5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Home Theatre Sony Bravia Z KLV-40Z450A Impressions, 40" 1080p/24 Bravia + Motionflow 200Hz

TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 12:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, okay, you're right, you're always right! Can we get along with this? Somebody obviously been fishing for a response from the start, could not leave the thread alone.

Person A says Motionflow "doesnt do much for shitty TV and screws with some movie". Another person, Person B, have the Z, been using Motionflow with his materials since his purchase and *gasp* likes it.

I chose to end that "discussion" with you here. Pretty much obvious from my non-response to your posts previously until the "hook" was forced into the proverbial fish's mouth. If that is still not clear, I dont want to talk to you. Any clearer than that, I'd have to spell it out one by one. rolleyes.gif Or do the most civil thing to do and put you on the ignore list, until your lackeys comes here and quote your every post and forces me to read your bile-ridden posts whether I like it or not.

Jeeez!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 31 2009, 12:11 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 12:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Jan 31 2009, 12:01 PM)
another review of the z series : hdtvtest.co.uk

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/sony-kdl40z...20081124136.htm

Conclusion

The deep blacks, accurate colours and low input lag on Sony’s latest high-end (W series and above) LCD HDTVs need no further praise, so we’re left to comment on the Sony KDL40Z4500’s 200Hz Motionflow implementation.

The good news? There are surprisingly few kinks for what effectively is the first incarnation of 200Hz MCFI technology. Now the not-so-good news: any resultant improvement in motion clarity isn’t really leaps and bounds ahead of what 100Hz LCD televisions currently offer when it comes to real-life viewing.

So while the Sony KDL40Z4500 holds the current record for the highest motion resolution we have measured on an LCD TV so far, pound-for-pound we think that the Sony KDL40W4500 (equipped with 100Hz Motionflow) represents better value-for-money.
Agreed, in fact the W was award-winning model. Until the clouding issue sets in. Search the net, look the forum up, this has been plagueing W owners to the point of selling them off, in the case of Welwitchia here.

My Z spends more of its time chewing up contents from iTunes, Blu-rays and games. That last example given on EPL matches, is whatever short impression I gather from the very little time I had plugging in Astro this the Z and observing what it can do clean the image up.

As for the review, from what I can interpret, there are improvements on the 200Hz MCFI, only not as big an improvement compared to what the 100HZ has. Still, there are improvements. Only thing is, it may not entice current 100Hz LCD owners enough to dump their current set for the new 200Hz models. "Pound for pound", I'd assume the reviewer is talking about the price factor, not the weight. tongue.gif
empire23
post Jan 31 2009, 12:13 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 31 2009, 12:03 PM)
Okay, okay, you're right, you're always right! Can we get along with this? Somebody obviously been fishing for a response from the start, could not leave the thread alone.

Person A says Motionflow "doesnt do much for shitty TV and screws with some movie". Another person, Person B, have the Z, been using Motionflow with his materials since his purchase and *gasp* likes it.

I chose to end that "discussion" with you here. Pretty much obvious from my non-response to your posts previously until the "hook" was forced into the proverbial fish's mouth. If that is still not clear, I dont want to talk to you. Any clearer than that, I'd have to spell it out one by one. rolleyes.gif Or do the most civil thing to do and put you on the ignore list, until your lackeys comes here and quote your every post and forces me to read your bile-ridden posts whether I like it or not.

Jeeez!
Well then, counter, provide proof, do tests, pixel peep and so on. If you're just saying it's better, it's hard to swallow, pop in a HQV HD BD and test, then turn motion flow on and off, that's a start, record your observations, list them. Geez and we're supposed to be in the age of discussion and science. Although the idea of 200000000 HZ is total bull, improved video processing from the processor might not be and is worth looking at and either way might be a saving grace, who knows until you sit down and tell yourself "maybe the enhancement lies elsewhere"

An idea is never useful unless attacked from all sides and you don't seem to like your ideas being attacked. BooHoo. It's a public forum. Sadinnit?
TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 12:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

You dont like artificial image manipulation, I do. Let's end it at that.

