Renovations Type of Grass for House Garden, Selecting type of grass for garden

newbie99
post Apr 19 2010, 05:16 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(rEktOr @ Apr 18 2010, 07:20 PM)
i am planning to plant carpet grass for my home. The thing is some area will be covered by shades and i'm afraid will have limited sunlight. Which type of grass is suitable?
I have about 4000 sf of pearl grass in my garden. They usually grow well under semi-shade, but leaves are longer and bigger for those area with minimal sun. They require a LOT of water to keep them from having 'burned' look. You need extensive daily watering during the dry season. Weeding is needed once a week once the garden is fully covered.
newbie99
post Apr 20 2010, 09:50 AM

667 posts

I never tried philipine grass. I was recommended pearl grass by the nursery. Cost me something like RM5 for 1x3 ft 11 years ago. Probably cheaper now.

Not very green as in not very environmentally friendly as lawn needs a lot of water. Better to plant trees and shrubs.. less maintenace
newbie99
post Apr 24 2010, 04:51 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Apr 24 2010, 04:36 PM)
hye......i was wondering...is it okay to combine the grass types........ biggrin.gif

im also surveying for carpet grass.......want to cover about 1000sqf  sweat.gif hope RM2k is enough  sweat.gif
One way of reducing cost is chop/split the grass patch into smaller patches, and plant each smaller patch 3 inches from one another, and let them grow, spread and cover the garden. With that, you need only 500 sf of grass. But becareful of weeds. One way of preventing weeds, is to put 3-4 layer of old newspaper on top of your soil, get a small truck load of 'yellow soil (those without the weed seeds)' and cover the newspaper and plant your new grass on top. You will have less weeding to do in future.
newbie99
post Apr 24 2010, 07:35 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Apr 24 2010, 06:13 PM)
great idea...thanks  biggrin.gif will need grass for left, back and right side.... i recalculated the grass area (base on my floor plan that i have)...i seem to be around 2000sqf  ++ shocking.gif  sweat.gif im dead  doh.gif

the plan is all in meters n i have to recalculate in feet....hmm....from the title copy that i have it shows  445.xx meter persegi (didnt minus house area)....i really

my current budget

Landscape
Grass RM2 psf * 1000 2000 .......yeah would be patches but im not in a hurry...... laugh.gif
Upah tanam 150 perday- thats what i survey so far.......
Soil 200
Baja 50
Racun rumpai 50
Sprinkler 50
Gardening MISC/tools 200
Drain Cover Metal/sewere cover/porch cover 500
Pokok pagar 100
batu sungai - curik  laugh.gif i just know a place but i dont intend to disclose it.heheh..
= 3300

assuming all done in one day + I'll DIY myself too, i mean i'll do what i can......
Grass Rm2psf = u need maybe 1000 for 500sf
Upah tanam = free, do it yourself, that's the fun of having garden.
Soil= make sure it's weed seed-free soil, the yellow one deep down.
Baja= no need baja, i never used baja. Be environmentally friendly, collect your overnight urine in a potty, mix 1 part urine per 100 part water and just pour on the grass before you water the grass. Afterall grass being leafy needs all the nitrogen from your urine.
Racun rampai= do it about 2-3 weeks before planting otherwise your grass will die.
Sprinklers= much needed tool
Drain cover and sewerage cover = 1 stainless steel sewerage cover around RM1000. Be innovative, just a piece of granite slab as cover, reinforce the bottom with cement + wire mesh. Cheaper but Probably need expert help with this.
Pokok paga= Much needed
Batu Sungai= Can get from Kampung. Cheaper but ILLEGAL!

By the way, if you are a pilot, 3300 for a garden is nothing..

This post has been edited by newbie99: Apr 24 2010, 07:36 PM
newbie99
post Apr 24 2010, 09:30 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(rEktOr @ Apr 24 2010, 08:36 PM)
will take picture tomorrow  icon_rolleyes.gif
now that's creative! using urine as fertilizer. I saw cheap plastic drain cover. not recommendable ka?
You probably need to replace the plastic drain cover very often, unless you get the uPVC type. Your grandparents probably use the same method to fertilize their vegetables..
newbie99
post Jun 11 2010, 04:28 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(winchaser @ Jun 11 2010, 02:13 PM)
Is it possible to mix two grass types and maintain a defined border between the them?
You will definitely need to spend a LOT of time and effort to keep them apart. Not advisable, unless you have a barrier.
newbie99
post Nov 12 2013, 12:33 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Nov 12 2013, 11:31 AM)
Looking for advise here in preparing my lawn:

I would like to prepare my new house garden land to grow a type of Japanese grass from my dad's house, since I like that species but cannot find in regular nursery shops. The area is about 1000 sqft and is filled with random cow grass & construction debris, some of my questions:

1. How much soil do I need to dig away?
2. How thick topsoil do I need to fill the area with?
3. How thick river sand do I need to fill on top of the soil?
4. Do I need special machinery to level the lawn after step 3?
5. After this, I migrate some Japanese grass (about 5x2 sqft) and spread out for it to grow.
6. Is the above steps correct to grow and spread new grass on this land?
I would dig away or get rid of all old grass and weeds, level the land, put about 3-4 layers of old newspaper on top of the soil to prevent weeds from growing.
Fill the land on top of the newspaper with 2 inches of red soil (make sure it came from deep underground or seed free), then plant your japanese grass.

