(Completed!) 10-day CrashCourse: From 4km to 10km, DETERMINATION is KEY !!! Oh yeah...

TSlionheart8888
post Jan 22 2009, 11:45 PM, updated 17y ago

45 posts

Man, I just love this pic!!! (THUMBS UP!!!)

MOTTO: Determination is KEY!!!

Old Routine:
Previous running distance: 4km
Been running 4km for 1 WHOLE month (never tried to exceed it yet)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Brief History:
(1) On 25th of November 2008, I was fedup mad.gif with my 'couch-potato' habits, and decided to take exercising SERIOUSLY. blush.gif
Beginning at ONLY 5mins of non-stop running (on 25th Nov 08) I then PROGRESSIVELY increased the intensity to 4km in 4 weeks (22 Dec 08).
(2) Next, after managing to hit 4km, i decided to maintain the 4km ENDURANCE over another 4 more weeks. The purpose was so that my body would be seasoned for an ENTIRE month.
(3) *ahem* And now that it is seasoned.........

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NEW Crazy PLAN:
To Increase my running distance from 4km to 10km in just 10 days:
By adding "+1km" each training day.

Week 1-4 (Status: Completed) (Started with 5 mins of running. Maxed it to 4km)
Week 5-8 (Status: Completed) (Maintained 4km a WHOLE MONTH to season my body)

20 Jan: 4km (note: the last 4km run)
22 Jan: 5km (Status: Completed)
24 Jan: 6km (Status: Completed. I DID 7km INSTEAD!!!)
26 Jan: 8km (Status: Completed)
28 Jan: 9km (Status: Completed 9.1km) rclxm9.gif
30 Jan: 10km (GOAL) thumbup.gif YEAH!!! Completed 10km.
That marks the end of my 10-day CrashCourse. lol.

Let's see how far i can push myself (or dieee trying, heh heh).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My 10-day Progress log:

20 Jan: 4km (been doing this for 1 whole month, time to move on i guess)

22 Jan: 5km (STATUS: Completed)
Comment: Hmm.. not bad . Really glad the 1 month of effort put in really paid off. I think my body could take the impact of a 6km actually today. But one irritating thing i notice is the chafing due to the amount of sweat, and this causes a burning sensation when the legs rub. Surprisingly i've never faced this before in a 4k. I heard some ppl use some kind of lubricant to reduce the chaffing. Oh well, at least the stinging is bearable.
Wow, another weird thing i notice is the SUDDEN and TREMENDOUS ferocious APPETITE after midnite, (i feel like i could eat a horse) although ive already eaten my dinner 4 hours ago. This is weird, .... hmm.gif

24 Jan: 6km (Status: Completed. I DID 7km INSTEAD!!!)
Comment: I noticed many westerners running in the KLCC park. Plus they are really friendly. I actually made a friend with this guy from Holland, who was in Malaysia for 1 week. He said he was running in the park to train for a company event. There was also another lady running who looked like she was in her mid-20s i think. She ignited a conversation when our paths crossed. Quite a babe actually..
Relating to my physical body, i took some precautions and wore shorter pants that DID NOT chaff so easily. So, thank goodness no blisters TODAY. Also, so far no ache/cramp yet etc. Also, 1 hour after running, the stamina is back to normal, ready for the next challenge. drool.gif
But one thing i notice is that i get VERY hungry just 45mins after the run. Plus my body seems to crave for Isotonic drinks. hmmm

26 Jan: 8km (Status: Completed)
Comment: Yeah! I did it. thumbup.gif However, i have learned something new from this run.
What i have learned: Having Stamina & Energy may be sufficient for runs below 7km, but is not enough for 8km runs and above. In other words, although we are still bursting with energy (e.g. not tired/ not fatigued) but if our leg muscle is not used to the impact/stress, it will slow us down.
Coz when i hit 7km, a muscle in my leg started to get numb. And I was like "what the?!", coz i still had the energy to continue another 1-2 km, but my legs were not. hmmm... I knew I had two choices, to continue and hit 8km, or stop at 7km. Mentally assessing the condition of my leg i figured that the danger of injury was 5-10% (Possibility of Injury more than 30% is a no-no to me). So i continued, as (based on experience) the worse case scenario for this type of numbness was 2 days of rest. So i pushed myself to hit the final 8 km.

28 Jan: 9km (Status: Completed 9.1km) rclxm9.gif
Comment: YEAH!!!! Eagerly anticipating 30 Jan!!!
Wow, I realized something new today. Something that did not even happen in the previous runs.
I finished running at 7.00pm. Came back to take a shower at 7.30pm. changed and ate dinner at 8pm while watching the news. (still laughing about the BN cross-over). anyway, at 8.30pm now (about 1 hour and 30 mins after completing the run) .....i am STILL SWEATING?????????? ohmy.gif I think the 9km run KICKED my metabolism into HIGH-GEAR. Normally, i stop sweating after 15-30 mins, but 1 1/2 hours? Woaahh. I think i will take a 2nd shower.

PS: I sprinted at the last lap.

