DIY DIY amp club V2, Post your DIY amp here

empire23
post Jan 30 2009, 01:34 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Jan 30 2009, 01:18 AM)
i really wonder if u r an engineering student. Those are noob mistake. You can talk technical, but i doubt it's accuracy now, hahahaha

Now i should sit back and enjoy my music while u can rant on my post or give me more technical knowledge lecture smile.gif
Well, we all make mistakes, they're just like typos lol. Hey aren't you they guy with the cheap Nikon who bashes "poor" people who use headphones? I has a D3 and 1Ds Mk III tongue.gif Wanna see?

And yeah, still an engineering student, have moved on to the shit which is post grad. It's more like number crunching these days.

I think i've always made clear that when it comes to building amps, procurement is hardest parts. Hard to get shit sorted out when you're juggling tons of BOMs.
valve_300b
post Jan 30 2009, 01:55 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 30 2009, 01:34 AM)
Well, we all make mistakes, they're just like typos lol. Hey aren't you they guy with the cheap Nikon who bashes "poor" people who use headphones? I has a D3 and 1Ds Mk III tongue.gif Wanna see?

And yeah, still an engineering student, have moved on to the shit which is post grad. It's more like number crunching these days.

I think i've always made clear that when it comes to building amps, procurement is hardest parts. Hard to get shit sorted out when you're juggling tons of BOMs.
i think you are still too Malaysian or should i say too malay. They just can't take criticism positively.

Just to share with you since I don't think you can figure this out. Ever wonder how does the deaf musican, Beethoven, listen to music? The skin on our body actually has senses. The dynamic and pressure produce by speakers or instrument can actually be picked up by the skin. This is where the realism is.

Read this http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2001/...11128035455.htm

Headphone is not able to produce that to be picked up by ur skin. You can categorise me as 'perfectonist'. I'm after the finest art on earth, be it sound re-production or photos. As such, money is not in the picture. If you always wanted to compare the price per performance ratio, you will never get the best because the price can never justify it.

Btw, I think I have more, I have a D3x, A900, 1Ds MK III, H3D you wanna see ? You should try the D3x. Althought some sony fanboy seems to claim D3x uses the same sensor as A900, i don't see A900 coming near D3x.

This post has been edited by valve_300b: Jan 30 2009, 01:56 AM
empire23
post Jan 30 2009, 02:04 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Jan 30 2009, 01:55 AM)
i think you are still too Malaysian or should i say too malay. They just can't take criticism positively.

Just to share with you since I don't think you can figure this out. Ever wonder how does the deaf musican, Beethoven, listen to music? The skin on our body actually has senses. The dynamic and pressure produce by speakers or instrument can actually be picked up by the skin. This is where the realism is.

Read this http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2001/...11128035455.htm

Headphone is not able to produce that to be picked up by ur skin. You can categorise me as 'perfectonist'. I'm after the finest art on earth, be it sound re-production or photos. As such, money is not in the picture. If you always wanted to compare the price per performance ratio, you will never get the best because the price can never justify it.

Btw, I think I have more, I have a D3x, A900, 1Ds MK III, H3D you wanna see ? You should try the D3x. Althought some sony fanboy seems to claim D3x uses the same sensor as A900, i don't see A900 coming near D3x.
You even played a musical instrument before lol? Once you have the basics, you can generally put it together in your head. You don't sense music, you think it, notes are written, then played to look for technical viability. Well that's the whole "formal" process behind it.

I like listening with my ears thank you very much, less distance, less distortion, less loss, more sensitivity from headphone drivers, higher impedence for better loading characteristics, and thus, a purer sound in the sense. Wonder why sound engineers use mostly headphones and small driver monitors? So sad. Yeah, maybe i'm the perfectionist here laugh.gif. Sigh, a lack of education, tsk tsk tongue.gif. And wait, those same engineers are the ones who master the CDs you play...ZOMG!

Wait, didn't your posts around here indicate you had a "cheaper" Nikon? Got a gallery i can see?

Anyways, don't want to make too much of an investment on audio or cameras, gotta get a Mannlincher rifle with Schimdt and Bender optics to put with my Remmy.

PS: You shouldn't even be in this thread, you can't even do Thevenin let alone solder without setting yourself on fire hahaha.

