7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V9, wtf?! V9 already?!

latias93
post Mar 25 2009, 11:27 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 25 2009, 10:44 PM)
dual crown and single crown have no diffrence in its ability to absorb impact(provided with the same internals), dual crown is a LOT stronger and stiffer than a single crown which is why ppl use it for dh...
I knew it was stronger, but I didn't know it was has the same impact absorption with single crowns. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 25 2009, 11:18 PM)
better than me...

i had never passed my chinese after entering secondary lol...
Haha.. most of my friend who take Chinese either fail or pass but not more than 50%... and about a quarter of them drop the subject already.. my school allow.. you got drop ah?
latias93
post Mar 26 2009, 04:13 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 26 2009, 01:15 PM)
For the Epicon fans

[attachmentid=868574]
Nice.. will get an Epicon '09 once my SR Suntour XCR Commencal White time to change.. laugh.gif
latias93
post Mar 26 2009, 06:10 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(khayhin @ Mar 26 2009, 06:01 PM)
do u know where to get a proton t bolt in penang?
Sorry dude, I do not know where in Penang.. but there are some Penangites in here too, wait for them to come along, I'm sure you can find it! biggrin.gif
latias93
post Mar 27 2009, 08:21 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 27 2009, 05:51 PM)
I have to remove both tires to fit my Toyota VIOS.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 27 2009, 06:06 PM)
i have to fold down the seats to put my bike in the boot, with both wheels detached sweat.gif
Ha.. I don't need to remove anything.. my Toyota Land Cruiser can fit 3 bikes in the back with only one second row seat folded laugh.gif
latias93
post Mar 27 2009, 10:01 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 27 2009, 09:58 PM)
my potong wira can fit 2 bikes without detaching any wheels  rclxms.gif still with enough space for 5 adults in the car. wuahahahaha
Because you got bike rack! laugh.gif
latias93
post Mar 27 2009, 10:26 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(Broadica @ Mar 27 2009, 10:12 PM)
i wish i did ... then can carry everyone bikes in this tread at one go.. hahaha
Yeah.. then can uplift all our bikes to summit then all go downhill.. no need push uphill all the way anymore laugh.gif
latias93
post Mar 27 2009, 11:45 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(snapshots @ Mar 27 2009, 10:35 PM)
so who'll b thr this sunday?
Can't make it this Sunday as I am joining the Selangor Mountain Bike Challenge sad.gif
latias93
post Mar 28 2009, 12:27 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Mar 28 2009, 12:02 AM)
ill try to make it smile.gif if possible la... too far to go there from MELAKA.. laugh.gif
All the way from Melaka? Alamak jauh nya!
latias93
post Mar 28 2009, 10:32 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(monkey13 @ Mar 28 2009, 03:40 PM)
jus sumthing update i got from other riders..
juicy 3 is ok la.... bt it need to b service quite often...
so in other word,its not da maintenance wise...

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 28 2009, 05:37 PM)
juicy 3? a big no. it seems to leak at everywhere LOL. hahahaha
KIARA Fun Ride
opens to newbie only. semi pro must let me know first if u wanna join  biggrin.gif
meeting point : KSH TTDI
Time : 8am
Juicy 3? Me using Juicy 3 cry.gif

latias93
post Mar 29 2009, 01:28 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 28 2009, 11:25 PM)
so u coming tomorrow ?
Sorry bro, can't attend your Kiara Fun Ride because I am joining the Selangor MTB Challenge tomorrow (technically, today).. at Sungai Buloh.. I saw the name list, about 250 people attending the event.. some from Indonesia also got.. a number of ang mohs also join.. including this guy called Pat Brunsdon who if I am not mistaken is the guy responsible for the trail maintenance in Kiara

No one in this forum joining ah the race?

http://selangormtbchallenge.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by latias93: Mar 29 2009, 01:35 AM
latias93
post Mar 29 2009, 04:21 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 29 2009, 01:38 AM)
kena bayar kawan smile.gif
Apa lah.. you ada kerja I takda kerja..

Anyway short summary for Selangor MTB Challenge - IT WAS A FRIGGIN MUD FEST!

The first part is tarmac, and it was easy as hell, perhaps one time where you could smoke out any pros that you like before they start smokin' you out later. Entered some shitty clumpy-mud roads where the gardeners use their old beat-up Nissan trucks and motor kapcai with sidecar to transport lovely carpet grass to the customers outside. Here some potholes in the path are watery so one must try not to be cycling directly behind another rider to avoid splashing shit water into the face. Then, got a highway overpass ahead, we have to cycle under the overpass with a clearance so low that almost everyone bends down their head while cycling under it.

After some time we enter a 4WD track and here your tyres can be easily be stuck in thick mud. There is the river crossing which was fun, and then, the gigantic uphill HIKE. The gradient is so steep, the path is so narrow (Kiara sized), and it is the most slippery part. Everyone is fighting to be the first to carry their bike up the slope, which is about 100-200m long. Bla bla bla we went on out to this place with lots of sand and brief downhill.

