126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V9, wtf?! V9 already?!

leinnz
post Mar 18 2009, 12:04 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(anderson1188 @ Mar 17 2009, 01:08 PM)
ya..been to SBH and have some chat with the boss earlier..my budget's around 1.7~2k...as far i know i could only get a Merida Matts 40 with the sum of dough i have..

i've heard that you guys ride at Lendu as well on sunday right??will love to join you guys for ride but still i have yet to acquired my own bike..mind pm me your contact so that i have someone to call when i need help??thanks alot cause still a bike newbie now..><
call me ard tis # 0122791507.
We do go lendu once on sunday morning.
But for now we concentrate on finding trail for our night jamboree. It'll be fun cycling at night. Jus have to b on lookout for wild boar n snakes though.
come ride with us tomorrow for a newbie session
anderson1188
post Mar 18 2009, 12:12 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Mar 18 2009, 12:04 AM)
call me ard tis # 0122791507.
We do go lendu once on sunday morning.
But for now we concentrate on finding trail for our night jamboree. It'll be fun cycling at night. Jus have to b on lookout for wild boar n snakes though.
come ride with us tomorrow  for a newbie session
hmm...heard that you guys are finding trails around alor gajah earlier...still haven't found yet??i loved to but i have no bikes and i've work to do..will try my best to get my bike as soon as possible and ride with you guys...been itching for rides since february till now still no bike for me to do so..haha...
sniper on the roof
post Mar 18 2009, 12:39 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bonesboy @ Mar 17 2009, 04:08 PM)
y bro? pls explain to me. wat happen.
Nothing wrong with Deore ler... best bang for buck for cranks (M542 version), FD and shifters. RD I think SLX a bit more worth it for slightly more money.

Here it goes again... by order of importance for me at least:

Frame > Fork > Wheelset > Dan lain lain.

tongue.gif
leinnz
post Mar 18 2009, 01:07 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(anderson1188 @ Mar 18 2009, 01:12 AM)
hmm...heard that you guys are finding trails around alor gajah earlier...still haven't found yet??i loved to but i have no bikes and i've work to do..will try my best to get my bike as soon as possible and ride with you guys...been itching for rides since february till now still no bike for me to do so..haha...
not sure bout tis. only noe tat we will look for trails around 3 district, Alor gajah, melaka and jasin for our night jamboree
latias93
post Mar 18 2009, 01:07 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 17 2009, 10:51 PM)
chances are its fake...
You mean those China imitations? Hm.. are they any good? Do most of them crafted on 7001 Aluminium or less standard?
leinnz
post Mar 18 2009, 01:09 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 18 2009, 01:39 AM)
Nothing wrong with Deore ler... best bang for buck for cranks (M542 version), FD and shifters. RD I think SLX a bit more worth it for slightly more money.

Here it goes again... by order of importance for me at least:

Frame > Fork > Wheelset > Dan lain lain.

tongue.gif
haha. for me will be wheel set > cranks > rd > shifter > frame > fork.

sniper on the roof
post Mar 18 2009, 01:20 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Mar 18 2009, 01:09 AM)
haha. for me will be wheel set > cranks > rd > shifter > frame > fork.
Yeah.. could agree with that as well in most part. Wheelset feels the most difference, Fork as well... heaven and earth difference. Frame is for comfy comfy fast fast and besides.. it's a biatch to rebuilt everything. Shifter and RD is just so so...I don't feel any substantial difference between deore and XT...at least not the price diff. Crank I don't feel anything from FSA Dyna --> Deore --> SLX

Added on March 18, 2009, 1:24 am
QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 18 2009, 01:07 AM)
You mean those China imitations? Hm.. are they any good? Do most of them crafted on 7001 Aluminium or less standard?
This word I learn from this thread wan.... " Replica" frame:P

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Mar 18 2009, 01:24 AM
latias93
post Mar 18 2009, 01:33 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 18 2009, 01:20 AM)
This word I learn from this thread wan....  " Replica" frame:P
Oh yeah, thanks for reminding. Wonder if those replica frames any standard? Had a friend with a replica GT Avalanche 2.0 and didn't suspect it was 'ahem' xD

Wonder if replica DH frames would break easily..

.. and I wonder if there are REPLICA SHIMANO SAINT?

