The Black levels for the Series 9 should easily best out the Sony Z because of the LED backlight feature.
Home Theatre Sony Bravia Z KLV-40Z450A Impressions, 40" 1080p/24 Bravia + Motionflow 200Hz
Mar 10 2009, 04:02 PM
1,219 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The Black levels for the Series 9 should easily best out the Sony Z because of the LED backlight feature.
Mar 10 2009, 04:57 PM
1,336 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Battown in Johor |
QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:34 PM) to me its apple n orange Actually I don't need those media features from Samsung, I would prefer motion flow 200 if it is really 200Hz....cos i dun think the sammy has this motion flow 200 and the sony those not have those media features Added on March 10, 2009, 4:59 pm QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 10 2009, 04:02 PM) The Black levels for the Series 9 should easily best out the Sony Z because of the LED backlight feature. If balck levels of Sammy Series 9 is really better than Sony Z, then I might be going for series 9... This post has been edited by geforce1999: Mar 10 2009, 04:59 PM |
Mar 13 2009, 08:22 PM
15 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
4 weeks ago, i bought a Philips 42PFL5403.
hated the auto back-light dimming thing. please save your breath of telling me that it can be switch off, cause it can't. and many people knows it. Philips knows it, therefore they are giving me a full refund, after only having it in my room less than a week. and please, only the Pros who have spent many hours studying HDDTV at shops who realized this, reply me. i'm tired of getting half-past information from half-past salesman. most salesperson in the shop have no idea what they are talking about. my, you should see how i opened their eyes after i teaching them how to see the unseen in HDTVs. average user can't see it, but once you do, it'll be very difficult for you to find a decent TV again. I do love the Philips HD motion though. but the juddering+ghost pisses me off. the auto dimming is the most irritating one. i'm considering this Sony now. compared it to Philips, i have to agree that Philips still look more crispier, vividish and buttery with the HD natural motion. with their panel, images seem almost 3d-ish. but this Sony has minimal problem compared to it. it still has a little judder+ghost. and a lil auto-dimming. (all LCDs have them.) i tried Plasma as option. free from the ghost+judder, auto dimming. and the Panasonic 800h is the only plasma that has a similar natural motion feature. but Plasma visual just ain't crisp and vivid+solid compared to LCD. so, after goin back and forth to shops, i'm considering this Sony. a little pricey. but with the promotion of getting a PS3 with RM200 is tempting. this particular shop even quote me a RM7700 for the KLV-40Z450A. (compared to Sony 8499) so a total of RM7900 with a PS3. (think bluray) so guys, have my research come a wrong way? initially my budget was 4k. and realizing i can't stand the minor glitches of LCDs, i've decided to raise the budget to 8k. but still with 8k, it is still not the ultimate perfection i want. (i'm working in the film+tv production, so visual can be quite critical for me.) so is the KLV-40Z450A the best i can get for 8k? or should i get back a higher range Philips? 7 series/9 series? or plasma, Panasonic 800h? or any news of price dropping or new products coming? it's been 3 weeks since I've returned my 42" Philips. missing the size of visual in my room. sigh. -chinyew This post has been edited by chinyew: Mar 13 2009, 08:55 PM |
Mar 13 2009, 08:51 PM
88 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Mar 10 2009, 04:57 PM) Actually I don't need those media features from Samsung, I would prefer motion flow 200 if it is really 200Hz.... 200Hz there is no MAJOR difference from 100hz, not worth to get it yet but for 9 Series samsung. It's GOOD STUFF. Added on March 10, 2009, 4:59 pm If balck levels of Sammy Series 9 is really better than Sony Z, then I might be going for series 9... |
Mar 15 2009, 10:28 AM
1,336 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Battown in Johor |
QUOTE(chewman @ Mar 13 2009, 08:51 PM) 200Hz there is no MAJOR difference from 100hz, not worth to get it yet but for 9 Series samsung. It's GOOD STUFF. Thanks for the info. Will most propably go for Sammy but not yet confirm which model and size... This post has been edited by geforce1999: Mar 15 2009, 10:35 AM |
Mar 25 2009, 10:21 AM
1,180 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
I'm lazy to read the whole thread...
What the current price now? |
Mar 25 2009, 10:58 PM
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
Apr 11 2009, 01:54 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apples and oranges. My advise is, before you diss and confidently say that Motionflow 200Mhz is not worthwhile, take an actual look with good reference material before saying so. I'd totally understand if the standpoint is about money, and if that is lacking, but dissing it and offering other cheaper option and saying that other option is good enough replacement at a cheaper price, is a cop-out, and poor excuse to say the least.
I'm using this with my iTunes TV Show standard definition downloads and I'm already seeing marked improvements even from these re-encoded materials. Pure sources like Blu-rays will definitely bring this model standing out among others. All I'm saying is, it fits my requirements. It may not fit yours but dissing it before seeing it, is lame to say the least. If money is the real reason, stop giving others excuses or putting down this TV just because cash is tight. In any case, I'll be closing this thread. No point letting it live its tortured life when others here have already made up their mind, no matter what anyone says about the Z, or anything that I say. You want to promote other models/brands? Please do it at their own respective threads, or better still, open your own. Simple as that. Thread closed. |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
5 queries
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:36 PM |