5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Sony Bravia Z KLV-40Z450A Impressions, 40" 1080p/24 Bravia + Motionflow 200Hz

deng8895
post Jan 29 2009, 02:09 AM

788 posts

I saw one demo unit being played at Senn. Wah lau.. super clear and the normal jagginess no longer obvious. Normally for lcd tv, if u got nearer to the tv, u will notice color noises, but this model has very very little color noise. I am impressed. However price, as expected is higher than the normal version...
TSstringfellow
post Jan 29 2009, 03:01 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(hasratusaha @ Jan 28 2009, 07:44 PM)
Almost 2 month already running my Dvico HDM7000 A with my Bravia X450A. That day tested using My Dvico at Sony Style D Curve, New Z series cannot lawan X Series la.
Nobody says the Z can compete with the X. Get off your fcuking horse. rolleyes.gif The X remains, and still is, the Signature series of the Bravia lineup. It is just that I was sold on the concept of Motionflow 200Hz, that I brought myself to get the Z. If you want to be anal and start comparing numbers then, your Motionflow PRO is only 100Hz, compared to the Z's 200Hz. But then again, if an RM8,499 HDTV can demolish your X, then you'd be in serious problem and starts checking if your purchase is wise, would'nt it? Put your X next to my Pioneer Kuro 9th Gen. PRO-151FD and see who "cannot lawan" who. rolleyes.gif

The whole objective of this thread is lost when it comes to folks like you. This is never about who has the bigger e-penis, it is always about Sony's Motionflow and how it effects even non-SD materials. But hey, your's longer right? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(deng8895 @ Jan 29 2009, 02:09 AM)
I saw one demo unit being played at Senn. Wah lau.. super clear and the normal jagginess no longer obvious. Normally for lcd tv, if u got nearer to the tv, u will notice color noises, but this model has very very little color noise. I am impressed. However price, as expected is higher than the normal version...
Which SenQ? I whisper a prayer of thanks every time I see HDTVs being portrayed as they are supposed to, with connection to the right sources, and displayed for its strengths. Some showroom just simply want to push TVs without thinking of properly setting them up to allow potential buyers to objectively judge them without bias. All they do is pump up the setting to "Vivid" and hope the buyers gets blinded by the colorful colors and blinded into buying them as well. I for one am not asking them to even go towards proper calibrations for their TVs, it is after all, their job to sell TVs, but at the very least, display them at their proper strength and not overblown them with colors so red, you can see it bleed out of the screen, or so bright, I got "blinded by their supposed awesomeness" , to quote Po, the Kung Fu Panda. laugh.gif

Buying a TV is of personal experience, some buyers prefer certain characteristics only offered by certain TV types, plasma or LCDs, and later OLED and Lasers. I've seen Sony's OLED screens and the Mitsubishi's LASER HDTVs in showrooms in Osaka and Tokyo, and each and every one of these types offers their own strengths and weaknesses. It is up to the buyer to go for their pros and live with their cons. Even within a particular TV type, there are comparable differences between them. Samsung LCDs tend to display a more blue bias than others, while Toshibas and Sharp colors are warmer in comparison. Sure you can calibrate these out, but it all comes to the personal preference and choice of the buyer itself.

craven dusk
post Jan 29 2009, 08:45 AM

241 posts

Anybody wants 46w400a?
overfloe
post Jan 29 2009, 08:55 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,205 posts

are you giving it away for free? ok, i'll pick it up right away!
hehehehe
craven dusk
post Jan 29 2009, 02:21 PM

241 posts

Haha. Might wanna give this up for 40 incher Z450A. By the way, hows the PQ without motionflow as compared to W series?
TSstringfellow
post Jan 29 2009, 02:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The PQ should be slightly in favour of the Z. They both use 10-bit panels and the same video processing engine (BE2), but the contrast value works in favour of the Z, resulting in deeper blacks. Also I believe, from reading up the forums at AVSforums, that the Z uses a new panel compared to the W, because of the emphasis on Motionflow 200Hz. Mind you, there are still very minor clouding and mura (but not to the extent of the W), but once calibrated, it should not detract from the viewing experience.

Motionflow really makes this unit worth it. No more blurring when camera pans around fast, or during fast moving scenes, during football matches for example. Not that I am a fan of football matches anyway....tongue.gif
welwitchia
post Jan 29 2009, 03:19 PM

1,219 posts

String, is the clouding visible when u watch your TV at night on a "dim/dark" room? I understand u can do some calibration to reduce it when that usually involves turning the brightness down... will be interested to see how the Z series fares in this field. The clouding was the main reason why I sold my W400 away as I was driving me nuts.
craven dusk
post Jan 29 2009, 03:22 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 29 2009, 03:19 PM)
String, is the clouding visible when u watch your TV at night on a "dim/dark" room? I understand u can do some calibration to reduce it when that usually involves turning the brightness down... will be interested to see how the Z series fares in this field. The clouding was the main reason why I sold my W400 away as I was driving me nuts.
From what i understand, the clouding became less noticable after sometime. Perhaps calibration will reduce it to negligible levels. Initially I was worried when it first arrived. After calibrated using recommended settings, its negligible. But it wont help if we nitpick. I understand its alot of money, but these are the limitations of LCD.
TSstringfellow
post Jan 29 2009, 03:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 29 2009, 03:19 PM)
Yeah, I've read on the W's clouding defect on AVSForums, as well as TweakTV, it drove a lot of them nuts there too. Mind you, W is awesome in its class, only the clouding mars otherwise a perfect report card. Mine is minor at most, thankfully, and after a while, it gradually reduces altogether. I dont tweak or calibrate to totally remove them, I calibrate as according to the recommended settings on the DVE disc. Test them out at SonyStyle, I did ask them to do the same thing there.