Yes, you are always right. Can we move along now?
TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 12:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

And according to Andyz's provided link(thanks Andyz!):-

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/sony-kdl40z...20081124136.htm

Sony probably needed to use a slightly different LCD panel for a problem-free implementation of its 200Hz Motionflow system, and various characteristics of the screen certainly gave this away. Even out-of-the-box, we immediately noticed less clouding and backlight bleed on the Sony KDL40Z4500 HDTV than on the W4000 or W4500 series. The Sony KDL40Z4500’s edge in screen uniformity was also maintained off-axis, though it must be pointed out that its contrast and colour washed out slightly earlier than the W4000 and W4500 when viewed from an angle.

And from the benchmark test results:-

Screen uniformity - No clouding and backlight bleed if calibrated

Good news for those lamenting W's earlier defects, Z cleared all that out.
empire23
post Jan 31 2009, 12:28 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 31 2009, 12:19 PM)
You dont like artificial image manipulation, I do. Let's end it at that.

Yes, you are always right. Can we move along now?
Who says i don't?

Haih, neither did i say anywhere i was right, i just stated my points. Why you bring in name calling, i surely don't know. I didn't even call you names lol.

Haih, oversensitive much?
TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 12:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

This could more accurate describe this whole mess more than it is implied. Characters including as well. No prize for who is who.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 31 2009, 12:39 PM
empire23
post Jan 31 2009, 12:49 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 31 2009, 12:38 PM)
This could more accurate describe this whole mess more than it is implied. Characters including as well. No prize for who is who.
I want a Voyager version. Never liked TNG.

TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 01:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Dont forget to scroll through the Youtube ticker roll at the bottom of that youtube clip I posted, there's a whole slew of single- and double facepalm to commemorate this occasion! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 31 2009, 01:13 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jan 31 2009, 01:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Moooooooving on with the Z:-

http://www.trustedreviews.com/tvs/review/2...-46in-LCD-TV/p1

Interesting excerpts from the article:-

It's important to stress before we go any further that the 46Z4500's Motionflow 200Hz system doesn't just repeat the same image three times. Instead it calculates ‘missing' image data between neighbouring frames of the original source, predicting movement in all directions, so that motion can be portrayed with less blurring and judder.
As if this wasn't enough, the 46Z4500 also employs a further new image enhancement technology called Image Blur Reduction, which boosts the sharpness of the final picture by improving the original image frames BEFORE they're processed by Motionflow 200Hz.

And for those worrying on the W issues:-

Before I get down to the key business of finding out what if anything 200Hz brings to the 46Z4500's picture party, I really feel the need to start the testing part of this review by saying that, thankfully, the 46Z4500 does not suffer with the really distracting backlight pooling problems I witnessed with recent Sony W4500 models. There's a tiny bit of light spillage to the top left, but this is hardly ever noticeable under normal viewing conditions. Phew.
I had light spillage on mine on the top right, but like the review says "hardly noticeable under normal vieweing conditions".

And the oh-so-delicious-part-of-it-all, the Motionflow info:-

And so to 200Hz., and the discovery that it's good, but not the absolute picture quality tour de force we might have been praying for. In other words, while it does make motion in pictures look smoother and - usually - clearer than you'd get from even a 100Hz LCD TV, the leap forward isn't anything like as profound as the leap from 50Hz to 100Hz.

That sounded a little harsher than I intended it to. Obviously any improvement in picture quality, no matter how minor, deserves credit. I just think it's important to cut away a little of the hype surrounding the 200Hz feature; to say that the difference it makes is marginal rather than revolutionary.

In fact, I'd argue that Philips' HD Natural Motion system, which has been around for the best part of a year now, actually makes motion look even smoother and clearer than Sony's 200Hz engine.

Having said that, Sony's new motion processing does score points of its own over the Philips engine for the way it generates practically no nasty side effects whatsoever. With the Philips HD Natural Motion TVs you're forever tweaking various settings with different types of source material, in order to ensure you're not left looking at too many nasty image processing artifacts. But with the 46Z4500 you can enjoy the 200Hz benefits glitch-free with pretty much anything, so long as you don't often set the Motionflow system higher than its Standard level.

