23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Movies The MISSION:IMPOSSIBLE Discussion Thread, Mission: Impossible - Fallout

6so
post Jul 29 2018, 03:22 PM

135 posts

That helicopter sequence is some cinema gold this year. Overall this outing kinda bring me back to the first M:I. A little more serious in tone and the convoluted double, triple betrayal. Kinda miss the whimsical precedent on Rogue Nation and Ghost Protocol. In terms of story craftsmanship still prefers Rogue Nation. All in all walk out of the cinema pretty satisfied with a big grin on me.

Too bad Jeremy Renner couldn't make it and alas Princess Margaret didn't have a more pivotal role.
defaultname365
post Jul 29 2018, 04:21 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Easily one of the best action films I've seen in years... considering I wasn't a huge fan of 'Rogue Nation', I wondered how this was going to be any better.

They managed to make the most MI film ever - the betrayals, the trickery and the relentless action are on a notch higher than ever seen before.

I watched it on IMAX - - and what a great decision! biggrin.gif Totally, totally worth it.

I'm glad they brought back Julia's character and Luther was there from start to finish.

That helicopter chase sequence.... thumbsup.gif No words to describe it. It surpassed my expectations...

Seems like McQuarrie has the action flick genre figured out - - pleasing both critics and fans alike, something rarely achievable what with the 'high standards' of movie go-ers today tongue.gif

The greatest gift of "Fallout"... has to be...

HENRY CAVILL.

His role as a baddie - - wow. Totally blown away. He comes across as a pissed off Superman that could punch through steel. He truly shines in this role. Nailed it to perfection.

And of course, Tom Cruise for pushing well above his age. You can really, really tell he has pushed himself here more than ever before. The stunts (which I assume were mostly Tom) were truly magnificent.

That bathroom scene. That bike/car chase scene. That helicopter pursuit. That ridiculously stress inducing bomb disarming moment. And a beautifully poignant moment with Ethan's ex-wife.

This is.. the best MI, hands down.

I bet that helicopter scene was filmed on IMAX because it filled the entire screen whereas other scenes had black bars top/bottom. This is the type of film that is worth watching on IMAX. And more so, IMAX 2D.

9.5/10

The gripes were possibly plot points - I get that they were trying to 'deceive' the audience, but at times you could get a bit lost. There were also some scenes that were quite dark (intentional or not), though it never really detracted from the action. I am nitpicking, still this is as close to perfection as you could get.

6so
post Jul 29 2018, 05:10 PM

135 posts

Just found out there wasn't a complete screenplay again like Rogue Nation. They have the idea of what high note needed to be accomplished and everything else is written on the spot as they are filming day by day. Guess you don't get to be an Oscar scriptwriter for no reason.
DreamChaser
post Jul 29 2018, 05:21 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

9/10 from me! didn't disappoint and action to the max.
red1982
post Jul 29 2018, 07:15 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 28 2018, 08:27 AM)
apa 40 doh.gif

mid 50s wey laugh.gif

that limp is real ohmy.gif not scripted mega_shok.gif
i know lah dia 50 ++ i mean dalam movie ni dia macam 40 ler tongue.gif
skylinelover
post Jul 30 2018, 07:48 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(red1982 @ Jul 29 2018, 07:15 PM)
i know lah dia 50 ++  i mean dalam movie ni dia macam 40 ler  tongue.gif
Cheh

Anyway today i catch IMAX hahahaha
Mov_freak
post Jul 30 2018, 08:21 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 30 2018, 07:48 AM)
Cheh

Well, Liam Neeson did not become an "action" hero until he was 50+ (Taken 2008). So age is just a number (When you eat right, have a personal trainier and workout your ass off? tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 30 2018, 08:22 AM
red1982
post Jul 30 2018, 12:04 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 30 2018, 07:48 AM)
Cheh

imax how much ya the price . me never watch imax movies icon_question.gif
skylinelover
post Jul 30 2018, 05:50 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(red1982 @ Jul 30 2018, 12:04 PM)
imax how much ya the price . me never watch imax movies  icon_question.gif
TGV RM20 plus
bacon
post Jul 31 2018, 09:19 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Hellmuth @ Jul 30 2018, 01:42 PM)
1) find and disarm nuclear stuff AGAIN
2) the face mask generating is getting really OLD !!!
3) tom cruise running around and around  AGAIN
4) car chase scene is more intense but still .... AGAIN
5) nothing new

- its like watching MI 1 to MI 5 combined into 1 ....
-overall verdict 6/10
That is what we wanted to watch!
bacon
post Jul 31 2018, 01:11 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Hellmuth @ Jul 31 2018, 10:45 AM)
bet you enjoyed the movie a lot then

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
indeed
uncle tut
post Jul 31 2018, 05:29 PM

TGV Kuching iMAX rm24 worth every penny
SUShighlowyat
post Aug 1 2018, 12:06 AM

685 posts

http://livestreamarena.com/index.php/2018/...e-fallout-2018/
G_KeN
post Aug 3 2018, 08:25 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

definitely one of the best movie in the franchise and in this summer.
EarendurFefalas
post Aug 5 2018, 09:52 AM

155 posts

Watch last week in cinema. Kinda like usual MI but its still good
ThalaFan
post Aug 5 2018, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(derrick_kim0494 @ Aug 5 2018, 12:48 PM)
Is Tom Cruise running out of movies to act in? This is too much.
What makes you to say its too much?

Since 2010, dude's been in Knight & Day, Ghost Protocol, Oblivion, Edge of Tomorrow, Jack Reacher, Rogue Nation, Jack Reacher: Never Go Back, American Made, Mummy & yeah, Fallout

Mind you, dude puts his life on the line for all his films & MI simply has larger BO appeal
skylinelover
post Aug 6 2018, 08:18 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ Aug 5 2018, 01:31 PM)
What makes you to say its too much?

Since 2010, dude's been in Knight & Day, Ghost Protocol, Oblivion, Edge of Tomorrow, Jack Reacher, Rogue Nation, Jack Reacher: Never Go Back, American Made, Mummy & yeah, Fallout

Mind you, dude puts his life on the line for all his films & MI simply has larger BO appeal
Hey

How can you forget the 80s top gun

That is an all time classic that made cruise the babyface laugh.gif

Those MI6 cast are not born yet except maybe alec baldwin and angela basset the old school generation laugh.gif

As for 2010s i like K&N and AM

The rest havent watched yet hahahaha

You should also consider the last samurai

That shit is beautiful rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Would be nice if add a sword fight in next MI movie

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Aug 6 2018, 08:24 AM
sakuraboo
post Aug 6 2018, 08:23 AM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Didn't know there's a thread for mi

I haven't watched the first movie till this day because I boycotted it due to the fact that tom cruise came in and hijacked the entire show
hybr1d3d
post Aug 6 2018, 01:05 PM

101 posts

The last act says it was 15minutes, but can you knock down a person > tie the victim up > let the victim wake up in 30 seconds?

Man the writer should put the entire countdown to 2 hours to make more sense
6so
post Aug 7 2018, 08:50 AM

135 posts

Cruise and Paramount asking Chris McQuarrie to complete his trilogy of MI movies but the film director not completely on board yet. Anyway the next movie by him will be hype nonetheless. A fan of him since The Way of The Gun.

23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:52 PM