post Apr 6 2010, 06:02 PM

356 posts

Anyone upgraded their macbook to 8GB?
i1u4ever
post May 26 2010, 10:48 PM

64 posts

Just happen to saw someone selling Kingston KTA RAM...
KTA RAM

This post has been edited by i1u4ever: May 26 2010, 10:49 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 11:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yeap, he announced about it in another thread. shud've announced it here instead hehe
tarvalslain87
post May 27 2010, 11:56 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Hmm... This thread title conflicts with the Mac upgrading thread... But woudlnt be a good idea to merge 20 over pages to that other thread now...
cscheat
post May 27 2010, 09:33 PM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

i bought a set of KTA already, will upgrade my iMac to 8GB
dvlzplayground
post May 28 2010, 02:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 27 2010, 11:56 AM)
Hmm... This thread title conflicts with the Mac upgrading thread... But woudlnt be a good idea to merge 20 over pages to that other thread now...
ya...we shud have a separate thread, RAM n HDD
wanobi
post Jun 2 2010, 05:40 PM

20 posts

hai

I just buy corsair 4 gig DDR 3 PC 8500 1066Mhz CL 7 notebook ram from sri computer and already install in my imac 27' i5

and the result is bursting and fast..can multitasking with ai ps ae 3d max(parallel windows 7) and other softwares

some says mac only compitible with some ram and all that are mitos..even the factory ram from imac is samsung ram.. whistling.gif

i just save my money..the apple reseller sell KTA and KVR too expensive..the "upah" for install the ram is RM 150..WTH! even stupid people can install themselves brows.gif

The corsair is only RM 170 per piece(2 gig)..so total is RM 340 and I'm very happy biggrin.gif

Apple is actually a normal PC which have different touch(design and software) by Mac only biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wanobi: Jun 2 2010, 05:50 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jun 2 2010, 07:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wanobi @ Jun 2 2010, 05:40 PM)
hai

I just buy corsair 4 gig DDR 3 PC 8500 1066Mhz CL 7 notebook ram from sri computer and already install in my imac 27' i5

and the result is bursting and fast..can multitasking with ai ps ae 3d max(parallel windows 7) and other softwares

some says mac only compitible with some ram and all that are mitos..even the factory ram from imac is samsung ram.. whistling.gif

i just save my money..the apple reseller sell KTA and KVR too expensive..the "upah" for install the ram is RM 150..WTH! even stupid people can install themselves  brows.gif

The corsair is only RM 170 per piece(2 gig)..so total is RM 340 and I'm very happy  biggrin.gif

Apple is actually a normal PC which have different touch(design and software) by Mac only  biggrin.gif
wow, 8gb RAM thumbup.gif

look for reviews on KVR RAMs u'll see there are a lot of incompatibility issues (kernel panic). something about the KVR voltage is slightly lower. thankfully i didnt experience that on my old MBP with KVR. sure some people are able to use KVR w/o any problems... it's just better to go for corsair/mushkin instead of buy KVR > cant work > drive back to shop to RMA.

correction: Mac is actually a normal PC which have different touch(design and software) by Apple only tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jun 2 2010, 07:27 PM
wanobi
post Jun 2 2010, 08:09 PM

20 posts

hehe sorry for my mistake..and for my grammer also sweat.gif

thankfully the problem (kernel Panic) didn't happen to your MBP

I read from outside forum,some said Corsair test their ram one by one..otherwise the kingston test their ram randomly..
So who unlucky will get the untested ram from kingston.. hmm.gif

So that's why I prefer to buy corsair ram rather than Kingston KVR ram.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wanobi: Jun 2 2010, 08:11 PM
hnr2802
post Jun 2 2010, 11:04 PM

627 posts

i bought kvr ddr3 for my imac. after running memtest in single user mode, im more convinced that it will run on my mac without problem. run memtest with your new ram before running full applications on your mac.

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Jun 2 2010, 11:05 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jun 3 2010, 12:34 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

good advice from hnr2802 smile.gif remember to keep ur receipt! hehe
skygenetic
post Jun 16 2010, 04:48 PM

33 posts

Hi guys ,

I am in the midst of which ram should i use if i want to upgrade my current mac book pro 13 inch , despite it is current @ 4gb by default. Since apple claimn that it is upgradeable to 8gb ram. So i would like to hear some comments or suggestion from you guys ( Mac Pros , Sifu) ? which ram should i purchase ? What type of ram ? Is that necessary to go 8gb ?