30 Jan: 10km (GOAL) thumbup.gif YEAH!!! Completed 10km.
That marks the end of my 10-day CrashCourse. lol.

(NOTE: Detailed comments such as running speed and etc can be found on page 2)

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 30 2009, 04:38 PM
mofonyx
post Jan 23 2009, 09:06 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

QUOTE(lionheart8888 @ Jan 22 2009, 11:45 PM)

(Comment: Hmm.. not bad . Really glad the 1 month of effort put in really paid off. I think my body could take the impact of a 6km actually today. But one irritating thing i notice is the chafing due to the amount of sweat, and this causes a burning sensation when the legs rub. Surprisingly i've never faced this before in a 4k. I heard some ppl use some kind of lubricant to reduce the chaffing. Oh well, at least the stinging is bearable.
Wow, another weird thing i notice is the SUDDEN and TREMENDOUS ferocious APPETITE after midnite, (i feel like i could eat a horse) although ive already eaten my dinner 4 hours ago. This is weird, ....  hmm.gif
Nope, not weird at all. Hungry every 3 hours here.
myvi5949
post Jan 23 2009, 09:51 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Will he be able to do it? Anyone want to bet? I am taking bets here. tongue.gif
I want to see your progress. I think its good that u push urself with this target, even IF u dont reach the 10km by 1 Feb, it wont be a shame..as long as u reach ur 10km target. Good luck bro. Run like the wind.. GODSPEED rclxms.gif
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 24 2009, 01:08 AM

45 posts

24 Jan: 6km (Status: Completed) (YEAHH!!!!! I DID 7km INSTEAD!!!)
rclxm9.gif WOOOT!!

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 27 2009, 01:51 PM
crimson_flame
post Jan 24 2009, 08:09 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(lionheart8888 @ Jan 24 2009, 01:08 AM)
20 Jan: 4km
22 Jan: 5km (Status: completed)
24 Jan: 6km (Status: SURPRISE!!!!! I DID 7km INSTEAD!!!) rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif WOOOT!!

Wah, congrats man. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
By the way, what is ur running speed per km? Just curious..
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 24 2009, 08:12 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Jan 23 2009, 09:51 PM)
Will he be able to do it?  Anyone want to bet? I am taking bets here. tongue.gif
I want to see your progress. I think its good that u push urself with this target, even IF u dont reach the 10km by 1 Feb, it wont be a shame..as long as u reach ur 10km target. Good luck bro. Run like the wind.. GODSPEED  rclxms.gif
Thanks man! Godspeed... thumbup.gif

Added on January 24, 2009, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 23 2009, 09:06 PM)
Nope, not weird at all. Hungry every 3 hours here.
I see. hmm.... thx for the info m8.

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 24 2009, 08:13 PM
myvi5949
post Jan 24 2009, 08:16 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Haiz...wish the park where i jog had some chicks in it.. here all aunties and granpa doing yoga got la yawn.gif
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 24 2009, 08:20 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(crimson_flame @ Jan 24 2009, 08:09 PM)
Wah, congrats man.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
By the way, what is ur running speed per km? Just curious..
Well, between 4.48-6.47 mins per km.
6.47mins was for my final 7km today. I did not dare sprint in the last lap to avoid injury. (coz i know my body never ran a 7km before)

Added on January 24, 2009, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Jan 24 2009, 08:16 PM)
Haiz...wish the park where i jog had some chicks in it.. here all aunties and granpa doing yoga got la  yawn.gif
Seriously sad.gif Same here. I know how you feel. The old park i jog in also same. Today i tried KLCC was once-in-a-blue-moon thing.
Today was just to ACCURATELY measure the running distance (coz KLCC have distance markers.)
I will be going back to the old park next week onwards.. oh well...

PS: I'm currently deciding whether to:
(a) maintain 7km in the next round (for conditioning purposes) or
(b) *ahem* to boost it up 8km.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 25 2009, 01:16 AM
braindead_fr3ak
post Jan 24 2009, 08:37 PM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

wow...crazy dude...i here hate cardio.. haha..and u ar like cardio on steroids... GOOD LUCK MATE!!
will be keeping tabs on ur progres smile.gif
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 24 2009, 08:45 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Jan 24 2009, 08:37 PM)
wow...crazy dude...i here hate cardio.. haha..and u ar like cardio on steroids... GOOD LUCK MATE!!
will be keeping tabs on ur progres smile.gif
Thanks mate. By the way (and i hope this motivates who ever reads this) I am an ex-couch potato, (prior to 25 November 2008) but am fed-up with it. blush.gif
It is time for a change.... smile.gif smile.gif

PS: Once i can maintain a 10km running endurance (for 30 days) the next step would be body-building. But i need to achieve the 10km first... hehe

Running endurance + physical strength = My Ultimate Goal. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 25 2009, 12:06 AM
braindead_fr3ak
post Jan 24 2009, 08:50 PM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

YEA POWER TO U!!!
ive been gymming the wrong way fer 1 year...