I'm too lazy to write so much anymore because after this everyone is praying to God to keep them alive nod.gif and was barely noticing much. About 80% of the whole ride was UPHILL! I don't think so NS can survive this whistling.gif. Even maxguy who has nice toned legs could struggle to pedal uphill!

It's so so so so so so tiring.. most people wanna give up but shit we paid RM50 for a bottle of mineral water, a white t-shirt with logos of Powerbar and several Kerajaan-affliated logos (including a Pusat Penyakit Kusta Malaysia, WTF!), and our 'number plates', we went on.

Bla bla bla and the inevitable happened. I already passed the last checkpoint when suddenly my chain PUTUS! Bah! Sat down unhappily and had fun counting the number of people that arrive at checkpoint after me (about 50+!). Hoho.. the last man to arrive was using a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR.. what a waste.. tsk.. nobody want to lend me their chain cry.gif

I think I am the only person to achieve a DNF status... (Did Not Finish)
latias93
post Mar 30 2009, 06:40 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(maxguy @ Mar 29 2009, 10:47 PM)
Kiara XC full loop ride
Date: April 5, 2009 Sunday morning
Time: 8.00am Ride
Venue: Bukit Kiara
park your vehicle at Taman Rimba Kiara, start ride from here

This long ride will be 3 hours in length and offer 15-18km of singletrack and vary technical trails. Please feel free to join in the ride and all level riders are welcome

please contact scotty and maxguy for direction, thanks
Looks fun! May I know the names of the trails that we will be entering? I WANNA JOIN!

EDIT: Crap forgot that I will be in Penang on that day for giant family gathering.. maybe I will join the week after laugh.gif

This post has been edited by latias93: Mar 30 2009, 06:43 PM
latias93
post Mar 31 2009, 06:45 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 31 2009, 03:55 PM)
i reckon the V brakes. its good enough even for kiara ride smile.gif
Brakes pads consist of rubber compound mixed in with 40% 24-karat gold!
latias93
post Apr 1 2009, 08:22 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Apr 1 2009, 08:17 AM)
Hey bro, if not mistaken. The route that you took is the same route that my cycling-mates and I take.
If not mistaken, this is the route:
Start at, Sg. Buloh Hospital -> Go through Botanical Garden with a lot of plants and carpet grass for sale -> Go through Leprosy Hospital (Pusat Penyakit Kusta Malaysia) -> Go uphill (very steep) -> Quite near FRIM already right? That's the way to enter FRIM with bypassing the entrance fee. tongue.gif The downside is that you'll be dead-tired by the moment you *actually* enter into FRIM. doh.gif
Yeah! But we get exhausted faster due to the slippery mountain 'hiking' section at the second stage.. yeah we also went up Steroids Hill (and a kajillion other similarly tiring hills). You can say that we rode part of FRIM biggrin.gif

The Pusat Penyakit Kusta has a very sad air there.. the old site, I mean. All those small detached single-storey houses. It's like something BAD happened there many years ago. Then again, it was bad enough without anything bad (like a mass suicide pact) to happen there.

QUOTE(huh? @ Apr 1 2009, 07:25 PM)

if you are willing to go to singapore
get this.. and yes its no longer in production anymore...has been replaced with NS majesty if im not mistaken..

price is around RM1k for the frame alone..

or if you are not into hardcore dirt jumping.. get NS surge... not sure about the price though.. i got mine second hand at singapore for RM710 ( 300 singapore dollars )

its a FR HT frame that can take up to 160mm travel front forks.. im running manitou travis 150mm with it right now..

Cromoly is the way to go.. hahahaha

Added on April 1, 2009, 7:28 pm
if you are willing to go to singapore to get a DJ frame.. there is plenty here
just use the advance search.. you should be able to find one that is cheaper than 1k.. smile.gif
Guys, I heard in Singapore from my friend that you can get branded bikes cheaply from Sungei Road (not far from Bugis Junction).. but they are 98% stolen bikes xD. It's at those street-side vendors selling knick knacks along the stretch of the road.. if you know the right guy then he can show you the 'hidden stock' cool2.gif

Then again I don't think so buying fake goods is good.. just to add to your street smart info tongue.gif

latias93
post Apr 2 2009, 06:52 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 2 2009, 12:01 PM)
Trivia Spam

Today's edition of trivia spam.