Just occasionally something particularly tricky, such as a facial close-up moving across the screen, can seem to smear a little bit, either because of problems with the speed of the Sony's processing or because the processing can't quite figure out the best thing to put in the three extra frames it's calculating. But these instances are rare, and easy to live with in the context of all the good the 200Hz engine is doing.

And anyway, the 200Hz system is far from the end of the 46Z4500's talents. Its colours, for instance, are superb, portraying with exceptional vibrancy the riot of colour on show during the Captain Jack hanging sequence towards the end of the first Pirates of the Caribbean film.

Using the Wide colour mode actually makes these shots look almost scarily aggressive and eye-catching. But it seemed to me that the tonal accuracy suffered a little in this mode, so I personally preferred the Standard setting.
Interesting Motionflow quips in bold. I love Phillip's HD Natural Motion myself.

Not all is fine and rosy in the world of Z however, here are the cons:-

Now I've started down a negative path, I might as well add that occasionally I spotted the auto contrast feature reacting to a brightness change in the source a little slower than I'd have ideally liked. Also, with Motionflow set to high, fast moving objects can tend to appear with a slight trail behind them. And similar smearing was also sometimes visible with HD sources during particularly tricky, motion and detail-heavy footage, such as the scenes in the hallucinogenic fog towards the end of Batman Begins.

Dragging my thoughts away from the mostly impressive but certainly not perfect picture situation to focus on the 46Z4500's audio, I have to say I was a wee bit underwhelmed. There's good definition in the soundstage, and it spreads far and wide around your room without losing cohesion. But it also lacks the raw power and dynamic range to really open up to meet the challenge of a raucous action film sequence - especially if you're using anything other than the Dynamic audio preset.
Solution? Drop down Motionflow setting to "Standard", smears went away. For the audio, it is not applicable to those who are adding the Z to their already available HT setup. I mute the audio on the Z all the way down.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 31 2009, 01:32 PM
hfz
post Feb 1 2009, 12:15 AM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

TS, don't make it as fap mat while watch +18 movies..... brows.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 1 2009, 12:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(hfz @ Feb 1 2009, 12:15 AM)
TS, don't make it as fap mat while watch +18 movies..... brows.gif
laugh.gif That goes to the courtesy of the Bravia Engine 2, boss! I'd switch Motionflow off on +18 stuff, they need to be savored nice and sloooooooooww. brows.gif
craven dusk
post Feb 1 2009, 03:46 AM

241 posts

I happen to agree with Stringfellow. I would like the option of Motionflow. even without it, the PQ is excellent.
rx330
post Feb 1 2009, 11:14 PM

11,808 posts

so basically, u can on or off this motion flow thingy?
once its off, it will look normal like other hdtvs?
yanhui95
post Mar 6 2009, 11:37 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

ive seen the 200hz motionflow test.... looked at it for around 10 secs and
felt a bit dizzy... i'm not sure if this happens to everyone...
mois
post Mar 7 2009, 04:11 PM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

im using V series. so far so good. Just sometime when i get close to my 46V, saw some 'keluar' line. is this because game support up to 720p only?
edwintey
post Mar 8 2009, 02:22 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Pokegnome @ Jan 28 2009, 11:43 AM)
I rather go for Pioneer KURO 42" compare to sony X/Z series.
Yes, I completely agreed with you.
Personal feel that, Kuro still the best even it just a HD Ready TV.
I just received the final set Kuro 508XG yesterday, it's greeeeeeat, I might leave for my new house.
But the price cry.gif
badang75
post Mar 9 2009, 10:25 PM

Bought me a z series today...Will arrive tomorrow...Sony have promotion for z series...buy a z series and will have option to buy PS3 for only rm200...
geforce1999
post Mar 10 2009, 11:09 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Which one is better if compare this Sony Z450 series to Samsung series 8 or 9 TV?
rx330
post Mar 10 2009, 03:34 PM

11,808 posts

to me its apple n orange
cos i dun think the sammy has this motion flow 200 and the sony those not have those media features

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0219sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:00 AM