vikingw2k
post Feb 4 2009, 12:16 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(nickilala @ Feb 4 2009, 12:11 AM)
actually i need a ultra wide angle lens. but i will choose one between 3 of them.. but can buy grey set due to the cheaper price?

1. tamron 11-18 (F=?)local RM1650
2. tamron 17-50 f28 = local RM1730  grey set:RM1400
3. Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 HSM EX DC = RM1750 (grey set) ? RM2200 local set?
If you need UWA lens, Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 is out from this league as it's more to walkaround lens.

So you only consider about Tammy 11-18mm and Siggy 10-20. I'll go with Siggy 10-20. Don't spent so much on local set. Btw how much is Sony's 11-18?

vikingw2k
post Feb 4 2009, 12:34 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(nickilala @ Feb 4 2009, 12:31 AM)
yeah. i think siggy 10-20 is the one i need ... is RM1750 grey set.. but wat is EX DC on it?
i dun know how much is sony 11-18 cost.. can you or anyone find out for me...

thanks.. vikingw2k...
EX means Expensive. LuLz tongue.gif

DC means it's not meant for fullframe smile.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 4 2009, 12:50 AM
vikingw2k
post Feb 4 2009, 05:30 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Feb 4 2009, 05:27 PM)
not sure yet la.. kinda want.. but if i go with that F56, then must take 50mm f/1.7 la.. cannot afford SAL-50F14 edi.. laugh.gif

should i?? rolleyes.gif
Don't get the Minolta 50mm f1.7. Save up more for the f1.4 biggrin.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 5 2009, 10:39 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(suchap69 @ Feb 5 2009, 10:25 PM)
thanks for the comments...... i keep it that way coz i like the reflection. later if i offset it i think i might ruin it.

here's another one.

i think its better in term of colour but can't see the sun anymore due to brighter setting. but i notice the building is not really white. anyway to make only the building whiter?
You need something called GND filter biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 5 2009, 10:46 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 5 2009, 10:59 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(suchap69 @ Feb 5 2009, 10:54 PM)
vikingw2k: what is GND? same as ND filter?
ND is the whole thing will be darken depending on how many stops the ND filter is, GND is gradient, the top part is the darkest, the lower part is lighter and lighter. This is to maintain the sky details(not overblown) and at the same time maintain the ground details too(not too dark).

A sample of GND filter.

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 5 2009, 11:02 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 5 2009, 11:36 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Feb 5 2009, 11:08 PM)
Nice pic.Putrajaya right?
Bingo. The bridge there biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mushpop @ Feb 5 2009, 11:16 PM)
viking: 2 stop ND?
2 stop ND will not help as it'll darken the whole scene including your white building. You need GND to darken the sky to bring out the sky details and maintain the building's exposure smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2009, 12:03 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Feb 5 2009, 11:43 PM)
I need some help on choosing some lenses here. I was browsing through the forum and i saw Minolta Maxxum AF ZOOM 100-200mm F4.5 going for RM 450. Is it a good buy ? ( In terms of price and how good the lens is - sharp? ) Another lens is a macro lens, Minolta Maxxum AF ZOOM 35-70mm F4.0 MACRO going for RM 300 . Advise from alpharians needed . Thanks  tongue.gif
Save up slightly more and get the beercan. Forget about the 100-200 and 35-70.
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2009, 01:19 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Feb 6 2009, 01:17 AM)
slightly...???be real dude...save up MORE.... brows.gif

btw u could try 35-70 @ baby beercan...nice woo that lens....
LuLz, don't frighten him with the price la. Hmm, if he didn't get both the lens, I guess he just need to save up extra 2xx-3xx for him to get a Beercan. Somehow I felt that the 35-70 is impractical due to the range. I rather stay with kittehlens and pump the fund for a Beercan smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2009, 02:17 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Feb 6 2009, 01:31 AM)
small beer kenot satisfy,go straight for big beer....hehehehehe....

so far im using the baby beercan for geli2 still ok for me...just want to get the feeling 1st b4 going to beercan... biggrin.gif
Aiyo, 35-70 is not even a Beercan series la. Beercan is Minolta 70-210mm f4, the big Beercan is Minolta 75-300mm f4.5-5.6. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(craziqbal @ Feb 6 2009, 01:38 AM)
sir vikingw2k, will you be joining us for the tt this saturday?

btw, i feel that vikingw2k is right. it is better to save up for the beercan. much more worth it. imho lah.
I would love to but I'm working this Saturday sad.gif Else can poison you with some f1.2 lenses tongue.gif

QUOTE(suchap69 @ Feb 6 2009, 06:04 AM)
vikingw2k: regarding GND... is it screw on to the lens  type or is it a piece of glass that u hold in front of the lens?

and how bout this pic, the sky area is quite small but i lost the details, can fix it using GND?
If you want to get GND, go for Cokin filters, it's square and slide in filters. Not screw in type. No, you don't need to hold in front of the lens, the Cokin filter set comes with a Filter Holder where you just need to slide the filters in.

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 6 2009, 09:35 AM)
anybody knows EF135 f2L street price?
Around RM3k only.

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Feb 6 2009, 09:40 AM)
Thanks for sharing with them. Nice info there smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 01:12 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Feb 7 2009, 01:07 AM)
can someone take a shot of the HOYA HMC UV filter casing?

i went to Bintang Maju in summit this afternoon to inquire about the 82mm UV filter. They show me this HOYA HMC in orange casing with the price of RM 162. The shop opposite say they dun have stock, but can order @ RM 250. At this kind of money, how do i know i'm getting the original stuff? How does the HOYA HMC & HOYA Pro1D casing look like? What's the price range?
How about save up a little more and go for B+W? biggrin.gif

I'm using 82mm B+W. Loving it.
vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 01:51 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Feb 6 2009, 11:58 PM)
What a joke  doh.gif  don't listen to him.