This post has been edited by empire23: Jan 30 2009, 02:13 AM
valve_300b
post Jan 30 2009, 02:13 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 30 2009, 02:04 AM)
You even played a musical instrument before lol? Once you have the basics, you can generally put it together in your head. You don't sense music, you think it, notes are written, then played to look for technical viability. Well that's the whole "formal" process behind it.

I like listening with my ears thank you very much, less distance, less distortion, less loss, more sensitivity from headphone drivers, higher impedence for better loading characteristics, and thus, a purer sound in the sense. Wonder why sound engineers use mostly headphones and small driver monitors? So sad. Yeah, maybe i'm the perfectionist here laugh.gif. Sigh, a lack of education, tsk tsk tongue.gif. And wait, those same engineers are the ones who master the CDs you play...ZOMG!

Wait, didn't your posts around here indicate you had a "cheaper" Nikon? Got a gallery i can see?

Anyways, don't want to make too much of an investment on audio or cameras, gotta get a Mannlincher rifle with Schimdt and Bender optics to put with my Remmy.
sound engineer use headphone because it's just cheaper and they are not perfectionist smile.gif which is why i still prefer vinyl ! hahahaha how sure are you all sound engineer uses headphone? The Lucas Art studio i went isn't. They were mounted with JBL speakers earlier, now I think it was replaced by MK speakers.

I beg your pardon ? Is the deaf able to 'know' the high and low notes if u put them on headphone ? The answer is NO.

Added on January 30, 2009, 2:22 am
QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 30 2009, 02:04 AM)
PS: You shouldn't even be in this thread, you can't even do Thevenin let alone solder without setting yourself on fire hahaha.
sorry i have not set fire soldering my first x-over for DIY speakers, my DIY pre-amp and my DIY amp smile.gif

at least i can read diagram properly and doesn't forget to solder my components or buy the wrong components...

V=IR works most of the time to me and some basic calculation of serial circuit and parallel is what i really need. And of course differentiating AC and DC smile.gif

if you get ur design right, i don't see the need of Thevenin Theorem. Perhaps noob will need it cause they might be too good in talking technical but can still get the calculation wrong smile.gif

This post has been edited by valve_300b: Jan 30 2009, 02:22 AM
empire23
post Jan 30 2009, 02:27 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Jan 30 2009, 02:13 AM)
sound engineer use headphone because it's just cheaper and they are not perfectionist smile.gif which is why i still prefer vinyl ! hahahaha how sure are you all sound engineer uses headphone? The Lucas Art studio i went isn't. They were mounted with JBL speakers earlier, now I think it was replaced by MK speakers.

I beg your pardon ? Is the deaf able to 'know' the high and low notes if u put them on headphone ? The answer is NO.
Well, it's the sound engineers that use the headphones to tune that sound, and yeah, the sound engineers are the ones that use vinyl too. Lucas Arts makes games lah, what do they have to do with being audiophiles? Lucas Film maybe.....but IIRC they leave their music recordings and mixing to Sony BMG. BTW, you're calling yourself a perfectionist, while you say the people who do this for a living aren't? Zounds....i'll have a few chuckles with the boys at the sound engineering labs and the recording labs on your behalf. Yeah, that's why we spend 5 years to learn stuff, so we can be less perfectionistic than audiophiles rclxms.gif

Anyways, yeah, they use speakers, or known as monitors, with low wattage, high sensitivity and small drivers, with a flat frequency response and none of the frequency compensation used by audiophile speakers and they're designed for close distance listening for the least distortion.

Yes, we call those kinds headphones, hearing aids. LOL.

Added on January 30, 2009, 2:30 am
sorry i have not set fire soldering my first x-over for DIY speakers, my DIY pre-amp and my DIY amp smile.gif

at least i can read diagram properly and doesn't forget to solder my components or buy the wrong components...

V=IR works most of the time to me and some basic calculation of serial circuit and parallel is what i really need. And of course differentiating AC and DC smile.gif

if you get ur design right, i don't see the need of Thevenin Theorem. Perhaps noob will need it cause they might be too good in talking technical but can still get the calculation wrong smile.gif
I want to laugh, but i feel like crying. I feel so sad for you man. Really.

Next you'll be telling me i can throw away by Smith charts to do complex impedence.

You know man, i love you. You're so dumb you make me seem smarter than i actually am.