ive also just started my journal here..and planning on doing it right..
just got my protein...planning my workout (used to cincai carry heavy heavy like stupid only)

am gonna log my progress...

i started gymming because i was getting pushed around the basketball court....imagine....57kg and 178 cm 3 years ago.... ouch..........

we all have our starting point.....
may u always have the drive to keep at your goals.. gdluck mate
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 24 2009, 08:58 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Jan 24 2009, 08:50 PM)
YEA POWER TO U!!!
ive been gymming the wrong way fer 1 year...

ive also just started my journal here..and planning on doing it right..
just got my protein...planning my workout (used to cincai carry heavy heavy like stupid only)

am gonna log my progress...

i started gymming because i was getting pushed around the basketball court....imagine....57kg and 178 cm 3 years ago.... ouch..........

we all have our starting point.....
may u always have the drive to keep at your goals.. gdluck mate
You too man!! icon_rolleyes.gif
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 24 2009, 10:51 PM

45 posts

26 Jan: 8km (Status: Completed) thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Comment: Yeah! I did it. thumbup.gif However, i have learned something new from this run.

hmm.gif What i have learned: Having Stamina & Energy may be sufficient for runs below 7km, but is not enough for 8km runs and above. In other words, although we are still bursting with energy (e.g. not tired/ not fatigued) but if our leg muscle is not used to the impact/stress, it will slow us down.
Coz when i hit 7km, a muscle in my leg started to get numb. And I was like "what the?!", coz i still had the energy to continue another 1-2 km, but my legs were not. hmmm... I knew I had two choices, to continue and hit 8km, or stop at 7km. Mentally assessing the condition of my leg i figured that the danger of injury was 5-10% (Possibility of Injury more than 30% is a no-no to me). So i continued, as (based on experience) the worse case scenario for this type of numbness was 2 days of rest. So i pushed myself to hit the final 8 km.

thumbup.gif So far, so good. nod.gif Leg is in "tip-top" condition to take the next 9km challenge (9km @ 28 Jan)
(10km @ 30 Jan)

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 27 2009, 01:58 PM
crimson_flame
post Jan 27 2009, 02:59 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(lionheart8888 @ Jan 24 2009, 10:51 PM)
thumbup.gif So far, so good.  nod.gif Leg is in "tip-top" condition to take the next 9km challenge (9km @ 28 Jan)
              (10km @ 30 Jan)
rclxms.gif congrats bro.
Keeping tabs on your progress. By the way, are you benchmarking to run at 10km for entering contest? If you don't mind me asking, why specifically 10km?

This post has been edited by crimson_flame: Jan 27 2009, 03:01 PM
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 27 2009, 04:05 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(crimson_flame @ Jan 27 2009, 02:59 PM)
rclxms.gif congrats bro.
Keeping tabs on your progress. By the way, are you benchmarking to run at 10km for entering contest? If you don't mind me asking, why specifically 10km?
Good question. hmm.gif Hmm ....Nope. I'm not planning to enter any race or etc what so ever.
Simply put, it just feels good to know we are physically competent to run 10km non-stop without rest. nod.gif
Plus, pushing myself to the limit, and finally accomplishing it, grants satisfaction. nod.gif

Why 10km? Coz its a distance that is 'far enough' to be challenging, and yet 'not' too far till it makes me too thin/wimpy looking.

After managing to hit 10km, I will then maintain 10km over an entire month, ....then only will i proceed to the next phase... whistling.gif *ahem*

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 27 2009, 04:18 PM
braindead_fr3ak
post Jan 27 2009, 05:09 PM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

i see. nice.... but actually..i think 10km already enough to make u look "wimply" tongue.gif ahhah. .. why don u combine with strength training?...

is it not good?...

dun bulk up la..just focus on training ur muscles for stamina
AskarPerang
post Jan 27 2009, 05:22 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

it's mentally demanding rather than physically.
we never run 10km daily but when it's needed everyone is able to complete the 10km run.
TSlionheart8888
post Jan 27 2009, 05:49 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Jan 27 2009, 05:09 PM)
.. why don u combine with strength training?...

is it not good?...

Strength training? You read my mind. dude, it is uber good. thumbup.gif You bet thumbup.gif thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
(Quote) "After maintaining 10km over an entire month, ....then only will i proceed to the next phase...". (unquote).
The next phase IS strength training. (duration: 1-year).

But not for the purpose of bulking up or etc. It is mainly to build STRENGTH for the FINAL phase. Coz after 1-year of strength training, the FINAL phase will be...
*kick-boxing*

As a summary:
Phase 1 (running endurance)
Phase 2 (running endurance) + (physical strength/power)
Phase 3 (running endurance) + (physical strength/power) + (martial arts)

This post has been edited by lionheart8888: Jan 27 2009, 07:32 PM
braindead_fr3ak
post Jan 27 2009, 05:50 PM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

awesome!! smile.gif..good luck mate! smile.gif
mofonyx
post Jan 27 2009, 06:14 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Good job, my friend just ran 10km today in 35:48.

I wish you all the best in achieving your goals.

0.0236sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:14 PM