3570F4 is a beercan family, its the baby beercan, possess the (almost) identical bokeh on what a beercan can do.. instead, everyone else around the world is calling it baby beercan but dunno why not this fella..  rclxm9.gif
That lens's performance is far from Beercan, hence that explains why I don't consider it in the Beercan Family else it's just a shame to Beercan series. Well, you can have your opinion to call it as Baby Beercan with whatever reason. It's all up to an individual to accept or not. Afterall it's just a name. I'm more concerned in the IQ.

QUOTE(hazril @ Feb 7 2009, 01:46 AM)
ekceli,i just ignored the post bro...biasa la...i not pro...no white lens maa...huhuhuhu....
White lens will only make you look like a pro, but will not make you one. It still depends on you yourself. smile.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 7 2009, 01:56 AM
vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 02:10 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(edmondwwk @ Feb 7 2009, 02:08 AM)
Hi,quoted F58AM from FotoEdar for RM1150(not yet nego),the salesman say Sony is going to announce new price early next month (march)...OMG,I am in dilemma now whether to grab that around RM1100 or wait for the new price,I am not sure the new price is going up or down... icon_question.gif

Any sifu pls help  icon_question.gif

I think most probably the price is going up  hmm.gif
How about hunt for a used one?

vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 02:19 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Feb 7 2009, 02:16 AM)
i guess the iq for baby beercan would suffice my needs in exploring the dslr world....sample for u bro to see...do comment on the iq.... smile.gif

IQ depends on individual. Some might find that the IQ is ok, some might not. To me it's quite soft. No offense. cheers.gif

Added on February 7, 2009, 2:21 am
QUOTE(edmondwwk @ Feb 7 2009, 02:17 AM)
Thanks for the prompt reply  rclxms.gif

Actually I prefer the new 1 since the used unit doesn't cost difference too much,maybe RM100~150? I still can afford that much...hmm...that means I should just grap without concerning about the coming up announcement of new price list?  hmm.gif
If you don't need it urgently and don't mind waiting, just wait and see. If getting that flash earlier could help you to earn more money, just grab it. All depends on your need.

QUOTE(hazril @ Feb 7 2009, 02:18 AM)
buy now,regret later...if turun,u regret abit la...if increase how...???
That's why it's always better to get a used one. But have to make sure you need know how to check smile.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 7 2009, 02:21 AM
vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 02:49 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(edmondwwk @ Feb 7 2009, 02:21 AM)
I think the baby beercan doesn't really at par with beercan  smile.gif

Bro,photography as my hobby now,still half way exploring,insufficient skills to earn money  cry.gif
You can always grab some part time job and work ya ass up to fund for better lenses and body biggrin.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 10:03 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(eviz @ Feb 7 2009, 04:31 AM)
Can you guys give me some advice on upgrading?

1) from a300 to a700 using ( SAL1870 )

2) stay with a300 but get Sigma 17-70 f2.8-f4.5

3) same with above but get SAL16105 instead of the Sigma 17-70

4) same with above but go for Tamron 17-50 f2.8

5) any other better and realistic options biggrin.gif

Would greatly appreciate all of your comments! Basically I have like RM1.5-2k budget

Currently using a300. smile.gif Thanks
I hardly suggest you, unless you tell me what do you plan to shoot, what do you need, and why do you want to upgrade. Better noise control? Better body features? Bigger Aperture? Longer range? Just for the sake of upgrading? or other reason?

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 7 2009, 10:05 AM
vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 01:40 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(firz @ Feb 7 2009, 01:32 PM)
SAL70300G such a good lens but im prefer a wide angle lens right now..any idea?
3rd party oso can..bout the kit lens ,i will never change it as all otai here did...huhuhu
For RM4k, you can get yourself the below
- a new Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 HSM as your UWA lens
- a new Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 as your walkaround lens.
- a used Minolta 50mm f1.7 as your budget portrait lens.

vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 01:51 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(firz @ Feb 7 2009, 01:47 PM)
hmmm good combo...i get 3 lenses instead of one..but i heard tamy 1750 front lens eazy to loose..?
No such thing as front element is loose, the only issue about this lens is that some might suffer from Front or Back focusing problem. Just make sure you test kaw kaw before you buy. It's a very good lens with big aperture. smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 02:12 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(firz @ Feb 7 2009, 02:06 PM)
hmm mb i'm wrong..but tamy for alpha mount you need to order first rite??..or any shop around has ready stock..?
Not very sure about that smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 03:26 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 7 2009, 02:44 PM)
You have a budget of RM4k.... nothing beats the image quality of Sony Carl Zeiss 16-80mm.

If you want a wider lens, you might wanna wait for Sony 10-24mm.
I doubt the CZ 16-80mm f3.5-4.5 IQ can beat the Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 in terms of sharpness at wide open.

QUOTE(firz @ Feb 7 2009, 03:05 PM)
as far as i know, cz 1680..cant support ff camera isnt it?...hey sal 16105 oso not bad rite?
Depends on what you need. If you need longer range but willing to sacrifice the big constant aperture, you may go ahead biggrin.gif
vikingw2k
post Feb 7 2009, 04:06 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Feb 7 2009, 03:55 PM)
aiyak.. FFKed the TT at wangsa maju.. stucked in jam for almost 1 hour, i cant even go out of Selayang.. MRR2 and Jalan Kuching jam kaw kaw.. so decided turn around and go home laugh.gif
any special method to test for front and back focusing problem??
Download the focus chart?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0441sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:20 PM