Make sure u cover with newspaper and top it with seedless red soil, otherwise u will be in for a hardtime weeding your garden for the next 6 months.
newbie99
post Nov 13 2013, 05:03 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Nov 12 2013, 01:09 PM)
only 2 inches of red soil? no need topsoil+sand like what others recommended here? got big price difference?
i just used red soil because a lot of topsoil comes with seeds from the weeds, and they are likely to germinate when u water your lawn. Just make sure you fertilise your lawn well. Red soil is very cheap.
newbie99
post Jul 1 2014, 10:36 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(daydreamingz @ Jun 30 2014, 02:35 PM)
what is the most effective way to remove weeds?

been seeing lots of weed sprouting out from my carpet grass recently
Once the weeds take root, the only effective way is manually remove them..
newbie99
post Jul 1 2014, 04:05 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(daydreamingz @ Jul 1 2014, 12:54 PM)
is there an equipment to remove the weed with the root because sometimes i only remove the weeds without the root and i feel that the weeds regrow very fast
thank you for your advise
Use a fine old screw driver.
newbie99
post Aug 28 2014, 12:14 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 28 2014, 11:50 AM)
i need help with my grass.

at the beginning, they were growing fine, but now, the growth of the grass is not expanding anymore, and they are slowly dying/turning yellowish.

anyone can help? it's just normal grass.
any photo?
newbie99
post Jan 19 2015, 11:27 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Jan 14 2015, 02:24 PM)
MMM..lack of sunlight...i can say that my lawn is evenly expose to sunlight wor...
I have doubt anyone go to dig that...could it be any insect or sort ....
Cutting the edge will expose the non-green part of the grass, i have don this before infact and when it grow back,same things happen.. sad.gif  sad.gif
You should trim it short, to around 2 inch. This will inevitably exposed the brown areas which are the stems. The brown parts will provide new leaves when they are exposed to sun.. The brown patches will get smaller during subsequent trimming. Frequent monthly trimming at 3-3.5 inch will produce nice compact lawn.
newbie99
post Jan 27 2015, 03:48 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(crow190569 @ Jan 26 2015, 08:33 PM)
Hi guys
Just want to ask we plan to plant carpet grass that has slow growth and dense.
Any ideas on the type to use. Anyone knows contractors who can do it after laying some soil. Any recomendations on contractors.
Crow
Try Zoysia Japonica. You can plant yourself. Just make sure the ground is flat, free of stone, other debris and weeds before you cover them with the grass.
newbie99
post Jan 30 2015, 10:10 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(set @ Jan 29 2015, 03:44 PM)
I have some weed problem with my grass, this type, which is very annoying, it is hard to pull them out with the roots because it really snap easily halfway if I pull it too hard, I tried loosen up the soil and pull it, but it is like hydra, I pull one out, it grow back in bigger numbers few days later, and it grow mighty fast and outgrown my grass overnight, help?

[attachmentid=4322235]

[attachmentid=4322237]
Use a screw driver to dig around the weed to remove it. They usually spread through the roots and are interconnected. Dig and trace the roots to all surrounding weeds to remove all.
newbie99
post Jan 31 2015, 08:56 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Jan 31 2015, 01:14 AM)
Meaning that u need to damage the carpet grass which is exactly what i meant. It will be very messy.
No noticeable damage and there's already a network of roots down there. I have been doing that for more than 30 years.. and i find it's one of the most effective way to remove weeds from my lawn.
newbie99
post Feb 6 2015, 08:57 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(HouseToLive @ Feb 5 2015, 03:21 PM)
Hi can anyone help with these questions? Thx in advance smile.gif
1) I recently invested in Philippine grass for my garden. I realised tht some shaded area, the grass grows upward and longer from those areas where the sun shines on. Normal for such specie? I tot Philippine grass grow sideways & not upwards.
2) I'm looking for suitable trees to be planted in my garden and not looking forward to something tht will grow to be a huge tree in 10yrs time. Any reco? Names & pix r appreciated.
3) I'm very keen on having a feature tree in the garden. In my case a matured white Frangipani would be most ideal. I also understand tht this tree can grow very large in size. Is there a way I can limit its growth?
Most Zoysia grass need full sun to grow compact. Given the same sun, Japaness are more compact and shorter than Philippine but they are slower grower. Frangipani is a nice tree, not much leave dropping, at the same time give u nice flowers, neat and nice trunk/branch set. They dont grow very tall. If you want to limit the size/height, try using cement ring or plant them in big pots.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Feb 6 2015, 08:57 AM
newbie99
post May 28 2015, 10:49 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 23 2015, 09:36 AM)
Damn your soil is too salty and get kill.  biggrin.gif
Actually, Zoysia can tolerate salt well, and they are suitable for coastal area.
newbie99
post Jun 29 2015, 11:29 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Jun 10 2015, 11:06 PM)
See the difference. The right portion has lucious growth, green and broad leaves while the other area is washed out. This is because pearl grass cant stand direct sunlight. The right side is in a shady area of my house. There's basically a vertical line separating the two grass conditions.
I used to have 3000 sf of pearl grass. They thrived under full sun, but needed lots of water, mostly twice a day to do well under full sun. The roots are very shallow, and they dry up real fast! Even hen pecking can cause uprooting of the grass. The only advantage is they tolerate shade better than zoysia.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Jun 29 2015, 11:30 AM

0.0211sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:36 AM