This post has been edited by latias93: Mar 18 2009, 01:33 AM
TSNightstalker1993
post Mar 18 2009, 01:46 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

i was previously using a replica GT Avalanche and it managed to survive me a couple of months before being sold and replaced with the chucker, which cracked after 6 months which was again replaced by my sputnik lol...

and only immitation products i know of are frames, CK headsets, non-moving parts like seatposts, stem, bars and saddles...

immitations of more complicated stuff like RD, shifters and stuff are unheard of...
latias93
post Mar 18 2009, 02:21 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 18 2009, 01:46 AM)
i was previously using a replica GT Avalanche and it managed to survive me a couple of months before being sold and replaced with the chucker, which cracked after 6 months which was again replaced by my sputnik lol...

and only immitation products i know of are frames, CK headsets, non-moving parts like seatposts, stem, bars and saddles...

immitations of more complicated stuff like RD, shifters and stuff are unheard of...
Your Sputnik memang camo paint or you custom made?

LOL I was hoping ada jual Shimano Saint/Yumeya replica xD all those black/gold bling on mah bike!
sniper on the roof
post Mar 18 2009, 02:21 AM

23,414 posts

Let's put it this way.. I'm in the manufacturing industry with production in China. Nothing bike related of course but I suppose its more or less the same regardless.

Real 7075 and 6061 alloys are expensive... the mega big manufacturers have mega big volume so naturally they're get things cheaper.

Mega big manufacturers don't do unauthorized "branding" aka replicas... so if there's a chance that it can't be the real deal...something else could be in the alloy mix. Just guess work here.

There's this interesting experience with plastic parts whereby the supplier added something else into the mix to cut down cost by a few cents ( a few cents x a few million unit is a lot of money)... a small undetectable percentage but at the end, after 6 months... higher than usual failure rates (not every piece fails but a abnormally high percentage). Not every unit will break of course.

I can't speak for the malaysian market but I would rather go for a cheap unbranded/local brand frame than a replica. At least there's somebody behind the product. Piracy is morally incorrect so... ya never know the story behind it.... you know lar all those stories about fake salt lar, fake rice, fake egg...

Added on March 18, 2009, 2:22 am
QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 18 2009, 02:21 AM)
Your Sputnik memang camo paint or you custom made?

LOL I was hoping ada jual Shimano Saint/Yumeya replica xD  all those black/gold bling on mah bike!
Use NS style gold spray paint lo...lagi jimat

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Mar 18 2009, 02:25 AM
leinnz
post Mar 18 2009, 08:57 AM

oldfags
755 posts

replica frame is ok. As so far heard of none...

but imitation frame is a no no... grumble.gif grumble.gif
lots of imitation one i heard of get broken easily even on a normal XC course.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 18 2009, 02:46 AM)

i meant for me Wheelset = Mavic SLR, crank from FSA carbon, Shifters would be Sram X-9, RD = Sram X-0 Carbon, FD = XTR.
Tat would be good for me in near future.
i've tried riding with this and it's light and easier to pedal when goin uphill course compare to my recent bike setup.

BTW i am XC rider.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 18 2009, 02:20 AM)
Yeah.. could agree with that as well in most part. Wheelset feels the most difference, Fork as well... heaven and earth difference. Frame is for comfy comfy fast fast and besides.. it's a biatch to rebuilt everything. Shifter and RD is just so so...I don't feel any substantial difference  between deore and XT...at least not the price diff. Crank I don't feel anything from FSA Dyna --> Deore --> SLX

Added on March 18, 2009, 1:24 am

This word I learn from this thread wan....  " Replica" frame:P
iman_210
post Mar 18 2009, 09:54 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

SLX rd is best bang for the buck for choice of replacement rather than a xtr...
Lord_darkslide
post Mar 18 2009, 10:00 AM

537 posts

sebelum beli... pasti kan ori...
pasti puas hati... hhehehehe

but how to know its original or not...

i dunno.... some say material... some say geometry....some say price...

ober
post Mar 18 2009, 11:28 AM

1,431 posts

ive been drugged. my face is turning red now.
latias93
post Mar 18 2009, 12:31 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 18 2009, 02:21 AM)
Let's put it this way.. I'm in the manufacturing industry with production in China. Nothing bike related of course but I suppose its more or less the same regardless.