Despite what's written on the logo.. KHS really stands for "Kung Hsue Se" ( 功學社 ).
I didn't know that. I thought it meant 'Kona Had Sucked' (which Kona wouldn't, certainly!)
latias93
post Apr 5 2009, 09:55 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

Sorry guys I didn't come to the Kiara ride. I was in Penang for family gathering (brought bikes along). Any Penangites cycling around Batu Feringghi/Tanjung Bungah/Teluk Bahang saw an orange Santa Cruz and a red Commencal bike, that'd be my dad and me. Tak sempat go to the place where the Penang downhill rides take place.
latias93
post Apr 6 2009, 09:32 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(maxguy @ Apr 6 2009, 05:45 PM)
Kiara Weekend XC Fun Ride
Date: 12th April 2009 Sunday morning
park your vehicle at Taman Rimba Kiara or KSH TTDI, start ride from here

This long ride will be 3 hours in length and offer 15-18km of singletrack and vary technical trails. Please feel free to join in the ride and all level riders are welcome

safety gear like helmet and glove is a must

gobi xm  notworthy.gif

rocket v slt  thumbup.gif

speedneedle  drool.gif

I might be there on Sunday for the XC ride. Kiara is missing me! Anyway guys I am getting platform pedals for my Commencal (anyone who's seen/remembered it from last time might know that my pedals are very sharp!) and I am thinking of getting a pair of Kona Jackshits. Any personal experience? This Jackshit pedal is within my price range (RM85) and I don't want any pro but blown-off priced pedals such as this Crank Brothers platforms in Joo Ngan bike shop costing about <RM300.

BTW maxguy, if you are asking us to choose between the three saddles, I'd choose the Gobi XM.
latias93
post Apr 9 2009, 07:50 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Apr 9 2009, 07:24 PM)
Urgent!
I need the address for KSH @ TTDI.
Btw, my name is "Adrian" and my number is "017-2082622".
LOL KSH TTDI is right in front of the IBM (now Vads) building. Hope this helps. I might make it to the ride too this Sunday if all is well. I seriously need pro people to guide me through the more inner tracks of Kiara.. so far only been to the 'near-near' ones.
latias93
post Apr 9 2009, 10:46 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(snapshots @ Apr 9 2009, 08:03 PM)
yeah...join us this sunday....big group this sunday....
dont might make it la....come la...you've been missing for two weeks d....this time going quite deep inside man...so u betta make it. biggrin.gif
Hoho.. 2 weeks already ah? Felt so long LOL.. yeah I want to experience the 'real' Kiara.. 80% chance I will make it, Scotty can morning call me ah? Scared failed wake-up plan.

QUOTE(maxguy @ Apr 9 2009, 08:36 PM)
Kiara's trail building guru Patawi's latest kiara map 2009 version Pat's 2009 Bukit Kiara Trail Map

very deep inside one, haha
Couldn't find a download link.. do upload it here in LYN if you have managed to get a copy of the new map.
latias93
post Apr 10 2009, 01:18 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Apr 9 2009, 10:51 PM)
A gentle reminder for those who are interested with bkt kiara ride.
Kiara XC full loop ride
Date: April 12, 2009 Sunday morning
park your vehicle at KSH TTDI, start ride from here

please contact scotty and maxguy for direction, thanks

1) Scotty - jamis user (newbie)
2) maxguy - giant Reign user (semi pro)
3) Nightstalker - Da Bomb Sputnik ( junior DH pro)
4) Snapshot - BH user (advance newbie)
5) Bonesboy - Nexus user (advance newbie)
6) radmaszeal - Lerun user (newbie)
7) latias93 - Comencal user (advance newbie)
8) azrene - Jamis user ? (newbie)
9) fade76 - ???????
10) havenzhiv - Kuda Besi (super advance powerful newbie)
11) technodude - t-bolt user (advance newbie)
12) kawan technodude
13) kawan technodude

Pls confirm your attendance

1) ober
2)
3)
4)

pls bring plenty of water. expect a lot of mosquito. helmet is a must. full face or half face. prefer rider with gloves smile.gif
Haha scotty, you put yourself as plain 'newbie'.. why so humble LOL.. I will come for the ride if there are nothing stopping me from it icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 10 2009, 03:04 AM)
i cycle to school and so far so good lol...
Yeah.. me too.. but still haven't brought the Commencal to school yet.

QUOTE(maxguy @ Apr 10 2009, 08:57 AM)
Pat's 2009 Bukit Kiara Trail map, latest map courtesy of Patawi and www.fakawitribe.com. Thanks  rclxms.gif
Thanks bro, now all I need to do is convert the file into JPEG and load it into my phone cool2.gif

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Apr 10 2009, 10:18 AM)
To maxguy:
I just saw your video regarding Kiara's 2K trail.
I must say that it's an awesome video but may I know the title of the song? icon_rolleyes.gif
To other people:
If you wanna see maxguy's video of him cycling Kiara's 2K trail, please watch

Thanks for sharing the video, Dude. Didn't see that one before. His riding is so smooth in the video! I rewatched the part where he rode over the roots (most of us stop to align our wheels with the roots in case of slipping).

QUOTE(scotty @ Apr 10 2009, 10:25 AM)
wah my sifu doing 2k. terror  rclxms.gif as u guys see he can do the whole trail without using any brakes  tongue.gif
Yeah.. if we remove his brakes also he would succeed in completing 2k loop tongue.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0672sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:30 PM