This post has been edited by empire23: Jan 30 2009, 02:32 AM
Vincent Pang
post Jan 30 2009, 02:47 AM

1,764 posts

I found it to be very little photo when there are quite a number of DIY here.

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Jan 30 2009, 02:48 AM
empire23
post Jan 30 2009, 02:54 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Jan 30 2009, 02:47 AM)
I found it to be very little photo when there are quite a number of DIY here.
What do you mean?
LittleGhost
post Jan 30 2009, 08:38 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

I lol'd IRL.

Small signal and large signal analysis, hybrid models and such. If your design doesnt revolve around around that, then it has failed.

ccschua
post Jan 30 2009, 08:40 AM

1,630 posts

I dont see the gain from the person who try to or intend to show his mastery of audio. All I hear is distortion.

Guys, let get back to the works from where it began. Hopefully the biasing is not an issue.
LittleGhost
post Jan 30 2009, 08:42 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

XD it will be an issue if he uses the 56.2k Ohm resistors.

The FETs have the best symmetrical swing with 50Ohm loading.
Vincent Pang
post Jan 30 2009, 09:30 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 30 2009, 02:54 AM)
What do you mean?
i believe alot of forumers has DIY some amps. But I browse through the 4 pages, there's nothing much except for your Work In Progress photos. I remember seeing some photos on setup for forumers. In V1 maybe?
empire23
post Jan 30 2009, 09:49 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 30 2009, 08:42 AM)
XD it will be an issue if he uses the 56.2k Ohm resistors.
The FETs have the best symmetrical swing with 50Ohm loading.
Not THAT senile tongue.gif YET.

But doing a cursory check, i think i screwed up a few pots. Note to self, don't do work at 3am, it's not good for accuracy.

Now must go beg the evil powers that are for the use of the desoldering machine. Sien when i see that Lec's face, it's like he's constantly pissed off at something.

i believe alot of forumers has DIY some amps. But I browse through the 4 pages, there's nothing much except for your Work In Progress photos. I remember seeing some photos on setup for forumers. In V1 maybe?

Alot have DIY amps, very little actually build them, a large majority of them are built by Littleghost, Eokboy, Thedoctor and other forumers and not all post works in progress pics. I generally do so to keep my customers in the loop due to my long building times so they don't say i'm a lazy bustard who only sleep at home (actually i am tongue.gif)

Try the headwize or diyaudio amp builds thread, i go there for my DIY amp picture porn and it teaches you alot of stuff just by looking at pics.
LittleGhost
post Jan 30 2009, 11:01 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Demanded PICTARS? Request delivered.

This is an amp that i just finished for a forumer. Class A biased Diamond buffers with a dual opamp, plus a mini 12V regulator. Used quality components.

Also, pcb'ed dB3 amplifier (single layer) for prototyping. Etched myself using iron transfer. Planning to go fully factory manufactured PCB after I'm done tweaking it with an OPAMP that would beat even discrete stages.

Capacitance multiplier seems great for isolation but I'm currently thinking of individual shunt regulators per OPAMP for greater isolation.

Just finished populating it last night. Might do some listening tests later after I claim my RM600 for the road tax. lawl.

Here are some other older pictures if anyone of you are interested:

My main amp tongue.gif. AD825 fully Class A amplifier.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Jan 30 2009, 11:08 AM
empire23
post Jan 31 2009, 02:11 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 30 2009, 11:01 AM)
Demanded PICTARS? Request delivered.

This is an amp that i just finished for a forumer. Class A biased Diamond buffers with a dual opamp, plus a mini 12V regulator. Used quality components.

Also, pcb'ed dB3 amplifier (single layer) for prototyping. Etched myself using iron transfer. Planning to go fully factory manufactured PCB after I'm done tweaking it with an OPAMP that would beat even discrete stages.

Capacitance multiplier seems great for isolation but I'm currently thinking of individual shunt regulators per OPAMP for greater isolation.

Just finished populating it last night. Might do some listening tests later after I claim my RM600 for the road tax. lawl.

Here are some other older pictures if anyone of you are interested:

My main amp tongue.gif. AD825 fully Class A amplifier.
Shunt regulator as in an IC Linear reg per channel? Or a MOSFET as a pass tranny with a feedback opamp?

Lol, anyone putting on a discreet FET reg and cap multiplier would be arsed for board space, and not to mention you'd need a low imp path for the gate control which complicates matters. But nonetheless, it would be awesome. Overkill, but awesome.

