32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

jazzy939
post Apr 16 2010, 08:06 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Do more reading, boy. You need it. biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 18 2010, 03:32 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

AME as in?
Aircraft Maintenance Engineering?

QUOTE(LOREAL @ Apr 18 2010, 02:11 PM)
If i have Degree in AME .... What are the TYPES of job opportunities available for me ???  icon_question.gif  n where can i work ??
Just wanna know !!  biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 21 2010, 01:41 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You can spend 70k locally and still get your LWTR. max, 4 years.
2 years 3 months? May be for a cert. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Apr 21 2010, 12:37 AM)
hi, i got a question here. does it worth it to spend rm150k including living expenses (my estimation) for studying aircraft maintenance course in college of city of bristol? diploma + EASA. 2 years and 3 months.
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 21 2010, 01:41 AM
jazzy939
post Apr 21 2010, 07:57 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

There's only 3 approved training organisation in Malaysia... How hard can that be? biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 21 2010, 01:28 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

MIAT offer you Dip.+ LWTR
This is strictly LWTR so MIAT is out of the question.
Now left with 2 schools.
One is only for FELDA children and MAS staff.. you can strike that out.
The balance is your answer. tongue.gif

QUOTE(monster_crunch @ Apr 21 2010, 10:48 AM)
MIAT, jazzy you are referring to?
jazzy939
post Apr 21 2010, 05:22 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I stand corrected.
jazzy939
post Apr 21 2010, 11:09 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

who me? a 4th. year batch? tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2010, 07:36 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

An aptitude test I presumed..
Knowing MAS, they want only the best! tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2010, 02:54 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I was! biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2010, 05:44 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Yes. NDT processes like oil and chalk process(hot oil included), dye penetrant (red dye and flourescent), ultrasonic, eddy current are covered in the syllabus.
Rest assured, you will be asked during the exam.
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2010, 06:32 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

AHA! Not going to reveal here but I am still directly involved in the aviation industry in a private sector. The aviation circle is 'small' in Malaysia and I have been 'around'.. but lets not get into there!
This thread is for you guys who have interest to take up LWTR and I am here just updating myself with the current happenings. May give a pointer or two as required.
I am still a holder of a valid DCA's AMEL with a type rating endorsement (B737-200 landplanes).

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 23 2010, 08:08 PM
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2010, 10:26 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

It doesn't work that way, yorkhan. tongue.gif
If you have queries that can be of the public interests, post it here. Somehow somebody (some lurker)may be able to help/answer.
Anything else free to PM me. It is at my discretion to response. wink.gif

midnightproject,
I am A&C by trade.

QUOTE(yorkhan @ Apr 23 2010, 09:35 PM)
jazzy! pm me la...biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 23 2010, 10:27 PM
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2010, 01:28 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Thats where you are wrong..
A&C trade still need to know the avionics trade, we have basic avionics, the mandatory basic digital avionics prior working with digital/fly by wire aircrafts. Attending a type rated course now esp. manufacturer's course will include ALL trades in the same session.

There's no longer a definitive separation between mechanical and avionics trade now.. just limited by your license trades/categories..

Your current instructors fall short of your expectations..? hmm.gif

QUOTE(midnightproject @ Apr 24 2010, 12:00 AM)
doh.gif ..i thougt u r Avionics..still lack of knowlege..need sifu tongue.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 24 2010, 01:31 AM
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2010, 01:30 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Wonder why you're asking on behalf of your friend... tongue.gif

What is it specifically in the GA that your friend wanted to know?

QUOTE(yorkhan @ Apr 24 2010, 01:07 AM)
lol..okok...coz i wanna know more about GA if ur in that section. coz my fren is curious to know how issit like also:D
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2010, 06:50 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Personally, if you want my advice, I'd say go to GA.
Honestly this is where the MONEY is! Forget the glamour of working with big jets and big airlines.. GA pays the same or better.
What career advancement? You're a licensed engineer! The whole engineering dept and functions is YOU! laugh.gif
C'mon DCA is the authority lah. Type courses are conducted by the aircraft manufacturers.. you go to them either sent by the company or pay the course by yourself. Most gA outfit is small.. so think small. They wont be having set ups like MAS or AA or TML.
Do you know whats the difference between Aeroplane I and II syllabus?
There is a MAJOR shortage of LAEs in GA, rotary wing included. Anyone with just LWTR will be offered a job in a snap.

Ponder this: is there ANY LWTR holder, LAE that is out of job?
However there are thousand of flight cadets right now without a job... wink.gif

QUOTE(yorkhan @ Apr 24 2010, 01:39 AM)
job prospect? pay? career advancement? type course issued by dca or company?  hows the oral for aeroplane 1 and piston? companies currently looking for LAE?

just a few:D
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2010, 06:54 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Any LAE should be able to guide/help you out. Just a matter how you approach them. biggrin.gif
I left MAS in 97.. laugh.gif
Not many of the engineers hang around forums like this one... tongue.gif
Mistakes/errors are okay at this point of time.
We have no room for error when you're exercising your priviledges later..

QUOTE(midnightproject @ Apr 24 2010, 02:16 AM)
if i'm working with MAS, i'll find u to gain more knowledge brows.gif
ahh..got mistake on my previous post.hope u didnt misunderstood  sweat.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 24 2010, 06:56 AM
jazzy939
post Apr 26 2010, 03:04 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Some you learn now, some you picked up along the way..
5 years after exercising your priviledges, then only you can call yourself experienced. Now thats roughly 10 years!
jazzy939
post Apr 30 2010, 08:05 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

What question? hmm.gif
Airlines esp. MAS and AA pays the pilot obscenely well.
LAE? Like an insult! vmad.gif
LAE in MAS still graded staff, flies ECONOMY Class.

QUOTE(midnightproject @ Apr 30 2010, 01:12 AM)
is it?LAME got salary till 5digit right??hope mr jazzy/azameel can answer my q.
and if the answer  nod.gif ,lets ask them to 'open table'. laugh.gif  laugh.gif
jazzy939
post May 6 2010, 07:12 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Whats UAV gotta do with civil aviation?

jazzy939
post May 6 2010, 01:54 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You don't get it anywhere lah. doh.gif
It is a letter that you write to MAS applying for the advertised position.
The addressee will be mentioned in the advert.

QUOTE(git0926 @ May 6 2010, 12:14 PM)
hey, mas set up a intake in sabah of Trainee Junior Technicians, there mention need to bring along letter of application, can i know where can i get it?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: May 6 2010, 01:54 PM

32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0559sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:41 PM