125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V21!, The Orange Legion

tanjq87
post Feb 20 2009, 10:40 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 20 2009, 10:31 PM)
you snap with the flash? issit external flash? i find it quite alright...somehow, something is lacking...
snap with external flash.
but i think if it's brighter, the orchid details will be gone?

Added on February 20, 2009, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ Feb 20 2009, 10:36 PM)
It's a bit underexposed. Maybe because lacking highlight tone... You shot it at night?
snap it daytime, but using small aperture to get dark background.

This post has been edited by tanjq87: Feb 20 2009, 10:43 PM
SinnerBuyer
post Feb 20 2009, 10:48 PM

288 posts

Maybe ambient light was drown by flash light.. Instead, try reshot with piece of black board behind it, using brighter aperture. I saw siddiq's experimenting was nice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by SinnerBuyer: Feb 20 2009, 10:49 PM
sidewinderz
post Feb 20 2009, 11:18 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Feb 20 2009, 10:40 PM)
snap with external flash.
but i think if it's brighter, the orchid details will be gone?

Added on February 20, 2009, 10:43 pm

snap it daytime, but using small aperture to get dark background.
haha...cant advice you much, got no flash experience myself...hehe
jsc_tidus
post Feb 20 2009, 11:25 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

or use a flash diffuser..
v1rtual
post Feb 20 2009, 11:46 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

Photo Spam

wanted to try silhouette, but ended up like this..not satisfied
C&C pls

This post has been edited by v1rtual: Feb 20 2009, 11:56 PM
albnok
post Feb 20 2009, 11:49 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

raist86: The brass version is undoubtedly the true B+W version. The alloy one may be the Asian version, which may not be the genuine B+W (B+W themselves offer no way of verifying if a filter is genuine or not...)

The reason why I got the brass version for my 135mm was:

- I wanted to be sure I was getting the real thing, scratchproof and all
- the brass ring does not bind, so the filter will not get stuck on the lens
- the brass ring is more solid, and I will be using 135mm lens without a hood or cap (for size) so it must be able to take an accident if it does happen, especially with heavier lenses
- the brass and alloy ones cost nearly the same

Of course, my smaller lenses all have cheaper filters. I have a Zeiss T* filter for my 50mm. That's small and some of the paint has already worn slightly... but then again it's a very oftenly used lens.

jimlim007, the 5400HS cannot be used wirelessly on digital bodies. You'll want at least a 5600HS or F56. And the F42 can swivel better than the F56 can - it turns clockwise to reach back, which is more practical when using portrait orientation.

So I would rate swivel capabilities:

F36 (up/down) < F56 (up/down/left 180/right 90) < F42 (up/down/left 90/right 90) < F58 (up/down/tilt left 90/tilt right 90)

Refer to mhohner.de or dyxum.com - Sony's sites are quite poorly updated.

signither, a TC can be used for macro - downside is that it reduces aperture and image quality (though, if you have a sharp lens the deterioration is less). On the plus side, a 2x teleconverter can get you from 1:1 to 2:1 easily - with extension tubes, you stack a few and you won't get such high magnification.

sidewinderz, have you looked at the other accessories? The F58 is the cheapest BIG flash at RM1100. The Canon 580EX II and Nikon SB-900 are both RM15xx.

The lens prices, other than the 50mm F1.8 which Sony has not released yet, are pretty much on the same price.

And if you think the Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan is expensive at around RM9xx, remember that the Canon 70-200mm F4L non-IS is more than twice that price.

SinnerBuyer: The 18-250mm is a popular lens. Remember that there are a lot more Sony users than there are on the forum, and not everybody documents their purchases online.

Also, there is no 16-105mm equivalent in any other brand. Nothing else starts at 16mm and ends at 105mm.

The Nikkor 18-200mm VR is more expensive than the Sony 18-250mm.
tanjq87
post Feb 20 2009, 11:58 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ Feb 20 2009, 10:48 PM)
Maybe ambient light was drown by flash light.. Instead, try reshot with piece of black board behind it, using brighter aperture. I saw siddiq's experimenting was nice. smile.gif
actually the backwall is quite dark, i used smaller aperture to get more depth of field of the 3 orchids. hehe, will try ur suggestion when i m free smile.gif

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 20 2009, 11:18 PM)
haha...cant advice you much, got no flash experience myself...hehe
it's ok, we are all learning together. smile.gif

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 20 2009, 11:25 PM)
or use a flash diffuser..
oh ya, i just remembered that i used a bounce card. hmm.gif maybe should get a flash diffuser
raist86
post Feb 21 2009, 12:14 AM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Feb 20 2009, 08:41 PM)
no it's not worth to buy..
no, Minolta - 5600HS(D) is the same with HVL-F56AM..
yeah that makes it not worth to buy laugh.gif
alamak paiseh.. i tot i saw 5600HS instead of 5400HS... both very different model.. Lol.. @.@ need to change specs liao..

was wondering why so cheap.. lol
AlphaBeta
post Feb 21 2009, 12:26 AM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

flash diffuser = stofen?
TSamadeo
post Feb 21 2009, 12:34 AM

Mafia
3,503 posts

stofen is a brand of diffuser laugh.gif
raist86
post Feb 21 2009, 12:36 AM

1,577 posts

yannick's b+w brass 82mm uv is RM 330.. @.@ that's really ex...
that's like 1/3 of my available budget for a month already.. lol
Seng_Kiat
post Feb 21 2009, 01:30 AM

5,580 posts

what is the basic lens should i have if i wanna use it for event and people? is it enough if kit lens?
TSamadeo
post Feb 21 2009, 01:38 AM

Mafia
3,503 posts

Kit lens is a good range lens to begin with.. for event, a flashgun is highly recommended.. especially indoors.. icon_rolleyes.gif
raist86
post Feb 21 2009, 01:39 AM

1,577 posts

if you don't have a flash, i'd suggest to get that first instead of getting another lens. Kit lens with flash can do wonders.

after that, you can think about getting fast lenses better low light performance, especially in places where flash is not allowed.
eviz
post Feb 21 2009, 02:19 AM

47 posts

Does the a700 body only comes with the hotshoe cover/cap?
albnok
post Feb 21 2009, 02:32 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

eviz: Yes, the A700 body only does come with hotshoe cover. Mine did! (Er, didn't you get one already?)
eviz
post Feb 21 2009, 02:33 AM

47 posts

albnok: I got already but inside the box theres no hotshoe cover. @_@
TSamadeo
post Feb 21 2009, 02:34 AM

Mafia
3,503 posts

A100, A700 and A900 suppose to come with one..
albnok
post Feb 21 2009, 02:46 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

That's weird... it would already be ON the camera the moment you take it out of the box.
eviz
post Feb 21 2009, 02:47 AM

47 posts

Alright, thanks. Will call up Boeing tomorrow to check regarding the hotshoe cover.

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:45 AM