DIY DIY amp club V2, Post your DIY amp here
Jan 15 2009, 11:54 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
4,380 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: petaling jaya,puchong jaya,pandan jaya,putra jaya |
continuation from the previous thread.
Jan 15 2009, 12:57 PM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
A query.
Anyone has used an R-Core transformer? Just want to know why you use it and where did you get it. Thanx. |
Jan 15 2009, 07:35 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jan 15 2009, 12:57 PM) A query. salvage it from old R-core Sony CDP.. Anyone has used an R-Core transformer? Just want to know why you use it and where did you get it. Thanx. or contact the designer.. http://www.kitamura-kiden.co.jp/english/index.html This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 15 2009, 07:38 PM |
Jan 15 2009, 08:15 PM
Thanks for the link. You don't happened to have some loose R-Core in the drawer, no?
Jan 15 2009, 08:28 PM
Jan 15 2009, 08:46 PM
Jan 16 2009, 12:12 AM
Jan 16 2009, 01:25 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Scotty, what about the old thread? It still contains useful informations for newbies.
Jan 16 2009, 02:33 PM
Jan 16 2009, 10:19 PM
1,347 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
damn right it is!!
the collection of info since thedoctor era....very2 valuable! |
Jan 16 2009, 10:39 PM
371 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Guys, if u dont mind me interrupting.
How do u cut a say 3 inch hole? I use to DIY myself but the outcome aint always nice. I'm thinking of DIYing a SOHA II but I'm having difficulties drilling 2 holes on the top of the casing for the tubes. |
Jan 16 2009, 10:47 PM
What material are you trying to cut? Steel or aluminium?
QUOTE(MadCow @ Jan 16 2009, 10:39 PM) |
Jan 16 2009, 10:50 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(MadCow @ Jan 16 2009, 10:39 PM) Guys, if u dont mind me interrupting. A lengthy process, takes bloody much time, but the effort is worth it.How do u cut a say 3 inch hole? I use to DIY myself but the outcome aint always nice. I'm thinking of DIYing a SOHA II but I'm having difficulties drilling 2 holes on the top of the casing for the tubes. Use masking tape to mask the area you want to drill. Draw a sketch of the circle on it. Proceed by drilling lots of lots of holes using the largest drill bit available exactly within the area to clear it out. File the rest of the tiny bits to get a nice circle. It's time consuming due to the need to drill multiple times. EDIT: Alternatively, a dremel works with the above method too, except faster. This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Jan 16 2009, 10:52 PM |
Jan 16 2009, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(MadCow @ Jan 16 2009, 10:39 PM) Guys, if u dont mind me interrupting. can always "pinjam" some one's milling machine..How do u cut a say 3 inch hole? I use to DIY myself but the outcome aint always nice. I'm thinking of DIYing a SOHA II but I'm having difficulties drilling 2 holes on the top of the casing for the tubes. anyway there is this special adapter to fit to a drillbit..can cut fairly large (inches) circles on metal plates with a electric drill |
Jan 16 2009, 10:55 PM
Steel is a little bit harder though... easier on aluminium..
As per LG's process but I'd drill a series of small holes.. about 1/8" max., very close together. Once completed, 'punch' out the inner metal and use 1/2 round or rat tail file to smoothen the hole and adjust dimensions to suit the object going through the aperture |
Jan 16 2009, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jan 16 2009, 10:55 PM) Steel is a little bit harder though... easier on aluminium.. wei then it'll look very kraftangan effect.. As per LG's process but I'd drill a series of small holes.. about 1/8" max., very close together. Once completed, 'punch' out the inner metal and use 1/2 round or rat tail file to smoothen the hole and adjust dimensions to suit the object going through the aperture |
Jan 16 2009, 11:33 PM
Jan 17 2009, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 16 2009, 10:50 PM) A lengthy process, takes bloody much time, but the effort is worth it. That's what I've been doing but the hole aint always beautiful. Since the 2 holes for SOHA II is not hidden, i want it to be as smooth as possible. Any companies in Msia that does this sort of cutting? =)Use masking tape to mask the area you want to drill. Draw a sketch of the circle on it. Proceed by drilling lots of lots of holes using the largest drill bit available exactly within the area to clear it out. File the rest of the tiny bits to get a nice circle. It's time consuming due to the need to drill multiple times. EDIT: Alternatively, a dremel works with the above method too, except faster. |
Jan 17 2009, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(MadCow @ Jan 17 2009, 12:00 AM) That's what I've been doing but the hole aint always beautiful. Since the 2 holes for SOHA II is not hidden, i want it to be as smooth as possible. Any companies in Msia that does this sort of cutting? =) plenty..but need to pay or maybe they won't want to do one off basic jobs.. |
Jan 17 2009, 12:07 AM
| Change to: | 0.0223sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:41 PM |