Real 7075 and 6061 alloys are expensive... the mega big manufacturers have mega big volume so naturally they're get things cheaper.

Mega big manufacturers don't do unauthorized "branding" aka replicas... so if there's a chance that it can't be the real deal...something else could be in the alloy mix. Just guess work here.

There's this interesting experience with plastic parts whereby the supplier added something else into the mix to cut down cost by a few cents ( a few cents x a few million unit is a lot of money)... a small undetectable percentage but at the end, after 6 months... higher than usual failure rates (not every piece fails but a abnormally high percentage). Not every unit will break of course.

I can't speak for the malaysian market but I would rather go for a cheap unbranded/local brand frame than a replica. At least there's somebody behind the product. Piracy is morally incorrect so... ya never know the story behind it.... you know lar all those stories about fake salt lar, fake rice, fake egg...

Added on March 18, 2009, 2:22 am

Use NS style gold spray paint lo...lagi jimat
Hm.. yea.. stick to original.. LOL good idea but no thanks.. scared later botched paintjob >.<

sniper on the roof
post Mar 18 2009, 01:31 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Mar 18 2009, 08:57 AM)

i meant for me Wheelset = Mavic SLR, crank from FSA carbon, Shifters would be Sram X-9, RD = Sram X-0 Carbon, FD = XTR.
Tat would be good for me in near future.
i've tried riding with this and it's light and easier to pedal when goin uphill course compare to my recent bike setup.

BTW i am XC rider.
I sense a weight weenie in the making. Hehehehee....

Last night while I was partially drunk... I've been thinking about the mistress (commuter bike No.2) with budget in mind that I recently gatal about.

Frame: Voodoo Bokor or Bizango preffered painted puke green
Fork : SASO carbon fork painted puke green
Wheelset: Mavic Crossride with stickers removed
Tires: Maxxis Overdrive 26x1.75 + Stan's tubeless goo
Crank: Any roadie 36T crankarm
Shifter: SRAM X0 twist tongue.gif .... darn cheap these days.
RD: SRAM X9 and tape the SRAM logo.
Saddle: WTB Rocket V
monkey13
post Mar 18 2009, 03:04 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 17 2009, 09:51 PM)
Guys.. I wanna grab that Kona Coiler Deluxe frame at BBS.. trying to persuade my mom (as always).. It's only RM680 WTF why so cheap.. hey you guys know the price of a Fox Float RC (w/lockout) in the market now?
How much did you buy YOUR T-Bolt? brows.gif
Cool! Sounds interesting. Any idea which trails they gonna hit? I pray that is is 2k.
I'm using full XT right now on my GT Backwoods. It's damn well good! Although mine is at least 6/7 years old it still runs smooth as a SLX/Saint. Probably because the bike has only been used a few times xD (it's my dad's bike, he works off-shore so he gave it to me recently)
bro...da frame is an imitation frame..
sum1 in BBS confirm it with me..
bt even so,it is still a gud bargain...

QUOTE(rushmode @ Mar 17 2009, 11:21 PM)
aaron chan dirtworks?
build up.. left at my fren's shop.. no wheelset.. summore all flat black.. neec a few colorful screws and components to bling it up. no fund yet.. believe it or not my Feb salary tak dapat lagi.. living off my "currently running empty" saving now.. kesian  cry.gif
yeap...AC of Dirtworks...
TechnoDude94
post Mar 18 2009, 03:42 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(ober @ Mar 18 2009, 11:28 AM)
ive been drugged. my face is turning red now.
Pictures of Ober's red face demanded now! tongue.gif
iman_210
post Mar 18 2009, 03:59 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 18 2009, 01:31 PM)
I sense a weight weenie in the making. Hehehehee....

Last night while I was partially drunk... I've been thinking about the mistress (commuter bike No.2) with budget in mind that I recently gatal about.

Frame: Voodoo Bokor or Bizango preffered painted puke green
Fork : SASO carbon fork painted puke green
Wheelset: Mavic Crossride with stickers removed
Tires: Maxxis Overdrive 26x1.75 + Stan's tubeless goo
Crank: Any roadie 36T crankarm
Shifter: SRAM X0 twist tongue.gif .... darn cheap these days.
RD: SRAM X9 and tape the SRAM logo.
Saddle: WTB Rocket V
another pricy mistress to maintain...

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:55 AM