As for the dB3, to get an opamp that would beat a discrete would take alot of effort, and you might have to employ compensation to keep the opamp sane if the board isn't small enough. (tip : No sockets lol, gives a bit of leeway)
LittleGhost
post Jan 31 2009, 08:44 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

nay, i'm thinking off simple discrete shunt regulators instead of a single capacitance multiplier. A low noise BZXC series zener diode buffered by a low noise BJT. It really does not take up much space though. More like PPA's isolation JFET plus four more components per channel. IC Linear regs? XD I'd rather do 3 jungs and feed 3 separate channels. However seriously unnecessary lol. I'd be gone with fully discretes if I were to reach that point.

I've been hearing good words on the AD797BRZ (higher grade with very different specs comparing to the ARZ version). However it's bloody hard to implement properly due to it's insane speed. Not to mention input bias is high due to it's BJT input. Planning to build an amp that revolves around that chip and properly bypassed and compensated. biggrin.gif

I've had that gut feeling that the Input transistors of the diamond buffer plays the most significant role in that topology. Hence why the use of very high impedance swap mirrors with feedback to load the input transistors. Sounds better than a regular PPA buffer. Thinking of further cascoding the input transistors. I guess I'll have to sim moar to proof that the most significant influence comes from the input transistors.

ccschua
post Jan 31 2009, 10:14 AM

1,630 posts

I wonder how would AD797 fair compare to OPA627. Are they the same class. fast, detail and clean.
LittleGhost
post Jan 31 2009, 10:46 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

not the same class biggrin.gif

AD797 is way ahead of the OPA627, specs wise.

empire23
post Jan 31 2009, 12:02 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 31 2009, 08:44 AM)
nay, i'm thinking off simple discrete shunt regulators instead of a single capacitance multiplier.  A low noise BZXC series zener diode buffered by a low noise BJT. It really does not take up much space though. More like PPA's isolation JFET plus four more components per channel. IC Linear regs? XD I'd rather do 3 jungs and feed 3 separate channels. However seriously unnecessary lol. I'd be gone with fully discretes if I were to reach that point.

I've been hearing good words on the AD797BRZ (higher grade with very different specs comparing to the ARZ version). However it's bloody hard to implement properly due to it's insane speed. Not to mention input bias is high due to it's BJT input. Planning to build an amp that revolves around that chip and properly bypassed and compensated. biggrin.gif
I've had that gut feeling that the Input transistors of the diamond buffer plays the most significant role in that topology. Hence why the use of very high impedance swap mirrors with feedback to load the input transistors. Sounds better than a regular PPA buffer. Thinking of further cascoding the input transistors. I guess I'll have to sim moar to proof that the most significant influence comes from the input transistors.
Hmm, a Zener and a BJT.... for the same board space but more moar moolah, change BJT with Pass FET, Use zener as VRef add small SOIC error amp. Muahahhahaha, i'm the bad idea fairy and i'm here to dole out stuff to screw up designs rclxms.gif

Lol the 797, why do i now sweat thinking of taming it and about the countless hours infront of a PC to optimize the NFB loop length and short bypassing.....mah salutes to you, i for one hate highspeed AD Opamps.

As for the dB's input trannies, i think PPL already made it clear it's a tradeoff between stability and perf. Further cascoding would stabilize it better for more enhancement, but that would also require more matching on your part of the cascode stage itself. Work....more work, i'm allergic to it tongue.gif
ccschua
post Jan 31 2009, 01:24 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 31 2009, 10:46 AM)
not the same class biggrin.gif

AD797 is way ahead of the OPA627, specs wise.
This AD797 is interesting. superfast, clean and low noise. but how would it compare to discrete such as OPA Sun V2. opamp cant live up to discrete right.
LittleGhost
post Jan 31 2009, 01:29 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Not necessarily.

Read the recent review from Majkel? He ranked the AD797 better than the OPAs from Audio-GD.

HDAMs are kinda limited in some area due to space constrains. You cant lay additional parts for it. The AD797 is also an improved folded cascode topology which gives it insanely low distortion. (tip: the extra transistor on the floating mirror biggrin.gif) If you want to beat that you'll have to lay the entire amplifier circuit down instead and use as much performance enhancing designs as possible.

82 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:17 PM