Oh and one thing, if they allow you to, ask them if you can do a "factory reset" on the display unit there. Once done, you will notice there is a setting for "Home" and "Store", which I believe the display unit there, would almost definitely set to "Store". "Store" setting would definitely cater to the brightly lit atmosphere there, which definitely means overblown contrast and brightness, oversaturated colors , and most definitely set on "Vivid" picture mode. Try set it back to "Home" and "Standard", with color temperature to "Warm 2". I find that with that setting, it is acceptable, and more resembles a properly calibrated set. Of course, to be precise, you'd have to tinker with the "Backlight" and especially the "Sharpness", even at "Standard", it is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaayy over the recommended value.

QUOTE(craven dusk @ Jan 29 2009, 03:22 PM)
From what i understand, the clouding became less noticable after sometime. Perhaps calibration will reduce it to negligible levels. Initially I was worried when it first arrived. After calibrated using recommended settings, its negligible. But it wont help if we nitpick. I understand its alot of money, but these are the limitations of LCD.
QFT. thumbup.gif The clouding definitely will still be there, it depends on your luck on getting a unit with minimal smears. Sometimes it is the overblown setting at high contrast and brightness and backlight that induce these defects to come out. But i'll take clouding over shitty blacks on projectors any time of the day.
welwitchia
post Jan 29 2009, 04:05 PM

1,219 posts

Yeah, i did set my W400 to home when I had the unit. If I were to watch the TV during the day, then that unit would have scored a perfect 10.. but since I'm only at home during the night, I can definitely see the clouding even at low backlight settings. Maybe its just my luck that I get one with clouding levels that were unacceptable to me.

Oh well, glad u like your new Z series. :-)
Have fun!
craven dusk
post Jan 30 2009, 03:39 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 29 2009, 04:05 PM)
Yeah, i did set my W400 to home when I had the unit. If I were to watch the TV during the day, then that unit would have scored a perfect 10.. but since I'm only at home during the night, I can definitely see the clouding even at low backlight settings. Maybe its just my luck that I get one with clouding levels that were unacceptable to me.

Oh well, glad u like your new Z series. :-)
Have fun!
How many inches were your LCD? What did u get instead after selling off w400?
welwitchia
post Jan 30 2009, 03:50 PM

1,219 posts

40" W400.
Sold it and got myself a Panasonic 42" PY800. Pretty satisfied so far.
Not to say its perfect but at least I don't get distracted by the clouding issue anymore.
TSstringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 04:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Good choice on that PY800. Was on my consideration list as well, before I made the final cut. How is it power consumption-wise?
4evernelson
post Jan 30 2009, 04:49 PM

216 posts

wow..definately a good choice for gaming purpose or football fans as well smile.gif

support~! imagine i own this tv for ps3 gaming experience~ wow..unbelivable ~ sure damn excieted~

currently i'm collecting some $ to get a lower end sony bravia 1st smile.gif

rclxms.gif the tv u discussing is brilliant~ in term of price~ (for me) not able to pay such amount even with 0% installment plan~
TSstringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 04:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thank you. Godspeed on your Bravia purchase as well. smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 30 2009, 05:01 PM

11,808 posts

ooooo
now i know y liao la....
i was at spore sony 2 moons back i think
they were displaying a few HDTV sided by side, all showing hancock
but only one unit which display the image that looks like taken by 1080 camcorder, i was so puzzled, i tot its the settings. cos no matter how i tune, i could never get the pop up as that

so tat model tat i saw shud be the Z series is it?
TSstringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 05:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Haha LOL yup rx330, that "camcorder" look, exactly! It is like I said, an acquired taste, some people like it, some don't. Some are purist and want or like to maintain that "video" look, others welcome enhanced manipulated image. I like to have the option of both. What's even more important, this is a viable option for those looking to improve upon standard definition materials.

Added on January 30, 2009, 5:36 pmHaha LOL yup rx330, that "camcorder" look, exactly! It is like I said, an acquired taste, some people like it, some don't. Some are purist and want or like to maintain that "video" look, others welcome enhanced manipulated image. I like to have the option of both. What's even more important, this is a viable option for those looking to improve upon standard definition materials.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 30 2009, 05:36 PM
welwitchia
post Jan 30 2009, 06:03 PM

1,219 posts

Lol, I have no idea on the power consumption... don't think it matters much since I'm not the type that turns it on the whole day.. max about 2hrs a day.

Hmm.. I gather most of your standard def materials that u want improved with the 200Mhz are those TV series that u purchase on iTunes?

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 30 2009, 04:42 PM)
Good choice on that PY800. Was on my consideration list as well, before I made the final cut. How is it power consumption-wise?
This post has been edited by welwitchia: Jan 30 2009, 06:07 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 09:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 30 2009, 06:03 PM)
Lol, I have no idea on the power consumption... don't think it matters much since I'm not the type that turns it on the whole day.. max about 2hrs a day.

Hmm.. I gather most of your standard def materials that u want improved with the 200Mhz are those TV series that u purchase on iTunes?
450W vs 230W, bro. On days of current economic climate like this, it does count in the long run. But then again, like you said, if you only turn it on like 2hours a day, it should not even matter.

My SD materials comes from my 300 odd DVDs and yes, iTunes. I have a VOD system set up with Apple TVs, and a 4 TB repository in the form of a WD NAS, so the addition of the Z into this setup just makes it sweeter. I've written a thread on my VOD system I build in the Apple section. It's modular, and soon will be upgraded twofold in term of storage size capacity. smile.gif
tepetlah
post Jan 30 2009, 09:29 PM

349 posts

me cant afford...sad.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:47 AM