THANKS !

This post has been edited by skygenetic: Jun 16 2010, 04:51 PM
nimrod323
post Jun 16 2010, 04:52 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

you are not new to lowyat, please do a search, there is a ram upgrading thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/912014 ,and why is the need for 8GB anyway? tell us more about the apps that you use that will justify the costly upgrade. oh and Macsales.com lists the 4+4GB at RM960 http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20Wor...g/8566DDR3S8GP/

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 16 2010, 04:56 PM
skygenetic
post Jun 16 2010, 05:08 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 16 2010, 04:52 PM)
you are not new to lowyat, please do a search, there is a ram upgrading thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/912014 ,and why is the need for 8GB anyway? tell us more about the apps that you use that will justify the costly upgrade. oh and Macsales.com lists the 4+4GB at RM960 http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20Wor...g/8566DDR3S8GP/
yeah i am kinda new on this , so i wanted to ask if 8gb will make a big differences . Or Does the 8gb ram will help the mac book in terms of gaming performance ?
Eithanius
post Jun 16 2010, 05:12 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 16 2010, 04:52 PM)
shipping fee leh...? tongue.gif not cheap wei...

I'd just ordered a piece of 4GB to up my RAM to 6GB... that should be enough for the time being... just arrived few hours ago... rclxm9.gif

but haven't installed it yet... doh.gif
skygenetic
post Jun 16 2010, 05:14 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 16 2010, 05:12 PM)
shipping fee leh...?  tongue.gif  not cheap wei...

I'd just ordered a piece of 4GB to up my RAM to 6GB... that should be enough for the time being... just arrived few hours ago...  rclxm9.gif

but haven't installed it yet... doh.gif
OH ! Nice one , Please let me know if you found that extra 2GB helps
nimrod323
post Jun 16 2010, 05:15 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(skygenetic @ Jun 16 2010, 05:08 PM)
yeah i am kinda new on this , so i wanted to ask if 8gb will make a big differences . Or Does the 8gb ram will help the mac book in terms of  gaming performance ?
again you are not new to lowyat, you were here longer than me, u shud know the basic function of a search. anyways, the only boost for your gaming would be your HDD or GC,get a faster HDD, a 7200RPM drive for speed or the momentus XT(hybrid), 8 GB will only speed up in more of the cpu intensive apps like rendering 3d stuffs and also rendering movies using fcp or any other editor as well as batch editing otherwise its a costly upgrade.

Added on June 16, 2010, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(skygenetic @ Jun 16 2010, 05:14 PM)
OH ! Nice one , Please let me know if you found that extra 2GB helps
you still dont get it eithanius go that extra ram because of his usage, not solely for gaming per se:

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 16 2010, 05:17 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jun 16 2010, 06:56 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(skygenetic @ Jun 16 2010, 04:48 PM)
Hi guys ,
I am in the midst of which ram should i use if i want to upgrade my current mac book pro 13 inch , despite it is current @ 4gb  by default. Since apple claimn that it is upgradeable to 8gb ram. So i would like to hear some comments or suggestion from you guys ( Mac Pros , Sifu) ? which ram should i purchase ? What type of ram ? Is that necessary to go 8gb ?
THANKS !
if you want to improve gaming performance, try selling ur MBP 13 and get the MBP 15 tongue.gif u'll want a better GPU

RAM upgrades doesnt help much for gaming, 4gb is a lot already for games. RAM only helps you to do more things at once, it's doesnt improve performance of any single program by much. unless, for some reason, you want to run 3/4 games at the same time, i suggest you spend ur money on something else.

probably a better mouse or bigger external display?
mcgyver
post Jun 17 2010, 10:15 PM

24 posts

For everyones reference, I upgraded my Macbook Aluminum late 2008 from 2G to 4G using Team Elite Series DDR3 RAM. I installed 2 set of 2G stick at 160 each. So far so good. The RAM comes with a lifetime warranty.
SUSLYW
post Jun 18 2010, 03:23 PM

197 posts

everyone talks about momentus xt hybrid. but noone is selling it in garage sales. mayb im blind, but i dont see it either in lowyat. pls dun say import. its out of the question

24 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:21 PM