tree. It looks very elegant.
HouseToLive
post Feb 5 2015, 03:21 PM

- A.W.E.S.O.M.E -
1,973 posts

Hi can anyone help with these questions? Thx in advance smile.gif
1) I recently invested in Philippine grass for my garden. I realised tht some shaded area, the grass grows upward and longer from those areas where the sun shines on. Normal for such specie? I tot Philippine grass grow sideways & not upwards.
2) I'm looking for suitable trees to be planted in my garden and not looking forward to something tht will grow to be a huge tree in 10yrs time. Any reco? Names & pix r appreciated.
3) I'm very keen on having a feature tree in the garden. In my case a matured white Frangipani would be most ideal. I also understand tht this tree can grow very large in size. Is there a way I can limit its growth?
newbie99
post Feb 6 2015, 08:57 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(HouseToLive @ Feb 5 2015, 03:21 PM)
1) I recently invested in Philippine grass for my garden. I realised tht some shaded area, the grass grows upward and longer from those areas where the sun shines on. Normal for such specie? I tot Philippine grass grow sideways & not upwards.
2) I'm looking for suitable trees to be planted in my garden and not looking forward to something tht will grow to be a huge tree in 10yrs time. Any reco? Names & pix r appreciated.
3) I'm very keen on having a feature tree in the garden. In my case a matured white Frangipani would be most ideal. I also understand tht this tree can grow very large in size. Is there a way I can limit its growth?
Most Zoysia grass need full sun to grow compact. Given the same sun, Japaness are more compact and shorter than Philippine but they are slower grower. Frangipani is a nice tree, not much leave dropping, at the same time give u nice flowers, neat and nice trunk/branch set. They dont grow very tall. If you want to limit the size/height, try using cement ring or plant them in big pots.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Feb 6 2015, 08:57 AM
kamilnu
post Feb 6 2015, 09:23 AM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(HouseToLive @ Feb 5 2015, 03:21 PM)
All grasses will grow upwards if not getting full sun including Phillipe grass. For partial shade areas i would recommend pearl grass.
SUSleonhart88
post Feb 6 2015, 03:32 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 30 2015, 11:39 AM)
Yes, to maintain a good lawn, you need to spend time on it.
Any grass with maintenance free? I think just waste of time liao every 2 weeks need cutting grass
HouseToLive
post Feb 8 2015, 10:21 PM

- A.W.E.S.O.M.E -
1,973 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Feb 6 2015, 08:57 AM)
Most Zoysia grass need full sun to grow compact. Given the same sun, Japaness are more compact and shorter than Philippine but they are slower grower. Frangipani is a nice tree, not much leave dropping, at the same time give u nice flowers, neat and nice trunk/branch set. They dont grow very tall. If you want to limit the size/height, try using cement ring or plant them in big pots.
Can they hide d cement ring inside the soil? Hehee... I've seen some really huge Frangipanis. Prob around 30-40yrs old tree, 2 storey height & very large.

Any comments on bamboo? Wht other trees r recommend for the garden?

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Feb 6 2015, 09:23 AM)
All grasses will grow upwards if not getting full sun including Phillipe grass. For partial shade areas i would recommend pearl grass.
Pearl grass not cow grass rite? Do they looked similar.

enriquelee
post Feb 11 2015, 02:25 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Feb 6 2015, 03:32 PM)
Any grass with maintenance free? I think just waste of time liao every 2 weeks need cutting grass
Maintenance free grass? Artificial grass lor.
set
post Mar 2 2015, 09:17 AM

352 posts

need some serious help, my japanese carpet grass and nearly dying off I want to rejuvenate back, but my budget is tight currently to replace it, planning to buy some japanese carpet grass seed and go from there, anyone know where can I buy those seeds?
ozak
post Mar 2 2015, 10:38 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(set @ Mar 2 2015, 09:17 AM)
need some serious help, my japanese carpet grass and nearly dying off I want to rejuvenate back, but my budget is tight currently to replace it, planning to buy some japanese carpet grass seed and go from there, anyone know where can I buy those seeds?
You need to find out why the grass dying out. Will the new grass grow back?

Unless you have big yard, an ordinary size garden won't cost you much if DIY.
set
post Mar 2 2015, 10:50 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 2 2015, 10:38 AM)
You need to find out why the grass dying out. Will the new grass grow back?

Unless you have big yard, an ordinary size garden won't cost you much if DIY.
bought come herbicide from nursery and spray on them, according to them it will kill my weed but not my japanese grass, but it killed both, i figure it would be pointless to go back to them and argue, so i'm on my own now, lawn around 600sqft
ozak
post Mar 2 2015, 12:48 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(set @ Mar 2 2015, 10:50 AM)
bought come herbicide from nursery and spray on them, according to them it will kill my weed but not my japanese grass, but it killed both, i figure it would be pointless to go back to them and argue, so i'm on my own now, lawn around 600sqft
Alamak kena con.

Using seed, not sure the result is good and satisfy.

But buying in patch, can grow faster. Depend your budget of how many patch of grass can buy. Remember 1 patch 12"x10" is about RM7-7.5.
set
post Mar 2 2015, 12:54 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 2 2015, 12:48 PM)
Alamak kena con.

Using seed, not sure the result is good and satisfy.

But buying in patch, can grow faster. Depend your budget of how many patch of grass can buy. Remember 1 patch 12"x10" is about RM7-7.5.
anywhere i can buy the seed online?
ozak
post Mar 2 2015, 12:55 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(set @ Mar 2 2015, 12:54 PM)
anywhere i can buy the seed online?
Sorry. I have no idea.

You can go to sg.buloh to buy if you prefer.
pokchik
post Mar 2 2015, 02:33 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Jan 31 2015, 05:18 PM)
Currently ongoing grass laying at my house compound:
your compound is flat, but still looking like it has small-sized pebbles/rocks..
will the grass grow evenly then?

kamilnu
post Mar 14 2015, 12:09 PM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Mar 2 2015, 02:33 PM)
your compound is flat, but still looking like it has small-sized pebbles/rocks..
will the grass grow evenly then?
Replaced the current soil with new topsoil of 5" deep. No pebbles or rock. Those that u see are clumped soil only.

This post has been edited by kamilnu: Mar 14 2015, 12:15 PM

pokchik
post Mar 14 2015, 03:03 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Mar 14 2015, 12:09 PM)
Replaced the current soil with new topsoil of 5" deep. No pebbles or rock. Those that u see are clumped soil only.
nice, long lawn.. is that pearl grass?
mine died sometime back.. been growing nice and green,
but did something stupid - switched to wrong fertilizer and they're history now..
kamilnu
post Mar 14 2015, 04:27 PM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Mar 14 2015, 03:03 PM)
nice, long lawn.. is that pearl grass?
mine died sometime back.. been growing nice and green,
but did something stupid - switched to wrong fertilizer and they're history now..
Hybrid pearl grass....white and green stripes. Use organic fertilizers only, don't use synthetic ferts. You can never go wrong.
kamilnu
post Mar 16 2015, 02:42 PM

1,170 posts

And people told me that "new grass always look good"

SUSsupersound
post Mar 16 2015, 02:48 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Mar 16 2015, 02:42 PM)
And people told me that "new grass always look good"
This type of grass you need good care, else it will die very fast.
Tsang
post Mar 19 2015, 04:18 PM

Hi all i need some advice on my Philippines grass on my garden. I cut the grass one a months and fertilize it after cutting but the grass look like unhealthy( yellowish ) . What type of fertilizer is the best for Philippines grass?

This post has been edited by Tsang: Mar 20 2015, 01:21 PM

41 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:51 PM